Lem

Sambafreak13's page

40 posts. No reviews. No lists. No wishlists.


RSS


I am also having the same issue with Echoes of Death, and then tried one of the free downloads and they both had the same issue (22 bytes, empty folder)


Whipstitch wrote:

You are correct that you do not get to use Enhance to recover Enhance (or other spells).

The powers listed on Enhance:

Freely display next to a local character and choose a skill. While displayed:

On their checks using that skill, add 1 + #.
At the end of the turn, banish.

Enhance will be in recovery during recovery, and thus no longer displayed. Since it isn't displayed, you don't get the "While displayed" powers.

Ok super, thanks so much.

Follow-up: the rules clearly state I may plays cards/use powers DURING recovery if they affect thing happening during recovery (like checks to recharge spells, etc). So in that case am I allowed to display Enhance during recovery? And, if so, when does it make its way into the recovery pile? Would that be at the end of the NEXT player's turn.

Essentially we are wondering: when a card/power states it lasts until end of turn, and it is played during recovery, when is the "end of turn?"

thanks again


Hello All!

When I display Enhance to add "1 plus #" to whatever skill I want (let's say Wisdom) until end of turn, do I get that bonus when I make my Divine roll (based on Wisdom) during recovery to recharge both Enhance and any other spells I'm recharging?

I had always assumed yes, but the end of turn steps clearly state that first I apply any end of turn effects (which would include moving Enhance into the recovery zone, I assume) and THE do recovery. SO I am thinking I don't get the bonus.

thoughts?

thanks!


I appreciate this reply. I am definitely familiar with the game and don't always adhere to the suggested decklist, but I do like to see what the designers suggest in hopes to glean some insight into how they intend a character to be played. In this case it seems like they were suggesting little-to-no offense for her, which seemed odd.

your take on it makes sense. thanks again!

mike


Hi All-

I just ordered the character add-on deck for S&S. Feiya looks like an interesting character but I'm puzzled by her suggested starting deck. It only includes one attack spell (Frostbite) and one evasion spell (Confusion). Maybe I am missing something but with no weapon I am wondering how that starting decklist allows her to get through more than a couple of fights per scenario (even with successful recharging of spells).

thanks in advance for any thoughts!


right. that makes sense, it just seem odd that there are options for arcane/divine 40 and ALSO arcane/divine 25. so with easier options it does seem like you'd only ever use the 40s with 5 or 6 characters, as you say.

this one feels different than the army henchmen where the big numbers (usually 40) are for combat and then the non combat checks are lower. it seemed odd to have two non-combat checks repeated, but at lower checks.

thanks for the reply!


Hi All-

I think we've been playing this correctly (with the various army henchmen), but I am very confused about the Villain Heart of the World Wound. The checks to defeat are:

Arcane
Divine
40

or

Arcane
Divine
Disable
Knowledge
25

There are only two of us playing, so I assume we would just do the Arcane and Divine 25 and completely ignore the 40. Does that sound right?


Hi All!

My son and I decided to take on Baphomet, managed to beat him, and wound up with Amulet of the Abyss as our additional reward. The amulet is great, but the corrupted nature means it incurs a heavy cost to use (bury a blessing). As I look ahead to the coming adventures, I am not seeing any other times that a party member can redeem a card. Am I missing something or does the Amulet necessarily have to stay corrupted for the remainder of the path?

Any thoughts appreciated, thanks!


Ok, that's super helpful. My son just got his role card and we were deciding if the power could be used that way.

I don't remember the entire Balazar thread, just that Vic had stated (I think) that Balazar could indeed discard a spell to grab a monster to use on the check, which I was equating to this situation. Am I remembering that correctly? It's obviously too late now but I hope I didn't cheat with Balazar that entire adventure :)

thanks again for your response!


Let me look for the post. But just to be clear I am using the power the grab the weapon back to immediately use it for the second check. Are you saying that doesn't meet the requirement?

thanks!


Hello All!

The final power on Seltyiel's Spellblade Role reads: "Discard a spell to put a a weapon from your discard pile into your hand."

Simple enough. But I am wondering if I could do that during an encounter, specifically versus a villain with multiple checks.

