![]()
![]()
You get the skill points retroactively for increasing int with the ASIs from levels. Similarly increasing your con from 17 to 18 at level 4 grants you +1 additional hp from levels 1-3. Stuff in PF 1e applies retroactively unless stated otherwise. The headband is the exception to this rule as they had to FAQ it. If you homebrew it another way, that's nice. But please don't come into the rules forum with that homebrew and potentially confuse people who might think that's true. ![]()
Phoebus Alexandros wrote: With respect to you both, this topic was only started in the hopes of being directed to any further clarifications by developers or other Paizo folks. Again, I’m well aware of the consensus opinion on this forum with regard to Arcane Deed and what Swashbucklers Deeds do or do not work for the Magus. Ah, sorry about that. Sadly, I don't have any recent design team clarifications for you. I'll offer this old designer post about the deed as an apology though (I'm guessing you've seen it already, but just in case). Mark Seifter wrote:
Sadly it doesn't cover the other half of the arcana though, since that was errata'd in afterwards: Errata - July 22 2015 wrote: Page 104—In the Arcane Deed magus arcana, after the second sentence, add the following sentence: “Even if he gains a panache pool through another means, the magus is not considered to have at least 1 point in his panache pool for the purpose of deeds selected with arcane deed, and his effective swashbuckler level for determining such a deed’s effect is 0.” Unfortunately, I can't find any designer comments on the deed post-errata for you. But, the errata looks like it directly addresses the issues that Mark pointed out and he was part of the design team. ![]()
Liliyashanina wrote: Is his vigilante form, assuming he takes one that is not evil, actually immune to detect evil and smite evil? If by evil outsider, you mean an outsider with only an evil alignment, then yes. If you mean an outsider with the evil subtype, then no. Vigilante's Dual Identity doesn't affect your creature type or subtype, and the evil subtype makes you suffer as if you were evil for effects depending on alignment. Evil Subtype wrote: Any effect that depends on alignment affects a creature with this subtype as if the creature had an evil alignment, no matter what its alignment actually is. So despite the fact that 'Succy the Succubus' is running around as "Red Moon, Defender of the Good and Pure' at night with a LG alignment, if a paladin smites her, they still get that lovely x2 damage on the first hit, and the normal smite boosts after. ![]()
Don't use the statistics from the PFSRD please, there's been some errors discovered in them and they include 3PP monsters for their bestiary stats. Instead, use the updated bestiary statistics for the updated benchpress document. With these numbers you can calculate the average feint DCs accordingly, taking into account the bonuses to DCs for being nonhumanoid and low int. This means that for CR's 6/8/10, the respective feint DC's are 23/27/30. Either way though, I don't really care about the DPR argument, I just wanted to clear up what numbers should be used for it. ![]()
Quote: If a bard uses the horn to start a bardic performance, all effects of that performance are calculated as if the bard were 6 levels higher. Quote: A sound striker gains the following type of bardic performance They're bardic performances, I don't see why it wouldn't work. As for the words thing, maybe they blow the horn before they begin speaking to empower their words with its magic. Who knows, it's a magic item in a fantasy world. The mechanics of how the two interact is clear though, they would gain the benefit of three reasons to live. If you want a PFS ruling though, you should ask in the PFS forums. ![]()
AwesomenessDog wrote: The first bolded section is what tells you that you will never gain the 3rd+ level abilities of the bloodline No, that's not what it says at all, read the ability. Bloodline Development wrote: As a swift action, the arcanist can expend 1 point from her arcane reservoir to bolster her latent nature, allowing her to treat her arcanist level as her sorcerer level for the purpose of using this ability, which lasts for a number of rounds equal to her Charisma modifier (minimum 1). She does not gain any other abilities when using this exploit in this way, such as bloodline arcana or those bloodline powers gained at 3rd level or higher. What it says is that