Is it possible to dual-wield pepperbox pistols?


Rules Questions

51 to 100 of 147 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>

Did I miss something, or are people claiming you get to full attack with each pistol while dual-wielding? I'm not super familiar with firearm rules, so I was operating under the assumption that you get 1 offhand shot with the offhand pistol.


It's more a matter of the Improved/Greater Two-Weapon Fighting feats, which grant you second and third offhand attacks, with iterative attack-style penalties.


Ok, but that still means you full attack with pistol one, rolling with the free hand, then free action retrieve the other weapon to continue with the offhand attacks. I guess the question is, is 'juggling' the main weapon into the glove of storing using a free action more unbelievable than free action dropping it. In any case, I don't see why you have to juggle store/retrieve for each main and offhand attack, you just have to do it when you transition from the main hand to offhand attack sequence.

Scarab Sages

I searched for threads on Main Hand/Off Hand attack order yesterday. Basically, there's a lot of disagreement about whether or not you have to take attacks in descending attack bonus order Meaning you would have to go Main Hand Primary/Off Hand Primary/Main Hand Iterative/Off Hand Iterative. I don't know if that is actually the case or not, but that's where this line of thinking comes from.

Personally, that's how I always did my TWF melee attack sequences,. with any haste or bonus (from Ki in that case) attacks last. It never occurred to me to do it differently. With guns, though, there's a definite incentive to go Main Hand Primary/Main Hand Iterative/Off Hand Primary/Off Hand Iterative if it's allowed. And a lot of people seem to think it is allowed.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

So instead of juggling two guns, you're taking turns with them, emptying the barrels of the first gun as appropriate to your BAB, doing glove tricks to switch pistols, and emptying barrels of the second gun as appropriate to your feats in the TWF tree.

So instead of firing both weapons guns akimbo at the target simultaneously, you are firing one, taking a brief pause, then firing the other, which not only seems like it would take more time, it begs the question on why you aren't just using the first gun over again.

Scenario 1: Fire a gun three times in the main hand, pause to do glove tricks, fire a different gun twice with the offhand.
Scenario 2: Fire a gun three times in the main hand, pause to switch which hand you're holding the gun with, fire that same gun twice with the offhand.
Scenario 3: Fire a gun three times in the main hand, pause to do nothing in particular, fire that same gun twice, but these shots count as offhand because you have two offhand attacks and there's a FAQ that says you can decide which hand is your main one on a per-attack basis.

I'd like to know why the first scenario, the one you propose, is legal, and why the other two are not. If it is not a matter of how many attacks you can fit into six seconds, then what is keeping them from the other scenarios?

(EDIT: clarifications)

Scarab Sages

For Scenario 2 and 3, I don't know for sure where it is, but I'm willing to guess it's stated or implied somewhere that Two-Weapon Fighting must be with two different weapons (or a double weapon).

EDIT: Like in the first sentence under Two-Weapon Fighting in the Combat section: "If you wield a second weapon in your off hand..."


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Saethori wrote:
...forgive me for saying, but I get the feeling this oversteps the "reasonable amount of free actions" by quite a bit.

That's totally fine. I don't think anyone is refuting that, that is a going to be considered a bit excessive for many GMs.

But aside from that, I'm not seeing anything yet that specifically prohibits what my player is doing.

Saethori wrote:
So instead of firing both weapons guns akimbo at the target simultaneously, you are firing one, taking a brief pause, then firing the other, which not only seems like it would take more time, it begs the question on why you aren't just using the first gun over again.

Not so much a problem as it is an unusual side-effect of using an abstract turn-based system. Not every rule is going to make total sense when you think that deeply on it.


I think it's less a thread of pepper boxes and more one of "how much is too much." There does come a point where one has to step back and think "we may have jumped a shark or two on the way to this action economy".

I do appreciate the use of the glove of storing.

However I think I've spotted a small error.

Quote:


On command, one item held in the hand wearing the glove disappears.

This makes it impossible to reload the stored glove. You can't switch weapons from one hand to the other if both hands are occupied, and there is no free hand to switch to. This means you can store the gun, fire off main hand shots and bring offhand back. But it has to be in that same hand and you can not store the main hand glove.

