Are you Flat footed if you provoque an AOO on the first round


Rules Questions

Scarab Sages

As the AOO arrives during the action,

Quote:
An attack of opportunity "interrupts" the normal flow of actions in the round. If an attack of opportunity is provoked, immediately resolve the attack of opportunity, then continue with the next character's turn (or complete the current turn, if the attack of opportunity was provoked in the midst of a character's turn).

Are you still flatfooted if you provoke AOO on your first round if the enemy moved before you.

Ex: Sam strike Bob. As Bob did not move yet, he is FF, but on Bod's turn, he moved away from Sam provoking an AOO. Do we consider Bob still Flat footed?

Please quoted the rules if any.

Quote:
Flat-Footed: At the start of a battle, before you have had a chance to act (specifically, before your first regular turn in the initiative order), you are flat-footed. You can't use your Dexterity bonus to AC (if any) while flat-footed. Barbarians and rogues of high enough level have the uncanny dodge extraordinary ability, which means that they cannot be caught flat-footed. Characters with uncanny dodge retain their Dexterity bonus to their AC and can make attacks of opportunity before they have acted in the first round of combat. A flat-footed character can't make attacks of opportunity, unless he has the Combat Reflexes feat.


I might be misunderstanding your question, but, typically, if it becomes Bob's turn, then he's no longer flat-footed, so no.

You are only flat-footed until you take your first action (typically on your turn). Combat Reflexes will let you take AoOs against those who provoke them, but those don't count as actions. You will still be flat-footed until your initiative. So in your example, Bob is no longer flat-footed once his turn starts, even if he gets attacked before he does something. While the AoO is presumed to pre-empt the action, he is still considered to have taken (or be taking) an action, so he is not flat-footed. This would apply even he had decided to delay or hold his actions until a later time in the initiative order.


No as soon as you act you're not flatfooted.


since you act (move action) you are no longer considered FF (because the AoO is not taken before you had the chance to act but during) and now retain your DEX bonus to AC and your dodge bonus to AC


Pizza Lord wrote:
I might be misunderstanding your question, but, typically, if it becomes Bob's turn, then he's no longer flat-footed, so no.

nope if i take a readied action to attack you when its your turn you are still FF because you didn't have the chance to act (which is stupid to take the readied action to do that but still)

Scarab Sages

SO the AOO is during the action and not prior, so in that case you are no longer FF.
That make sens. Thanks.


Eretas wrote:

SO the AOO is during the action and not prior, so in that case you are no longer FF.

That make sens. Thanks.

For purposes of your question, regarding being Flat-footed, yes. The action that triggers the AoO begins, the AoO occurs, and then the action completes (unless the provoker can no longer complete it or the action itself is interrupted, such as a spell being disrupted.)

Due to the vast number of possible actions and possible wordings for Readying (another case of an action occurring before its trigger and possibly interrupting), not every situation will work like this. For instance, readying an action to strike a creature that opens a door: If the creature is on your side of the door, when they try and open it, your attack could drop them and stop the door from opening. If they were on the other side of the door, when they open it (and you can see and attack them) that would likely trigger your AoO, but it wouldn't interrupt the action to open the door, even though typically the AoO would preempt.

In your example, however, Bob is not flat-footed once his turn begins.


You can take an attack of opportunity, while still flat footed, with the combat reflexes feat. After that attack, I think you would still be considered flat footed, until your actual turn comes up.


Melkiador wrote:
You can take an attack of opportunity, while still flat footed, with the combat reflexes feat. After that attack, I think you would still be considered flat footed, until your actual turn comes up.

if you take an AoO because of combat reflexe while FF you are no longer FF because you have taken an action (attack action given by the AoO)


AoO isn't an attack action, it's an AoO, a non-action.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Chess Pwn wrote:
AoO isn't an attack action, it's an AoO, a non-action.

a AoO give you a free attack which is an attack action


John Murdock wrote:
Chess Pwn wrote:
AoO isn't an attack action, it's an AoO, a non-action.
a AoO give you a free attack which is an attack action

no it is not an action and does not remove FF from not having your turn yet


i though you just needed to perform an action to no longer be flat-footed not just be your turn yet


From the combat chapter.

Quote:
At the start of a battle, before you have had a chance to act (specifically, before your first regular turn in the initiative order), you are flat-footed.


An AoO is not a regular turn, nor does combat reflexes state it means you're no longer flat footed.

It does exactly as it say it does and no more

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Are you Flat footed if you provoque an AOO on the first round All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions