![]()
Search Posts
![]()
![]() Hi All- I just ordered the character add-on deck for S&S. Feiya looks like an interesting character but I'm puzzled by her suggested starting deck. It only includes one attack spell (Frostbite) and one evasion spell (Confusion). Maybe I am missing something but with no weapon I am wondering how that starting decklist allows her to get through more than a couple of fights per scenario (even with successful recharging of spells). thanks in advance for any thoughts! ![]()
![]() Hi All! My son and I decided to take on Baphomet, managed to beat him, and wound up with Amulet of the Abyss as our additional reward. The amulet is great, but the corrupted nature means it incurs a heavy cost to use (bury a blessing). As I look ahead to the coming adventures, I am not seeing any other times that a party member can redeem a card. Am I missing something or does the Amulet necessarily have to stay corrupted for the remainder of the path? Any thoughts appreciated, thanks! ![]()
![]() Hello All! The final power on Seltyiel's Spellblade Role reads: "Discard a spell to put a a weapon from your discard pile into your hand." Simple enough. But I am wondering if I could do that during an encounter, specifically versus a villain with multiple checks. Hear me out. I was playing as Balazaar a few months back and found a thread were Vic stated Balazaar could use his power of discarding a spell to grab a monster from the box, provided that monster was to be used to affect the combat check (thereby fulfilling the requirement of only playing cards/using powers that affect the check). So I am wondering if that thought process applies here as well: I discard a weapon to get the added bonus for my first check against the monster, and then I use Seltyiel's power to discard a spell to get the weapon back, which will be used on the second check. It seems like if Balazaar's power is legit in this context, Seltyiel's would be too. Does this seem like a reasonable interpretation? Thanks in advance for any thoughts. ![]()
![]() Hello Friends! I just acquired the Warhorse, whose second power states: "Discard this card to explore your location. You may treat your first combat check during this exploration as your first combat check of the turn." I guess I am confused as to why this power is useful, unless I am missing some rule which gives a significant advantage to your first combat check of the turn. Did I miss something? It seems like this power would only be useful in some edge cases where a specific bane/boon cares if it's my first combat check. Any thoughts appreciated, thanks! ![]()
![]() Hi All! We beat the queen and are onto the bonus round. In the instructions it states when we defeat the big bad and there are any cards left in the siege pile we "banish 1d4 cards from it and shuffle him back into it." Safe to assume we banish those 1d4 cards from the TOP of the siege pile? I feel like this has to be the case but it doesn't specify. thanks!
![]()
![]() Hello All- The instructions for 6A state that when you close a location, any non-veteran story banes get shuffled into a random other location. We defeated and displayed the first villain and chased the other to the final open location. Then we defeated a henchmen there and made the check to close. on closing we found 2 non-henchmen story banes and the other villain. My question: since there are no other open location there seems to be no where for those two henchmen to go, so I believe I would banish them and we'd just have the villain left. Is that right? or do they escape right back to the same location? The instructions definitely say "random other" location. Any help is appreciated, thanks. ![]()
![]() Hi All- Playing as Quinn, after I reveal my weapon (sawtooth saber) to use my acrobatics skill for my combat check I have been using his first power by reloading a card to replace acrobatics with knowledge and adding the level of the reloaded card. To this point I have only been reloading a different card from the weapon. My question: may i reload my weapon after I've revealed it? With the reveal I am playing it, but with the reload I am using a power which I don't believe contradicts the "one card type played per step" rule. Any thoughts appreciated, thanks! ![]()
![]() Hi All! Boomcrown states for my combat check I can bury to roll a number of d8s (or d12s vs undead) equal to the ad#. Can I bless the check to add another die? Similarly may I play a spell like Corrosion which adds a die to any check against an undead bane? I am so used to adding dice to whatever the base skill (arcane, str/melee etc) being used was, I wasn't sure how to handle an item like this that uses no base skill. thanks
![]()
![]() Hi Everyone- I am pretty new to this forum so hopefully this is a good place to post this. I recently have been doing a run through Mummy's Mask with my son, and I decided to bring along Balazar from WOTR. I had figured I would spend most of the adventure using my standard Strength + Arcane Skill + AD# Padrig attack given that attack spells and weapons really aren't options. Then I stumbled upon this guy: Neferkhu. All of a sudden I had an Ally that is essentially a melee weapon without technically being one, so now I was rolling a d8 as well, and monsters were becoming much easier to defeat. and THEN I acquired this: Ring of the Grasping Grave. which i believe synergizes perfectly with Neferekhu since now all of my combat checks were invoking the undead trait. So now, on adventure deck 6, when I have those two cards in my hand I am rolling d6(str) + d8(ally) + d4(ring) + d10(arcane die) plus a static bonus of + 18 (+4 Cha, +2 Arcane, +6 ad# padrig and +6 ad# from the ring). Honestly, when I have this combo in hand even the hardest villain is kind of a joke, and so I am wondering if I am doing something terribly wrong or if I just lucked into a VERY useful combo of cards for Balazar. I appreciate anyone who took the time to read this. I'd be curious to see if people think I'm doing the mechanics correctly at least, and any other thoughts are welcome. thanks! ![]()
![]() Hi All! Apart from using Padrig, which explicitly states you may banish as many monsters as you like to add 1d4/1d6 (role card) to your combat check, am I correct that the "only one card of each type per check may be played" rule applies to "monsters" as well? in other words, I am assuming I can NOT banish multiple monsters to add multiple d4s to my check to defeat a barrier (or any other monster power i've checked off on his role card). thanks in advance! |