Class Features


Rules Questions

1 to 50 of 82 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>

If something (say a feat) requires a specific class feature, do I actually have to have gained that particular ability yet? Or is the fact that I'm in a class that has that feature enough?

For instance Dimensional Agility has the Abundant step class feature as a req. Can I start taking the feats before I gain access to abundant step?

The wording sounds weird. I feel like it should just say 'abundant step' as a req, instead of abundant step class feature.

Contributor

2 people marked this as a favorite.

You don't have a class feature unless you actually have the class feature. So if you're not high enough level yet to have it, or your archetype swaps out that feature for something else, you do not have that feature and can't use it as a prerequisite.


klevis69 wrote:

If something (say a feat) requires a specific class feature, do I actually have to have gained that particular ability yet? Or is the fact that I'm in a class that has that feature enough?

For instance Dimensional Agility has the Abundant step class feature as a req. Can I start taking the feats before I gain access to abundant step?

The wording sounds weird. I feel like it should just say 'abundant step' as a req, instead of abundant step class feature.

You need to actually have the ability. Notice, that because of the order in which things happen when you level up, you gain the class features of a new level BEFORE you select feats for that level, if you gain a class feature and have a feat to spend that same level, you can take a feat with that feature as a prereq.

To go with your abundant step/dimensional agility example: You get abundant step at monk lvl 12. You don't get a feat at 12th level, but if you had taken, let's say, 3 levels in brutal pugilist, then when you gain monk lvl 12, it is actualy lvl 15 for you, so you would gain a feat then. You can spend that feat on dimensional agility, since you now have the class ability prereq.

If you are going straight monk, you cannot take the dimensional agility feat until level 13.

EDIT: ninja'd by SKR. Stupid Paizo and their stupid responsive staff with their stupid interacting with their customer base and providing a stupid positive experience.


Sean K Reynolds wrote:
You don't have a class feature unless you actually have the class feature. So if you're not high enough level yet to have it, or your archetype swaps out that feature for something else, you do not have that feature and can't use it as a prerequisite.

Thanks!


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.
klevis69 wrote:
Sean K Reynolds wrote:
You don't have a class feature unless you actually have the class feature. So if you're not high enough level yet to have it, or your archetype swaps out that feature for something else, you do not have that feature and can't use it as a prerequisite.
Thanks!
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Deanmail, you know you're replying to four- and five-year-old threads, right? It's probably not going to help them, no.

Yeah, but he's just trying to help. Anyway, now I have a question.

Perhaps Ki Pool is an exception to this rule?

If I were a level 2 Ninja/Level 2 Monk, don't those levels stack, rewarding 2 Ki Points + my choice in either Charisma or Wisdom mods? I don't think I actually need to reach level 4 Monk to pool my Ki Pool.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Deanmail, you know you're replying to four- and five-year-old threads, right? It's probably not going to help them, no.
Yeah, but he's just trying to help.

Except he posted exactly the same thing in at least four old threads, which makes me think he's trying to sell something, like the product he gives the URL for. Eh. :-/

Scott Wilhelm wrote:

Anyway, now I have a question.

Perhaps Ki Pool is an exception to this rule?

If I were a level 2 Ninja/Level 2 Monk, don't those levels stack, rewarding 2 Ki Points + my choice in either Charisma or Wisdom mods? I don't think I actually need to reach level 4 Monk to pool my Ki Pool.

Nope, it's not like uncanny dodge. Ki pools stack (kinda) but not levels in ki pool classes. You don't get a monk ki pool until you are a level 4 monk, so you don't have anything to add to your ninja pool til then.

EDIT: Uncanny dodge was a terrible example; a rogue/barbarian doesn't get to add his levels together until he's acquired uncanny dodge in each class, not as soon as he gets it in either.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
You don't get a monk ki pool until you are a level 4 monk, so you don't have anything to add to your ninja pool til then.

I'm not completely convinced that you are wrong about that, but

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Ki pools stack (kinda) but not levels in ki pool classes.

But the levels do indeed stack.

Ninja wrote:
If the ninja possesses levels in another class that grants points to a ki pool, ninja levels stack with the levels of that class to determine the total number of ki points in the combined pool,


Oh, good catch. My bad, should have checked.


Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Oh, good catch. My bad, should have checked.

So, there is another part of being a Ninja2/Monk2. The description of Ninja says that you don't get both the CH Mod bonus to Ki that Ninja gives and the Wis Mod + that Monk gives: you have to choose.