1.You can't switch it over because that hand is already occupied.
2.You can't reload the second gun because it needs a free hand you can never have. 3. You can't wear a second glove.

Therefore the second gun is good for exactly ONE shot, can't be reloaded and offers a very expensive way to reload your main hand at a cost of 10000 gold to two weapon fight.

Thoughts?

Scarab Sages

That's why I posted an overly complicated sequence upthread that does not involve switching hands. You can still get a couple of rounds off. More if you have Quickdraw and extra pepperboxes.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Why can't you switch both guns from one hand to the other? Pretty sure it can be done. It likely wouldn't be elegant, but it's certainly possible.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

I dunno man. That's prettt much juggling and that's decidedly not a class feature. At that point are we saying you can hold 2 guns and switch hands with them both over and over again with no extra difficulty OR time restrictions than just one hand being empty?

I mean it's one thing to say 8 free actions a turn. Another to say you're doing it in ways never previously talked about. Switching what's in both hands when they are occupied?

Then why bother buying two daggers for a knife fighter? Or upgrading both anyways? Couldn't you just throw the weapon in the other hand and attack with it? Just buy one weapon and then attack switch attack switch over and over? Is that what we are really saying here?

It's a little much.


I already posted why you can't do that. The rules explicitly say that with two weapon fighting, you have to attack with the offhand weapon for the extra attacks.

You need two weapons for two weapon fighting.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
_Ozy_ wrote:

I already posted why you can't do that. The rules explicitly say that with two weapon fighting, you have to attack with the offhand weapon for the extra attacks.

You need two weapons for two weapon fighting.

If he attacks with both weapons, then how does he not have two weapons???


Ravingdork wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:

I already posted why you can't do that. The rules explicitly say that with two weapon fighting, you have to attack with the offhand weapon for the extra attacks.

You need two weapons for two weapon fighting.

If he attacks with both weapons, then how does he not have two weapons???

He does. I was responding to Cavall's post:

Quote:
Then why bother buying two daggers for a knife fighter? Or upgrading both anyways? Couldn't you just throw the weapon in the other hand and attack with it? Just buy one weapon and then attack switch attack switch over and over? Is that what we are really saying here?


I think this entire threads going to come to a head on free action limits. And it's gunna suck.

Scarab Sages

Cavall wrote:
I dunno man. That's prettt much juggling and that's decidedly not a class feature.

This does remind me that at one point I was wondering if you could make a Juggler Bard/Gunslinger TWFing build.

Juggler Bard wrote:

Combat Juggling (Ex)

At 2nd level, a juggler can hold and wield (in other words, “juggle”) up to three items or weapons in his hands. The juggler must be able to hold and wield an object in one hand in order to juggle it.

This ability doesn't grant the juggler additional attacks, though it does allow him to use different weapons as part of a full attack. As long as he is juggling fewer than three objects, the juggler is considered to have a free hand (for the purposes of drawing a weapon, using somatic components, using Deflect Arrows, and so on).

So a 2nd level Juggler Bard can be wielding two weapons and is still considered to have a free hand.

Sorry, went off topic a little.


And that very much is a way to dual wield two pistols without needing to mess with an absurd amount of free actions. It would look utterly bizarre, but it works without needing to worry where you're getting the free hand from!


That I'd have no issue with. Also because it's not stealing the thunder of a class that gives the ability in the first place, which is why I brought up juggling at all.


So, a class feature that provides a free hand is ok, but a magic item that does the same isn't? If we disallowed magic items that 'stole the thunder' of class abilities we would have to do a lot of pruning.


The magic item doesn't do the same thing. It in no way allows free action hand switching when there is no free hand to switch into. It's a 10 k excuse to fire one bullet once a combat.


cuatroespada wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:
Cavall wrote:
Ravingdork wrote:

You can't imagine a heroic gunslinger spinning the barrel along one arm while firing at the same time?

I can. I could even imagine a feat for it. However that isn't the issue, because an arm isn't a free hand.