Hear me out. I was playing as Balazaar a few months back and found a thread were Vic stated Balazaar could use his power of discarding a spell to grab a monster from the box, provided that monster was to be used to affect the combat check (thereby fulfilling the requirement of only playing cards/using powers that affect the check). So I am wondering if that thought process applies here as well: I discard a weapon to get the added bonus for my first check against the monster, and then I use Seltyiel's power to discard a spell to get the weapon back, which will be used on the second check.

It seems like if Balazaar's power is legit in this context, Seltyiel's would be too.

Does this seem like a reasonable interpretation? Thanks in advance for any thoughts.


Yewstance wrote:

Good question!

It probably depends somewhat of the wording of the effect in question, but the best RAW answer I can give is "Separately for each check".

"Determine The Difficulty" is a part of "Attempting a Check" in the Core Rulebook (Page 11 & 12), so reasonably it would be determined on each check, rather than per encounter (which are instead detailed from Page 9 & 10).

But for a couple of minor reasons, I can see there being room for debate in some cases; such as if the effect was determined "When you Encounter", or "Before Acting", since those are called out under "Encountering a Card" in the rulebook, not "Attempting a Check".

Thanks again for this help!


skizzerz wrote:
You roll separately for each check. You’ll later get a spell called Transmogrification or something like that which lets you decrease the difficulty of checks — you roll separately for each check in that case as well. (If you search for the spell on the forums you’ll find some official confirmation of that.)

awesome thanks!


Interesting. I did find the sidebar in the rules referencing situations where each character at a location takes 1d4 damage, and in those cases the rules clearly state to roll separately for each character.

In this case, we're playing WOTR and it's the barrier "Compelling Offer." Basically when you encounter a villain it lets you draw three non-basic boons of your chosen type and you may keep one to potentially be a reward for the scenario, but if you do, "Increase the difficulty of checks to defeat the villain by d20."

So on first reading I thought we'd roll the d20 once and add that to both checks (this villain had two) but after seeing the aforementioned sidebar we ended up rolling it for each check.

I'd love to get a solid answer as I imagine we may see this barrier again :)


Hey All-

If an effect causes the difficulty of checks against a monster to increase by some die, and that monster has multiple checks, do I roll once for all checks or roll separately for each check?

thanks!


Parody wrote:
Lances care if it's your first combat check of the turn, and Alain (WOTR) has an entire Role dedicated to them. (Well, Mounts and Polearms.)

Ah, ok that makes sense. Playing as Adowyn I've been completely ignoring lances etc, but her deck runs on animal allies so I was excited to run into the warhorse. Seems like its main power doesn't do much for me.

thanks!


Hello Friends!

I just acquired the Warhorse, whose second power states: "Discard this card to explore your location. You may treat your first combat check during this exploration as your first combat check of the turn."

I guess I am confused as to why this power is useful, unless I am missing some rule which gives a significant advantage to your first combat check of the turn. Did I miss something? It seems like this power would only be useful in some edge cases where a specific bane/boon cares if it's my first combat check.

Any thoughts appreciated, thanks!


ah thank you. i figured it was somewhere in the rules but couldn't find it. the funny part is we ended up not running into the issue (just finished an hour ago). After using my examining ability (playing the investigator) I found the dragon early on, and used The Twin (blessing) to evade him and recharge him into the siege deck. we managed to not fail against any subsequent banes in the siege deck so he stayed on the bottom until we were ready to encounter him. good times :)


yeah in our case we are often aware of what the top card is (i'm playing the investigator) but I can't image we can pull the 1d4 cards from anywhere in the deck we feel like. seems like that would never be the intent, but i'm surprised they didn't specify "top"


Hi All!

We beat the queen and are onto the bonus round. In the instructions it states when we defeat the big bad and there are any cards left in the siege pile we "banish 1d4 cards from it and shuffle him back into it."

Safe to assume we banish those 1d4 cards from the TOP of the siege pile? I feel like this has to be the case but it doesn't specify.

thanks!
mike


Hello All-

The instructions for 6A state that when you close a location, any non-veteran story banes get shuffled into a random other location. We defeated and displayed the first villain and chased the other to the final open location. Then we defeated a henchmen there and made the check to close. on closing we found 2 non-henchmen story banes and the other villain.

My question: since there are no other open location there seems to be no where for those two henchmen to go, so I believe I would banish them and we'd just have the villain left. Is that right? or do they escape right back to the same location? The instructions definitely say "random other" location.