But when do you get to choose: after 1 level in Monk, or after 4? Which do you think, and why?

Grand Lodge

Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
You don't get a monk ki pool until you are a level 4 monk, so you don't have anything to add to your ninja pool til then.

I'm not completely convinced that you are wrong about that, but

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Ki pools stack (kinda) but not levels in ki pool classes.

But the levels do indeed stack.

Ninja wrote:
If the ninja possesses levels in another class that grants points to a ki pool, ninja levels stack with the levels of that class to determine the total number of ki points in the combined pool,

Yes, but, since you don't get a Monk Ki pool until you reach 4th level Monk, those levels don't grant extra Ki points when they don't yet grant Ki points, since levels 1-3 in Monk don't have access to the Ki pool feature until you reach 4th level Monk.

Which also answers the question of when you have to choose, which is when both classes actually have the Ki pool feature, not before.

Ninja 2/Monk 2 would be the same as just a Ninja 2.
Ninja 2/Monk 4 would have the levels stack, and the Ki pool attribute choice.


kinevon wrote:
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
You don't get a monk ki pool until you are a level 4 monk, so you don't have anything to add to your ninja pool til then.

I'm not completely convinced that you are wrong about that, but

Fuzzy-Wuzzy wrote:
Ki pools stack (kinda) but not levels in ki pool classes.

But the levels do indeed stack.

Ninja wrote:
If the ninja possesses levels in another class that grants points to a ki pool, ninja levels stack with the levels of that class to determine the total number of ki points in the combined pool,

Yes, but, since you don't get a Monk Ki pool until you reach 4th level Monk, those levels don't grant extra Ki points when they don't yet grant Ki points, since levels 1-3 in Monk don't have access to the Ki pool feature until you reach 4th level Monk.

Which also answers the question of when you have to choose, which is when both classes actually have the Ki pool feature, not before.

Ninja 2/Monk 2 would be the same as just a Ninja 2.
Ninja 2/Monk 4 would have the levels stack, and the Ki pool attribute choice.

I don't think your position is unreasonable. You might be right. But the description of Ninja doesn't say that if you are getting Ki Points from more than 1 class, the points pool together. It says that if the Ninja has levels in another class that also grants Ki Points, the levels stack. And Monk is just such a class.

As I write, it occurs to me that if your Monk levels didn't grant any points until you had 4 of them, it wouldn't make any sense to force the player to choose between Charisma and Wisdom as the Ki Ability: your Wisdom would enhance your Ki from Monk Levels; your Charisma from your Ninja levels.

Does anybody have any more official material to bring to bear on the subject?


Quote:
It says that if the Ninja has levels in another class that also grants Ki Points, the levels stack. And Monk is just such a class.

Monks are NOT such a class until they reach level 4.

Aka, a level 3 Monk might as well be a Fighter when it comes to whether the levels grant Ki points.

It's not until level 4 that they gain a Ki pool and qualify for the stacking rules.


Byakko is right. Stacking levels is irrelevant until both classes have the class feature.

ninja ki pool wrote:
The ki pool is replenished each morning after 8 hours of rest or meditation; these hours do not need to be consecutive. If the ninja possesses levels in another class that grants points to a ki pool

Monk doesn't grant points to a ki pool until level 4.


Byakko & dragonhunterq,

Yes, the Monk Class Ability to grant Ki Points happens at level 4, but it is still a class that grants Ki Points. A level 2 Wizard has levels in a class that grants level 9 spells. A level 2 Monk has levels in a class that grants Ki Points, right?

Ninjas have the Class Ability that allows them to gain Ki Points when taking levels in other classes that grant Ki Points. And we are talking about about a character that does have the Class Ability in question: Level 2 Ninja. No?

I understand why you think it might be the way you said. I think it really might be that way.

But what makes you so sure?


You don't have a class feature until you reach the level you gain it
FAQ - 2nd example is probably most relevant

A monk only has a ki pool at level 4, until then it doesn't.

Using your example, would a wizard 1/cleric 1 qualify for the casting requirements of mystic theurge?
Shouldn't do, because you don't gain 2nd level spell casting until 3rd level.

A wizard 1 doesn't have 9th level spellcasting as a class feature, he has 1st level spellcasting that will eventually become 9th level casting.


dragonhunterq wrote:
A monk only has a ki pool at level 4, until then it doesn't.

