I mean the side bar does clearly say that wisdom empowers your ki spells. I dont know if it can get more clear than that. it's gonna be the same for any monk. monks like fighters dont have archetypes.
Eh, it should probably explicitly say in the Ki Spells description that your spellcasting ability is Wisdom, just as it does for the Champion in the description of Devotion Spells. I agree that it's almost certain that was the intent though, based on the Ki Monk sample description and since it worked that way in the playtest. It was probably overlooked for the monk because Ki Spells are described in a sidebar of key terms instead of given their own section as a class feature (monks don't gain Ki Spells unless you specifically take a monk feat that provides them).
First World Bard wrote:
The requirements for the Refocus activity state:
"You have a focus pool, and you have spent at least 1 Focus Point since you last regained any Focus Points."
So I think the bold section means that if you spend multiple points in your focus pool before you Refocus, you can only regain one point even if you take multiple 10 minute breaks since you would no longer qualify for the Refocus activity after you use it once. That makes the feats that let you regain more than 1 Focus Point even better than I thought. It's not just that they let you get Focus Points back faster, they also let you regain more than other people can.
I have not the book yet but from what I've read reason to belive that there is a feat that increases your elven weapon prophicienc up to your highest prophiciency, which in some cases surely ia a nice plus (and at least gives you sooner or later expert with elven weapons)
Yup, there is. Not just available to Elves though...
Metamagic feats allow you to add an additional action to the casting of a spell to make it better (except for Quicken Spell of course). So a standard 2-action spell with metamagic becomes a 3-action cast.
From the Wizard list:
A rogue's Sneak Attack seems like a class feature. Also, Armor Proficiency separates classes somewhat. And they've made a number of references to Alchemists having INT apply to resonance as well as being able to craft alchemical items better (or faster or cheaper; I don't remember which). Domain powers (clerics) and attacks of opportunity (fighters) also seem class-specific.
This or something like it would be awesome. I enjoy picking a specialization for my characters and being rewarded with abilities that fit that concept. As long as such a new system is not too prohibitive on characters in general, I think it improve roleplaying and add more value to the choices that people make, as well as making two given magic users of the same level pretty unique from each other.
I've always understood the bold text to indicate that the situation (the target has cover, etc.) or the target's abilities (Spring Attack, etc.) would not prevent Paired Opportunists from letting you get an AoO if your ally does. Since it does not explicitly say that it provides the ability to make more attacks of opportunity per turn (as Combat Reflexes), your player's interpretation seems like quite a stretch.
This looks great Nickela! I look forward to using this for my game's custom starship building.
Apologies if this has already been mentioned, but as of v1.62 the BP cost of many of the thrusters are off. Specifically, all the thrusters for Medium ships are too costly, and all the thrusters for Large and larger ships are too inexpensive (at least as compared to the chart on pages 296-297 of the CRB). Hopefully this doesn't come off as a complaint, just trying to give you some feedback on something that's easy to miss.
If you don't drink it you don't gain the effects of it. If you do drink it, the death protection will:
persist only for a number of days equal to the alchemist’s Intelligence modifier; if he does not die before that time expires, the effects of the elixir of life end.
So you pay the cost once, and you can continue using it in further days until you die or the duration expires.
Heather 540 wrote:
Turns out, if I want my Phantom Thief to use a Sword Cane, I'll have to use the Martial Proficiency feat. Rogues don't have any proficiency with Martial weapons or shields. At least if I go with human for the race, I'll get an extra feat to use for it.
If you're only ever going to use the sword cane and no other martial weapons, you can also go half-elf instead of human and take the Ancestral Arms alternate racial trait.
My question would be, does "must worship and receive spells from a deity" mean that they must receive spells from the same deity they worship? If worshiping a deity and receiving spells from a deity meets the prerequisite, why would it change if you make it 'worship god a' and 'receive spells from god b'? Both prerequisites are covered.
That's an interesting point. I always assumed it was just one deity because Weapon of the Chosen applies to your deity's favored weapon. It would be pretty powerful for an Oracle to just say they worship all of the gods equally and gain the effects of Weapon of the Chosen on every favored weapon in the book. Though I guess you would only gain the benefits if you also had Weapon Focus with each weapon, so that would be pretty limiting.
They get their Mystery from a deity, correct? And those Mysteries grant spells? Deities then grant spells.Sorta, here's the actual text:
Each oracle draws upon a divine mystery to grant her spells and powers. This mystery also grants additional class skills and other special abilities. This mystery can represent a devotion to one ideal, prayers to deities that support the concept, or a natural calling to champion a cause. For example, an oracle with the waves mystery might have been born at sea and found a natural calling to worship the gods of the oceans, rivers, and lakes, be they benign or malevolent. Regardless of its source, the mystery manifests in a number of ways as the oracle gains levels. An oracle must pick one mystery upon taking her first level of oracle. Once made, this choice cannot be changed.