when you spend the point from your arcane reservoir to increase your effective level for the power, you do not gain anything other than having an increased level for the power. As such, it only applies when using that portion of the exploit. AwesomenessDog wrote: the second tells you that having levels in the exploiter with this exploit simply lets you add your levels to your effective bloodline level for the sake of giving the one ability you do have. Again, read the ability. Bloodline Development wrote: If the arcanist already has a bloodline (or gains one later), taking this exploit instead allows her arcanist levels to stack with the levels of the class that granted her access to the bloodline when determining the powers and abilities of her bloodline. Notice the instead (bolded for your convenience), this means that if the condition (italicized) is met, instead of the normal benefits listed above, you instead get the benefits listed there. The benefits (also bolded), are that your arcanist levels stack for determining the powers and abilities of your bloodline, which includes determining which powers you have. Therefore, an exploiter 9/sorcerer 1 does gain the bloodline powers of a level 10 sorcerer. AwesomenessDog wrote: The exploit is not a "take this, then dip one level into sorcerer, and then you have all the abilities of your bloodline equal to your total character level" Except it is, as shown above. ![]()
Bloodline Development wrote: If the arcanist already has a bloodline (or gains one later), taking this exploit instead allows her arcanist levels to stack with the levels of the class that granted her access to the bloodline when determining the powers and abilities of her bloodline. It's explicitly clear that an exploiter 9/sorcerer 1 would get the 9th level bloodline power. It's very much debatable on whether feats, class skills, and bonus spells are "powers and abilities" of the bloodline, and something that I have yet to see allowed at a table. ![]()
Both matter in various degrees, and depend on the context of the issue along with what's being discussed. What the devs intended, while nice to know sometimes, has been shown to actually work the opposite way by rulings made after their intent was expressed, and therefore should be taken with a grain of salt. Honestly, dev intent shouldn't be used as the basis for things, as gms can (and should) rule their own intent for their game's materials. So really, yes, you should answer with what the rules are, and then bring up intent separately if something is ambiguous. ![]()
The rules are explicitly clear on how to price weapons, makes sure to read them. As others have noted, they are only intended for GM usage, so make sure your GM is okay with them being used. Now, as for their actual usage, what you need to do is figure out what a base glaive would require and then figure out what you need to add for the weapon you want to design. If we break down a glaive, we can see the following: Quote:
If we look at what you want to add, we can then break down the necessary additional things that would need to be purchased: Quote:
You can purchase up to 3 additional DP in exchange for increasing the cost by 15 gp per DP. Quote:
By changing it to be an exotic weapon, we can gain another DP: Quote:
And finally (the only way left to gain DP), we can add the Fragile weapon feature to gain an additional DP: Quote:
Putting it all together, we end up with the following: Quote:
![]()
Diego Rossi wrote:
It's a reference to this part of the revelation: Quote: You can add a number of spells from the sorcerer/wizard spell list equal to your Charisma modifier (minimum 1, maximum equal to half your oracle level) to your spell list and your list of spells known as divine spells. So you have a minimum of 1 extra spell at level 1, and a maximum of 9 extra spells at level 19. It's not a statement of taking it multiple times, it's a matter of asking if it matters what level it's taken at for determining the maximum number of spells granted by it after leveling up. ![]()
Diego Rossi wrote: Dimension Door and Abundant step don't allow you to cross planes Note that Dim Door has the Teleportation Sub-School, which says: MAGIC RULES wrote: Teleportation is instantaneous travel through the Astral Plane. So yes, Dimension Door does cross planes. Now, it doesn't let you teleport to other planes, so you still have to end up in the same plane, but an extradimensional space is not the same as a demi-plane or plane. ![]()