If you wanted a feat to this, it's pretty reasonable. But currently there isn't a feat for it and that still doesn't address the issue of needing a hand free as per the firearm requirements for this weapon.

The gloves of storing provide a free hand, as a free action.

and that is when the free actions get ridiculous as you can only have one glove of storing per RAW resulting in a lot of gun juggling.

each iterative becomes "shoot, shoot, store, spin, retrieve, juggle (x2), store, spin, retrieve." that's 8 free actions per iterative attack.

The mental image from that is so awesome though - just imagine how fast his hands would be moving


This just in: firearms are poorly supported.


As I understand it, it's not the free actions that keep the Glove of Storing from giving you full iteratives with both hands, it's the swapping items between hands. That's not covered or allowed by any rule I know.
There are magic items that do allow full TWF with pistols. A Monkey Belt would be one. There's no restriction there on which item you can grab with the tail.
Or you can just take gun twirling and ignore the whole problem.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Johnnycat93 wrote:
This just in: firearms are poorly supported.

This is a problem with crossbowmen too you know.

thejeff wrote:

As I understand it, it's not the free actions that keep the Glove of Storing from giving you full iteratives with both hands, it's the swapping items between hands. That's not covered or allowed by any rule I know.

There are magic items that do allow full TWF with pistols. A Monkey Belt would be one. There's no restriction there on which item you can grab with the tail.

Or you can just take gun twirling and ignore the whole problem.

I'm certain game developers have commented on this in some capacity or another, though I haven't been able to find a source yet.

EDIT: Found a few...

[link]

James Jacobs, Creative Director wrote:
...switching items from one hand to another is a free action...

[link]

James Jacobs, Creative Director wrote:
Switching a held object from one hand to the other doesn't require an action...

I found still more developer posts (from other developers) about switching hands, but these appear to be the only two that declare what action it is. Shame they are somewhat contradictory...


My whole problem with this strategy is centered around changing weapons multiple times in a round while both hands are full. It kind of puts me into a sense of unbelief in allowing it within a 6 second round.

There is nothing in the rules on what kind of action it is for a player to swap weapons while holding 2 weapons. I am pretty sure the posts you linked by James Jacobs were for changing the hand holding a weapon while one hand is free.


Ravingdork wrote:

This is a problem with crossbowmen too you know.

thejeff wrote:

As I understand it, it's not the free actions that keep the Glove of Storing from giving you full iteratives with both hands, it's the swapping items between hands. That's not covered or allowed by any rule I know.

There are magic items that do allow full TWF with pistols. A Monkey Belt would be one. There's no restriction there on which item you can grab with the tail.

Or you can just take gun twirling and ignore the whole problem.

I'm certain game developers have commented on this in some capacity or another, though I haven't been able to find a source yet.

EDIT: Found a few...

[link]

James Jacobs, Creative Director wrote:
...switching items from one hand to another is a free action...

[link]

James Jacobs, Creative Director wrote:
Switching a held object from one hand to the other doesn't require an action...
I found still more developer posts (from other developers) about switching hands, but these appear to be the only two that declare what action it is. Shame they are somewhat contradictory...

As nicholas said, that's swapping an item from one hand to a free one. That's a free action. No one disputes that. That's why the prehensile tail/monkey belt works.

Trading weapons between two full hands isn't addressed and isn't covered by the previous since you can't do it in stages due to the lack of a free hand.


magispitt wrote:
cuatroespada wrote:


each iterative becomes "shoot, shoot, store, spin, retrieve, juggle (x2), store, spin, retrieve." that's 8 free actions per iterative attack.
The mental image from that is so awesome though - just imagine how fast his hands would be moving

for me personally, i'd rather just ignore the rules about the gloves and give him two.

but without ignoring rules he could become a juggler bard, or get a prehensile tail, or get a third arm...

Scarab Sages

Ferious Thune wrote:
Cavall wrote:
I dunno man. That's prettt much juggling and that's decidedly not a class feature.

This does remind me that at one point I was wondering if you could make a Juggler Bard/Gunslinger TWFing build.

