Jarl Ceszac

Link2000's page

FullStarFullStarFullStarFullStar Venture-Agent, Washington—Tacoma 461 posts. No reviews. No lists. 1 wishlist. 31 Organized Play characters. 1 alias.




I am unsure if it is just me or if it's "system-wide", but I have not received an e-ticket for PaizoCon even though I was approved for 5+ sessions and replied to the e-mail I received as instructed.

I normally wouldn't "freak out", as I'm a patient person, but now the event lottery is running and if I don't get an E-Ticket before it ends then I don't get to participate. Should I be worried? Or will I be okay before the lottery ends?

Thanks for the help!


We currently have a 5 month old, and he will have leveled up to a 10 month old when this convention rolls around. Will a badge be required for him?

**** Venture-Agent, Washington—Tacoma aka Link2000

So in yesterday's session two of us received a critical hit from a weapon with the wound critical effect. We coincidentally both lost an eye. My character just hit level 2 and has effectively burned all credits on improving gear. The cheapest replacement "eyes" (dark vision capacitors) will take my weapon, armor, and the scenario reward. And the other player doesn't even have the option as he just doesn't have enough credits even after selling gear.

According to the Guide, all conditions with a mechanical effect have to be cleared by the end of the scenario or the character is effectively "dead". Since a lost eye imparts a -2 on perception, does this mean that the other player's character is dead? Does this mean that my character (a soldier) is running into the next scenario equipped with no weapons or armor?

How does this work? The GM is holding off on any final calls until we see what the community thinks on this. Seems strange that if we had lost a limb instead, this wouldn't be much of an issue as the scenario rewards could pay the 100 credits to buy a prosthetic, yet the same critical effect hitting an eye is now drawing problems.


It says to declare an area of up 1000 cubic feet. I'm no expert at math, but isn't that just a "10 foot cube"?

A cubic foot is defined as "the volume of a cube with sides of one foot in length", meaning 1ft x 1ft x 1ft = 1 cu ft

10ft x 10ft x 10ft = 1000 cu ft

Am I mathing this wrong? Does the Sentinel Fusion only cover a 10 foot cube?


First off, I understand that this seems a preposterous question, but bear with me.

So I was thinking of getting my character a Tier 3 Computer with a few upgrades and started wondering if I would just be wasting the hard earned credits we are making.

In the beginning of the section, it talks about giving tools for the GMs to use. Does this mean that the computers weren't designed to give players options so much as challenges? (Which I'm okay with, just curious)

I know that the players have access to computers in general, but could I (as a player) purchase a computer that could remotely fire a weapon or start our starship? What about store secure data to have access to when not in range of an infosphere? Or even to have an AI for those lonely nights out in the drift?

I'm just curious what other people thoughts are on this? I just want some ideas to take to my GM about it, and to have hopefully a better understanding of what I could do.


So, I have been playing PFS for quite a while now, and have moved to the stage of my life where I would rather play AP's over the scenarios provided. I have fun with them, but I just feel that I never really get to see my characters progress.

I always need to change characters to fit tiers, to make parties more balanced, or just feel that the character would better fit the description of the scenario. Overall, I just feel like I'm jumping all over the place and don't even know who my characters really are any more.

To the task at hand, is PbP right for me? I live a pretty busy life in general. I have a 40hr/week job (with 7.5hr/week commute), am a Venture Agent for a Thursday game taking up another 4-5hrs/week, am in a bi-weekly AP (6hrs/2 weeks), bi-weekly games of Starfinder (10ish hrs/2 weeks), am happily married (24hrs/day technically, but only requires genuine effort for roughly 16-18hrs/week), and I sleep, eat, etc... Also, I'm expecting the first little one in a few months, so time will be even tighter. So although I want another game, I don't know where to find the time.

That's where I'm hoping PbP will be of help. Is it perfectly acceptable to make 2-5 posts a day around my work schedule? I almost always have my computer with me, so I should be able to make a post or two around the same timeframe daily.

If so, then how do I start? Like, I've read the Guide on the discussion... But I don't know how to make a "character sheet" for PbP. Is it just my PFS character listings? If so, what if I desire to play in a non-PFS game? I may have a couple more questions arise after these, and I thank you all in advance for any help you provide.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

This is for PFS, just please keep that in mind, Thank you!

So I was thinking of essentially making a Dragoon from the FF series. I want to jump up high and do some heavy damage on the fall. The issue I'm running across is how to get the actions to work and whatnot. Maybe this wonderful board can help me out! I understand that some of the rules on the matter may be unclear and maybe even be subject to table variation.

Branch Pounce will be the base of the build:

Quote:
Benefit: When charging a target by jumping down from above (such as when jumping out of a tree), you can soften your own fall with a melee attack. If the attack at the end of your charge hits, the attack deals damage as normal and also adds the appropriate amount of falling damage (1d6 points for a 10-foot fall, 2d6 points for a 20-foot fall, and so on). This falling damage is not multiplied on a critical hit. You land in an unoccupied square of your choosing adjacent to the target, and you take falling damage as if you had fallen 10 fewer feet. You can attempt an Acrobatics check as normal to treat the fall as an additional 10 feet shorter for the purpose of determining the damage you take from the fall and treat the first 1d6 points of damage you take from the fall as nonlethal damage. If your attack misses, you land prone in a random square adjacent to the target and automatically take the full amount of falling damage.

I was thinking of Aerokineticist 2/Ninja 4 to get the Air's Leap and High Jumper abilities to get maximum usage of Acrobatics.