DeathlessOne wrote: If you want to take Arcane Exploits as an Arcanist, use the Magaambyan Initiate archetype, as the Spell Mastery feature they get at 5th level qualifies them for feats as a wizard equal to their level. Arcane discoveries are not feats (though wizards can take them in place of feats), so that wouldn't help them out. ![]()
Azothath wrote: I think everyone agrees that the spell description needs some work and it invites GMs to interpret what is there(RAW). No, not at all. The spell is explicitly clear on how it works. You conjure up a masterwork melee weapon of any type and are considered proficient with it. The weapon is able to be sundered (unlike force sword), and can damage incorporeal creatures. If it ever leaves your hand (unlike spiritual weapon or force sword), the spell ends and the weapon disappears. The fact that it's a conjured sword made up of force has no bearing on if it interacts with spell resistance, just as a summoned creature doesn't, nor does a regular enchanted weapon. ![]()
Here's a link to the 1e crb FAQ. You should just be able to navigate from there. ![]()
Azothath wrote: I'd note that SLAs don't qualify as spellcasting for class entry They do actually, but only for that specific spell. They also count as spells for the purposes things like Spell Focus, Augment Summoning, and so on. ![]()
AwesomenessDog wrote: I also can't think of a single creature that has true SLA's that doesn't have at least Cha for their highest spell. Djinni's have plane shift and only 15 cha, when it's a level 7 spell for them. Could doubtlessly come up with more examples if I took the time to search, but I don't feel like it. Regardless, yes, relevant to the OP, rules for how SLAs work doesn't matter in this case, aside from that they function as spells. ijanai Cook wrote: <not the rules for how SLAs work by default> That's a whole lot of exceptions you're listing there. Still not the rules for how SLA's work. You could drain a creature without such rules listed for its SLAs (like a Djinni), and it could still use them. Feeblemind only works because it prevents creatures from using spells, which SLAs are. Aasimar, for example, could dump cha and still use their Daylight SLA. Same situation with Tieflings and their Darkness SLA. ![]()
Heather 540 wrote: And the wizard levels are really only for getting Craft Magical Arms & Armor as that needs a caster level of 5. And they do stack for TOTAL caster level. No they don't ... you need a caster level of 5 in one class. Granted there's traits for such things, but witch and wizard levels don't stack to determine caster level. RE: Thread's original topic The best melee build is probably Nature Fang druid. ![]()
Azothath wrote: The example in the FAQ is the parallel event. A caster using Scorching Ray with multiple rays (which count as ranged weapons). Casting the spell provokes. Does launching each ray also provoke? The FAQ answer's that = NO, the multiple ranged attack only provokes once. You mean the FAQ that says: FAQ wrote: Note that at spell that fires multiple simultaneous rays, such as scorching ray, only provokes one AOO for making the ranged attack instead of one AOO for each ranged attack. It still provokes for casting the spell. Conveniently there's also another FAQ about simultaneous attacks: FAQ wrote:
So if you agree that rogues only can sneak attack once per full attack (I don't), then that is indeed a valid point you're making. ![]()
vhok wrote:
Quote: At 1st level, a sorcerer, bloodrager, or any other character with one of the following bloodlines can choose to gain a bloodline familiar. Quote: Bloodline: A blood arcanist selects one bloodline from those available through the sorcerer bloodline class feature. Bloodline familiars only require you to have the bloodline. Blood Arcanist grants you a bloodline, ergo you qualify for it. ![]()
There's also the cursed magic item creation rules that are a bit more explicit. Quote: Drawbacks and Requirements: Drawbacks and requirements typically don’t reduce the cost of a cursed item in any way (and might increase it). Since the crafter of an intentionally cursed item is setting these requirements, it is expected that she does so with a particular agenda, such as choosing a requirement that doesn’t affect her very much but would make the item painful for her enemies to use should they steal it, or choosing a requirement that she wants someone to perform anyway and then offering the item as a gift.
