So my fighter PC tried to chain combo some combat maneuvers that I wasn't sure if it were legal or not.


Rules Questions


So my fighter PC has the following relevant feats, Greater Overrun, Greater Bullrush, Improved Overrun, Improved Bullrush, and Shield Slam. What he did was charge through an enemy unit that was approaching the back line with overrun then since the enemy was knocked prone he used his shield to attack and successfully give him a free bullrush attempt. Is this at all legal?


bump for help!


Seems legit.
Greater overrun gives an AoO if opponent is knocked prone.
If the AoO is a Shield Slam, then free Bull Rush.
Greater Bull Rush even provokes another AoO.


Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:

Seems legit.

Greater overrun gives an AoO if opponent is knocked prone.
If the AoO is a Shield Slam, then free Bull Rush.
Greater Bull Rush even provokes another AoO.

Well the arguement I made was that for the AoO you only get a single attack action so you can only use your main hand to attack since its your MAIN hand ya no?


1 person marked this as a favorite.
MDCityNIGHT wrote:
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:

Seems legit.

Greater overrun gives an AoO if opponent is knocked prone.
If the AoO is a Shield Slam, then free Bull Rush.
Greater Bull Rush even provokes another AoO.
Well the arguement I made was that for the AoO you only get a single attack action so you can only use your main hand to attack since its your MAIN hand ya no?

No, not only can you use any weapon (including Unarmed and Natural) to make an AoO but there is no rule saying you cannot "main hand" your shield.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

the bull rush feats don't matter here, all he need was greater overrun and shield slam. AS far as using overrun and knock some one prone then taking and Aoo with a shield and shield slam them. and bull rush them away, yes it is legal.

Here is what might not be legal
There is debate over if the bullrush feats even work with shield slam. As the feat calls out at you sub out the cmb check for the attack roll, meaning you don't re roll the dice, and because you don't actual make a cmb check you don't get to add bullrush feats. how ever you do add weapon focus, enchantment bonus, weapon training ect.

I will note there is also debate if you can actual charge a target in the back and user over run in the middle of the charge. Charge rule if I remember argument correctly do not let you charge if your path is obstructed. They also require you to stop your movement after you attack. They do not let you attack and move again like fly by attack and spring attack.

The charge rules prevent overrun rules from working properly because you have to stop movement to take the charge attack and because the overrun is not a free action your turns ends in that square.

While when you preform a normal over run you do still keep moving and could end your turn in where ever your movement ends normally.

It up to you to figure out how to rule on those two things. Me I tend to rule that bull rush feats do work with shield slam, as at the later levels creatures CMD or size or so high you can't even bull rush, or you need as many bonus to have a chance at working.

In the the over running bit, I rule that they can charge at the person in the back but cannot attack it if the creature in the middle gets overrun as the over run was there attack action that was part of the charge.


MDCityNIGHT wrote:
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:

Seems legit.

Greater overrun gives an AoO if opponent is knocked prone.
If the AoO is a Shield Slam, then free Bull Rush.
Greater Bull Rush even provokes another AoO.
Well the arguement I made was that for the AoO you only get a single attack action so you can only use your main hand to attack since its your MAIN hand ya no?

You only have a "main hand" under two circumstance:

1) You attack twice in a single round using the two-weapon fighting rules
2) You use the monk flurry of blows class feature with a weapon (instead of an unarmed strike)

Outside of those two situations, there is no restriction on what hand does what. You can take iterative attacks and AoOs with any weapon/shield in any order.

There's nothing under shield bash that says it's anything other than a normal attack, so you could absolutely use a shield bash as an AoO.

Also, note that Greater Bull Rush says
"Whenever you bull rush an opponent, his movement provokes attacks of opportunity from all of your allies (but not you)."

So if there were any allies around, they would get the extra AoO from Greater Bull Rush, but the shield basher doesn't get another AoO from the bull rush. (From your description, it doesn't sound like he tried to take one, but I just wanted to clarify.)


Gwen Smith wrote:
MDCityNIGHT wrote:
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:

Seems legit.

Greater overrun gives an AoO if opponent is knocked prone.
If the AoO is a Shield Slam, then free Bull Rush.
Greater Bull Rush even provokes another AoO.
Well the arguement I made was that for the AoO you only get a single attack action so you can only use your main hand to attack since its your MAIN hand ya no?

You only have a "main hand" under two circumstance:

1) You attack twice in a single round using the two-weapon fighting rules
2) You use the monk flurry of blows class feature with a weapon (instead of an unarmed strike)

Outside of those two situations, there is no restriction on what hand does what. You can take iterative attacks and AoOs with any weapon/shield in any order.

There's nothing under shield bash that says it's anything other than a normal attack, so you could absolutely use a shield bash as an AoO.

Also, note that Greater Bull Rush says
"Whenever you bull rush an opponent, his movement provokes attacks of opportunity from all of your allies (but not you)."

So if there were any allies around, they would get the extra AoO from Greater Bull Rush, but the shield basher doesn't get another AoO from the bull rush. (From your description, it doesn't sound like he tried to take one, but I just wanted to clarify.)

You can nix that second one as well, since you only need a single weapon for flurry of blows.

Sovereign Court

Also, remember that the amount of AoOs you get to make per round is limited; 1 normally, or up to [dex mod] with Combat Reflexes. Cute, but not the end of the world.


Can you bull rush a prone opponent?


Technically the attack of opportunity happens before the condition that provokes them, which is why you can't trip-lock someone. So, your bull rush attempt happens before the overrun target is prone. Additionally, nothing in the bull rush description or shield slam precludes bull rushing a prone opponent.

So yeah, this seems like it works. It also seems like the overrun target is prone and pushed back the distance granted by the bull rush maneuver check.

Scarab Sages

*Takes noted for his Phalanx Fighter*
I say it's legal, though I have no new arguments to offer.


Gwen Smith wrote:
MDCityNIGHT wrote:
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:

Seems legit.

Greater overrun gives an AoO if opponent is knocked prone.
If the AoO is a Shield Slam, then free Bull Rush.
Greater Bull Rush even provokes another AoO.
Well the arguement I made was that for the AoO you only get a single attack action so you can only use your main hand to attack since its your MAIN hand ya no?

You only have a "main hand" under two circumstance:

1) You attack twice in a single round using the two-weapon fighting rules
2) You use the monk flurry of blows class feature with a weapon (instead of an unarmed strike)

Outside of those two situations, there is no restriction on what hand does what. You can take iterative attacks and AoOs with any weapon/shield in any order.

There's nothing under shield bash that says it's anything other than a normal attack, so you could absolutely use a shield bash as an AoO.

Also, note that Greater Bull Rush says
"Whenever you bull rush an opponent, his movement provokes attacks of opportunity from all of your allies (but not you)."

So if there were any allies around, they would get the extra AoO from Greater Bull Rush, but the shield basher doesn't get another AoO from the bull rush. (From your description, it doesn't sound like he tried to take one, but I just wanted to clarify.)

That's my fault. I forgot that part.


Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
MDCityNIGHT wrote:
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:

Seems legit.

Greater overrun gives an AoO if opponent is knocked prone.
If the AoO is a Shield Slam, then free Bull Rush.
Greater Bull Rush even provokes another AoO.
Well the arguement I made was that for the AoO you only get a single attack action so you can only use your main hand to attack since its your MAIN hand ya no?
No, not only can you use any weapon (including Unarmed and Natural) to make an AoO but there is no rule saying you cannot "main hand" your shield.

Not only is there not "no rule saying you can't main hand your shield" there is an explicit rule that says you CAN main hand your shield.

FAQ

Text:

Shield Bash: If I make a shield bash, does it always have to be an off-hand attack? wrote:

The text for a shield bash assumes you're making a bash as an off-hand attack, but you don't have to. You can, for example, just make a shield bash attack (at your normal, main-hand attack bonus) or shield bash with your main hand and attack with a sword in your off-hand.

Update: Page 152—In the Shield Bash Attacks section, in the first sentence, delete “using it as an off-hand weapon.”


Rynjin wrote:
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:
MDCityNIGHT wrote:
Durngrun Stonebreaker wrote:

Seems legit.