Assuming I use a long spear, how would I "attack" in this fashion.

Lets say I want to jump 30ft (1 move action) up in the air over my enemy, and I roll high enough on my acrobatics. Do I "automatically" get to try "charging" from my fall allowing me to attack with Branch Pounce? What sort of action is falling at this moment?

Now lets say I Jump 60ft! Does that constitute a "double move"? And would I permitted to attempt to attack next round?

Thanks for all the input ahead of time!


Okay, I'm pretty sure I got this right, but when I explain to my GM how I'm using spells off my staff I want to be definite.

So a Staff is a spell trigger item, meaning I can UMD it (DC 20) to pretend the spell is on my list to cast it. Right?

Use Magic Device wrote:
Use a Wand, Staff, or Other Spell Trigger Item: Normally, to use a wand, you must have the wand's spell on your class spell list. This use of the skill allows you to use a wand as if you had a particular spell on your class spell list. Failing the roll does not expend a charge.

And this particular character is a Psychic of Rebirth level 7. Assuming I UMD to pretend the spell is on my list, I should be able to use my caster level, INT and feats (in terms of DCs) for the spells cast. Correct?

Staves wrote:
Using Staves: Staves use the wielder’s ability score and relevant feats to set the DC for saves against their spells. Unlike with other sorts of magic items, the wielder can use his caster level when activating the power of the staff if it’s higher than the caster level of the staff. This means that staves are far more potent in the hands of a powerful spellcaster. Because they use the wielder’s ability score to set the save DC for the spells, spells from a staff are often harder to resist than those from other magic items, which use the minimum ability score required to cast the spell. Not only are aspects of the spell dependent on caster level (range, duration, and so on) potentially higher, but spells from a staff are also harder to dispel and have a better chance of overcoming spell resistance.

All this is legal/acceptable, yes?


So, my friend had this idea, and I'm going to steal it for PFS because it's super interesting. Sadly PFS kind of knee caps the archetype by tossing craft out the window, making the alchemist lose throw anything and brew potion for skill focus(alchemy)...

But other than that, here's the idea:

Apply all my GM credit until I am level 4 or 5 to keep character. At that point, get Fox Shape. The homunculus will be medium sized by then and from there on will be disguised as "the alchemist" while the actual alchemist will be disguised as a "familiar".

Now comes the real problems... How do I get this whole thing to work well? A lot of the discoveries are not useful to the fox shape and are primarily unusable by the companion. Feats are in a similar boat. I'm thinking of making the companion primarily use a bow for attacks, has a longspear for flanks and whatnot.

The fox will primarily be a skill monkey, passing as much information as possible through the link. I also plan on creating poisons for the companion to use in combat (out of sight so hopefully no one sees through the charade), opening up a few discoveries.

Otherwise, anyone know of any good discoveries, feats, or gear I should look into?


If I have an Ifrit with the mostly human alternative trait, would that permit me to taking Human Race Traits? I would think yes, but not sure.

If so, could I choose a Human ethnicity to further expand the option? Exampled: Ifrit from a Shaonti background taking Auspicious Tattoo trait?


I remember a while ago reading about whether or not a player can upgrade a +1 Reliable to a +1 Greater Reliable, and that there was a general consensus that it cannot be done.

I can no longer find that thread, and was just wondering if there was any clarification as to what is the ruling on this?

It's for PFS, so if someone could point to an FAQ or Campaign Clarification, that'd be great. If not, I'll just assume that it remains unchanged and that it just can't be done without reselling and whatnot.

Thanks! You guys are always a great help!


I'm thinking of making a Gulch Gunner. I would like to not provoke attacks for reloading, but in order to gain grit, I'd like to provoke when I attack.

Can I choose not to use the feat if I feel like it would be more beneficial otherwise?


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Now, I know that Kinetic Knight loses out on making ranged blasts because they must use the Kinetic Blade form infusion when they make the blast. I'm okay with that. I was considering on switching up my current Hydrokineticist to this archetype because that's what I primarily do anyways.

Now comes my question. My fiancee and I occasionally interweave our blasts via teamwork feat. If I switch into this archetype, would I no longer be allowed to ready my blast for interweaving even though she is the one making the actual ranged blast?

If I am still allowed to ready, the feat says I may choose a form or substance infusion for the blast, am I forced to choose the kinetic blade form or am I still allowed to use the Torrent infusion I fell in love with using for the mighty "Magnetic Torrent" blast so long as I am the "readying" party of the blast?

Thanks for the help!


I'm just checking my numbers here, and then would like some advice to see if it's worth it.

So at level 6, I will have access to Water Manipulator, which at first glance looked great! I come across enough situations where water is a troublesome thing for the group, and to be able to work around it would be a huge help. But now I am become less certain as I do the numbers.

At level 6, I will be able to raise or lower water levels of a 60ftx60ft area by 12 ft. That's pretty good, but what really attracted me was the ability to move 1/1000th of that volume around.

I ran some numbers (at the end) and was like "I can move 43 or so cubic ft of water!" That's quite a bit (2700lbs of water almost). But then I realized that on a combat grid, that's about a third of one square... I can't even move 1 square worth of water until level 9. It kind of bummed me out. There's no rules on attacking with the 2700lbs of water, so it's pure utility (and that's fine to me), but I was hoping to kind of Moses the water out of my party's way.

Am I doing my math correctly? And if so, what are your thoughts on the overall utility of Water Manipulator?

Thanks!