Yes, but all the levels in Monk are levels in a class that grant Ki Points, not just the 4th level. That's not so true of some other classes like Ranger. A level 4 Ranger has a Caster Level of 1. But a level 4 Monk uses all 4 levels to calculate the size of his Ki Pool.

dragonhunterq wrote:
Using your example, would a wizard 1/cleric 1 qualify for the casting requirements of mystic theurge?

Of course not! Look at Prerequisites of Mystic Theurge:

Mystic Theurge wrote:
Able to cast 2nd-level divine spells and 2nd-level arcane spells.

That's what Mystic Theurge says. But that is not what Ninja says at all!

Ninja wrote:
If the ninja possesses levels in another class that grants points to a ki pool, ninja levels stack with the levels of that class to determine the total number of ki points in the combined pool,

You need 3 levels in Wizard to have the class ability to cast Level 2 Wizard Spells, and you need the ability to cast Level 2 Wizard Spells to be a Mystic Theurge. It doesn't say you need levels in a class that can cast Level 2 Wizard Spells. That's more what Ninja says.

For my hypothetical Level 2 Ninja/2 Monk, I do already have the required ability: the Ki Pool granted by acquiring 2 levels in Ninja. I also have the ability I just quoted: the ability to gain Ki Points off of levels in other classes that grant Ki Points. Like you said, Monk grants them at level 4: that means Monk is a class that grants Ki Points.


Your monk does not have a ki pool at all until level 4. That is the bottom line.

I can try and dress it up, use bad analogies, or find better ways to explain it. but until level 4 your monk does not have a ki pool.

Once you hit level 4 you gain a ki pool that counts levels 1-3, but at levels 1-3 you do not have a ki pool, so those levels do not intrinsically grant ki points.

If you do not have a ki pool you do not have any levels that grant you ki points.

You do not have a class feature until you reach the level you gain that class feature.


Just because a class potentially could get something doesn't mean it's a class with that.
Lv1-3 of a monk are not levels of a class that grant ki pool, because until lv4 you can freely take an archetype that removes ki pool (as long as it's not changing anything you already have).

Because otherwise you're saying that the martial artist monk also counts because monk is a class that grants a ki pool, I just don't have one yet.


dragonhunterq wrote:

Your monk does not have a ki pool at all until level 4. That is the bottom line.

I can try and dress it up, use bad analogies, or find better ways to explain it. but until level 4 your monk does not have a ki pool.

Well, that is clearly false: my Monk does have a Ki Pool because he has 2 levels in Ninja.

dragonhunterq wrote:
You do not have a class feature until you reach the level you gain that class feature.

In the example I provided, I do have that class Feature: 2 levels in Ninja grant a Ki Pool that accumulates Ki Points by taking levels in any class that grants Ki.

dragonhunterq wrote:
Once you hit level 4 you gain a ki pool that counts levels 1-3, but at levels 1-3 you do not have a ki pool, so those levels do not intrinsically grant ki points.

But I'm not talking about anything intrinsic going on here. I'm talking about a Ninja Class Ability.

So you are saying what

Byakko wrote:
Monks are NOT such a class until they reach level 4.

But even if I never took any levels in Monk, the Monk Class is a Class that gives Ki Points. If I never took any levels in Wizard, Wizard is a class that grants Spells. As dragonhunterq pointed out, even in the Core Rulebook, there is a difference between having levels in a class that has an ability and having an ability. We can't suppose the consequence that I am observing was unintended.

So you, dragonhunter, brought good evidence that you need to reach the level to gain the ability. But I don't see how the evidence you brought demonstrates that "having levels in a class that grants an ability" (Monk) = "having the ability." (not till Level 4)

Chess Pwn wrote:
you're saying that the martial artist monk also counts because monk is a class that grants a ki pool, I just don't have one yet.

That's an interesting point. I am not completely sure what to make of that.

Chess Pwn wrote:
Lv1-3 of a monk are not levels of a class that grant ki pool, because until lv4 you can freely take an archetype that removes ki pool (as long as it's not changing anything you already have).

So that would mean that using levels 1-3 Monk to add to your Ki Pool represents a commitment to not being a Martial Artist. That would seem to be an unexpected consequence.

Of course, Martial Artist already has some early commitment features like that already. Martial Artists are allowed to be nonlawful, and I think they are the only way to be a nonlawful Monk. So if you are a nonlawful Monk, it already makes a difference with your first level. But this is a minor point.


This has been answered in the FAQ, as noted by dragonhunterq.

