*Teleports behind you*


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 70 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

Hi guys.

Just a quick question regarding readied actions and reach. Suppose I have 15 ft reach and the travel cleric domain (teleport as move action without provoking). Suppose I ready an action to use the teleport as an enemy moves within 10 ft of me. Do they still provoke an AoO for approaching me or does the readied action trigger first? Alternatively, if I teleported behind them during their move (heh, nothin personal kid) would they provoke as their move continued? This seems cheesy af, but im curious nonetheless.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The AoO occurs as they move out of square X

The readied action occurs as you enter square Y

I would say that younhave to move out of square X before entering square Y, so the AoO wouod happen first.

Also no you wouldn't get 2 AoO's. You only ever provoke once (per enemy) for a single move action.

If you want 2 attacks you could ready an action to attack them when they come within 15 feet. After the readied attack triggers you'd get your AoO if they move out of your threatened square (You get 2 attacks from one enemy move action because one attack is a readied action and not an AoO).


Something else to consider is after you finish your ready action the enemy gets to finish their action. This means they can choose to finish their movement towards your new location. If circumstances change before they run out of movement they can also change what they are doing in response.

So if they move towards you, they can change direction. If they charge you...technically its a botched charge since they can't continue traveling in a straight line to get to you. But if you did this teleport thing often I'd get pissy and as a GM I'd allow the enemy to continue the charge as long as they could do a valid charge from their current position to your new location.


Not sure if Mr Charisma had all his pronouns correct but believe his intent is correct. The earliest an AoO could occur is as they leave the space 15ft away before they would trigger your readied action. This also means you could wait and elect not to take your AoO until they are in the square 10ft away which would then trigger your ready action which prevent an AoO at that moment but also mean you'd still have that AoO available to use. I also agree with Meirril you resolve the AoO then your foe continues with his turn based on the new situation. Unlike Meirril I would accept that the tactic screws them up if it was a charge (and not get 'pissy' if done often) I would allow them to continue moving if they've used less than half there movement. Otherwise unless another foe could have been charged with the same charge their movement would be over (but not necessarily their turn).


MrCharisma wrote:

The AoO occurs as they move out of square X

The readied action occurs as you enter square Y

I would say that younhave to move out of square X before entering square Y, so the AoO wouod happen first.

Also no you wouldn't get 2 AoO's. You only ever provoke once (per enemy) for a single move action.

If you want 2 attacks you could ready an action to attack them when they come within 15 feet. After the readied attack triggers you'd get your AoO if they move out of your threatened square (You get 2 attacks from one enemy move action because one attack is a readied action and not an AoO).

There is only one action, moving from square X to square Y.

The readied action occurs first, you teleport without getting the AoO.

Spoiler:
Or, you can just imagine how much screaming would occur if the DM started doing this to the rest of your party with every demon that has a 10' plus reach and teleport at will


Volkard Abendroth wrote:
The readied action occurs first, you teleport without getting the AoO.

Incorrect, if they have 15ft reach the attack of opportunity triggers before they actually enter the 10ft away square (it occurs as they go to exit the 15ft square).

This is why when you have a reach weapon and someone charges you, if you trip as an AoO they fall prone in the 10ft square, not the 5ft square.

So they'd trigger the AoO as they leave the 15ft square, and then get their readied action when the person enter the 10ft square.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Charge is rather an all-in Mainchance option, and it is telegraphed besides. If you make rulings to mitigate those risks it becomes your only option if it is available at all. This is true, both fo the GM (NPCs) or the players (PCs). Since the PCs will more reasonably know your demons are teleporters, they rather deserve what happens if they over-rely on charge. Now feinting that charge to hopefully cause missed actions, and not making this trick so obviously a fight-winner. This gives the edge when one side can reasonably expect teleportation as a tactic. I both disagree with your ruling and you spoiler's reason for ruling that way. Also, Meirrils pique as a GM, being predictable as a GM deserves tactics being developed, it isn't cheating, and the teleportation trick causes lost lost actions as often as often as successes if you aren't predictable. This isn't rocket science.


willuwontu wrote:
Volkard Abendroth wrote:
The readied action occurs first, you teleport without getting the AoO.

Incorrect, if they have 15ft reach the attack of opportunity triggers before they actually enter the 10ft away square (it occurs as they go to exit the 15ft square).

This is why when you have a reach weapon and someone charges you, if you trip as an AoO they fall prone in the 10ft square, not the 5ft square.

So they'd trigger the AoO as they leave the 15ft square, and then get their readied action when the person enter the 10ft square.

The original scenario was with 10' reach.

If the triggers occur at different points, the answer changes. (You are now moving from X -> Y -> Z)


Daw wrote:
Charge is rather an all-in Mainchance option, and it is telegraphed besides. If you make rulings to mitigate those risks it becomes your only option if it is available at all. This is true, both fo the GM (NPCs) or the players (PCs). Since the PCs will more reasonably know your demons are teleporters, they rather deserve what happens if they over-rely on charge. Now feinting that charge to hopefully cause missed actions, and not making this trick so obviously a fight-winner. This gives the edge when one side can reasonably expect teleportation as a tactic. I both disagree with your ruling and you spoiler's reason for ruling that way. Also, Meirrils pique as a GM, being predictable as a GM deserves tactics being developed, it isn't cheating, and the teleportation trick causes lost lost actions as often as often as successes if you aren't predictable. This isn't rocket science.

Mechanically there is no way to feint a charge, and the readied action is triggered by actual movement.


So, just to be sure, even without a feint, the readied action doesn't happen, and the action is lost, right? Also, charging versus a reach fighter is risky as well, even without teleportation, so neither the charge or readying versus charge are 100%.


Daw wrote:
So, just to be sure, even without a feint, the readied action doesn't happen, and the action is lost, right? Also, charging versus a reach fighter is risky as well, even without teleportation, so neither the charge or readying versus charge are 100%.

In the case of a charge, the charge is lost if something interrupts the movement or the target of the charge moves in a way that invalidates it.

In the case of the readied action, if the trigger never occurs the action never goes off.


Can you also voluntarily abort a charge if you think it looks too risky, say because that reach fighter just looks a bit too ready for you?


Daw wrote:
Can you also voluntarily abort a charge if you think it looks too risky, say because that reach fighter just looks a bit too ready for you?

You would have to make that decision before you triggered his readied action or AoO.


Volkard Abendroth wrote:
The original scenario was with 10' reach.

Was the OP's post edited because he is clearly stating he has a 15ft reach (method unknown) in the OP I'm reading at the top of the thread?

Quote:
You would have to make that decision before you triggered his readied action or AoO.

Sort of, yes the readied action would have to be taken if/when the conditions are met though I think most DM's would say you could abort with loss of the action. And AoO's, to my knowledge, are like any attack always at the characters option. They don't have to be made if the character doesn't, for whatever reason, wish to take an available AoO. Which is why I said "could occur as they leave the space 15ft away."


Daw wrote:
Also, Meirrils pique as a GM, being predictable as a GM deserves tactics being developed, it isn't cheating, and the teleportation trick causes lost lost actions as often as often as successes if you aren't predictable. This isn't rocket science.

This teleport trick, like any other 'surprise' combat maneuver is cool when you do it the first time. But much like bags of sand after you do it a few times it ceases to be cleaver and amusing and just becomes a trick that relies on gaming the system and assuming the enemy doesn't learn.

Rewarding a player for discovering a brand new 'trip maneuver', 'grappler build', 'dirty trick build' or whatever by having the enemy always fall for it round after round rewards players for building a nitch character rather than from being spontaneous and creative. Having 1 or 2 enemies per encounter fall for a trick is reasonable. Having every creature fall for it every time? Not so much.

But I guess some GMs don't think there is anything wrong with that.


Volkard Abendroth wrote:
willuwontu wrote:
Volkard Abendroth wrote:
The readied action occurs first, you teleport without getting the AoO.

Incorrect, if they have 15ft reach the attack of opportunity triggers before they actually enter the 10ft away square (it occurs as they go to exit the 15ft square).

This is why when you have a reach weapon and someone charges you, if you trip as an AoO they fall prone in the 10ft square, not the 5ft square.

So they'd trigger the AoO as they leave the 15ft square, and then get their readied action when the person enter the 10ft square.

The original scenario was with 10' reach.

This is incorrect. The OP said: "Suppose I have 15 ft reach and the travel cleric domain ..."

If you only had 10' reach then yes, the readied actio would trigger when you enter the square 10' away, and the AoO would occur when you left that square.


Meirril wrote:
So if they move towards you, they can change direction. If they charge you...technically its a botched charge since they can't continue traveling in a straight line to get to you. But if you did this teleport thing often I'd get pissy and as a GM I'd allow the enemy to continue the charge as long as they could do a valid charge from their current position to your new location.

If you're talking about changing direction during a charge then that's against the rules. This is the rules forum, so I just want to point that out.

Also if your players are playing tactically and you break the rules to stop them then you're invalidating their choices. This seems like a very "GM vs Players" mentality, and unless it's what everyone signed up for this kind of thinking has been known to break up groups.

PS, there are options to change direction during a charge, WHEELING CHARGE is the most obvious, but I'm sure there would be others.


Kayerloth wrote:
Not sure if Mr Charisma had all his pronouns correct but believe his intent is correct.

Woops =P

It should have read like this:

Quote:

The AoO occurs as they move out of square X

The readied action occurs as you they enter square Y

I would say that you they have to move out of square X before entering square Y, so the AoO would happen first.

Also no you wouldn't get 2 AoO's. You A creature only ever provokes once (per enemy) for a single move action.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
MrCharisma wrote:
If you're talking about changing direction during a charge then that's against the rules.

True, but there are some very tricky issues when someone readies an action to move. It doesn't have to be teleporting; the player can say something like, "I ready an action to walk away as soon as I've made my AoO."

A GM might well start adding house-rules to prevent the player from abusing the rules as they are.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

you know you can just ready to attack after you take an aoo.
trigger it as "as soon as i finish taking an aoo on approaching target' or something. you don't have to have the trigger off someone else.

hack you can trigger a ready action at almost anytime if you trigger it to go off "as soon as i say 'XYZ' " since you can talk as free action out of turn. (i used it for gunslinger with saying 'boom')


Matthew Downie wrote:
MrCharisma wrote:
If you're talking about changing direction during a charge then that's against the rules.

True, but there are some very tricky issues when someone readies an action to move. It doesn't have to be teleporting; the player can say something like, "I ready an action to walk away as soon as I've made my AoO."

A GM might well start adding house-rules to prevent the player from abusing the rules as they are.

I don't want this to escalate too much, but I don't see this as even close to "Abuse". In this scenario the player has given up their turn to ready an action. The action they've readied negates an opponent's turn, but doesn't have any real effect on combat (other than to negate an opponent's turn). To accomplish this task the player has also presumably used up some daily resources (spell/etc to teleport). The enemy has NOT used a limited resource.

Compare this to counter-spelling. You're spending your action (and resources) to negate the enemy's action (and resources). Counter-spelling is usually considered a sub-par option. This option is slightly less powerful than counter-spelling (you're not using the enemy's resources).

This also depends on the enemy charging. If the enemy doesn't charge then you've wasted your action for nothing.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
MrCharisma wrote:
To accomplish this task the player has also presumably used up some daily resources (spell/etc to teleport). The enemy has NOT used a limited resource.

The PC has used up 10 feet of their 100 feet per day Travel Domain ability; the enemy has used up one of the three rounds that has left to live before the party's ranged attacks and AoOs kill it. Advantage: PC.

And that's assuming they teleport. What if it's just the PC moving their fifty foot base speed? That costs nothing.

MrCharisma wrote:
This also depends on the enemy charging. If the enemy doesn't charge then you've wasted your action for nothing.

Or it moves up to you in any way, and you just move out of its range. If it's a melee-focused enemy and the rest of the party are standing back, what else is it going to do?

In any case where the party has a numbers advantage, spending an action to negate the enemy's action is powerful. If a party of level 8 PCs is fighting a solo lich (or even a lich with some trivial minions), and one of the party manages to counterspell the lich's only action for the turn, that's a good thing.


Mikemad wrote:
Just a quick question regarding readied actions and reach. Suppose I have 15 ft reach and the travel cleric domain (teleport as move action without provoking). Suppose I ready an action to use the teleport as an enemy moves within 10 ft of me. Do they still provoke an AoO for approaching me or does the readied action trigger first?

To back up the "AoO happens first" position, what would happen if your AoO was a trip attempt and succeeded? A target in a square at 15' would trip and fall in that square. They'd then probably not enter 10', and hence not trigger the ready action.

---

To consider the meta and abuse potential for a second, what does this allow? Ignoring teleport because it's not required to make this useful, a PC could move up to just outside their own reach, ready to retreat upon enemy closing within (distance), and hope to get their AoO this way.
Or, if they're already in position, they could strike, ready to move, and get an AoO.
That's like, cool and tactical and all. Sometimes it will be useful. But they spent their whole turn moving in and out, and got 0-1 attacks and 0-1 AoO out of it. Also, in order to make it work they need:

* superior melee reach to the enemy
* space to retreat
* superior movement to the enemy
* the ability to inflict meaningful damage
* the enemy not to have meaningful ranged options

When I put that whole list down, it doesn't really seem like "abuse" any more. It seems like "sound tactics giving a perfectly sensible result".


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Holy sht, this blew up. Thanks for all the responses. If anyone is curious, the reason I asked about this is for countering pounce. Specifically synthesist pounce.

Im trying to find ways to avoid getting 1-rounded by multi attack pounce, which means I need a way to stop them from just charging every round. This gives me a viable option to play a sort of poke-game with a pouncer. Forcing them to trade hit-for-hit instead of 5+ hits vs my s##&ty iteratives. I could never beat a well-built synth in a slugfest.

Silver Crusade

Mikemad wrote:

Holy sht, this blew up. Thanks for all the responses. If anyone is curious, the reason I asked about this is for countering pounce. Specifically synthesist pounce.

Im trying to find ways to avoid getting 1-rounded by multi attack pounce, which means I need a way to stop them from just charging every round. This gives me a viable option to play a sort of poke-game with a pouncer. Forcing them to trade hit-for-hit instead of 5+ hits vs my s$@~ty iteratives. I could never beat a well-built synth in a slugfest.

That's a tough fight! Pounce is very strong. The odds are against you. As you've likely deduced, your best option is to trip or otherwise prevent the Pounce from landing. Even with a good CMB and Tandem Trip feat the pounce will eventually get through. Pounce defeats reach tactics in much the same way that reach tactics defeat non-pouncing multi-attackers.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Magda Luckbender wrote:


That's a tough fight! Pounce is very strong. The odds are against you. As you've likely deduced, your best option is to trip or otherwise prevent the Pounce from landing. Even with a good CMB and Tandem Trip feat the pounce will eventually get through. Pounce defeats reach tactics in much the same way that reach tactics defeat non-pouncing multi-attackers.

They have 4 legs and can fly. I don't think tripping is going to be a viable option. My hope is to use the tactics discussed in this thread to force a situation where they can't charge at all. If they try they just get hit with an AoO and then lose their action.


pounce need a charge - straight line mostly. your best option is to make it a fight around corners - stone shape or walls etc. also if you can summon as standard action (which there are a at least 3 feats for and more options otherwise) summon monsters into the charge lane after you take your aoo.
as for fighting a synth. try going for the eidolon with spells that send it back, or rendering the summoner unconscious. there are also cheese ways to stack fear effects that have no save to force him to run away if he gets too close. (for example a skald with the rage power that make adjusted enemies shaken. giving it to party members \summon monsters with rage song)


Lucy_Valentine wrote:

* superior melee reach to the enemy
* space to retreat
* superior movement to the enemy
* the ability to inflict meaningful damage
* the enemy not to have meaningful ranged options

When I put that whole list down, it doesn't really seem like "abuse" any more. It seems like "sound tactics giving a perfectly sensible result".

1) PC is optimized for reach. It is very difficult to get a 15' reach.

Likewise its very infrequent to find a monster with reach better than 10'. Sure they exist, but most campaigns don't have a series of huge opponents. The tactic is more viable than trip builds, because you don't have to hit the creature's CMD.

2) Space to without triggering AoO. If the target charges you only have to move 10' to the side to break the charge which costs the creature its full round action.

3) The enemy had to eat up movement to get to 15' and trigger to 10'. That is a minimum of 10' of movement and you get to use your full movement and see if the creature can still catch you. If you build for this that could be a lot more than 30'. Advantage is definitely with the tactic.

4) Unless the person striking and running can't hurt the opponent, the one getting to attack one sidedly by definition will win. It doesn't matter if its a d4 of damage, if you can't do any damage back you'll lose.

5) There will be tons of situations where you can't use this tactic. But just like trip, grapple, disarm, dirty trick/blind and other cheesy one trick pony melee builds there will be a lot of situations where it works.

And the ultimate test: what if the GM decided the idea was so good he was going to use it vs every melee based PC? If you think its perfectly reasonable, then creatures should do it too.

Giants generally get 2 melee strikes. Losing 1 of them doesn't sound too bad if they can one sidedly beat up the players. Start equipping them with large longspears instead of clubs and two-handed swords.

And the best thing about this is, there is no feat investment needed. Any creature could do this. Is that the kind of rules abuse you want to encourage in your campaign?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Volkard Abendroth wrote:
MrCharisma wrote:

The AoO occurs as they move out of square X

The readied action occurs as you enter square Y

I would say that younhave to move out of square X before entering square Y, so the AoO wouod happen first.

Also no you wouldn't get 2 AoO's. You only ever provoke once (per enemy) for a single move action.

If you want 2 attacks you could ready an action to attack them when they come within 15 feet. After the readied attack triggers you'd get your AoO if they move out of your threatened square (You get 2 attacks from one enemy move action because one attack is a readied action and not an AoO).

There is only one action, moving from square X to square Y.

The readied action occurs first, you teleport without getting the AoO.

** spoiler omitted **

If a GM is going to play gotcha with exact wording of a readied action, then one just changes the readied action to "I ready an action for X with a trigger of I take an AoO".

GM's really should just understand the players intent behind declaring a readied action. This isn't a wish spell...


Meirril wrote:
And the ultimate test: what if the GM decided the idea was so good he was going to use it vs every melee based PC? If you think its perfectly reasonable, then creatures should do it too.

Sounds good to me. If the PCs get wrecked by this they deserve to. It relies on the enemy having at least 15' reach, the PCs not having 15' reach, the enemy having superior movement speed, and the PCs not having ranged attacks. So... yeah. I'm okay with the PCs losing in that scenario. They didn't plan properly.


zza ni wrote:

pounce need a charge - straight line mostly. your best option is to make it a fight around corners - stone shape or walls etc. also if you can summon as standard action (which there are a at least 3 feats for and more options otherwise) summon monsters into the charge lane after you take your aoo.

as for fighting a synth. try going for the eidolon with spells that send it back, or rendering the summoner unconscious. there are also cheese ways to stack fear effects that have no save to force him to run away if he gets too close. (for example a skald with the rage power that make adjusted enemies shaken. giving it to party members \summon monsters with rage song)

Flight makes wall of stone and stone shape less useful (you can charge while flying).

My aura has terrible summons (unfortunately, it's really hard to get great sacred summons on a cleric with travel domain), so no sacred summons. Summon good monster doesn't grant standard action summoning like summon evil monster does. Clerics also cannot take academae graduate. I can't think of any other ways to get standard action summoning.