![]()
![]()
zza ni wrote: that is a very well made chart. my only addition to it would be to state at the 'roll skill check' box, for making the item, that you are allowed to take 10 when crafting (unless specific things prevent it) Thanks for the feedback! Here's an updated version of the chart. ![]()
![]()
It doesn't matter that it's a spell, ranged attacks provoke as per the rules for combat. The rules don't require the ranged attack to be made with a weapon, therefore it would need an exception saying it doesn't provoke. ![]()
It only helps if there's a save in the first place, it does not grant a save if there would not be one. It normally doesn't help with avoiding negative levels from energy drain, since energy drain usually inflicts negative levels automatically when a creature is struck. It would help with the save to avoid them becoming permanent though. ![]()
UnArcaneElection wrote: Once the Gunslinger archetype is released, wouldn't anyone be able to use it just like they can use any of the other multiclass archetypes? (Whether this would be a good idea for any particular starting class is another question.) Sure. But just like one doesn't need to take the barbarian archetype in order to make a greataxe worth using, you shouldn't need the gunslinger archetype in order to make guns worthwhile (though a class focused on guns should be better at using them just as an alchemist is better at utilizing bombs and monks are better at unarmed attacks), which is what (I think) most of us are worried about happening. ![]()
In my games, I have a houserule for Wall of Thorns being treated as heavy undergrowth, but I also rule that it doesn't block LoS or LoE. My rationale for doing so? Because being trapped within one should not be a buff. It should not be better for a boss to wait inside with a readied action for when it's dismissed, while waiting for the duration of party buffs to wear out. If it block LoE, it prevents all ranged attacks and spells from affecting those within. Additionally, the 30% miss chance granted by being heavy undergrowth is already a sufficient indicator of the difficulty at targeting those within. ![]()
Diego Rossi wrote: Any quote that says that? You mean stuff like: Energy Siege Shot wrote: When casting the spell, the caster picks a one of the following energy types: acid, cold, electricity, fire, sonic, or force. Performance Combat wrote: Energy Spells and Effects: Crowds tend to respond to flashy spells and effects. If a combatant casts a spell or produces an effect that deals acid, cold, fire, electricity, force, or sonic damage in a visible way (including weapons with special abilities like flaming burst or shocking burst that deal bursts of energy damage on critical hits), she can make a performance combat check as a swift action. Bladebound Magus wrote: Energy Attunement (Su): At 5th level, as a free action, a magus can spend a point of his black blade’s arcane pool to have it deal one of the following types of damage instead of weapon damage: cold, electricity, or fire. He can spend 2 points from the black blade’s arcane pool to deal sonic or force damage instead of weapon damage. This effect lasts until the start of the magus’s next turn. Force Blast wrote: Blast Type energy; Damage force And then we even have flavor to back it up: Magic Missile wrote: A missile of magical energy darts forth from your fingertip and strikes its target, dealing 1d4+1 points of force damage. Harbinger Rod wrote: Once per day, on command, the rod can emit a blast of energy that deals 2d6 points of force damage to creatures adjacent to the wielder. The reason you can't do Resist Energy (force) is because: Resist Energy wrote: This abjuration grants a creature limited protection from damage of whichever one of five energy types you select: acid, cold, electricity, fire, or sonic. Resist Energy specifically only allows acid, cold, electricity, fire, or sonic. Not force, not negative, and not positive. Nice strawman though. ![]()
Full FAQ with link for ease of reference. WORST FAQ wrote:
Hugo Rune wrote: You're looking at the spellcraft skill but not the FAQ. The emanation itself is obvious and cannot be hidden without special abilities, but determining what spell the emanation represents requires the spellcraft skill and the difficulty is in part distance related, as you have pointed out. This is both true and false. Let's look at what you bolded and then some. Quote:
What this says, is that every spell produces manifestations, and that these manifestations are obviously of a magical nature, even to a common farmer. These manifestations are produced regardless of what components the spell may or may not have, and are how spellcraft is used to identify them. E.G. If you start casting geas next to someone, they'll know that you're casting a spell (assuming they can perceive you/your square), even if they do not know necessarily what spell you're casting. What this doesn't say though, is that an alarm automatically rings out every time you cast, telling people that you're casting a spell. If you're casting in a tavern with closed windows and doors, only the people around you know that you're casting a spell, Sally the Whore working in the brothel next door does not know that. Similarly a caster by themselves in the darkest pits of a dungeon with no people around does not alert the whole multiverse(? I think it's considered a multiverse?) every time they cast a spell. E.G. If Bob the Wizard casts mage armor at the entrance to the castle, while the guards may know that he's casting a spell, he doesn't alert the Balor guarding the dungeons (though the guards may then alert the Balor that he has done so). Now, how do we determine if people can perceive that you're casting a spell then? With that age-old skill, perception. Now note, this is just a perception check to see if you can percieve the manifestion, not a spellcraft one to identify it. ![]()
