"Create a distraction to hide." What action?


Rules Questions


Using a bluff check to attempt stealth from observation to concealment. What is the action cost of the bluff check?


It's not clear. I think it may be a standard action, I'm not really sure.

You might be able to do it as part of the move action to stealth.

I'd really like to see some other posters answers. As part of the move action seems too good.


It is unclear. Using the Feint mechanic as a baseline, I'd say the bluff check is a standard action, which then allows for the PC to make a stealth check as part of their move action, where normally they would not be able to do so.


The Inquisitor heretic archetype can do it as a move action, so I assume its normally a standard action.


I think between the baseline use of feinting and the functino of the Heretic Archetype it is sufficient evidence to say (in lieu of other evidence) that it is a standard action.


Well I screwed up that ruling then.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Grimmy wrote:
Well I screwed up that ruling then.

If it was an off the cuff ruling don't worry about it, you know for next time now. You might tell your players so they know about it for the future and don't think it will work again, but don't try to change the results of what happened or replay it. Just accept the mistake, continue on as if it didn't happen unless the action is repeated again.

Did you rule it as part of the move action (or essentially a free action)?


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Grimmy wrote:
Well I screwed up that ruling then.

Honestly, I screw up more rulings than I get right. Don't let it bother you. Just ask yourself one question: is everybody having fun? If the answer is "yes," you're doing a fine job as GM. Would I love to get every ruling 100% right? Of course, but we're human and there are A LOT of rules to this game.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Grimmy wrote:
Well I screwed up that ruling then.

To add to what the others above me have said, as DM you really can't screw up any ruling because all of the "rules" are just guidelines for you to use or discard as you see fit.


Can't speak for anyone else, but I can say as a player I'm having a blast in the game...and it seems like everyone else is too ;)


My initial impression was also that we needed a standard to Bluff, then would use Stealth to hide (as a move).

I like your ruling better though Grimmy ;)


Argh, I know I've seen this explained by a dev somewhere...

TO THE SEARCH FUNCTION!


2 people marked this as a favorite.

Closest I've got.


Claxon wrote:
Grimmy wrote:
Well I screwed up that ruling then.
Did you rule it as part of the move action (or essentially a free action)?

Yup :D


DM Grimmy wrote:
Claxon wrote:
Grimmy wrote:
Well I screwed up that ruling then.
Did you rule it as part of the move action (or essentially a free action)?
Yup :D

Our group runs it as a non-action since no action is listed. Works well.

1) We think the diversion allows you to hide, it doesn't make you hidden. So it's not free feint.

2) Snipping is still useful because you stay hidden.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / "Create a distraction to hide." What action? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.