Since you cannot target a synthesist and their eidolon separately, attempts to banish the eidolon interact with the synthesist's will save (which is phenomenal). I don't understand why people think synth is weak to banishment spells; you likely have less than a 25% chance of actually landing them. The same goes for most sleep spells I can think of.


Keep in mind Wall of Stone is (S) meaning you can shape it to account for a flyer. You should be able to easily shape it into something that makes it difficult if not impossible for a flyer to gain anything resembling a charge. At 5th level (perhaps up to 10th if your DM is a stickler for wall thickness, buttressing etc. and you wish to avoid getting squeezed) you could construct a cube totally surrounding your space then use Stone Shape (s) to make some arrow slits if you really wanted to spend the time. Personally I'd figure out some shape that wasn't enclosed but rendered charge lanes impossible.

And I'm no expert at the PF Flying rules but if they are directly or all but directly overhead and "charge" they got some explaining to do on how they pull out of that power dive without going splat into the ground. Unless your Synth has got the flight skills of a Hummingbird good luck with that at least with this DM. Do they have Snatch?


Attacks of Opportunity wrote:


An attack of opportunity “interrupts” the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character’s turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character’s turn).

Resolve the AoO immediately, then resolve the Readied Action.


Quicker cleric summons:
2 Ally Across Time
3 Summon Ancestral Guardian
5 Army Across Time
9 Wooden Phalanx

Pounce requires charging.
Difficult terrain prevents it.
Obstacles and active critters can prevent it.
It requires line of sight.

If you are in sufficient darkness and it cannot see then it cannot pounce.
If you are in obscuring mist then it cannot charge.
If another can land a Slow spell, it will be staggered and that shuts down pounce since it is not allowed a full round action.

I recently used this tactic with my cleric. I used it to AoO then dimension hop to it's other side. This left it easily flanked, since it was in a corridor.
Bonus was it was a giant that was squeezing, so it lost some AC and BAB. With me on one side and the rogue on the other, it died to the two of us.

/cevah


Fatigue will also stop charging (and lower Str and Dex). While not available to a cleric,ray of exhaustion is easy to hit with. Makes them fatigued even on a save. If they fail, they become exhausted which will make them weak as a kitten and only half speed.


Cevah wrote:
Difficult terrain prevents it.

The Synthesist is flying.

Cevah wrote:
If another can land a Slow spell, it will be staggered and that shuts down pounce since it is not allowed a full round action.

That's not true, a staggered character can still charge up to their movement speed, and since pounce only asks for a charge, you still get all your attacks.


Derklord wrote:
Cevah wrote:
Difficult terrain prevents it.
The Synthesist is flying.

Hmmm.... RAW has this to say:

Terrain and Obstacles
Difficult Terrain wrote:
Flying and incorporeal creatures are not hampered by difficult terrain.
Derklord wrote:
Cevah wrote:
If another can land a Slow spell, it will be staggered and that shuts down pounce since it is not allowed a full round action.
That's not true, a staggered character can still charge up to their movement speed, and since pounce only asks for a charge, you still get all your attacks.

Slow can charge, but they cannot do a full round action. Pounce requires the latter. Thus it is stopped.

Pounce wrote:

Pounce (Ex)

When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can make a full attack (including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability).

Format: pounce; Location: Special Attacks.

Slow wrote:

An affected creature moves and attacks at a drastically slowed rate. Creatures affected by this spell are staggered and can take only a single move action or standard action each turn, but not both (nor may it take full-round actions). Additionally, it takes a -1 penalty on attack rolls, AC, and Reflex saves. A slowed creature moves at half its normal speed (round down to the next 5-foot increment), which affects the creature’s jumping distance as normal for decreased speed.

Multiple slow effects don’t stack. Slow counters and dispels haste.

Full Round Actions

Full Round Actions wrote:

Full-Round Actions

A full-round action requires an entire round to complete. Thus, it can’t be coupled with a standard or a move action, though if it does not involve moving any distance, you can take a 5-foot step.
Full Attack
...