Juggler Bard wrote:

Combat Juggling (Ex)

At 2nd level, a juggler can hold and wield (in other words, “juggle”) up to three items or weapons in his hands. The juggler must be able to hold and wield an object in one hand in order to juggle it.

This ability doesn't grant the juggler additional attacks, though it does allow him to use different weapons as part of a full attack. As long as he is juggling fewer than three objects, the juggler is considered to have a free hand (for the purposes of drawing a weapon, using somatic components, using Deflect Arrows, and so on).

So a 2nd level Juggler Bard can be wielding two weapons and is still considered to have a free hand.

Sorry, went off topic a little.

This is exactly what I was going to suggest. It's my go-to class for three-handing.

The best part is, though you need two levels of it those levels are packed with great stuff including deflect arrows(for fighting against other gunslingers!), evasion, bardic performance and wand usage with a couple spell slots.


Having seen a professional juggler on tv (this guy juggles bats, balls, pins, etc), it's actually easier for me to believe this working than swapping weapons back and forth while holding 2.

Scarab Sages

Lorewalker wrote:

This is exactly what I was going to suggest. It's my go-to class for three-handing.

The best part is, though you need two levels of it those levels are packed with great stuff including deflect arrows(for fighting against other gunslingers!), evasion, bardic performance and wand usage with a couple spell slots.

Juggler derail:
Have you used this with a Gunslinger? Which Archetype worked best? I've thought about it either for TWF or just so that the Bard can carry a flag/Banner of the Ancient Kings while still having a hand free to reload.

Pistolero seems logical, though as much fun as it would be to create a "Jugglero," I keep wondering if Mysterious Stranger might be better to switch grit to Cha-based and get Cha-damage earlier.

I think if you're going Bard dip for 2 levels, then Pistolero makes more sense, and TWF makes more sense.

If you're dipping a level of Gunslinger, then taking the rest Bard, Mysterious Stranger seems to be the better option, concentrating on CHA more equally to DEX. Losing Quick Clear is rough, but Bards have jury-rig on their spell list.


Depending how bulky the items are, swapping hands while holding one in each actually isn't that hard. Try it yourself. It's certainly far easier than 'juggling'.


_Ozy_ wrote:
Depending how bulky the items are, swapping hands while holding one in each actually isn't that hard. Try it yourself. It's certainly far easier than 'juggling'.

But you can only juggle with a fancy class feature. The argument is that anyone can swap guns as a free action.

Certainly not nearly so quick and easy as passing a gun to your free empty hand.


For the record, the TWF FAQ (not the Armor Spikes one, though that helps reinforce the other FAQ) implies that you need to be able to properly attack with your chosen weapons at every point in your TWF action.

This means you can't, for example, have a Bow out, complete one set of iteratives, use your Gloves of Storing to switch Bows out, and then do your other set, because those two hands were already being used to perform attacks with the other Bow at the time you took the TWF action. This is evidenced by the TWF FAQ stating that you must draw out (or be ready to attack with) your chosen weapons before taking the TWF action in order to actually take the TWF action. At no point are you able to fire both bows simultaneously, regardless of whatever action finagling you attempt.

The same is true for any ranged weapon that requires more than one hand to load, and quite frankly, fails upon itself via the "Hands" debacle (as evidenced by the Armor Spikes FAQ).

So I'll agree with you RD; the Gunslinger isn't supposed to be able to do that, according to FAQ precedents.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:

For the record, the TWF FAQ (not the Armor Spikes one, though that helps reinforce the other FAQ) implies that you need to be able to properly attack with your chosen weapons at every point in your TWF action.

This means you can't, for example, have a Bow out, complete one set of iteratives, use your Gloves of Storing to switch Bows out, and then do your other set, because those two hands were already being used to perform attacks with the other Bow at the time you took the TWF action. This is evidenced by the TWF FAQ stating that you must draw out (or be ready to attack with) your chosen weapons before taking the TWF action in order to actually take the TWF action. At no point are you able to fire both bows simultaneously, regardless of whatever action finagling you attempt.

The same is true for any ranged weapon that requires more than one hand to load, and quite frankly, fails upon itself via the "Hands" debacle (as evidenced by the Armor Spikes FAQ).