FAQ wrote:

When do I count as having a class feature?

You have a class feature when your class description tells you you gain that class feature, generally based on your level in that class (and perhaps altered by factors, see below).

Since a Monk 2 has not yet been granted the Ki Pool class feature, a Monk 2 "does not count" as having that class feature. Ergo, Monk levels will not stack with Ninja levels for the purposes of a combined Ki Pool until the Monk reaches level 4 and actually gets access to its Ki Pool. Until the Monk reaches the level where it actually has the class feature, it is not a class that grants the class feature.

The examples in the FAQ are pretty directly relevant here, too.

FAQ wrote:

Example: If you have a fighter archetype that replaces weapon training 1 (but not weapon training 2, 3, and 4), you don't gain the weapon training 2 ability until fighter level 9, which means you don't have the weapon training class ability at all until you reach fighter level 9. Anything with "weapon training" or "weapon training class feature" as a prerequisite is unavailable to you until level 9.

Example: If you have a cleric archetype that replaces channel energy at level 1 (but not later increments of channel energy), you don't gain the channel energy ability until cleric level 3, which means you don't have the channel energy class feature until you reach cleric level 3. Anything with "channel energy" or "channel energy class feature" as a prerequisite is unavailable to you until level 3.
Example: If you have a witch archetype that replaces your hex at level 1 (but not later hexes, major hexes, or grand hexes), you don't gain your first hex ability until witch level 2, which means you don't have the hex class feature until you reach witch level 2. Anything with "hex" or "hex class feature" as a prerequisite is unavailable to you until level 2.


A Ninja 2/Monk 2 has a Ki Pool. That Ki Pool is calculated based on Ninja levels, because that is the only class that has at that point made the ability available. When the Ninja/Monk reaches Monk level 4, it now has access to the Monk class feature Ki Pool. Up to that point, the Monk was contributing nothing to the Ninja Ki Pool. At the point Monk 4 happens, the levels stack for purposes of calculating the combined Ki Pool.


Scott, are you arguing "it shouldn't work this way but by a very very strict reading of RAW it does" or "it was meant to work this way"? ("This way" being that you don't have to wait for Monk 4 to add in the monk levels.)

If the latter, I am curious what you think the reasons were that they wanted this to be a special exception, as well as why they didn't call it out as such.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Scott Wilhelm wrote:

Well, that is clearly false: my Monk does have a Ki Pool because he has 2 levels in Ninja.

You are wrong and we have a FAQ to prove it.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:


Well, that is clearly false: my Monk does have a Ki Pool because he has 2 levels in Ninja.

Class features only apply to the class that grants them.

Your ninja levels have a ki pool, your monk levels do not.
Your monk only gains a ki pool at level 4.


dragonhunterq wrote:
Your monk does not have a ki pool at all until level 4.
dragonhunterq wrote:
You do not have a class feature until you reach the level you gain that class feature.
dragonhunterq wrote:
Once you hit level 4 you gain a ki pool that counts levels 1-3, but at levels 1-3 you do not have a ki pool, so those levels do not intrinsically grant ki points.

Agree with the above.

Scott Wilhelm wrote:

But even if I never took any levels in Monk, the Monk Class is a Class that gives Ki Points. If I never took any levels in Wizard, Wizard is a class that grants Spells. As dragonhunterq pointed out, even in the Core Rulebook, there is a difference between having levels in a class that has an ability and having an ability. We can't suppose the consequence that I am observing was unintended.

So you, dragonhunter, brought good evidence that you need to reach the level to gain the ability. But I don't see how the evidence you brought demonstrates that "having levels in a class that grants an ability" (Monk) = "having the ability." (not till Level 4)

The text of the ninja ability refers to a class that grants ki, not a character that has ki from that class.

Q: Does the Monk class grant ki?
A: Yes, at level 4.
Therefore it is a class that grants ki. This satisfies the ninja text.

Chess Pwn wrote:
you're saying that the martial artist monk also counts because monk is a class that grants a ki pool, I just don't have one yet.
Scott Wilhelm wrote:
That's an interesting point. I am not completely sure what to make of that.

Monk(Martial Artist) trades out ki pool. Therefore as a class, it does not grant ki. Thus levels in Monk(Martial Artist) will not add to the ninja ability.

/cevah

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Cevah wrote:

The text of the ninja ability refers to a class that grants ki, not a character that has ki from that class.

Q: Does the Monk class grant ki?
A: Yes, at level 4.
Therefore it is a class that grants ki. This satisfies the ninja text.

No it says:

Quote:
If the ninja possesses levels in another class that grants points to a ki pool

Monk doesn't grant points to a ki pool until level 3 or 4 depending on Unchained or Normal.

So you get nothing for level 2.

Liberty's Edge

James Risner wrote:
Cevah wrote:

The text of the ninja ability refers to a class that grants ki, not a character that has ki from that class.

Q: Does the Monk class grant ki?
A: Yes, at level 4.
Therefore it is a class that grants ki. This satisfies the ninja text.

No it says:

Quote:
If the ninja possesses levels in another class that grants points to a ki pool

Monk doesn't grant points to a ki pool until level 3 or 4 depending on Unchained or Normal.

So you get nothing for level 2.

I think their point is that there is a difference between:

"Class the grants points to a ki pool"

and:

"Another class from which you have points in a ki pool" or something similar in wording. The first implies that the only prerequisite is that the class is capable of granting points into the pool, whereas the second implies that it already is granting you said points. I can see the argument that the first doesn't require you to be at a point in the class where it is granting you the ki points, only that it must be able to do so at some point in the future. No strong opinion either way :)

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Arcaian wrote:
I can see the argument that the first doesn't require you to be at a point in the class where it is granting you the ki points, only that it must be able to do so at some point in the future. No strong opinion either way :)

But we have a deafening choir of developer quotes and FAQ saying "you don't have a class feature until you do", so any interpretation that goes "the class is capable of granting" is deeply flawed rules interpretations.

Liberty's Edge

James Risner wrote:
Arcaian wrote:
I can see the argument that the first doesn't require you to be at a point in the class where it is granting you the ki points, only that it must be able to do so at some point in the future. No strong opinion either way :)
But we have a deafening choir of developer quotes and FAQ saying "you don't have a class feature until you do", so any interpretation that goes "the class is capable of granting" is deeply flawed rules interpretations.

Yeah, I can definitely see that. I do agree with you for the most part, I was just pointing out that there is a difference in the language from the FAQs you're talking about and the language for stacking here - namely that the FAQs are about when you have a class feature, and it seems like the stacking ki pools doesn't require you to have a class feature, just that the class may grant it. Slight language difference, but is why there is an argument about this I guess :)


That is the basis for the misunderstanding, yes. There are two ways to understand and interpret the language used. Thus, superficially, there is ambiguity.

As noted though, we have abundantly clear directives from the designers of the game that only one of those possible interpretations is the correct reading. That correct reading is the one that says Monk isn't a class that provides a Ki Pool until the relevant level which provides access to said Ki Pool is achieved.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

We also have clear evidence to the contrary in the spell casting abilities of the Ranger and Paladin. At levels 1-3 they cannot cast spells yet they can use wands if the spell is on their list.

The spell list is part of the class ability called "Spells", not its own thing. So why do they get a pass?

It is not consistent.

/cevah

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Cevah wrote:

The spell list is part of the class ability called "Spells", not its own thing. So why do they get a pass?

It is not consistent.

It doesn't have to be consistent.

They don't do consistent, with similar abilities being written in a variety of ways.

Quote:
This is the case even for a character who can’t actually cast spells, such as a 3rd-level paladin

In this case we have a specific rule allowing this.

That doesn't mean this should be applied to other things.


James, I beg to differ.

Rules do have to be pretty consistent. Otherwise, you aren't playing a game. If there is an exception to the rules, it needs to be stated.

The fact that a level 1 Wizard can use a Wand of Fireballs means that she has 1 level in a class that grants the ability to cast Fireballs.

So, how many levels does a level 2 Monk have in a class that grants Ki Points?

The answer is clearly 2. You need 4 for the Monk Class to grant you the ability, and if you have 2, that's not enough for that Class to grant that ability.

But 2 does not equal 0.


dragonhunterq, James Risner, Fretgod99 wrote:
monk only gains a ki pool at level 4. /We have an FAQ... /clear directives from the designers

No one is arguing against that afaIk. The character I proposed is not gaining the relevant Class Ability from 2 levels in Monk, but rather from 2 levels in Ninja.

dragonhunterq , wrote:
Class features only apply to the class that grants them.

That is clearly false.

Ninja also have Sneak Attack. Sneak Attack bonuses from all sources-- Snakebite Striker, Feats, Vivisectionist, and others--stack.