/cevah


Cevah wrote:
Derklord wrote:
Cevah wrote:
If another can land a Slow spell, it will be staggered and that shuts down pounce since it is not allowed a full round action.
That's not true, a staggered character can still charge up to their movement speed, and since pounce only asks for a charge, you still get all your attacks.
Slow can charge, but they cannot do a full round action. Pounce requires the latter. Thus it is stopped.
FAQ wrote:

Pounce and Slow: If a creature with pounce is under a slow effect, and it charges, does it still get its full attack from pounce?

According to the rules as written, pounce would allow the creature its full attack, despite the slow effect.

(This happens because there is no "partial charge" action in the Pathfinder RPG.)


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yet another FAQ that changes the rules rather than clarifies them.
Sigh....

/cevah


Cevah wrote:

Yet another FAQ that changes the rules rather than clarifies them.

Sigh....

/cevah

I mean not really, if the full attack of a normal pounce required you to full round action to full attack you wouldn't be able to due to having to use your full round action to charge. Since the rules for pounce weren't considered in this light, it breaks apart under situations like this.


That's not a rule change.

Pounce wrote:


When a creature with this special attack makes a charge, it can make a full attack (including rake attacks if the creature also has the rake ability).

Is the character making a charge? Yes. Then it gets a full attack.

A full round action lets you do a full attack, that does not necessarily mean a full attack requires a full round action. Of course you need to find a way to get a full attack without that full round action to be allowed it... but pounce makes no limitations on action type required for the charge to qualify.

Bull rush strike, tripping strike, etc do a similar thing. Normally a standard action is needed to do a combat manuever. These feats let you tack them on to a critical hit without requiring an additional action. In fact these could even be used as part of an AoO.


Lucy_Valentine wrote:
Meirril wrote:
And the ultimate test: what if the GM decided the idea was so good he was going to use it vs every melee based PC? If you think its perfectly reasonable, then creatures should do it too.
Sounds good to me. If the PCs get wrecked by this they deserve to. It relies on the enemy having at least 15' reach, the PCs not having 15' reach, the enemy having superior movement speed, and the PCs not having ranged attacks. So... yeah. I'm okay with the PCs losing in that scenario. They didn't plan properly.

Any large creature with a reach weapon has 20' reach. Many also have natural attacks; no minimum attack range.

This starts at really low level and takes minimal investment for a large creature. No where near what a PC would need to invest.


I can see this tactic, readying an action to move when the enemy is within x distance, working vs Spring Attack (without Spring-Heeled Sprint).

The fact you keep your move action means you could say move a Flaming Sphere (or similar spell) while dodging the enemy.


Good tactics can make a huge difference in a fight. Against most foes, even Readying an action to "attack and 5-foot step away (assuming you haven't moved) if I get attacked" can have a huge impact. When they move up to attack, your Ready interrupts, you get an attack and then step back out of their range. Since they've already moved and started their attack, they can't move again (they could use any extra or iteratives against another target.)

Then, since your initiative changes to just before theirs, you can do it again even if they only need to 5-foot step to reach you. Things like Step Up or other tactics might mitigate this depending on the circumstance (as they should), but it's still very effective against a lot of foes when you aren't being swarmed. It also works best for those with either one attack already or Vital Strike or other methods of making a single attack more powerful since you're giving up iteratives.


Would you say this makes Overwatch Style Crossbowman Fighters much better characters?. I am not sure how that feat interacts with this tactic.

Outslug Sprint would certainly help the 5-ft (10-ft) step away, when dealing with reach characters (particularly large creatures).


Pizza Lord wrote:
GWhen they move up to attack, your Ready interrupts, you get an attack and then step back out of their range. Since they've already moved and started their attack, they can't move again

Exactly the kind of thing I'd house-rule around if any of my players tried it.

"OK, he doesn't attack, since you're no longer there; instead he uses his remaining movement allowance to catch up to you, and then he attacks."
Or:
"You make your attack, but he still gets his attack immediately afterwards, while you're still doing your five-foot step."