So I'll agree with you RD; the Gunslinger isn't supposed to be able to do that, according to FAQ precedents.

I'm not clear what you think that means for pistols.

Can you not TWF at all with them? Or at least not reload or turn the barrel since you need a free hand to do so and however you get that free hand, you're no longer able to properly attack with both weapons at once?


I am pretty sure any hand you use to attack with in a round is not also a "free hand" during that same round.
While I think two pepperboxes definitely could be fired once with each hand, those two hands would not be free to reload until the following round.
Rules wise I would have to rule with the no crowd.

However if you wanted to house rule it you could say the guy just uses his thumb on one hand to rotate the barrel on the other.
In reality though I think a guy could probably empty one pepperbox drop it and draw/empty a second, faster then he could two at the same time with alternating shots.


heh.. if anyone does the juggler version.. Should look at Grenadier the anime. Absurd fanservice aside, it has some really neat juggling reloading ability. Admitidly not for muzzle loaded black powder.. but still neat
wouldn't take much more imagination to spin that into pepperbox


thejeff wrote:
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:

For the record, the TWF FAQ (not the Armor Spikes one, though that helps reinforce the other FAQ) implies that you need to be able to properly attack with your chosen weapons at every point in your TWF action.

This means you can't, for example, have a Bow out, complete one set of iteratives, use your Gloves of Storing to switch Bows out, and then do your other set, because those two hands were already being used to perform attacks with the other Bow at the time you took the TWF action. This is evidenced by the TWF FAQ stating that you must draw out (or be ready to attack with) your chosen weapons before taking the TWF action in order to actually take the TWF action. At no point are you able to fire both bows simultaneously, regardless of whatever action finagling you attempt.

The same is true for any ranged weapon that requires more than one hand to load, and quite frankly, fails upon itself via the "Hands" debacle (as evidenced by the Armor Spikes FAQ).

So I'll agree with you RD; the Gunslinger isn't supposed to be able to do that, according to FAQ precedents.

I'm not clear what you think that means for pistols.

Can you not TWF at all with them? Or at least not reload or turn the barrel since you need a free hand to do so and however you get that free hand, you're no longer able to properly attack with both weapons at once?

All I'm saying is that if you do, you can only get one attack, presuming they're loaded. Otherwise, you'd have to take hands off of your one gun to reload the other, which the Armor Spikes FAQ wouldn't allow.


I don't think that's true at all. You can declare two weapon fighting while wielding one weapon, take all of your iteratives, then free action quickdraw an offhand weapon for your offhand attack.

There's nothing in the rules that say otherwise, and the two weapon fighting rules say nothing about keeping a weapon in your offhand the entire round. The armor spikes FAQ only says that you can't get 'more hands of effort for attacks' than you have available. If you're using two hands to attack with a greatsword, you can't use a 'hand' to attack with armor spikes. Neither the scenario I just presented, nor TWF with pistols violates that FAQ.

FAQs say what they say. You are extrapolating to a lot of scenarios that just don't fit the armor spikes FAQ.


_Ozy_ wrote:

I don't think that's true at all. You can declare two weapon fighting while wielding one weapon, take all of your iteratives, then free action quickdraw an offhand weapon for your offhand attack.

There's nothing in the rules that say otherwise, and the two weapon fighting rules say nothing about keeping a weapon in your offhand the entire round. The armor spikes FAQ only says that you can't get 'more hands of effort for attacks' than you have available. If you're using two hands to attack with a greatsword, you can't use a 'hand' to attack with armor spikes. Neither the scenario I just presented, nor TWF with pistols violates that FAQ.

FAQs say what they say. You are extrapolating to a lot of scenarios that just don't fit the armor spikes FAQ.

I will admit that I was incorrect on the normal TWF FAQ, but that's because I misremembered what it said, and put more restriction on it than I gave credit for. To that end, I apologize.

As for the Armor Spikes, I do not, as that's conclusive proof. Let's re-read it for the Nth time and see why that is:

Armor Spikes FAQ wrote:

Armor Spikes: Can I use two-weapon fighting to make an "off-hand" attack with my armor spikes in the same round I use a two-handed weapon?