Water Manipulator at 6th Level:
60ftx60ftx12ft = 43,200ft^3
43,200ft^3/1000 = 43.2ft^3

1 Combat Square:
5ftx5ftx5ft = 125ft^3


Does the extra bonus to crit confirmations stack with Accurate Stance or does it replace the bonus of Accurate Stance?

Example of level 4 Unchained Barbarian is it:

A) +4 BAB, +STR, +2 from Accurate Stance, +4 Deadly Accuracy, +Miscellaneous bonuses to hit, +1d20 = Crit confirmation roll

or

B) +4 BAB, +STR, +4 Deadly Accuracy, +Miscellaneous bonuses to hit, +1d20 = Crit confirmation roll


So I'm going Bladed Brush and using a Glaive. I know that currently this will lock out spell combat, but meh, I'll still have spell strike and will be going Kensai anyways.

I can still use Spell Strike with Bladed Brush, right?

Also, I want to snag Flamboyant Arcana. I understand that I don't actually gain a penache pool, does this mean I can't riposte after a parry?

Thanks for the help!


First of all: I know, Rage Prophet is not a great PrC. That being said, I'm still doing it, because it works perfectly for my "Support" Barbarian that I have.

Currently he is in the process of being leveled to 5, with 2 Levels Barbarian and 2 Levels Oracle.

His build looks like this so far:

Half-Orc Armored Hulk Barbarian 2/Oracle of Life 2
STR: 16
DEX: 14
CON: 16
INT: 8
WIS: 10
CHA: 14

Feats:
Endurance (From Racial Trait)
Combat Reflexes
Bodyguard
??? <- Extra Rage Power? Extra Revelation? Saving Shield?

Rage Powers (9 rds/day for rage):
Celestial Totem

Life Mystery with Powerless Prophecy Curse:
Channel Revelation (Can currently 3/day)

Traits:
Fate's Favored
Magical Knack (Oracle)

-----------------------------------------------------

So, I don't know if I want to go two more levels Barbarian or go two more levels of Oracle before I go into Rage Prophet.

Perks of Barbarian levels:
4 more rounds of rage per day (Going to be itching for these)
Get Moment of Clarity without burning a feat for it (I do like feats)

Perks of Oracle levels:
Another revelation (probably Safe Curing or Spirit Boost)
More Caster Levels (2nd Level spell access before entering PrC)

------------------------------------------------------

I built this guy mostly for fun, so I'm not looking for anything too optimized, but I would like to be relevant in my current role of Raging Healer. Any suggestions for which direction I should take? How about which feat I should fill for my 5th Level based on the build above?


Backstory: Me and the fiance have a pair of kineticists in PFS that just obtained level 5 and have decided to acquire "Interweave Composite Blasts". She is an aerokineticist that uses lightning blasts at range to pretty much kill anything that doesn't have high SR or Immunity to her element. I use a hydrokineticist that sticks primarily in melee and uses kinetic blade.

Now comes our questions:

1) If she were to ready for the interweave, could I use my Kinetic Blade infusion on my blast? I would think so, but Kinetic Blade is so different from the other infusions (outside it's upgrade to Kinetic Whip), that I'm not sure. Here's the text I'm concerned with:

PRD wrote:
You can use this form infusion once as part of an attack action, a charge action, or a full-attack action in order to make melee attacks with your kinetic blade. Since it's part of another action (and isn't an action itself), using this wild talent doesn't provoke any additional attacks of opportunity.

Does this mean I'm not technically using a kinetic blast, so it cannot be interweaved?

2) At level 7, she was going to go for "Flurry of Blasts" infusion. If I were to ready, and she fired it, just how much damage are we doing? Our blast damage at level 1 should be 2d6+2+3(my con since she is using a form infusion forcing her dex). If she hits the same guy twice, would she do 5d6+4+3 (two level 1 blasts minus the bonuses on the second one plus 1d6)? Or am I calculating something wrong? What about 3 blasts? Does the 1d6 keep adding on (+1d6 for 2, +2d6 for 3)? I don't think so on the last one, but just checking.

Relevant texts:

PRD wrote:

Interweave Composite Blast (Combat, Teamwork)

You can combine your blasts with those of another kineticist.

Prerequisite: Kinetic blast class feature.

Benefit: Whenever you are within 15 feet of another character who has this feat, you can ready an action to activate a simple blast of your choice. When that character unleashes a simple blast, yours is triggered, creating a composite blast for which the two simple blasts meet the prerequisites. The composite blast's caster level is equal to the average of the caster levels of both participants and deals damage as the appropriate composite blast created by a kineticist of that level (for example, if a 10th-level pyrokineticist and a 6th-level hydrokineticist worked together to create a steam blast, its base damage would be 4d6+4 points of fire damage and 4d6+4 points of bludgeoning damage).

One participant can provide a form infusion appropriate for the composite blast, and the other can provide an appropriate substance infusion. Each participant accepts the burn cost for the infusion she provided. The participant who didn't take the special ready action can apply a metakinesis to the blast, and she is the only one who can gather power to reduce the blast's cost (since only she has a move action to take prior to the blast). However, whatever metakinesis she applies affects the entire composite blast.

If the two participants aren't adjacent to each other, the origin point of cones, lines, and other effects that normally originate from a character's square instead originate from a point in the square located halfway between the two participants in a straight line (where the two simple blasts meet and form the composite blast).

The blast uses the Constitution modifier of whoever provided the substance infusion and the Dexterity modifier of whoever provided the form infusion. If the blast includes only one infusion, the blast uses the Constitution or Dexterity modifier of the kineticist who supplied that infusion, as appropriate for the infusion provided. If no infusions are used, the two kineticists choose one of them to provide the Dexterity modifier, and the other provides the Constitution modifier.

