Snatch Arrows while wielding a bow?


Rules Questions


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Okay, so, I couldn't find an answer to my exact question. If it HAS been answered, I apologize.

My question is a bit complicated, but here it goes:

1. Assuming that it is legal to use a free action to "let go" of the bow string, I can utilize the Snatch Arrows, right?

2. If so, since Nocking an arrow is a not-action, I can use it with Snap Shot, yes?

3. With this, and the text of Snatch arrows and the Ranged Defense (ex) of the Archer, Can I fire the arrow back Immediately after catching it?

References:

Quote:
Not an Action: Some activities are so minor that they are not even considered free actions. They literally don't take any time at all to do and are considered an inherent part of doing something else, such as nocking an arrow as part of an attack with a bow.
Quote:

Snap Shot (Combat)

With a ranged weapon, you can take advantage of any opening in your opponent’s defenses.

Prerequisite: Dex 13, Point-Blank Shot, Rapid Shot, Weapon Focus, base attack bonus +6.

Benefit: While wielding a ranged weapon with which you have Weapon Focus, you threaten squares within 5 feet of you. You can make attacks of opportunity with that ranged weapon. You do not provoke attacks of opportunity when making a ranged attack as an attack of opportunity.

Normal: While wielding a ranged weapon, you threaten no squares and can make no attacks of opportunity with that weapon.

Quote:

Snatch Arrows (Combat)

Instead of knocking an arrow or ranged attack aside, you can catch it in mid-flight.

Prerequisites: Dex 15, Deflect Arrows, Improved Unarmed Strike.

Benefit: When using the Deflect Arrows feat you may choose to catch the weapon instead of just deflecting it. Thrown weapons can immediately be thrown back as an attack against the original attacker (even though it isn't your turn) or kept for later use.

You must have at least one hand free (holding nothing) to use this feat [/b]

Quote:

Ranged Defense (Ex)

At 19th level, an archer gains DR 5/— against ranged attacks. In addition, as an immediate action, he can catch an arrow fired at him and shoot it any target he chooses, as if he had the Snatch Arrows feat.

This ability replaces Armor Mastery.


1. Yes
2. Yes
3. Yes


I concur with Scavion.


Scavion wrote:

1. Yes

2. Yes
3. Yes

Awesome! Thanks! Now that I'm rereading my post, however, I think I should clarify that I am NOT inquiring about level 19 archer, but any character ow has these feats.


The answer(s) remain the same. You're good.


Zhayne wrote:
The answer(s) remain the same. You're good.

Excellent, thank you.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Snatch Arrows while wielding a bow? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions