Can Dreadnaught and Mooncursed Barabrians use the Unchained version?


Pathfinder Society

1/5

In Pathfinder Society, can the Dreadnaught and Mooncursed archetypes use the Unchained version of the Barbarian class? Both of these classes do alter the bonuses that are granted by rage, but in a way that seems like it could still work. Dreadnaught only gives you half of the bonuses, but basically eliminates the penalties. Furthermore, the archeytpe specifically says bonuses. The archetype does not mention any of them specifically. To me, this sounds like it was meant to be compatible with the Unchained version. Mooncursed is less clear. It replaces the usual bonuses and penalties with a version of Wildshape. The wording is that it alters rage.

1/5

1 person marked this as a favorite.

Well in PFS since the official stance is that unchained can take any archetype that doesn't alter rage that these would be out of luck since they alter rage.

The Exchange 4/5 Owner - D20 Hobbies

Is that a PFS rule or a general rule?

1/5

PFS rule, the general rule is that "Finally, with the
exception of the monk, these classes should work with any of
the archetypes from previous books as long as the classes still
have the appropriate class features to replace"

My guess is "previous books" also covers future books that don't distinguish. The question comes into how does urban work? As a home game I can easily make a rule. But PFS just said to basically treat it as an archetype for the rage mechanic.

Community / Forums / Organized Play / Pathfinder Society / Can Dreadnaught and Mooncursed Barabrians use the Unchained version? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Pathfinder Society