Alter self & Armor


Rules Questions


Quick question: As a human, when using alter self to assume to assume the form of a goblin, does my armor shrink with me? (do i keep my armor bonuses?)


From the PRD > Magic > Transmutation: "If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size."


Polymorph Subschool wrote:
When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body. Items that provide constant bonuses and do not need to be activated continue to function while melded in this way (with the exception of armor and shield bonuses, which cease to function). Items that require activation cannot be used while you maintain that form. While in such a form, you cannot cast any spells that require material components (unless you have the Eschew Materials or Natural Spell feat), and can only cast spells with somatic or verbal components if the form you choose has the capability to make such movements or speak, such as a dragon. Other polymorph spells might be subject to this restriction as well, if they change you into a form that is unlike your original form (subject to GM discretion). If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size.

Bolding mine. Alter Self is a polymorph spell, it does not turn you into an animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin, so your equipment resizes to your new form.


quibblemuch wrote:
From the PRD > Magic > Transmutation: "If your new form does not cause your equipment to meld into your form, the equipment resizes to match your new size."

Nice, thanks, knew I'd read that somewhere, just couldn't find it.

Quick question 2: Can I use alter self to assume the form of a female if i am male? (Out of curiousity, if I can't, what happens if I assume the form of a changleling?)


Yep. While not explicitly spelled out, the spell description says "any" humanoid creature--the lack of restriction means male or female or intersex in my reading. Except for changelings who are only female.


So as a continuation to this, if I target a small earth elemental that's wielding a small longsword with greater polymorph (as elemental body 3) and I turn it into a large earth elemental, does its weapon resize because its type and shape hasnt changed? or does it meld regardless?


SillyString wrote:
So as a continuation to this, if I target a small earth elemental that's wielding a small longsword with greater polymorph (as elemental body 3) and I turn it into a large earth elemental, does its weapon resize because its type hasnt changed?

At best, it's a gray area that makes a bit of sense to avoid (see below).

A small long sword does 1d6. A large long sword does 2d6.

A (polymorphed) small elemental gets one 2d6 attack with a large long sword. A large elemental gets two 2d6 slams naturally.

If you are a wizard polymorphing a familiar, you could always use Monstrous Physique I to make it gargoyle. A small earth elemental acting like a stone statue-like creature? Could be fun!


Yeah im looking for the answer to the rules question, not advice on whats better, thanks for pointing out that spell though, I hadnt spotted that before.


SillyString wrote:
Yeah im looking for the answer to the rules question

The small long sword would meld into your new elemental form as the polymorph spell is changing the small earth elemental into into a different creature.

"When you cast a polymorph spell that changes you into a creature of the animal, dragon, elemental, magical beast, plant, or vermin type, all of your gear melds into your body."


Hmm i hoped that wouldnt be the case because your type wouldnt change, seems like turning something into the same thing wasnt really considered when that was written, but you do seem to be right by RAW, thanks for confirmation :)


SillyString wrote:
Hmm i hoped that wouldnt be the case because your type wouldnt change, seems like turning something into the same thing wasnt really considered when that was written, but you do seem to be right by RAW, thanks for confirmation :)

To be fair, polymorph spells never change your creature type. Even when a human polymorphs into an elemental they retrain the humanoid human type.


Claxon wrote:
To be fair, polymorph spells never change your creature type. Even when a human polymorphs into an elemental they retrain the humanoid human type.

Yeah, chose my words badly in that last post, i'm sure you know what I meant though.


SillyString wrote:
Hmm i hoped that wouldnt be the case because your type wouldnt change, seems like turning something into the same thing wasnt really considered when that was written, but you do seem to be right by RAW, thanks for confirmation :)

The vast majority of the rules are written with the assumption that a normal human is undertaking the action.


Snowlilly wrote:
The vast majority of the rules are written with the assumption that a normal human is undertaking the action.

Agreed, but given that RAW is all we have to go on in this case, its what ill be sticking to until someone brings up something more compelling. Shame though, would've been cool to kit-out a small elemental then supersize it.


