What can I do with mischievous tail?


Pathfinder First Edition General Discussion


I am posting here since the three times I've tried posting under the rules subforum it has just not shown. If possible move this to that forum.

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/general-feats/mischievous-tail/
https://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/racial-feats/magical-tail-kitsune/

I am thinking of taking magical tail which gives me extra tails, does this mean I can use my tails to:

1: hold multiple rods and choose which one I use when I cast a spell
2: cast a spell using wands
3: cast a spell with a somatic component with both hands occupied as long as one tail is free
4: climb with both hands occupied

Reading this it would be like having 11 hands if I had all 8 feats of magical tail only 9 of those hands can not wield (but can still hold) weapons and shields and all four questions to me are a yes. Just asking here to make sure I'm not breaking any rules =P

Edit: seems posting here works, just not under the rules subforum T_T


3 people marked this as a favorite.

There's been some disagreement in the past about whether or not this type of thing would work. Some point to the word "tail" rather than "tails", and claim it would only wok for one. I'd side with you and say, "it means my tail, and this is also my tail, and this is also my tail". Plus, you're dropping literally every feat you have into the idea. I'd say that the answer to all your above points is "yes".


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Yes to all of those. ^_^


Wow. That's insane. It's also tailrrific...and I'm only partially sorry for that. :)

So dip into Alchemist and get two more arms and maybe some tentacles?

*o*


Seems legit. You could do all of those things.

I assume you're playing a tiefling with pass for human and Racial Heritage (kitsune)? Otherwise I don't know how one would get both Mischievous Tail and Magical Tail.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Grasping tail was changed with planar adventures to only require having a tail, the older one is tiefling only.

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/general-feats/grasping-tail/

vs

https://www.d20pfsrd.com/feats/racial-feats/grasping-tail-tiefling


3 people marked this as a favorite.

Indeed. I originally intended to expand it to include protean-kin ganzi, since it seemed a shame to leave them out of all the tail mischief... but the final version is even more inclusive. ^_^


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Ohhh, nice!


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Quote:
4: climb with both hands occupied

I think all suggestions are fine but this one.

I don't think the rules specifically say you need "both hands" to climb, but IMO you need two grasping limbs to climb (at minimum). I think it's fine to climb with one hand and a tail.

If I'm wrong, I'll be happy. My party has an NPC who will soon have those feats, but no working hands. I don't want to have to buy him a Monkey Belt so he can climb. (That would also give him two tails...)


Kimera757 wrote:
I don't think the rules specifically say you need "both hands" to climb

Yes they do. "You need both hands free to climb", CRB pg. 91

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
Derklord wrote:
Kimera757 wrote:
I don't think the rules specifically say you need "both hands" to climb
Yes they do. "You need both hands free to climb", CRB pg. 91

A rule that if you actually follow makes lots of things not work, so we don't.


What breaks if you require both hands free to climb? Have I been handwaving something without meaning to when my groups are in climbing-under-duress situations?

Silver Crusade

Pathfinder Companion, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
blahpers wrote:
What breaks if you require both hands free to climb? Have I been handwaving something without meaning to when my groups are in climbing-under-duress situations?

Look through all the Bestiaries for monsters that have ranks in climb/climb speeds but no hands.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Rysky wrote:
blahpers wrote:
What breaks if you require both hands free to climb? Have I been handwaving something without meaning to when my groups are in climbing-under-duress situations?
Look through all the Bestiaries for monsters that have ranks in climb/climb speeds but no hands.

Heh, well, there is that. I assumed that the description was written from stereotypical PC perspective. Other creatures would have different limitations on climbing. But that does require some discretion.

(Frankly, climbing with only one hand should have been a penalty to the check instead of impossible. Plenty of one-armed climbers out there that do just fine.)


blahpers wrote:
I assumed that the description was written from stereotypical PC perspective.

It is. The CRB is ridiculous about how human-centric the rules are written. If you don't have exactly two hands, with fingernails, and hair on your head, and not-a-bite-attack teech in your single mouth, half the CRB stops working. What's worse, other books follow that line.

Of course, I only said that "the rules specifically say you need "both hands" to climb", not that the rules is a good one.

On a different note, because I love pointing out instances where the "qq page count is so limited we can't write what we want" writers not only wasted space but actually broke something with stupid (should-be-)redundant text: Spider Climb grants a +16 bonus to climb checks! The spell grants "a climb speed of 20 feet and a +8 racial bonus on Climb skill checks", and the climb rules say "A creature with a climb speed has a +8 racial bonus on all Climb checks", and since racial bonuses stack, you get both, once from the climb rules, once directly from the spell.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
blahpers wrote:
(Frankly, climbing with only one hand should have been a penalty to the check instead of impossible. Plenty of one-armed climbers out there that do just fine.)

That's true for many things. Using a 2 handed weapon with only one hand should be possible, but just not very effective.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / General Discussion / What can I do with mischievous tail? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.