No.
Likewise, you couldn't use an armored gauntlet to do so, as you are using both of your hands to wield your two-handed weapon, therefore your off-hand is unavailable to make any attacks.

If your hand is being occupied with a form of attack, or to help execute a form of attack, with a weapon, then you can't use it to perform another manner of attack. Case in point, the FAQ specifically references being unable to use a Gauntlet to attack with because that same hand is being used to perform attacks with a two-handed weapon, which is for the entire course of the theoretical TWF action.

There's also the factor of Natural Weapons and Manufactured Weapons being used in conjunction, if your argument is "Hey, why can't I just make my iterative attacks with my one-handed weapon, attack with one claw, switch my one-handed weapon to my other hand, and attack with that claw too?" Because that's basically what you're saying can, and should, happen.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
For the record, the TWF FAQ (not the Armor Spikes one, though that helps reinforce the other FAQ) implies that you need to be able to properly attack with your chosen weapons at every point in your TWF action.

What TWF FAQ are you referring to?

Can you link or quote?


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:


If your hand is being occupied with a form of attack, or to help execute a form of attack, with a weapon, then you can't use it to perform another manner of attack. Case in point, the FAQ specifically references being unable to use a Gauntlet to attack with because that same hand is being used to perform attacks with a two-handed weapon, which is for the entire course of the theoretical TWF action.

Yes. And this is 100% irrelevant to the current topic because you aren't using 'both hands' to attack. You are using 1 hand to attack, and 1 hand to free action reload. Just like if you use a free action to quickdraw, you can still use that hand to attack with the weapon you drew.

Using hands for non-attacking free actions does not invalidate using them for attacking, and the armor spikes FAQ doesn't apply.

When you are attacking with a two-handed weapon, BOTH hands are used to attack, which is why you get 1.5x STR. That's why you can't use one of those hands to execute another attack via TWF.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

That FAQ is referring to the use of a two-handed weapon. We are not. We are discussing one-handed weapons. Ergo, that FAQ does not apply here at all.


It's a one handed weapon that requires two hands to completly operate. So the FAQ may apply.


_Ozy_ wrote:
Using hands for non-attacking free actions does not invalidate using them for attacking, and the armor spikes FAQ doesn't apply.

While this is true as written, I think it doesn't touch what the core concern here is.

Yes, you can use the hand for something other than attacking. The most common use for the hand in such a scenario is holding onto whatever weapon it is you are attacking with.

The definition of a free hand, on the other time, while generally up for debate, is mentioned in the core rulebook as one that isn't holding anything, and defined by the English language as one that is not currently occupied with doing something else.

To work with the proposed scenario that your hands are both free enough to reload the other hand's pistol, and yet also wielding the pistol, requires one of two possibilities.

Possibility 1: With superhuman levels of alacrity, you are able to move your hands fast enough to cause your pistols to vanish and reappear every second with your magic gloves, while your hands are simultaneously firing their appropriate pistol and reloading the pistol in the other hand in a virtual blur of movement.

Possibility 2: You live in a world where both your allies and enemies are inherently aware, not only of the turn based nature of the universe, but also that they cannot take their turns until you are finished with yours, so you can take your time in handling your "allocated" actions of the turn, so long as you follow the letter of the law.

The first possibility leads to the initial example in my original post, where you are performing, at minimum, three free actions per shot fired.

The second possibly results in my second example, where you fire one gun, take a moment to switch guns, then fire the other one, because your turn isn't over until your full-round action is complete.

If you can find a GM that is willing to work with either of these possibilities, then more power to you. But I, and I feel most other GMs in this thread, would have had an issue with this scenario halfway along it being explained to them, especially as it seems designed more for cheesing the system than it does making for a robust roleplaying experience.


_Ozy_ wrote:
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:


If your hand is being occupied with a form of attack, or to help execute a form of attack, with a weapon, then you can't use it to perform another manner of attack. Case in point, the FAQ specifically references being unable to use a Gauntlet to attack with because that same hand is being used to perform attacks with a two-handed weapon, which is for the entire course of the theoretical TWF action.