With respect to Familiars, all your levels in all your classes that have the Familiar Class Ability—Wizards, Witches, Eldritch Guardians, and Alchemists and Sorcerers that have Familiars--stack with respect to the abilities of your Familiar.

A Cavalier/Druid who names her Mount as also her Animal Companion sees her Druid and Cavalier Levels Stack with respect to the Level of her Animal Companion.

Alchemists can learn Extracts from Sorcerer/Wizard Spellbooks and Scrolls that have Spells that are also Alchemist Extracts.

Levels in Brawler and Eldritch Knight count as Fighter Levels when it comes to qualifying for feats such as Weapon Specialization.

And your levels in Brawler stack with your levels in Monk with respect to Unarmed Strike Damage, and with your Sacred Weapon Damage if you take Weapon Focus Unarmed.

Ha, Ha! No they don't: I'm just kidding! The Unarmed Base Damage from those Classes don't stack, because it doesn't say anywhere that they do.

But it does say that when you have a Ninja Ki Pool, your levels in other classes that also grant Ki Points stack with your levels in Ninja.

James Risner wrote:
In this case, we have a specific rule allowing this.

We do have a specific rule allowing this, too:

Ninja Ki Pool wrote:
If the ninja possesses levels in another class that grants points to a ki pool, ninja levels stack with the levels of that class to determine the total number of ki points in the combined pool

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Scott Wilhelm wrote:

Rules do have to be pretty consistent.

The answer is clearly 2

The answer isn't 2. We know from a FAQ the Ninja ability doesn't enhance the Monk like that, period. If this gets FAQ treatment I promise you it doesn't go your way.

You are trying to extrapolate a game mechanic, in this case "class spell list", with a special thing that allows it to work so long as you have 1 level in a class.

Think of it this way, if you have a level in Wizard all Wizard spells are on your class spell list. If you have a rule that needs to audit that class spell list (not your spell list), then it gets a "yes on it" answer when you ask it about a wizard spell.


Cevah wrote:

We also have clear evidence to the contrary in the spell casting abilities of the Ranger and Paladin. At levels 1-3 they cannot cast spells yet they can use wands if the spell is on their list.

The spell list is part of the class ability called "Spells", not its own thing. So why do they get a pass?

It is not consistent.

/cevah

As James noted, we have an explicit mention in the rules as to how this scenario is intended to function. It functions differently because we are explicitly told it functions differently.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:

James, I beg to differ.

Rules do have to be pretty consistent. Otherwise, you aren't playing a game. If there is an exception to the rules, it needs to be stated.

The fact that a level 1 Wizard can use a Wand of Fireballs means that she has 1 level in a class that grants the ability to cast Fireballs.

So, how many levels does a level 2 Monk have in a class that grants Ki Points?

The answer is clearly 2. You need 4 for the Monk Class to grant you the ability, and if you have 2, that's not enough for that Class to grant that ability.

But 2 does not equal 0.

In terms of having levels in a class that grants a Ki Pool, yes, 2 can equal 0.

Rules do not have to consistently apply in situations where we are told they are supposed to apply differently. Wands function differently because we're explicitly told they function differently. Thus, it isn't a problem if the rules function differently in these two scenarios because we're told how they differ and how to treat them in their respective situations.


Scott Wilhelm wrote:

That is clearly false.

Ninja also have Sneak Attack. Sneak Attack bonuses from all sources-- Snakebite Striker, Feats, Vivisectionist, and others--stack.

Of course sneak attack stacks. You simply get bonus damage dice whenever you make a qualifying attack. This isn't relevant to anything being discussed here.

Quote:
With respect to Familiars, all your levels in all your classes that have the Familiar Class Ability—Wizards, Witches, Eldritch Guardians, and Alchemists and Sorcerers that have Familiars--stack with respect to the abilities of your Familiar.

And we're explicitly told in the rules how those levels interact. However, when a character class has a delay in access, those levels don't start counting right away.

Quote:
A Cavalier/Druid who names her Mount as also her Animal Companion sees her Druid and Cavalier Levels Stack with respect to the Level of her Animal Companion.

And we're explicitly told in the rules how those levels interact. However, when a character class has a delay in access, those levels don't start counting right away. For instance, a Druid 4/Paladin 2 would have the AC of a Druid 4. A Druid 4/Paladin 5 would have an effective Druid Level of 9.

Quote:
Alchemists can learn Extracts from Sorcerer/Wizard Spellbooks and Scrolls that have Spells that are also Alchemist Extracts.

And we're explicitly told in the rules how those abilities interact. Though it is interesting that this doesn't work the other way around. Again though, we're told explicitly how those abilities interact.

Quote:
Levels in Brawler and Eldritch Knight count as Fighter Levels when it comes to qualifying for feats such as Weapon Specialization.

Once again, we're explicitly told in the rules how those levels count and how the abilities interact.

So the point you were responding to, that class abilities are generally relevant only to that class, is true, excepting those situations where we're told how they interact. Each of these situations you've pointed to abides by that. But more importantly, that doesn't really relate to the larger point here regarding when one particular class counts as having a class ability, even for the purposes of how that ability might interact with another class with the same or a similar ability.

Monk's don't have a Ki Pool until level 4. They don't count as being a class that grants a Ki Pool until it actually does so. Thus, until that Monk is level 4, Monk levels don't stack with Ninja levels for the purpose of a combined Ki Pool.


What happens with a Ninja 4/Monk 2 when the player is intending to be a Martial Artist or Wild Cat Monk? Both of those archetypes lose Ki Pool. Yet the player doesn't have to commit to either of them until level 3.

Does the player get to count Monk levels towards the combined Ki Pool up to third level?


James, I think it is you who is extrapolating that the FAQ is more far-reaching than it was meant to be. The FAQ deals entirely with when a character has a class ability. In this case, the character in question has the class ability: Ki Pool from 2 levels in Monk.

The Ninja Class Ability is specific. It does not say that you have to have Ki from another Class for it to stack. It says "levels from a class..."

Monk is a Class that grants Ki Points, and that is true no matter how many people have no matter how many levels in it.

The point that Cevah (I believe) and I are making is that the fact that a level 1 Wizard can use a Wand of Fireballs means that it is false to say that you have levels in a class that grants an ability only when you have the ability itself.

Hence,

A level 1 Wizard has 1 level in a Class that lets you cast Fireball, not 0.

A level 2 Monk has 2 levels in a Class that grants Ki Points, not 0.

The description of the Ninja Class ability says nothing like, "if you start getting Ki Points from another class..." It says, "levels from another class that grants Ki Points stacks..."

And again, Monk is a class that grants Ki Points.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Monk is not a class that grants ki pool until it's received the ki pool ability. Lv1-3 monk isn't a class that grants ki pool. at lv4 upon getting the ki pool ability is it a class that grants ki pool.


fretgod99 wrote:

What happens with a Ninja 4/Monk 2 when the player is intending to be a Martial Artist or Wild Cat Monk? Both of those archetypes lose Ki Pool. Yet the player doesn't have to commit to either of them until level 3.

Does the player get to count Monk levels towards the combined Ki Pool up to third level?

ChessPawn brought up this point, and I answered it already. Actually, I gave quite a considered response to this point. Odd that he should accuse me of ignoring all arguments when you and he seem to be ignoring this one of mine. On the other hand, Chess Pwn has a tendency to stalk me from thread to thread looking for excuses to argue with me, sometimes even when the argument has nothing to do with the OP, and he seems to be incapable of putting 2 posts up in a row without making an ad hominem attack.

I will answer it again.

I admit, first of all, that this is a sticky wicket.

Generally, you choose a class archetype at the time when it matters. So, you have to decide you are a Master of Many Styles with your first level, since your Bonus Feats change, and you don't get Flurry. Since you normally don't get a Ki Pool until level 4, you normally don't have to commit to being a Martial Artist until level 4, unless you are nonlawful, that is. The only kind of Monk you can be if you are nonlawful is a Martial Artist.

But if you are using the Ninja Class Ability to gain Ki Points from your Monk levels, then Monk is a Class that is granting Ki Points, and that means you are deciding at level 1 that you are not a Martial Artist, and in order to be a Martial Artist starting at level 4, you have to retrain to a new archetype.

That's the way I'm seeing it. But this is a new idea to me.


I didn't ignore anything. I saw that he brought it up, but you didn't address this specific issue. You kind of shrugged it off. None of what you responded with is actually rules relevant but rather how you'd play it. That's fine as a general matter, but not when we're discussing the specifics of the rules.

You do not have to commit to either the Martial Artist or Wild Cat archetypes of Monk until you are 3rd level. There is nothing in the rules which locks you in in this regard before you actually have to make that choice.

So can you or can you not count Monk 2 towards a Ninja's Ki Pool? Not all Monk 2 belong to a class that even prospectively will grant a Ki Pool. So how do you make that determination?