Hugo Rune wrote: I'm not going to deny that they are visual effects or that they are centered on the caster. However, they can all be made not to be obvious through mundane means, which would then require a perception check and spotting the emanation does not require a perception check. Spellcraft wrote: Identifying a spell as it is being cast requires no action, but you must be able to clearly see the spell as it is being cast, and this incurs the same penalties as a Perception skill check due to distance, poor conditions, and other factors. Things that affect your perception, also affect your ability to perceive an emanation. Granted, it's still easy to see them, but casting a spell at midnight on a rainy day doesn't automatically alert everyone walking down the street. They would need to be able to see it (thus a perception check should be made). ![]()
The FAQ is about what spellcraft uses to detect and identify magic. Spellcraft can only be used to identify spells as they're being cast. Seems like it's pretty clear that the manifestations are only produced when casting the spell, not during the whole time the spell is in effect (though some spells may have noticeable manifestations of their own. E.G. Fireball, entangle, magic mouth, etc). Edit: Quote: However what is less clear is a spell that requires active concentration to maintain. Is it effectively still being cast or not? Does the caster need to continue supplying spell components every round? Do they provoke AoO's automatically when maintaining it? If your answer to these is no (as it should be), then the overall answer is no. ![]()
Wonderstell wrote:
I think you both agree but you're misreading each other (or I'm misreading you guys). In their original post Theaitetos wrote:
Theaitetos said what you followed up with. That Lightning Stance requires actions that physically move the character from their square to another. I do think it could have been phrased better, but I believe that is what you've been trying to convey as well. ![]()
Theaitetos wrote:
Incorrect, check the ability they get at 11th level with VMC. Quote: Curse Focus: At 11th level, she adds 5 to her effective oracle level for the purposes of determining her curse’s effects.
![]()
Quote:
1. Yes 2. YesIt functions just like a heavy shield, save that it is made of force, and thus applies against incorporeal creatures as well. It being a miniature wall of force has no effect on anything it does aside from that, and thus the size is irrelevant. ![]()
This should function as per the Channel Energy FAQ since they don't mention stacking. The abilities don't stack, instead you simply have two pools of sneak attack dice that are applied when their conditions are met. Example: Let's say we have an unchained rogue 5/slayer 3 for some reason. This means they have +3d6 sneak attack (unrogue) and +1d6 sneak attack (slayer). Let's see what happens if they attack in these 3 scenarios: a) A flanked target without any concealment.
a) The unrogue/slayer gets +4d6 damage on their attacks, because the conditions for both abilities are met. b) The unrogue/slayer only gets +3d6 damage on their attacks, this is because the slayer ability doesn't work on target with concealment. If the abilities actually stacked (they don't), this would instead be either +4d6 damage or +0d6 damage depending on the GM. c) The unrogue/slayer gets no bonus damage on their attacks, because neither ability functions against opponents with total concealment. ![]()
Here's some examples of things that limit the effects of an ability to the first charge attack: When you hit with a charge attack to deal nonlethal damage while using this style, your weapon deals damage as if it were one size category larger than it actually is. If you have the ability to make more than one attack on a charge, this increase applies only to your first attack. Mammoth Hide wrote: Made of tattered mammoth hide and bone, this +3 hide armor is similar to rhino hide, but is fashioned in the harsh lands of the Realm of the Mammoth Lords using beasts common to that region. In addition to granting a +3 enhancement bonus to AC, it has a –1 armor check penalty and grants the wearer 4d6 additional points of damage on the first successful charge attack she makes in a round, including a mounted charge. Barracuda Slam wrote: [...] Further, while making a charge attack in water or on land, you can add twice your Strength bonus on the damage roll for your first unarmed strike on your turn. Arbalest Cloak wrote: In addition, on her first successful charge attack during the round the cloak is active, the wearer deals an additional 1d6 points of piercing damage (1d4 if she is Small), plus another 1d6 (or 1d4 if she is Small) for every 20 feet the wearer traveled in a straight line during the charge (maximum 3d6). Let's look at Air blessing: Air Blessing wrote: Soaring Assault (major): At 10th level, you can touch an ally and give her the gift of flight for 1 minute (as fly). The ally gains a fly speed of 60 feet with average maneuverability. She gains a bonus on Fly skill checks equal to your level. Whenever the ally succeeds at a charge attack while flying, that attack deals an amount of additional electricity damage equal to your level. Oh look, its missing anything that limits it to only being applied on the first charge attack. And if that doesn't make sense to you, do creatures only get the +2 to attack from charging on their first attack in a pounce or all of their attacks?
|