PRD wrote:

Kinetic Blade

Element universal; Type form infusion; Level 1; Burn 1

Associated Blasts any

Saving Throw none

You form a weapon using your kinetic abilities. You create a non-reach, light or one-handed weapon in your hand formed of pure energy or elemental matter. (If you're a telekineticist, you instead transfer the power of your kinetic blast to any object held in one hand.) The kinetic blade's shape is purely cosmetic and doesn't affect the damage dice, critical threat range, or critical multiplier of the kinetic blade, nor does it grant the kinetic blade any weapon special features. The object held by a telekineticist for this form infusion doesn't prevent her from using gather power.

You can use this form infusion once as part of an attack action, a charge action, or a full-attack action in order to make melee attacks with your kinetic blade. Since it's part of another action (and isn't an action itself), using this wild talent doesn't provoke any additional attacks of opportunity. The kinetic blade deals your kinetic blast damage on each hit (applying any modifiers to your kinetic blast's damage as normal, but not your Strength modifier). The blade disappears at the end of your turn. The weapon deals the same damage type that your kinetic blast deals, and it interacts with Armor Class and spell resistance as normal for a blast of its type. Even if a telekineticist uses this power on a magic weapon or another unusual object, the attack doesn't use any of the magic weapon's bonuses or effects and simply deals the telekineticist's blast damage. The kinetic blade doesn't add the damage bonus from elemental overflow.

PRD wrote:

Flurry of Blasts

Element universal; Type form infusion; Level 3; Burn 2

Prerequisite extended range

Associated Blasts any

Saving Throw none

Instead of a single kinetic blast, you shoot two kinetic blasts at targets within 120 feet that each deal damage as if your kineticist level were 1st (effects or abilities that increase your kinetic blast's damage don't apply). At 10th level, you can shoot three blasts with flurry of blasts; this increases to four blasts at 16th level and to five blasts at 20th level. If you are under the effect of haste or similar magic that increases your number of attacks in a full-attack action, the number of kinetic blasts in your flurry of blasts increases by 1.

No two targets can be more than 30 feet apart. You must assign the targets of all your blasts before rolling any of the attacks. Any blast beyond the first that hits the same target adds 1d6 points of damage; bonuses and penalties to damage don't apply. If you are using a substance infusion that requires a saving throw, a target attempts its save only once (even if it was hit multiple times), but it takes a penalty on the save equal to the number of times it was hit beyond the first. If you are using a substance infusion that requires a caster level check or combat maneuver check, you roll the check only once against each target, but you gain a bonus on the check equal to the number of times that target was hit beyond the first. If you are using the pushing substance infusion, the maximum distance of the push increases by 5 feet for each time the target was hit beyond the first.


My Alchemist is about to retire and I enjoyed the class so much I am making a new, different one.

I am planning on making one that focus' on using a Longbow and Explosive Missile Discovery. I was also considering in going into a few levels of Fighter for access to Weapon Spec. (Bombs), but then I questioned how my Weapon Focus' would work...

So if I have Weapon Focus (Longbow) and Weapon Focus (Bombs), would I get +2 on attack rolls for using the Explosive Missile?

I don't care too much either way, wont see this setup until level 5-7 where I will have plenty of BAB to compensate, but I am interested if it would work that way or not.


How would this work together if at all?

If I Make a Str +6 and Dex +4 Mutagen do I get:
1) +6 Str, +6 Dex, -2 all Mental; This one implies that the concoction replaces the +4's of the mutage with +6's.

2) +8 Str, +4 Dex, -2 all Mental; This one implies that since the mutagen was technically designed for Str with a Dex kicker, the concoction makes the Str stronger.

3) +8 Str, +6 Dex, -2 all Mental; This one implies that since we selected 2 stat increases, we get the concoction to both.

4) Doesn't combine in any way; Self explanatory, basically saying that the concoction doesn't work with Greater or Grand Mutagens.

Journal of the Beast Within (Level 10 Alchemist)

"...

Beastly Concoction (Su) This journal grants you the ability to make an extremely potent and savage mutagen. Spend this boon when you imbibe your mutagen. The mutagen grants you a +6 alchemical bonus to your selected ability score instead of the normal +4; you take a –2 penalty to all of your mental ability scores (Intelligence, Wisdom, and Charisma) while the mutagen is in effect."

Greater Mutagen

"The alchemist’s mutagen now grants a +4 natural armor bonus, a +6 alchemical bonus to one physical ability score (Strength, Dexterity, or Constitution), and a +4 alchemical bonus to a second physical ability score. The alchemist takes a –2 penalty on both associated mental ability scores as long as the mutagen persists."

EDIT: I suppose I almost forgot about how the penalties would stack if at all either... Hmm... Anyways, help deciphering this would be fantastic. Thank you!


So, when the ability says we get our bonus to STR checks, does that mean plain STR checks or does it also include STR based checks as well, like climb and swim?

**** Venture-Agent, Washington—Tacoma aka Link2000

Most of my group was under the impression that you had to purchase a scroll in order to add the spell into a spellbook or had to copy from another PC.

Recently, however, I have started actually looking into it as I now have a Wizard myself, and I'm suspecting it works differently now.

So I'm going to list the ways that I am now believing to be the case, and if someone could tell me if I'm right or wrong on each one, that would be most helpful. (Spellcraft checks will be assumed successful for now)

1) Another PC, paying only scribe costs for appropriate level.
2) From a scroll, paying scroll cost and scribe costs.
3) From a scroll from a chronicle sheet, paying only scribe costs.
4) From an enemy spellbook, paying only scribe costs.
5) From an NPC, paying scribe costs +50% for access. (If this is true, can it be done during down time?)

Thanks for all your help community!


This is for PFS, so I'm only going to show stuff up to level 11. Currently I am playing a Fighter 1/Wizard (Scrollmaster) 5 who focuses on melee combat and utilizes spells as either buffs or the occasional blast when needed. Here's what he pretty much looks like now:

Elf Fighter 1/Enhancer Wizard (Scrollmaster) 5

STR: 15
DEX: 14
CON: 14 (+2 Belt)
INT: 20 (+2 Headband)
WIS: 8
CHA: 10

AC: 25 (+7 Armor, +5 Shield, +1 Trait, +2 Dex) CMD: 22
HP: 48
BAB: +3

Feats:
1- Toughness, Shield Focus (Fighter)
2- Spell Focus (Evocation) (Wizard)
3- Arcane Armor Training
5- Weapon Focus (Shortsword)

Arcane Discoveries:
Knowledge is Power

Traits:
Magical Knack
Defender of the Society
------------------------------------------------
So to the meat of my question. Should I go Eldritch Knight or stay Wizard for my last few levels?

EK Pros:
More HP! (Very important for front liner)
More BAB! (also nice for a front liner)
2 Extra Feats during career! (Just a nice plus)

Wizard Pros:
New spell levels 1 level earlier vs EK! (Spells are always good)
More spells! (Boo EK for not adding spells to spell book)
LVL 8 School ability! (Random enhancement bonuses!? Yes please!)
Idealize at Level 11! (Nifty capstone for my character)

Both have merits, but I don't know which one I'll enjoy more overall. Suggestions?


I'm pretty sure this doesn't work this way, but if I was a Level 11 Character (Fighter 1/Wizard 5/Eldritch Knight 5), could I qualify for the Idealize Arcane Discovery?

Relevant Quotes:
Arcane Discoveries
"A wizard can learn an arcane discovery in place of a regular feat or wizard bonus feat."

Eldritch Knight's Diverse Training
"An eldritch knight adds his level to any levels of fighter he might have for the purpose of meeting the prerequisites for feats (if he has no fighter levels, treat his eldritch knight levels as levels of fighter). He also adds his level to any levels in an arcane spellcasting class for the purpose of meeting the prerequisites for feats."

Idealize (Su)
"Prerequisite(s): Wizard 10

In your quest for self-perfection, you have discovered a way to further enhance yourself and others.

Benefit(s): When a transmutation spell you cast grants an enhancement bonus to an ability score, that bonus increases by 2. At 20th level, the bonus increases by 4."

Like I said, I don't think it works that way, but it would be nice if it did, thus why I feel it's worth the double check.


Scrollmaster Archetype:

"Scroll Blade (Su)

A scrollmaster can wield any paper, parchment, or cloth scroll as if it were a melee weapon. In the hands of the Wizard, the scroll acts as a short sword with an enhancement bonus equal to 1/2 the level of the highest-level Wizard spell on the scroll; a scroll with only a cantrip or 1st-level spell on it counts as a masterwork short sword. The scrollmaster is proficient in this weapon, and feats and abilities that affect short swords (such as Weapon Focus) apply to this weapon. A scrollmaster cannot wield two scrollblades at the same time.

Activating this ability is a free action. A scroll blade only retains its abilities in the hands of the scrollmaster. The scroll blade has hardness 0 and hit points equal to the highest-level Wizard spell on the scroll. Each successful hit by the scroll blade reduces its hit points by 1; this damage cannot be repaired, but does not affect casting from the scroll. When its hit points reach 0, the scroll is destroyed. If a scroll contains a spell with a metamagic feat, this ability uses the original spell level of the spell (a scroll of empowered fireball counts as a 3rd-level spell).

At 3rd level, when using a 4th-level or higher Wizard scroll as a scroll blade, the scrollmaster can choose to reduce its enhancement bonus by 1 (minimum +1 enhancement bonus) to treat it as a reach weapon. For example, he could use a scroll of charm monster (a 4th-level Wizard spell) as either a +2 short sword or a +1 short sword with reach.

At 5th level, when using a 4th-level or higher Wizard scroll as a scroll blade, the scrollmaster can choose to reduce its enhancement bonus (to a minimum of a +1 enhancement bonus) to give any of the following weapon properties: defending, frost, icy burst, keen, ki focus, shock, shocking burst, speed. Adding any of these properties consumes an amount of enhancement bonus equal to the property’s cost. The scrollmaster must know the prerequisite spell or spells to craft the weapon property in question (for example, he must know haste to be able to give his scroll blade the speed property).

This ability replaces the Wizard’s arcane bond."

"Scroll Shield (Su)

A scrollmaster can wield any paper, parchment, or cloth scroll as if it were a light wooden shield. In the hands of the Wizard, the scroll grants a +1 shield bonus with an enhancement bonus equal to 1/2 the level of the highest-level Wizard spell on the scroll; a scroll with only a cantrip or 1st-level spell counts as a masterwork light shield sword. The scroll shield has no armor check penalty, arcane spell failure chance, or maximum Dexterity bonus. The scrollmaster is considered proficient in this shield. A scrollmaster can use a scrollblade in one hand and a scroll shield in the other hand.

Activating this ability is a free action. A scroll shield only retains its abilities in the hands of the scrollmaster. The scroll shield has hardness 0 and hit points equal to the highest-level Wizard spell on the scroll. Each successful attack roll against the Wizard reduces the scroll shield’s hit points by 1; this damage cannot be repaired, but does not affect casting from the scroll. When its hit points reach 0, the scroll is destroyed.

At 5th level, when using a 3rd-level or higher Wizard scroll as a scroll shield, the scrollmaster can choose to reduce its enhancement bonus (to a minimum of a +1 enhancement bonus) to give it any of the following shield properties: ghost touch, light fortification, moderate fortification. Adding any of these properties consumes an amount of bonus equal to the property’s cost (see Table 15–5: Shield Special Abilities in the Core Rulebook). The scrollmaster must know the prerequisite spell or spells to craft the shield property in question (for example, he must know limited wish to be able to give his scroll shield the fortification property).

If a scroll contains a spell with a metamagic feat, this ability uses the original spell level of the spell (a scroll of empowered fireball counts as a 3rd-level spell)."

Any means of increasing the hardness/hp of the scroll in these forms?
How does a scroll of a cantrip work in this case?

I don't care about making the scroll last as an effective weapon/shield, I just don't want it sundered so easily turning my valuable scroll into dust before casting it.


Now typically this wouldn't be much of a question as a scroll only has one hp and would be destroyed by any damage, but what about a Scrollmaster Wizard for their scroll weapons and shields?

"The scroll blade has hardness 0 and hit points equal to the highest-level Wizard spell on the scroll. Each successful hit by the scroll blade reduces its hit points by 1; this damage cannot be repaired, but does not affect casting from the scroll. When its hit points reach 0, the scroll is destroyed."

This would mean that the scroll could have more HP. Could a player mend it assuming they have the caster level to do so?

**** Venture-Agent, Washington—Tacoma aka Link2000

So I just GM'ed this game a little while ago and I know for certain the "Triumph" boon is not able to be acquired, but I was wondering about how the "Debt Repaid" boon would work since the referenced boon in it is on a retired scenario. Does this mean that my players get to cry on losing the 2 good boons on this chronicle? One for being too late, the other for not being able to do a retired scenario?

Just clearing this up. Thanks!


Just want to clarify my math.
I have a +1 Allying Longsword,
I draw it from a scabbard of vigor and select +3 enhancement for 3 rounds.
It's now a +3 Allying Longsword since enhancements don't stack.
Use the Allying feature next round and give the +3 to my ally.

That's all okay and good right?


First off, this is for PFS, so sadly I cannot go to my GM and see if it's okay...

My character is about to gain a new level and with it a new feat. When I saw this feat, I thought "Yes!" because panache counts as grit for feat prerequisites. So I was going to snag Blind Fight to snag this at my next opportunity.

Now, I am just not entirely sure about "shooting" my arrows... Is this something that would likely cause GM/player conflict? I understand that not every GM in PFS makes a fuss over these things and some do, I'm just trying to foreshadow about "how often" it may cause a problem. I know that I (even as a GM) typically don't stress the details too much (it's a game that's supposed to be fun), but PFS is RAW so I just don't want to select this if it is "shut down" at every table.

Thanks for the help!


So here's what I got for race, stats and levels. Ignoring gear at the moment.

Half-Orc Barb 4/Oracle 2

STR: 18 (+2 racial, +1 at 4th level)
DEX: 15
CON: 14
INT: 8
WIS: 8
CHA: 14

Traits: Fate's Favored (doing sacred tatoo),
haven't decided on other, probably "reactionary"

Overall character concept: As a "paladin" of Iomedae, he will have the Life Mystery and shall channel (was considering deaf curse, haven't decided, but not doing lame curse for sure). He will also have the Celestial Totem and of course Moment of Clarity rage powers. I want him to be a more "tanky" character that wields a sword and shield, with self healing and pretty good saves, will be able to hold front lines quite effectively. Dumb when it comes to deities in general, doesn't understand all of Iomedae's tenants and is more tied to Pharasma.

So, my dilemma is on a few archetype choices for the Barbarian. As well as feat selections.

Armored Hulk - can wear heavy armor, and can do so pretty well. Not sure about the random other things as they won't advance much.

Titan Mauler - Wield a greatsword instead of a longsword with said concept. I like it, but otherwise noting else I truly care for with the levels I'll have.

As for feats, ideas I had were:
1st - Power Attack
3rd - Selective Channel
5th - ???

1st - Two weapon fighting
3rd - Selective Channel
5th - Improved Shield Bash

Suggestions would be nice, not sure how I want this to go exactly.


If this has been answered, I apologize. Legendary Influence reads:

Quote:

Prerequisite(s): Lesser spirit power class feature.

Benefit(s): Immediately select one feat (other than an item creation feat) for each spirit you can channel. Whenever you perform a seance to channel a spirit, you can allow the spirit to gain 1 point of influence over you to gain access to that spirit's Legendary Influence feat for as long as you channel that spirit. You can use this bonus feat as a prerequisite for any feats granted by a spirit power (such as the champion's legendary champion ability), but not for any other feats.

If I pick this at level 1 and say I give Extra Channel to my Hierophant Spirit, would that be a legal choice to make as my Hierophant Spirit cannot channel until I reach level 6? Or is it like having power attack and then having your STR reduced, where you have the feat, just can't use it until you meet the prerequisites again? Or do you get to ignore prerequisites?

Also, could I grab a feat like Spirit Focus for one Spirit (as part of Legendary Influence), and then grab Spirit Focus again for a different spirit later (as part of a level increase)? Or even scarier, grab Spirit Focus for the same spirit again?

Thanks for the input?


I know it's probably because I'm expecting more than this class can deliver, but I really want to make a Medium who can legitimately utilize all his spirits if need be.

The main wall I'm hitting is feats.

I'm planning on being Champion most of the time (of course as it is the best of his spirits), but if my PFS (did I mention this was for PFS?) table has enough beat sticks, then I'll play something to fill in the holes.

The current hole that I can't do is play the Guardian. I was considering doing two weapon fighting, and that way if I go Guardian I can shield bash and hack even with my loss of Champion. But now I ran into the problem of "Improved Shield Bash" require proficiency with shields... and I don't have that unless I'm in Guardian spirit... so I can't grab that.

So I thought, fine! I'll grab weapon focus for Champion spirit's... nevermind, I don't have martial weapon proficiency unless I'm in that spirit's form...

All the feats I want, I can't take because I "technically" don't have those prerequisites, and it's irritating me.

Help? Please? I was really excited about building this guy after playing the pregen. But my personal twist is failing. Any good feats to help his two weapon fighting without basic prerequisites?


Okay, so I'm pretty sure I know the answer to this one, but since I'm hoping it's the other way... I figure it wouldn't hurt to ask.

So I have an Oracle of Metal that has Armor Mastery:

"Armor Mastery (Ex): You become more maneuverable while wearing armor. You can move at your normal speed in medium armor that is made of metal. This does not grant proficiency in armor. At 5th level, whenever you are wearing metal armor, you reduce the armor check penalty by 1 (to a minimum of 0) and increase the maximum Dexterity bonus allowed by your armor by 1. At 10th level, and again at 15th level, these bonuses increase by 1."

And I'm selecting spells and saw Instant Armor:

"You instantly wrap your body in a suit of armor made from opaque force. At your option, the armor can be decorated with your religion's holy symbol in a prominent place, such as upon the breastplate or helm. While it exists, this armor replaces any garments or other sort of armor worn, magical as well as mundane. You lose access to, and all benefits from, armor replaced by this spell until the spell ends and the instant armor disappears.

Instant armor acts in all ways as armor typical of its type (armor bonus, maximum Dexterity bonus, arcane spell failure chance, and so on). Since instant armor is made of force, incorporeal creatures can't bypass it the way they do normal armor. The sort of armor you can create with this spell depends on your caster level."

Now to the question. If I use instant armor, I would not get the benefits of Armor Mastery because the armor is made of "force" even though it acts in all ways as the regular armor in terms of encumbrance and whatnot of the metal armor counterpart (except it works against incorporeal), right?

I'm hoping I'm wrong only because currently I spawn my weapons through Iron Weapon, and I thought it would be cool to spawn my armor the same way.


So, I'm working on a cavalier and will of course be using a lance, and while I was looking around about how to calculate damage I came across this bit in the FAQ:

"Power Attack: If I am using a two-handed weapon with one hand (such as a lance while mounted), do still I get the +50% damage for using a two-handed weapon?

Yes."

So it got me thinking, because I GMed a few times and have ruled that a two-handed weapon wielded in one hand only gets the basic one handed benefits. This lead me to look into that, because I was sure that was the case, and behold, in the same FAQ:

"Weapons, Two-Handed in One Hand: When a feat or other special ability says to treat a weapon that is normally wielded in two hands as a one handed weapon, does it get treated as one or two handed weapon for the purposes of how to apply the Strength modifier or the Power Attack feat?

If you're wielding it in one hand (even if it is normally a two-handed weapon), treat it as a one-handed weapon for the purpose of how much Strength to apply, the Power Attack damage bonus, and so on."

So... Which one is it?

Either way works for me, but for obvious reasons, if I can get more damage out of my attacks I'd like that.

Thanks for the help!


In the new Ultimate Intrigue book, there is a Mesmerist Archetype that looks right up my ally. One of my eyeballs becomes a Familiar.

It looks nice and flavorful, but I don't typically play around with familiars so I'm wondering if it's even useful.

I get some nifty touch attacks as part of the archetype, but can my familiar do them? It gets the deliver touch "spells" at level 3 as any other familiar, but these aren't spells. So I don't think it would (which is kind of a bummer).

I can eventually use it for "gaze" attacks, but how many of those are really out there? It uses "Burning Gaze" and "Eyebite" as examples, and both don't strike me as a "Gaze" attack...

Either way I'll be playing it, but I would like to make the most of it I can so any help is appreciated.


So, I know that some time ago that a person was able to throw three ranged weapons a round with three feats: Quick Draw, Two Weapon Fighting, and Rapid Shot.

Yesterday, a friend told me that this was no longer the case and that there was an errata\FAQ somewhere that denies it. I've looked at the FAQ and have the most "recent" download of the Core Rulebook, and I can't find anything that makes this particular feat chain "wrong". Did I miss something?

Quick Draw:
"Prerequisite: Base attack bonus +1.

Benefit: You can draw a weapon as a free action instead of as a move action. You can draw a hidden weapon (see the Sleight of Hand skill) as a move action.

A character who has selected this feat may throw weapons at his full normal rate of attacks (much like a character with a bow).

Alchemical items, potions, scrolls, and wands cannot be drawn quickly using this feat.

Normal: Without this feat, you may draw a weapon as a move action, or (if your base attack bonus is +1 or higher) as a free action as part of movement. Without this feat, you can draw a hidden weapon as a standard action."