Greater overrun gives an AoO if opponent is knocked prone.
If the AoO is a Shield Slam, then free Bull Rush.
Greater Bull Rush even provokes another AoO.
Well the arguement I made was that for the AoO you only get a single attack action so you can only use your main hand to attack since its your MAIN hand ya no?
No, not only can you use any weapon (including Unarmed and Natural) to make an AoO but there is no rule saying you cannot "main hand" your shield.

Not only is there not "no rule saying you can't main hand your shield" there is an explicit rule that says you CAN main hand your shield.

FAQ

Text:

Shield Bash: If I make a shield bash, does it always have to be an off-hand attack? wrote:

The text for a shield bash assumes you're making a bash as an off-hand attack, but you don't have to. You can, for example, just make a shield bash attack (at your normal, main-hand attack bonus) or shield bash with your main hand and attack with a sword in your off-hand.

Update: Page 152—In the Shield Bash Attacks section, in the first sentence, delete “using it as an off-hand weapon.”

Even when we're on the same side of the discussion you seem mad at me. Bald head just glaring at me...


I'm sowwy. I don't mean to. =(


Ascalaphus wrote:
Also, remember that the amount of AoOs you get to make per round is limited; 1 normally, or up to [dex mod] with Combat Reflexes. Cute, but not the end of the world.

Small point but the wording on combat reflexes is "additional attacks equal to your dex mod" so wouldn't that be dex mod plus one? But you never know, maybe he has snake fang and could get that extra hit.


to add to the others as said greater overrun allows an aoo the game does not care what you attack with as long as its a weapon its legitimate. the fact that it triggers a bulkrush and slides the opponent like a shuffleboard rock is irrelevant.

however in response to kainpan overrun works fine with a charge as the attack is replaced by the overrun attempt.


Globetrotter wrote:
Can you bull rush a prone opponent?

It makes it even easier since penalties to your AC cause your CMD to lower as well.

Sovereign Court

Torbyne wrote:
Ascalaphus wrote:
Also, remember that the amount of AoOs you get to make per round is limited; 1 normally, or up to [dex mod] with Combat Reflexes. Cute, but not the end of the world.
Small point but the wording on combat reflexes is "additional attacks equal to your dex mod" so wouldn't that be dex mod plus one? But you never know, maybe he has snake fang and could get that extra hit.

Eh, maybe. Either way, how many AoOs is that really going to be? 6, if you really go for it? And only one per enemy, against enemies weak enough that you can reliably overrun all of them?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

MDCityNIGHT wrote:
Greater Overrun, Improved Overrun, Improved Bullrush, and Shield Slam. What he did was charge through an enemy unit Is this at all legal?

You are using Overrun with a Charge, which isn't well understood by the majority of GM's and isn't defined in a FAQ.

You are using a build similar to one I built that was ruled differently on nearly every table of PFS from level 6 to level 9.

My advice is to train away the Overrun feats and go straight Bull Rush and don't combine with Charge. Alternatively don't play with different GM's, find one GM and get him to rule on how the rules work together.


Ascalaphus wrote:
Eh, maybe. Either way, how many AoOs is that really going to be? 6, if you really go for it? And only one per enemy, against enemies weak enough that you can reliably overrun all of them?

Minor nitpick: one AoO per trigger. If someone (very very stupid) were to walk around you (not 5-ft step) and try to retrieve an item (say a potion), and then attempted to use it within your threatened square, you could theoretically make 3 AoO against them.

Will this ever happen? Not bloody likely. but it _could_.

Very Respectfully,
--Bacon


Just takes an elaborate setup of a team of full fighters, all chain shieldbashing the guy in circles around the team high dex barb ^_^

Shadow Lodge

holy hell i like this combo, im soooo making The Rhino from spiderman!!

i could see this being a very powerful anti caster character. hmmm i wonder how high i could get my cmb for this effect, most likely would want an abyssal bloodrager.

begins with machinations...


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Talcrion wrote:
Just takes an elaborate setup of a team of full fighters, all chain shieldbashing the guy in circles around the team high dex barb ^_^

With Yakety Sax playing in the background.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / So my fighter PC tried to chain combo some combat maneuvers that I wasn't sure if it were legal or not. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.