How many ki points is a lv2 monk granting? 0. This it's currently not a class granting ki points.

And fretgod99, Scott did address this question about the martial artist and his reasoning holds here. You must decide the archetype when it would affect something, normally that's the level where you get the ability. But if Scott was correct that gaining the ability at some point qualified you for counting then it's something you'd have had to decide at your first level of the class.

Also Scott, I don't stalk you. I just happen to be on the boards a lot looking at threads that have had recent posts. And I feel that much of what you say is incorrect, thus I throw out saying so. You should notice that if it's not directly related to the OP's question I'll often say something like, "scott believes X, many people don't agree with this view and think he's wrong." and leave it at that. Only if an argument is already there would I join in on a derail. Most if not all of the "ad hominem" attacks are responses to people saying, "Why are you arguing this/We know how this works, why are you bringing this up" and I share that you very strongly believe you're correct and very rarely change your mind regardless of any arguments people make. That you're often not really looking for clarification but are wanting to change how the majority thinks something works.

I just really want to clarify that I have nothing personal against you and hope you don't feel like I'm attacking you. And I'm sorry if it came off that way.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Chess Pwn wrote:
Monk is not a class that grants ki pool until it's received the ki pool ability. Lv1-3 monk isn't a class that grants ki pool. at lv4 upon getting the ki pool ability is it a class that grants ki pool.

+1

Again, Scott, this is the explicit thing the FAQ handles.

Monk 2 doesn't have Ki Pool class ability, so doesn't add to the Ninja pool.


Fretgod99 wrote:
But more importantly, that doesn't really relate to the larger point here regarding when one particular class counts as having a class ability,

Oh, that is not the point at all! We know the character in question has the Class Ability: the Ki Pool granted by Level 2 Ninja. What we're debating is what that class ability allows. It says that you get Ki Points off of levels in other classes that grant Ki Points.

But dragonhunterq was saying that one class ability has no bearing on another class, and I brought out a mountain of evidence in the form of many, many counter-examples. I could have brought forth many more.

You are choosing to frame that mountain of evidence as follows:

Fretgod99 wrote:
So the point you were responding to, that class abilities are generally relevant only to that class, is true, excepting those situations where we're told how they interact.

But even accepting that, a situation "where we're told how they interact" is exactly what we have here.

Ninja Ki Pool wrote:
If the ninja possesses levels in another class that grants points to a ki pool, ninja levels stack with the levels of that class to determine the total number of ki points in the combined pool

That's us being told. I think we can presume that if they meant, "If the Ninja has a Ki Pool from another class..." they would have said that. But they didn't. They said "levels in a class that grants points to a Ki Pool" And Monk is a class that grants Ki Points in exactly the same way that Wizard is a class that grants you the ability to learn level 3 spells.

Fretgod99 wrote:
yes, 2 can equal 0.

Well, that's an extraordinary claim that requires extraordinary evidence. Frankly, I find that statement quite counter-intuitive, actually astonishing.

2 almost never equals 0. For you to convince me that 2=0, we need one of

Fretgod99 wrote:
those situations where we're told how they interact.

Otherwise, the situation is

my presumption that Paizo writers are professionals who are responsible for what they write

vs.

your presumption that Monk is not a class that grants Ki Points even though you yourself admit that that is only the case when 2 = 0.


Lulz. Taking dragonhunter out of context and saying, "See! Class abilities interact!" has no actual impact on this debate. Neither does implying that I am saying 2=0 in a vacuum. Both are clear attempts to Strawman and deflect from a weak position. Par for the course, I suppose. *shrug*

Two levels in a class that doesn't grant an ability until 4th level is as good as having zero levels in that class, in so far as that particular ability is concerned. No rules citation necessary; it's basic logic and reading analysis. Thus, in that context, 2=0 (which is shorthand, in that context, for two is functionally equivalent to zero - or, to be even more precise, having two levels in that class is as beneficial for the relevant ability as having no levels in that class).

And we have one of those situations here. We're instructed by the FAQ that you do not count as having the class ability for the Monk class until you reach the level as a Monk where that ability is granted.

That a Ninja 2/Monk 2 has a Ki Pool from its Ninja classes has no bearing on whether the character has a Ki Pool from its Monk class. It does not. Thus, at the time we're considering this, only one class is a class which gives access to a Ki Pool.

1 to 50 of 82 << first < prev | 1 | 2 | next > last >>
Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Class Features All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.