I'd like to get the last of the 1st edition Pathfinder stuff, but I want to cancel so I don't get any of the 2nd ed stuff.
As the AP subscription contains an overlap, this would imply a 'split' cancel.
Could you please set me up, just like you did for Joey Virtue, one thread below?
Thanks in advance, and have some nice holidays!
Good day; i hope you had a merry Christmas.
It seems that my order Order #4076772 was lost in transit.
The subsequent order, #4150575, declared as shipping on December 1, has arrived on Christmas Eve... so I am starting to worry about #4076772.
Kirth Gersen wrote:
Last night I finally sampled The Yamazaki 12-Year Old Single Malt Japanese Whiskey. I don't care if it's a ripoff, the stuff is GOOD, comparable more to a MacAllen than to a Glenfiddich (if we're talking Speysides). I'm a little leary of the price tag ($68 + 7% + 18% tax here in PA), but the stuff is definitely worth sampling.
If you are able to get your hand on it, try the 18-year old Yamazaki.In my opinion, it's a league above what the 12y can deliver.
Hello again, James.
Hope you had a good Christmas, New Year, and birthday :)
A couple of questions, if I may...
1) If a mortal becomes a (non-native) outsider, for example via the means to turn into a demon... what will happen to his soul? Unless I am mistaken, Outsiders don't have one, while the mortal does (or at least, did)...
2) Regarding redeemable outsiders:
Arueshalae lost her [evil] subtype upon ceasing to be evil, and gains the [good] subtype upon completing her alignment shift. Is this a special effect for this very succubus, or is this a rule for beings with an alignment subtype in general?
3) While we're there...
Since a romance between Arueshalae and a character is very possible... what kind of child could result from this kid of union? A Half-Celestial? A Half-Succubus, with modified traits? Something else altogether?
4) A minor thing i noted about Orcs and Alignment...
I said it and I'll say it again, I have zero problems with the Sorcerer lagging a level behind the Wizard in spells.
What I do have a gripe with is the fact that, whenever the Sorcerer gets a new spell level, he will have one single spell to fill his new slots.
One. Single. Spell.
All the 6-level spontaneous progressions get two new spells known when them reach a new spell level. The Oracle gets three (one to choose, one from the Cure/Inflict series, and one from her mystery).
The Sorcerer, however, gets one spell now; his Bloodline spell coming up a level after.
Which not only leaves him with a single spell of his new level, but also leads to the effect that his Bloodline (which, according to fluff, is the very reason that he is wielding magic in the first place) comes in later.
I'd do nothing to 'fix' the spell level lag.
I would, however, grant Sorcerers their Bloodline spell of a certain spell level the very instant their spellcasting progression reaches said spell level, to reflect the importance of the Bloodline.
I'm still going to compare it to a mild islay. So take that as you will.
*laughs* I have no intention of stopping you from comparing what you want to whatever else you'd like.
After all, the most important question in these things is 'How much do you like it?'
Cheers, and keep on exploring!
xavier c wrote:
6)What don't you like about Sarenrae?
James Jacobs wrote:
6) The unfortunate elements about her church being warlike and overly aggressive that snuck into the Taldor book by an author who misunderstood the whole point of Sarenrae. I'm hoping to fix that eventually in the context of an Adventure Path.
Interesting.Might I ask you to elaborate?
Especially regarding that 'Adventure Path' bit?
*puppy dog eyes*
So I´m playing my BBEG game tonight, and I´m planning on using Wail of the Banshee tonight. I feel like 200 damage is on the low side for a level-9 spell, but I also DEFINITELY don't want to hear that I hit them with 600-800 damage in one round illegally afterwards.
10 per level to every creature affected, with a number of creatures affected equal to your level.
In 3.x, this spell was 'save or die'. In Pathfinder, like pretty much all other insta-kill spells (with the exception of Phantasmal Killer and Weird), it has been toned down to a measly 'save or take some damage' effect, which, in the light of PF's hit point inflation, makes it pretty sub-par for a level 9.
Do you have access to the metamagic Feat Dazing Spell? Slap it on anything that doesn't target Fortitude.
Other than that, Grease, Glitterdust, Stumble Gap... anything that targets Reflex or Will and applies status modifiers wil make things much easier.
Don't bother relying on damage spells. The one thing Giants bring to the field is a crapton of hit points, coupled with high Fortitude Saves.
Don't neglect your defense. They'll be able to hit your AC if they get in striking range or throw rocks, so miss chance is the way to go. Mirror Image is your friend. Improved Invisibility is even better.
Jayson MF Kip wrote:
3/day limit probably isn't balancing enough.
Ah, but there is no 3/day limit.
If a swashbuckler wearing the cloak of feinting performs the superior feint deed or uses this cape’s ability, the opponent is also dazed until the start of the swashbuckler’s next turn.
Or uses the cape's ability. As opposed to, and uses the cape's ability.
Now, let's see how long it takes for someone to pipe up 'No Problem. Wizards still are better at killing things, so there's no change required'...
Ah, Middleton Very Rare. Quite a nice Irish one, indeed. I must admit I am more of a fan of the 21 year old varieties of Bushmills or Redbreast when it comes to Irish whiskeys, though.
As far as scotch whisky goes, I seem to be in love with a couple of Lowlanders. Some Rosebanks or St. Magdalenes I have enjoyed so far are nothing short of divine, in my opinion. Unfortunately, both distilleries have closed down (St. Magdalene in 1983, Rosebank in 1993), so prices for any remaining bottles have risen to... annoying heights.
As a side note: Although one wouldn't believe it at first, the Japanese make some damn fine whiskies. You might want to try an 18-year old Yamazaki if you can get it at an affordable price; it's pretty good.
Wait - "can an eidolon take advantage of their summoner while the summoner has the dazed condition so the eidolon and the summoner have children" - would that add enough trolling?
James Jacobs wrote:
And a summoner who takes advantage of their eidolon in that way can indeed do so, but without the eidolon's consent, that's a chaotic evil act and it should have immediate alignment repercussions.
Umm... James? I think the question was the other way round, about the Eidolon taking advantage of their Summoner...
Thomas Long 175 wrote:
That can be found in the table you pulled your info from. This is directly tied to the post containing clerics and paladins. Now if we look back to the class of paladin, aka not a cleric, you will see it gives no statement that would allow for an equivalent aura of evil. Just good. So by the cliff notes in the table, it straight out says to look to the class and the class gives no statement on any possible evil aura.
May I point out the fact that the table has, in fact, an entry for Cleric or Paladin of an aligned deity?
The definiton for the intensity of a Pally's aura could not be any more explicit. In fact, what the Aura of Good rule does is to ensure that an Abadarian Paladin will get a Good Aura at full stength, despite his god not providing any.
As will a godless Paladin.
Still, having the choice of not serving a god does in no way mean you can choose pretty much any faith.
Mark Sweetman wrote:
So a Paladin can't follow an evil deity as by doing so they'd gain an evil aura, which violates their code of conduct.
Umm... you lost me there.
Where exactly do you see the violation of conduct? Last time I checked, having an evil aura did not infringe on any strictures a Paladin had to adhere to...
Thomas Long 175 wrote:
Except the paladin's aura isn't based off the deity they follow.
Sure about that? Last time I checked, Detect $slignment had a special entry for Cleric or Paladin of an aligned deity
Thomas Long 175 wrote:
As you can see the wording is quite different from the cleric aura feature. A paladin receives an aura of good no matter whom they worship.
...which would be in addition to the aura they receive from their deity.
Now, this would imply result in a hypothetical Asmodean Paladin pinging Good (as per Paladin class feature), as well as Lawful and Evil (as per the entry in the Detect Evil table), all of these at full strength.
In fact, the exceptional strength of the Paladin's aura from his deity is, in my opinion, a strong argument for the paladin being massively tied into his deities principles... which would heavily imply a one-step-maximum divergence of alignments.
No one stated that a Paladin has to worship a deity. But if he does, evidence strongly suggests his alignment has to be within one step of said deity.
Just my 2 cents...
(Not mine, to be honest, but I still like it)
Once upon a time (1/t), pretty little Polly Nomial was strolling across a field of vectors when she came to the edge of a singularly large matrix.
Now Polly was convergent and her mother had made it an absolute condition that she must never enter such an array without her brackets on. Polly, however, who had changed her variables that morning and was feeling particularly badly behaved, ignored this condition on the grounds that it was insufficient and made her way in amongst the complex elements.
Rows and columns enveloped her on all sides. Tangents approached her surface. She became tensor and tensor. Quite suddenly, three branches of a hyperbola touched her at a single point. She oscillated violently, lost all sense of directrix and went completely divergent. As she reached a turning point she tripped over a square root which was protruding from the erf and plunged headlong down a steep gradient. When she was differentiated once more she found herself, apparently alone, in a non-euclidean space.