Any help is appreciated, thanks.


Nice! And we just finished Ad5 and I picked up the Loot Weapon Serithtial which just happens to have the finesse trait, meaning I can reveal it to use my knowledge as my base skill (currently d10+5) and then put the weapon on top to add static 6 for the AD# of the card, and the weapon itself gives me d12+4. So with one card in hand, on a reveal (playing the card) and then reload (using my power), I am rolling d10 + d12 + 15. this is gonna be fun

thanks for the response!


Hi All-

Playing as Quinn, after I reveal my weapon (sawtooth saber) to use my acrobatics skill for my combat check I have been using his first power by reloading a card to replace acrobatics with knowledge and adding the level of the reloaded card. To this point I have only been reloading a different card from the weapon.

My question: may i reload my weapon after I've revealed it? With the reveal I am playing it, but with the reload I am using a power which I don't believe contradicts the "one card type played per step" rule.

Any thoughts appreciated, thanks!


Malcolm_Reynolds wrote:
If the power reads something like "Reload to examine," then yes since you perform the prescribed actions in the order listed.

Thanks, that's how I read it too, but it strikes me as a bit odd. The power seems intended to let you look at the top 3 cards of your deck, but because of the reload mechanic you only get to look at the top 2. Maybe they intended it to be more useful to look at another character's deck, where you get the full 3...


potentially silly question but if i reload the harrow deck to examine the top three cards of my own deck am i always going to be examining the harrow deck since reloading puts it on top?


Malcolm_Reynolds wrote:

I can't remember where to find Corrosion to check. Since the Boomcrown is an Item you may also play a Spell on the same check. In this case the Boomcrown defines the dice to use (instead of using a skill) and the spell just adds another die of the type specified (like a blessing).

Remember to add the AD # as a static bonus with the Boomcrown as well!

Hope this helps!

Super helpful, thanks you! Sounds like we did it right.

Here is Corrosion: https://pacg.fandom.com/wiki/Corrosion

Since the monster was undead this gave us an additional d12 :)

Thanks again!


Hi All!

Boomcrown states for my combat check I can bury to roll a number of d8s (or d12s vs undead) equal to the ad#. Can I bless the check to add another die? Similarly may I play a spell like Corrosion which adds a die to any check against an undead bane? I am so used to adding dice to whatever the base skill (arcane, str/melee etc) being used was, I wasn't sure how to handle an item like this that uses no base skill.

thanks
mike


Interesting. I'm not familiar with those other characters but I can certainly see how a "weapon that isn't really a weapon" could start to be exploited.

I think the biggest issue for me was Balazar stopped feeling like Balazar (at least from a character mechanic standpoint). With Neferekhu and The Ring I almost never needed to chuck my saved monsters into the combat. I actually think Neferekhu alone might have been fine but finding the ring so soon after and adding that d4+ad# to every combat got out of hand.

I wonder how other people feel about finding a semi-broken card/combo. For me, it feels cool until it becomes boring. We are about to play the final scenario in MM and I have already vowed to leave Neferekhu at home :)


I brought Balazar (WOTR Version) through Mummy's Mask and was delighted to find that playing her does not count as playing a weapon; it gives his standard attack a lovely d8 boost. And once I picked up Ring of the Grasping Grave and realized every check with Neferekhu invoked the Undead trait I was adding a d4, d8 and the AD# to every combat, not to mention the standard strength + arcane + ad# from Padrig. Extremely powerful combo (d4, d6, d8, d10 + 18 in AD6 with maxed out Charisma)


zeroth_hour2 wrote:

I think your grasp of the mechanics here is fine.

I do think there is quite a bit of brokenness inside of Mummy's Mask itself even without bringing characters from other APs into it, which throws the balance off more because the other AP characters are designed for other APs, which means they aren't designed for this one.

The problem seems to stem from Neferkhu (though it has much worse problems than the fact it isn't played as a weapon). I do wonder if that power should have "this counts as playing a weapon" though - it currently doesn't.

This is the RPG inspiration for the ally.

Sentinel Part does count as playing a weapon and it seems to be fairly improvised as well, so I'm actually wondering why Neferkhu doesn't have "this counts as playing a weapon" now.

