Ice Armor spell?


Rules Questions


If I wildshape into a tiger, and then step into a lake or shallow river and submerge myself up to my neck, can I cast Ice armor and have breast plate type armor form around my tiger shape?

Ice armor:
Source Pathfinder #38: Racing to Ruin pg. 71 (Amazon)
School transmutation [cold, water]; Level cleric/oracle 1, druid 1 (Gozreh)
Casting
Casting Time 1 minute
Components V, S, F (5 gallons of water)
Effect
Range 0 ft.
Effect a suit of armor made of ice
Duration 1 hour/level or until destroyed
Saving Throw none; Spell Resistance no
Description
You create a suit of armor made of ice. While cold to the touch, it does not harm the wearer, especially if worn over normal clothing (though it can hasten the effects of exposure in cold environments). It offers the same protection as breastplate armor, except it has hardness 0 and 30 hit points. If the intended wearer is submersed in water when you cast this spell, you may form the armor around the wearer (who may be you); otherwise the wearer must don the armor normally. Attacks against the wearer that create heat or fire degrade the armor, reducing its Armor Class by 1 for every 5 points of fire damage the wearer takes; when the armor’s AC reaches 0, the spell ends. Because the ice is slightly buoyant, the wearer gains a +2 circumstance bonus on Swim checks, except when swimming downward. This armor is freely wearable by druids.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

I don't see why not. Will you be proficient with it ?


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

If you have the Natural Spell feat, yes. Otherwise, no.


I do have the natural spell feat. And if I'm proficient with medium armor as my druid, wouldn't I keep that proficiency when I WS?

Grand Lodge

Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber; Pathfinder Maps Subscriber

Yes.

I have done this twice so far on one of my druids in PFS. Keep in mind that the animal form in question has to have the armor slot available for it to work. You could do this on your tiger form but not say a Constrictor Snake.


Yes, you maintain your abilities and skills while in wild shape. I assume you are a Dire Tiger and not a regular tiger. Dire tiger get's grab on all of it's attacks and POUNCE is great. At level 8 you'll also get RAKE, so that's 5 attacks on a POUNCE charge instead of 3.

I play Druids and if you have additional wildshape questions, feel free to PM me.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Ice Armor spell? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.