
Castilliano |

Your 2nd attack is about as valuable as a martial's 3rd, so not something to strive toward too much. Fine if it barely changes your build, but as a full caster, it's not like you should be melee attacking in dire combats (which maybe your GM doesn't do so much).
So I'd say no unless picking up some other cool Monk abilities, like a great movement ability. I say this mainly because that Dedication gives you so little.
Overwhelming Energy is a solid feat, if you blast and have that free action. Really depends on party composition & tactics, but this is playing to your strength when facing bosses and tougher battles.
But don't you want Primal Focus so you can have two morphs on deck when needed? Or does your GM always give you a lull?

Castilliano |

What's the basis for determining the value of the second attack?
Tl:dr A Flurry Ranger's 3rd attack will have the same attack bonus as a caster's 2nd attack (non-agile weapons). Versus the other martials, computation's a bit harder, but they're getting notable damage bonuses.
Varies by class, naturally, as well as if it's an agile weapon, so it's more a rule of thumb. At the early levels, it's a bit tighter, yet as you level up the difference increases.
So 1st-4th the main difference is whatever the specialty of the class is, i.e. the Fighter's +2 attack, the Ranger's MAP or precision damage, Rage, Sneak Attack, or whatnot.
So while a caster might have a similar attack roll (likely -1 due to stat), they're not getting as much damage out of it.
A Fighter's 2nd attack is (ignoring level & weapon which should match for both PCs):
+8/+3/-2 for +4 damage vs. +5/+0/-5 for a caster for +3 damage.
For a Flurry Ranger, it's +6/+3/+0 for +4 damage.
So not too bad for a caster in melee, yet notably behind on that 2nd attack, a sliver worse than a Ranger's 3rd attack.
Presumably the PF2 math works out similarly for the other martials if running DPR vs. a range of standard enemies.
At 5th, now the martials gain +2 (Expert now), something a caster won't get for many levels. Most will also have a Critical Specialization, but the caster might have caught up on stats (18 vs. 19). Weapon Specialization at 7th adds more damage, so a Fighter's 2nd attack becomes obviously superior to a caster's 1st (and 3rd better than 2nd, most especially if a Flurry Ranger).
When Druids finally get to Expert Proficiency at 11th, Sneak Attack (w/ Debilitations), Rage, & Precision Edge represent significant damage, so even though Druids are only -1 behind those guys (stats again), they're hitting for a lot less. Or compare to a Fighter/Flurry Edge where the attack numbers are further apart + WS & CS.
At 13th, the martials go to Master (or Legendary), and should have accumulated some great feats that amplify their abilities even more. The Druid's -3 in relative attack bonus, doing much less damage (though has +2 from Weapon Specialization finally). No catching up from here, as the martial's pick up better feats and bigger bonuses.
That said, Wild Shape does a decent job of keeping the Druid's attack bonuses & damage modestly viable, but we're talking Morph in this thread. A Wild Shape Druid could benefit from Monk's Flurry more, though it's competing with some high level feats/forms.

![]() |

Does anyone know if this MC Druid could get Tangled Forest Stance at 16? Or would he not be able to enter a stance in WS?
In general, what a wild shaped character can and can not benefit from is quite unclear with reasonable people disagreeing on both what the words say and their intent.
Unless Paizo decides to clear this up (and, quite honestly, I don't expect that any time soon if ever) the only way to really know is to ask your GM.
I fully expect this post to get replied to by at least one person saying that the situation is incredibly clear. With luck, at least two people will reply saying that it is incredibly clear but with diametrically opposed positions on what the clear rules clearly say.
They're both wrong. The rules are murky and unclear :-)

![]() |

He would be able to Enter a stance in Wild Morph though correct?
Yes, I don't think there is any doubt there.
I personally think that it IS legal for a character to enter a stance while wild shaped (although many will be all but useless due to the "no other attacks can be made" clause in wild shape) and I also think most GMs would rule that way. But only YOUR GM knows for sure :-)

![]() |

pauljathome wrote:But only YOUR GM knows for sure :-)I mean, that's true of every rule in the entire game.
Maybe in theory. But in practice, no. I'm pretty darn confident with what the rules state for most of the game. In PFS, I'm pretty sure the way the GM will rule.
How things interact with wild shape, less so. I haven't actually run into the issue in practice yet since my uses in PFS have been totally obvious