Yes. And this is 100% irrelevant to the current topic because you aren't using 'both hands' to attack. You are using 1 hand to attack, and 1 hand to free action reload. Just like if you use a free action to quickdraw, you can still use that hand to attack with the weapon you drew.

Using hands for non-attacking free actions does not invalidate using them for attacking, and the armor spikes FAQ doesn't apply.

When you are attacking with a two-handed weapon, BOTH hands are used to attack, which is why you get 1.5x STR. That's why you can't use one of those hands to execute another attack via TWF.

In fact, you are. If you were only using one hand to attack, you would only ever get one attack from the pre-loaded gun, because then it's out of ammo and needs to be reloaded, which means your other hand being used to reload it is, in fact, being used to help perform attacks; or to be more precise, more than one attack. It's exactly the same as trying to attack with a bow and arrow, or a crossbow and bolt, you're using one hand to hold the weapon, and the other to load the ammunition into the weapon. This is no different.

So quite frankly, you're telling me that I can TWF with Bows and Crossbows to get more than two attacks. Which is patently absurd. Last I checked, in order to TWF with Bows, much less Crossbows, you need a specific archetype or ability to do so. After all, if we're going to play the "It only does what it says it does" card, then let's make it a two-player game.

And again, if the ONLY reason TWF with Armor Spikes is disallowed because of the unwritten rule, then why would it bother to mention the interactions of performing a Gauntlet attack as an example of something that doesn't work, for a reason completely separate from the unwritten rule?


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:
Darksol the Painbringer wrote:


If your hand is being occupied with a form of attack, or to help execute a form of attack, with a weapon, then you can't use it to perform another manner of attack. Case in point, the FAQ specifically references being unable to use a Gauntlet to attack with because that same hand is being used to perform attacks with a two-handed weapon, which is for the entire course of the theoretical TWF action.

Yes. And this is 100% irrelevant to the current topic because you aren't using 'both hands' to attack. You are using 1 hand to attack, and 1 hand to free action reload. Just like if you use a free action to quickdraw, you can still use that hand to attack with the weapon you drew.

Using hands for non-attacking free actions does not invalidate using them for attacking, and the armor spikes FAQ doesn't apply.

When you are attacking with a two-handed weapon, BOTH hands are used to attack, which is why you get 1.5x STR. That's why you can't use one of those hands to execute another attack via TWF.

In fact, you are. If you were only using one hand to attack, you would only ever get one attack from the pre-loaded gun, because then it's out of ammo and needs to be reloaded, which means your other hand being used to reload it is, in fact, being used to help perform attacks; or to be more precise, more than one attack. It's exactly the same as trying to attack with a bow and arrow, or a crossbow and bolt, you're using one hand to hold the weapon, and the other to load the ammunition into the weapon. This is no different.

So quite frankly, you're telling me that I can TWF with Bows and Crossbows to get more than two attacks. Which is patently absurd. Last I checked, in order to TWF with Bows, much less Crossbows, you need a specific archetype or ability to do so. After all, if we're going to play the...

Except that bows are mechanically two handed weapons. Which makes sense. You're not loading them with one hand and firing with the other. You're holding the bow with one-hand and drawing the string with the other. You need two hands. Even for a single shot.


Darksol the Painbringer wrote:
In fact, you are. If you were only using one hand to attack, you would only ever get one attack from the pre-loaded gun, because then it's out of ammo and needs to be reloaded, which means your other hand being used to reload it is, in fact, being used to help perform attacks; or to be more precise, more than one attack. It's exactly the same as trying to attack with a bow and arrow, or a crossbow and bolt, you're using one hand to hold the weapon, and the other to load the ammunition into the weapon. This is no different.

Except, as has been pointed out, it is completely different. Using a hand to free action reload is not the same as using that hand during an attack, such as with two-handed melee weapons, or two handed ranged weapons.

Quote:
So quite frankly, you're telling me that I can TWF with Bows and Crossbows to get more than two attacks. Which is patently absurd. Last I checked, in order to TWF with Bows, much less Crossbows, you need a specific archetype or ability to do so. After all, if we're going to play the...