Matthew Downie wrote:
Pizza Lord wrote:
GWhen they move up to attack, your Ready interrupts, you get an attack and then step back out of their range. Since they've already moved and started their attack, they can't move again

Exactly the kind of thing I'd house-rule around if any of my players tried it.

"OK, he doesn't attack, since you're no longer there; instead he uses his remaining movement allowance to catch up to you, and then he attacks."
Or:
"You make your attack, but he still gets his attack immediately afterwards, while you're still doing your five-foot step."

The bolded part is 100% legal provided they didn't charge. If the defender steps straight back it's legal even on a charge.

The 2nd part is cheating, and I cannot stress enough how much the GM breaking the rules to negate player tactics is a bad idea. The GM can ALWAYS win if they want to (heck, the easiest way to negate this tactic as a GM is simply have TWO enemies attack).

EDIT: I'm very tired and may have misread something. I'll come back in thenmorning and check again =P


Matthew Downie wrote:
Pizza Lord wrote:
When they move up to attack, your Ready interrupts, you get an attack and then step back out of their range. Since they've already moved and started their attack, they can't move again

Exactly the kind of thing I'd house-rule around if any of my players tried it.

"OK, he doesn't attack, since you're no longer there; instead he uses his remaining movement allowance to catch up to you, and then he attacks."
Or:
"You make your attack, but he still gets his attack immediately afterwards, while you're still doing your five-foot step."

You can certainly house-rule away anything you like, but, as MrCharisma says, you would pretty much be blatantly cheating (in so much as that ruling is entirely against the rules, barring the fact that it's your game and you changed it).

In the first case, that would be akin to a player Readying an action to attack a caster if they cast a spell (which would let them interrupt even if the caster cast defensively to not provoke an AoO) and after hitting and spoiling the spell you declare, "Well, he doesn't cast that spell, but instead one of his remaining spells." The action was begun, and it occurs after the interruption if possible. If you Ready an action to shut a door between you and an attacker if he throws a dagger at you, when he throws that dagger and your Ready triggers, you shut the door. The dagger still gets thrown at you and hits the door. The attacker doesn't get to change the target.

Additionally, allowing the attacker to move again after beginning his attack just because the target moved away (without a feat or ability to do so), is cheating because the attacker in your house-rule has no remaining movement. He's moved that round (using his movement or taking a 5-foot step which would prevent any further movement) and then taken an attack (even if the target turns out to not be where he thought he would be when the attack resolves).

Remember that the Ready is set to trigger when an attack is made, otherwise you would be correct that if the Ready action was to back away when an enemy merely moved within range or next to the character, then certainly the attacker could still be considered on their movement (other than if it was a 5-foot step, in which case they cannot move any further, though they could direct their attack anyway they wish as normal).


MrCharisma wrote:
Matthew Downie wrote:
"OK, he doesn't attack, since you're no longer there; instead he uses his remaining movement allowance to catch up to you, and then he attacks."
The bolded part is 100% legal provided they didn't charge.

Surely once you've started to attack, and triggered the readied action, you're committed to doing it, just as if someone shoots an arrow at you while you're casting a spell you don't get to change your mind about casting the spell. And because Pathfinder has a rule (admittedly one that I already house-ruled away) that you can't act in the middle of your move action, your move is already over so there's no way to catch up and attack.


Pizza Lord wrote:
If you Ready an action to shut a door between you and an attacker if he throws a dagger at you, when he throws that dagger and your Ready triggers, you shut the door. The dagger still gets thrown at you and hits the door. The attacker doesn't get to change the target.

I just don't like readied actions that involve walking to another square. Maybe that's the cleaner house-rule (or 'cheat' as we're apparently calling them now) - no movement during a readied action.

Would you be happy with an NPC who uses a readied action to move to another square when you fire an arrow at him? "Sorry, it doesn't matter what you rolled to hit; by the time the arrow gets there, he's thirty feet away from where you were aiming at. No, you don't get to change your aim."

1 to 50 of 70 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / *Teleports behind you* All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.