So one possible explanation for a Mystery is that you get your spells and powers from a variety of deities, but it could be just as likely that it is your devotion to an ideal that is empowering you. I think it's left intentionally mysterious because it's a....you know....mystery.
The rules don't specify where Oracles get their spells from, but it's pretty clear their spellcasting does not come directly from a single deity.
Here's the flavor text on Oracles in general:
Unlike a cleric, who draws her magic through devotion to a deity, oracles garner strength and power from many sources, namely those patron deities who support their ideals. Instead of worshiping a single source, oracles tend to venerate all of the gods that share their beliefs.
An oracle's spellcasting does not rely on worship like the Cleric's and in fact does not even require the oracle to be religious, strangely. He can act completely against the tenets of faith that a deity usually expects without worrying about losing his spellcasting ability.
While that makes me think they cannot, I recognize that it's not explicitly clear whether or not an oracle would qualify for Weapon of the Chosen. To my knowledge, the developers made an intentional decision to remain vague concerning the source(s) of oracles' powers.
Since you're referring to its Azata nature, I will assume you are talking about an Unchained Summoner and not the original class. Is that accurate?
Link simply says that the summoner and his eidolon share slots and can't both benefit from magic items in the same slot. Since wielded weapons are not a slot, I'm pretty sure you're fine with both individuals using magic weapons at the same time.
and i couldn't find an answer to if you add reach to the claws if it gives you reach with the weapon
The Reach evolution applies to only one type of attack. If you give it to claws, it won't apply to wielded weapons. If you're trying to accomplish reach with a wielded weapon, I would recommend the 4-point evolution Large. In addition to the other effects of being large, your eidolon gains reach with all attack types if it's a biped.
Murdock Mudeater wrote:
If I throw a Javelin at you, it's considered an attack. Doesn't matter if there is an attack roll or it resolves as an AoE, I get the weapon training bonuses because I made an attack with that weapon. That's what weapon training says it does.
Why? Nothing in the rules indicates that it's an attack. You are using an item that mimics the effects of a spell that is not an attack. If it was just a magic weapon that you would make attack rolls with, like most other magic weapons, you could apply these bonuses to said attack rolls. As Gisher stated, if you use it as a melee weapon you could apply any bonuses and penalties that you would normally apply to any other javelin. But the specific text for this item trumps the general rules for determining what happens when you throw this at someone.
Javelin of Lightning wrote:
This javelin becomes a 5d6 lightning bolt when thrown (Reflex DC 14 half). It is consumed in the attack.
This specific text states that it becomes a 5d6 lightning bolt when thrown. It doesn't change the damage of a ranged attack with this weapon to 5d6 electricity damage; it becomes a 5d6 lightning bolt that functions as the spell Lightning Bolt. Weapon Training in Spears or Thrown categories do not apply to Lightning Bolts.
Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Also, if my character is Small, and I want a Javelin of Lightning sized for me, does it deal 4d6 damage because of the size decrease?
Changing the size of the creature using the item has no effect on the damage in the same way that being a different size does not affect the damage of any spell. A diminutive creature and a gargantuan creature casting fireball would deal the same amount of damage if they were the same caster level.
Murdock Mudeater wrote:
Even if it was still a javelin and not a lightning bolt in the hypothetical scenario you put forth (which it isn't - definitely becomes a lightning bolt), the act of throwing it is not an attack. There's no attack roll being made, so things that add to attack or damage on attack rolls don't apply to a Javelin of Lightning being used in this way.
It's not a fighter's Weapon Training (+ a few points of damage) that would potentially be broken if it was ruled the way you are suggesting. Rather everything else that can be applied to attacks, like Sneak Attack or a swashbuckler's bonus damage that might be extremely cheesy.
Bit of a thread necro there. Nonetheless:
1) It's a ranged attack. Blasts are ranged attacks. The traditional way to make blasts into melee attacks is through the use of kinetic blade. But Kinetic Blade and Impale are both Form Infusions, so they can't both be applied to the same blast.
2) Since it's a ranged attack and it doesn't specifically say anything changing the cover rules, by RAW the following applies:
But I would imagine that many DM's would see it as you do, and likely make a homerule that they would not get cover.
3) By the same token as #2, since it doesn't say to treat these ranged attacks any differently than any other ranged attacks, shooting into melee with an Impale blast carries the same penalties for shooting into melee as all ranged attacks.