No, quite frankly, I'm not telling you that at all. Unless you mean hand crossbows, in which yes, of course you can TWF with them because they only need one hand to make an attack.

You can also use TWF with throwing daggers if you have quickdraw, even though you're using your hand to draw a weapon. Heck, you can quickdraw with your offhand, pass the dagger to your main hand, and throw it with your iteratives, and then switch and draw with your main, pass to your offhand, and throw for your extra TWF attack(s). Because free action quickdraw and free action reload aren't using your hand to attack. Thus, those hands are available to make an attack.

Once again, unless you are actually using two hands to make the attack, you can use your offhand for TWF.

Quote:
And again, if the ONLY reason TWF with Armor Spikes is disallowed because of the unwritten rule, then why would it bother to mention the interactions of performing a Gauntlet attack as an example of something that doesn't work, for a reason completely separate from the unwritten rule?

What are you talking about, I honestly don't understand. Here is the FAQ:

Quote:

Armor Spikes: Can I use two-weapon fighting to make an "off-hand" attack with my armor spikes in the same round I use a two-handed weapon?

No. Likewise, you couldn't use an armored gauntlet to do so, as you are using both of your hands to wield your two-handed weapon, therefore your off-hand is unavailable to make any attacks.

The FAQ says that when you are using two hands to wield a weapon, your off-hand can't make an attack.

None of that applies to the situation in this thread. At all. The FAQ is 100% irrelevant, so why do you keep bringing it up? It's just weird, dude.


This might be the FAQ people are talking about.

FAQ wrote:

Multiple Weapons, Extra Attacks, and Two-Weapon Fighting: If I have extra attacks from a high BAB, can I make attacks with different weapons and not incur a two-weapon fighting penalty?

Yes. Basically, you only incur TWF penalties if you are trying to get an extra attack per round.
Let's assume you're a 6th-level fighter (BAB +6/+1) holding a longsword in one hand and a light mace in the other. Your possible full attack combinations without using two-weapon fighting are:
(A) longsword at +6, longsword +1
(B) mace +6, mace +1
(C) longsword +6, mace +1
(D) mace +6, longsword +1
All of these combinations result in you making exactly two attacks, one at +6 and one at +1. You're not getting any extra attacks, therefore you're not using the two-weapon fighting rule, and therefore you're not taking any two-weapon fighting penalties.
If you have Quick Draw, you could even start the round wielding only one weapon, make your main attack with it, draw the second weapon as a free action after your first attack, and use that second weapon to make your iterative attack (an "iterative attack" is an informal term meaning "extra attacks you get from having a high BAB"). As long as you're properly using the BAB values for your iterative attacks, and as long as you're not exceeding the number of attacks per round granted by your BAB, you are not considered to be using two-weapon fighting, and therefore do not take any of the penalties for two-weapon fighting.
The two-weapon fighting option in the Core Rulebook specifically refers to getting an extra attack for using a second weapon in your offhand. In the above four examples, there is no extra attack, therefore you're not using two-weapon fighting.
Using the longsword/mace example, if you use two-weapon fighting you actually have fewer options than if you aren't. Your options are (ignoring the primary/off hand penalties):
(A') primary longsword at +6, primary longsword at +1, off hand mace at +6
(B') primary mace at +6, primary mace at +1, off hand longsword at +6
In other words, once you decide you're using two-weapon fighting to get that extra attack on your turn (which you have to decide before you take any attacks on your turn), that decision locks you in to the format of "my primary weapon gets my main attack and my iterative attack, and my off hand weapon only gets the extra attack, and I apply two-weapon fighting penalties."


Are we suggesting now that when using two weapons to make two weapon attacks that you aren't using both hands to attack in a round?

I feel like that's where we are at. Is it?


Cavall wrote:

Are we suggesting now that when using two weapons to make two weapon attacks that you aren't using both hands to attack in a round?

I feel like that's where we are at. Is it?

Pretty much. Evidently, two hands both independently busy aiming and firing guns at enemies are not so busy that they cannot also reload each other at the exact same time.

51 to 100 of 147 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Is it possible to dual-wield pepperbox pistols? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.