Crafting Magical Items: Is Caster Level just a pre-requiste?


Rules Questions


Can a crafter take a +5 bonus to the DC to ignore the caster level requirement of an item??

Thanks.


Sleep-Walker wrote:

Can a crafter take a +5 bonus to the DC to ignore the caster level requirement of an item??

Thanks.

I'm under the impression that the caster level at the top is a difficulty and the stuff at the bottom is requirements.


It depends on the item.
For spell trigger items (wands, staves), spell completion items (scrolls), and potions it is a prerequisite and you can't take a +5 to overcome that.
For weapons and armor it is a prerequisite and it is debatable whether you can take a +5 to overcome that.
For pretty much anything else it usually isn't a prerequisite but in the few cases it is (pearl of power) it is written as such in the prerequisites (along with the spells that might be needed), then if the item isn't a potion, a spell completion item or a spell trigger item, you can take a +5 to overcome that.


From everything i have read the creator's level has to be 3 times enhancement bonus of the weapon. That is not able to be bypassed with the +5 DC


Sleep-Walker wrote:

Can a crafter take a +5 bonus to the DC to ignore the caster level requirement of an item??

Thanks.

Yes. Item Creation feats are a must, and for spell trigger & spell completion items, the spell in question is a must. Every other "requirement" can be bypassed.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Crafting Magical Items: Is Caster Level just a pre-requiste? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.