Rapid Shot:
"Prerequisites: Dex 13, Point-Blank Shot.

Benefit: When making a full-attack action with a ranged weapon, you can fire one additional time this round at your highest bonus. All of your attack rolls take a –2 penalty when using Rapid Shot."

Two Weapon Fighting (in combat section):
"If you wield a second weapon in your off hand, you can get one extra attack per round with that weapon. You suffer a –6 penalty with your regular attack or attacks with your primary hand and a –10 penalty to the attack with your off hand when you fight this way. You can reduce these penalties in two ways. First, if your off-hand weapon is light, the penalties are reduced by 2 each. An unarmed strike is always considered light. Second, the Two-Weapon Fighting feat lessens the primary hand penalty by 2, and the off-hand penalty by 6.

Table: Two-weapon Fighting Penalties summarizes the interaction of all these factors.

Double Weapons: You can use a double weapon to make an extra attack with the off-hand end of the weapon as if you were fighting with two weapons. The penalties apply as if the off-hand end of the weapon was a light weapon.

Thrown Weapons: The same rules apply when you throw a weapon from each hand. Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapon when used in this manner, and treat a bolas, javelin, net, or sling as a one-handed weapon"

So with what is said above, a person could have three weapons thrown a round with a penalty of -4 (or -6 if the off hand is not light). Correct?


Recently at a convention, I played my 8th level Ragechemist Alchemist. I have the Feral Mutagen discovery:

"Feral mutagen: Whenever the alchemist imbibes a mutagen, he gains two claw attacks and a bite attack. These are primary attacks and are made using the alchemist's full base attack bonus. The claw attacks deal 1d6 points of damage (1d4 if the alchemist is Small) and the bite attack deals 1d8 points of damage (1d6 if the alchemist is Small). While the mutagen is in effect, the alchemist gains a +2 competence bonus on Intimidate skill checks."

And Improved Unarmed Strike:

"You are skilled at fighting while unarmed.

Benefit: You are considered to be armed even when unarmed—you do not provoke attacks of opportunity when you attack foes while unarmed. Your unarmed strikes can deal lethal or nonlethal damage, at your choice.

Normal: Without this feat, you are considered unarmed when attacking with an unarmed strike, and you can deal only nonlethal damage with such an attack."

Now from what I am reading in the Core Rulebook's Combat Section:

"Unarmed Attacks: Striking for damage with punches, kicks, and head butts is much like attacking with a melee weapon, except for the following" (quoted for limb options)
with
"Natural Attacks: Attacks made with natural weapons, such as claws and bites, are melee attacks that can be made against any creature within your reach (usually 5 feet). These attacks are made using your full attack bonus and deal an amount of damage that depends on their type (plus your Strength modifier, as normal). You do not receive additional natural attacks for a high base attack bonus. Instead, you receive additional attack rolls for multiple limb and body parts capable of making the attack (as noted by the race or ability that grants the attacks). If you possess only one natural attack (such as a bite—two claw attacks do not qualify), you add 1–1/2 times your Strength bonus on damage rolls made with that attack.

Some natural attacks are denoted as secondary natural attacks, such as tails and wings. Attacks with secondary natural attacks are made using your base attack bonus minus 5. These attacks deal an amount of damage depending on their type, but you only add half your Strength modifier on damage rolls.

You can make attacks with natural weapons in combination with attacks made with a melee weapon and unarmed strikes, so long as a different limb is used for each attack. For example, you cannot make a claw attack and also use that hand to make attacks with a longsword. When you make additional attacks in this way, all of your natural attacks are treated as secondary natural attacks, using your base attack bonus minus 5 and adding only 1/2 of your Strength modifier on damage rolls. Feats such as Two-Weapon Fighting and Multiattack can reduce these penalties."

Should mean that my Full Attack should consist of "+6 Kick/+1 Kick/+1 Claw/+1 Claw/+1 Bite" with damage equal to "1d3+STR/1d3+STR/1d6+0.5*STR/1d6+0.5*STR/1d8+0.5*STR" right? (assuming that only BAB is being calculated at the moment)

The reason I ask this is because the GM said that I can't get both my Unarmed Strike and my Natural Attacks at the same time, I have to choose. I argued briefly and eventually just folded so we can continue the session. The next day, the VC of the area said that according to the boards that my secondary attacks would replace my iterative attack. I am by no means a master of the rules, but I don't see where or how that is happening. Can anyone point to a FAQ, rule, or clarification? I would like to be able to avoid this in the future if possible.


So, I'm making a rogue with lots of spell like abilities because it's fun. I have the "Magical Talent" trait to give myself another SLA and as a rogue, I don't have a caster level so I have an effective CL of 1 for that ability.

So, fast forward a level or a few and I snag the "Minor Magic" rogue talent that says I have a caster level equal to my rogue level for that ability chosen for the talent.

I'm pretty sure I still don't have a CL, so my "Magical Talent" doesn't scale (which is fine), but if it does that would be some nice icing on my cake.

I looked around on google, and most things I found were from years ago when SLA counted for lots of things. Now it doesn't, so where does that leave me in this particular situation?

TL;DR: If I have the "Minor Magic" talent does my rogue have a Caster Level for other purposes?

Thanks


How does this work now?

If a Ranger doesn't have point blank master or close quarters thrower, then they automatically produce AoO while using ranged attacks. Do they get the +4 and catch the opponents flat footed even though they didn't technically "goad" the opposition?