She was being watched, however. That smooth operator, Curly Pi, was lurking inner product. As his eyes devoured her curvilinear coordinates, a singular expression crossed his face. Was she still convergent, he wondered. He decided to integrate improperly at once.
Hearing a vulgar function behind her, Polly turned round and saw Curly Pi approaching with his power series extrapolated. She could see at once, by his degenerate conic and his dissipative terms, that he was bent on no good.
"Eureka" she gasped.
"Ho, ho," he said. "What a symmetric little Polynomial you are. I can see you're bubbling over with secs".
"O Sir," she protested, "keep away from me. I haven't got my brackets on."
"Calm yourself, my dear," said our suave operator, "your fears are purely imaginary "
"i, i," she thought, "perhaps he's homogenous then?".
"What order are you," the brute demanded.
"Seventeen," replied Polly.
Curly leered. "I suppose you've never been operated on yet?" he asked.
"Of course not", Polly cried indignantly. "I'm absolutely convergent."
"Come, come," said Curly. "Let's off to a decimal place I know and I'll take you to the limit."
"Never," gasped Polly.
"Exchlf," he swore, using the vilest oath he knew. His patience was gone. Coshing her over the coefficient with a log until she was powerless, Curly removed her discontinuities. He stared at her significant places and began to smooth her points of inflexion. Poor Polly. All was up. She felt his hand tending to her asymptotic limit. Her convergence would soon be gone forever.
There was no mercy, for Curly was a heavyside operator. He integrated by parts. He integrated by partial fractions. The complex beast even went all the way around and did a contour integration. What an indignity. To be multiply connected on her first integration. Curly went on operating until he was absolutely and completely orthogonal.
When Polly got home that evening, her mother noticed that she had been truncated in several places. But it was too late to differentiate now. As the months went by, Polly increased monotonically. Finally she generated a small but pathological function which left surds all over the place until she was driven to distraction.
The moral of this sad story is this: If you want to keep your expressions convergent, never allow them a single degree of freedom.
Actually, you are.
Scrolls come in both arcane and divine 'flavor', wands don't.
Yeah. I wouldn't be surprised if a lot of GMs houserule (possibly unknowingly, in a de facto sort of way) that native outsiders count as humanoids rather than outsiders for things like disguise self, enlarge person, etc., unless you really would rather your undine disguise himself as a balor rather than an elf.
Change the native outsiders in question to Humanoid (Planetouched)... and you rid yourself of a LOT of problems.Just sayin'...
GM says: *rolls die* "The monster attacks you for... what was your AC again?"
If a character with multiple spontaneous casting classes obtains a Page of Spell Knowledge with a spell that is on more than one list from the classes he has...
can he freely cast this spell from slots of any of these classes, or does he have to decide which of his eligible classes will benefit from effectively having one more spell known?
Bonus question: What happens if the spell in question is rated at different levels in his class spell lists?
So, let's get this straight, please:
What exactly does the phrase "Special: This feat replaces the Two-Weapon Fighting feat for creatures with more than two arms." mean?
a) If four-armed, I cannot take TWF. I must take MWF instead. Since all the higher-up feats (ITWF, GTWF, Two-Weapon Rend, etc.) require TWF, I am abolutely unable to learn those, ever.
b) If four-armed, I must take MWF in place of IWF. MWF replaces TWF in all aspects, thus being a valid prerequisite for two-weapon rend (which would apply once per round if I hit with... what exactly? Main Hand plus one off hand? Any two different weapons?), ITWF (which would likely give me a single additional iterative from one off hand), drawing more than one weapon in a single move action (if so, how many?), and so on.
c) Actually, the design team never gave too much thought to this case, as multi-armed creatures who'd actually take these feats are pretty rare?
d) Something else altogether?
Mind, I am not asking for things like IMWF and the like, I'd just like a clarification how far the 'replacement' paragraph is intended to go... and so far, there have been about zero official responses... unless I missed something.
If they have the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, then 2 move actions.
Ah, but they cannot take TWF, as for those creatures, Multi-Weapon Fighting replaces TWF.
Now... what exactly does MWF do when it comes to drawing multiple weapons?
Does it allow to draw all your weapons, in analogy to TWF?
*innocently suggests an Item of Int+2 with Linguistics as its bonus skill*
*runs for cover*