Right. Swinging a head in a cage around at my enemies certainly feels like I'm playing a weapon. I wonder if they'd ever add that text, though I realize this synergy with the ring and balazar is a very edge case.

When I first acquired Neferekhu I actually read the powers before the card type and assumed it WAS a weapon and was preparing to sell it off to the trader. When I saw "Card Type: Ally" my eyes got very big and it felt like I had stumbled on some awesome cheat code (specific to balazar), The trouble is, after a couple of scenarios with that and the ring combined I was barely needing to roll on combat checks, and barely using previously defeated monsters in my fights. I essentially turned Balazar into something different. Stuff being too easy just isn't that fun,

I appreciate the responses here. It sounds like I am indeed playing it correctly and have simply found a powerful loophole for this character to exploit. Honestly now that the novelty of that has worn off I kind of wish i hadn't found it, since combat has become quite dull.


thanks all, one banished monster per check it is!


Jenceslav wrote:
Well, that would be allowed, I believe, because the monster you linked to has a power "You may play any number of armors during this encounter". So … many … things … to … reflect! :-D

My son and I refer to shields and any other armor that lets you reveal it as "plinkers," since the damage is constantly plinking off of them. Why occasionally it's nice to be able to bury a big suit of armor to reduce a huge wallop down to zero, we find being able to plink little bits of damage over and over to be far more useful :)


Hi Everyone-

I am pretty new to this forum so hopefully this is a good place to post this. I recently have been doing a run through Mummy's Mask with my son, and I decided to bring along Balazar from WOTR. I had figured I would spend most of the adventure using my standard Strength + Arcane Skill + AD# Padrig attack given that attack spells and weapons really aren't options.

Then I stumbled upon this guy: Neferkhu. All of a sudden I had an Ally that is essentially a melee weapon without technically being one, so now I was rolling a d8 as well, and monsters were becoming much easier to defeat. and THEN I acquired this: Ring of the Grasping Grave. which i believe synergizes perfectly with Neferekhu since now all of my combat checks were invoking the undead trait.

So now, on adventure deck 6, when I have those two cards in my hand I am rolling d6(str) + d8(ally) + d4(ring) + d10(arcane die) plus a static bonus of + 18 (+4 Cha, +2 Arcane, +6 ad# padrig and +6 ad# from the ring).

Honestly, when I have this combo in hand even the hardest villain is kind of a joke, and so I am wondering if I am doing something terribly wrong or if I just lucked into a VERY useful combo of cards for Balazar.

I appreciate anyone who took the time to read this. I'd be curious to see if people think I'm doing the mechanics correctly at least, and any other thoughts are welcome.

thanks!


awesome, thanks!


Hi All!

Apart from using Padrig, which explicitly states you may banish as many monsters as you like to add 1d4/1d6 (role card) to your combat check, am I correct that the "only one card of each type per check may be played" rule applies to "monsters" as well?

in other words, I am assuming I can NOT banish multiple monsters to add multiple d4s to my check to defeat a barrier (or any other monster power i've checked off on his role card).

thanks in advance!


Quick Question-

My buddy and I picked up the add-on deck so we can play with the new characters, but it's only two of us so I worry that adding in all the "c" cards will have us encountering far more low level banes and boons than we should. Anyone have a suggestion as to how to approach adding in banes/boons from the add-on deck with only two players?


thanks for the reply!

I am excited to try it the hard way. My son and I just finished DD and are enjoying Harsk and Lem enough to want to continue their adventure :)


Ithaqua47 wrote:
It was. They have already updated it in the FAQ.

thanks!


It sure seems like Fire Bolt should have the attack and fire trait. Anyone know if this is an oversight or not?


Hey all, thanks for this thread. I am/was confused as well.

I see a conflict between the DD reward for the adventure path, where is states you should treat "#" for your next adventure path as 3 for adventures 1, 2 and 3. But in the set up for CotCt is states to "increase #" by the number of the last scenario you completed in DD (which would be 3 if you did the whole thing).

So following the DD reward, I feel like "#" for CotCT should run: 3,3,3,4,5,6,7

But following the set-up in CotCT it would be: 4,5,6,7,8,9,10.

OR the final post above would seem to have it: 3,3,3,7,8,9,10.

thoughts on this?

thanks!
mike