Agreed on that last point.
A group I played in recently experienced a TPK while in the First World. If you're familiar with the lore about the First World, things don't actually die there so much as pass into a new form. So we ended up reincarnating together and pressing on.
But sometimes the appropriate move is to set the AP aside at that point. It really depends on your play group. In a Carrion Crown play-through that I GM'ed, a TPK resulted in some really terrible quest events that I don't want to spoil. The players decided at that point that they would rather just pick up another AP instead of trying to shoehorn some new characters into the plot at that point.
Looks like a mistake on the writer's part. Lions and Tigers both are Medium-sized until you reach an effective druid level of 7, so they are pretty bad choices for a Beast Rider until then. In fact, the text on Exotic Mount says:
Exotic Mount wrote:
The animal chosen as a mount must be large enough to carry the beast rider (Medium or Large for a Small character; Large or Huge for a Medium character)
That would seem to indicate that you can't even choose a lion or tiger until you get that 7th-level advancement. I'd go with one of the other options first.
Actually, using an immediate action during your turn consumes your swift action, so you cannot combine Surprise Strike and Surge on your turn. But you could use Surge as you describe on another person's turn, consuming the swift action for your following turn.
Actually, 45 damage as a max sounds quite low under these circumstances.
A standard hit using Power Attack with your stipulations would result in 1d8+9 damage (+4 STR x1.5 for two-handed = +6, also +3 for two-handed Power Attack).
So a x4 critical would result in 4d8+36, and if you rolled all 8s the total would be 68 damage.
A kineticist would probably fit the bill for what you're talking about. Unlimited kinetic blasts are fun, but since the class has a lot of moving parts I could see how that would be daunting.
Both a witch's and a shaman's hexes never run out, and they both get up to 9th-level casting so you have options to burn more resources via spells if you want to.
A swashbuckler has a limited supply of panache points per day but those should be constantly refreshing if you're wielding a weapon with a high critical range like a rapier (especially when you get Improved Critical as a class feature at level 5).
You could try a fighter and just try to build a character that doesn't use the feats that you find boring. In particular, if your GM is willing to let you use the Stamina and Combat Tricks from Pathfinder Unchained you would stay busy. I've found that this alternate rules system gives most vanilla fighters more options as far as expendable powers go. Also the stamina points refresh at a rate of 1/minute when you're between combats.
Also, most full spellcasting classes reach a point in the middle levels where you never run out of spells if you don't want to. Druids especially have a lot of spells in the early levels that let them get multiple rounds of effect from a single casting (Heat/Chill Metal, Flaming Sphere, Call Lightning, etc.). Also druids get Wild Shape, which lasts for hours with a single use. Same goes for Rage rounds on Barbarians/Bloodragers, and rounds of Performance on Bards/Skalds.
That's quite a thread-necro... no at level 1 it wouldn't count as magical for the purposes of hitting an incorporeal creature like an allip unless the weapon is already magically enhanced.
A) Yes, if by aspect of the stag you mean the hunter's class ability Animal Focus(Stag) and not the hunter spell Aspect of the Stag as the spell would get you moving even faster. In your example, your character would have a 35ft base speed that is unaffected by armor and encumbrance.
B) Yes it would apply to climb and swim too. If you don't have a climb speed or swim speed, you follow the rules listed in the climb and swim skills, respectively: Climb at 1/4 base speed, or climb at 1/2 base speed by increasing DC by 5. Swim at 1/2 base speed as a full-round action, or at 1/4 base speed as a move action. Since your base speed is affected by Slow and Steady, it would apply to these as well.
Help me balance a setting where the PCs have little / no magic vs. enemies who have 9th level spells
This sounds awesome. Challenges will probably arise in unexpected ways and people who are used to 9 level casters solving every problem will be thrown for a loop. I can tell by their responses that a number of people here would be against this kind of play, but I personally love the concept and I bet quite a few others would too. If your players are willing, it should make for a unique experience.
The Council of Thieves AP is built around an adventure encompassed in a single city and is similar to Hell's Rebels in that it would be thematically appropriate to have Vigilantes running around. However, I would recommend adjusting the difficulty as it was not written with a 2-player group in mind.
Have you considered allowing the players to run 2 characters each so you can have a party of 4? Or you could have each vigilante have a sidekick that you run as sort of helper NPC's. If you try to run a module or AP with 2 players I think you'll find them to be too great a challenge, especially at level 1 before the extra treasure and experience catches up with them.
W E Ray wrote:
If you think archers are too powerful, I think you'll find removing Point Blank Shot from their required feat chain is just going to make them more powerful earlier.