Well once you get to higher levels Polymorph any object to transform a small elemental into a huge one. Just have weapons manufactured at the correct size.

I'm not sure what the duration on PAO would be for small to huge elemental, but probably pretty long if not permanent.


Snowlilly wrote:
SillyString wrote:
Hmm i hoped that wouldnt be the case because your type wouldnt change, seems like turning something into the same thing wasnt really considered when that was written, but you do seem to be right by RAW, thanks for confirmation :)
The vast majority of the rules are written with the assumption that a normal human is undertaking the action.

The reverse cases cause some odd repercussions though. For instance, if you cast alter self on your familiar, you will then have to find a way to clothe it.


As another continuation to this, if I target a small earth elemental with greater polymorph (as elemental body 3) and I turn it into a large earth elemental, what is its natural armor now?

(I'm assuming it is still 7, and it doesnt gain any from the spell)


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber
SillyString wrote:

As another continuation to this, if I target a small earth elemental with greater polymorph (as elemental body 3) and I turn it into a large earth elemental, what is its natural armor now?

(I'm assuming it is still 7, and it doesnt gain any from the spell)

The bonus is +6, per the spell, replacing the +7 that you started with.


David knott 242 wrote:
The bonus is +6, per the spell, replacing the +7 that you started with.

So it removes the base creatures natural armor bonus? I thought it only lost the AC from worn armor? (items)

The spells wording is that you "gain" "+6 natural armor", so surely you would either have 6+7=13, or more likely 6<7=7 if it doesnt stack?

I can't find where it says you lose your natural armor, though someone linking that would help clear up my confusion at David's response :)

Scarab Sages

You lose anything that depends on your natural form, not limited to natural ac bonuses. So the small earth elemental would lose +7, and gain 6 from the spell, for a new loss of one. Of course, they would have a lower ac than just that, because of the size difference.


Imbicatus wrote:
You lose anything that depends on your natural form, not limited to natural ac bonuses. So the small earth elemental would lose +7, and gain 6 from the spell, for a new loss of one. Of course, they would have a lower ac than just that, because of the size difference.

Fair enough, I thought that was just for senses, natural weapons and special attacks, but now i've looked into it I agree, thanks :)


Unfortunately no.

When you polymorph you lose anything dependent on your original form. I would say natural armor is pretty dependent on your original form.

So, your small earth elemental would lose it's original 7 natural armor, and gain 6 from the spell.

Edit: Sorry, from the time I opened this thread to the time I actually replied was a bit, so now my post seems quite out of order.


Claxon wrote:

Unfortunately no.

When you polymorph you lose anything dependent on your original form. I would say natural armor is pretty dependent on your original form.

So, your small earth elemental would lose it's original 7 natural armor, and gain 6 from the spell.

Edit: Sorry, from the time I opened this thread to the time I actually replied was a bit, so now my post seems quite out of order.

Whereas turning a hellfire ignis into a large earth elemental would be rather fun!

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

SillyString wrote:

The spells wording is that you "gain" "+6 natural armor", so surely you would either have 6+7=13, or more likely 6<7=7 if it doesnt stack?

:)

The rules are written from a human with natural armor 0 perspective.

You loose all physical features of your self like dark vision natural armor claws and gain the stuff the form has.


James Risner wrote:
SillyString wrote:

The spells wording is that you "gain" "+6 natural armor", so surely you would either have 6+7=13, or more likely 6<7=7 if it doesnt stack?

:)

The rules are written from a human with natural armor 0 perspective.

You loose all physical features of your self like dark vision natural armor claws and gain the stuff the form has.

Heh, you skipped the "I can't find where it says you lose your natural armor, though someone linking that would help clear up my confusion at David's response" sentence but kept the smiley.

Yeah, I can see that it falls under the "lose anything that depends on your natural form" section of the rules thanks to Imbicatus :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Alter self & Armor All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions