Paizo Blog: Find the Path launches actual-play podcast of Tyrant’s Grasp Adventure Path on Patreon through new Paizo partnership
Preston Hudson wrote:
So if I got this right, if the subtier 1-2 APL remains within the subtier with either a 1st level pregen or 4th level pregen you give them the option to play either?
It sounds like its restricted by APL versus subtier not level of PC or pregen. And I'm saying that because it states "they may be adjusted up or down".
There needs to be a clear distinction for pregen level versus subtier without including PCs in the text.
I went to a restricted stance earlier but was told that could not be. And in looking at the wording "should be" and "may be" leaves it open to choose. And as Paul stated for a tier 7-11 playing subtier 10-11 you would use a 7th level pregen. So the restriction versus APL dose not fit.
Is there a better description, maybe on the forum?
And when referencing source material please list the book and page number.
According to what I’m reading on page 10 of the Season 8 guide, for 3 1st level PCs and a 4th level pregen the APL is 1.75. And if they are playing a tier 1-5 scenario they play the subtier 1-2. Then there’s no restriction on playing the 4th level pregen versus playing the 1st level pregen.
Wei Ji the Learner wrote:
OK Awesome you answered my question the pregens can be used outside of subtier.
Where is the rule on out of tier pregen use?
From the Season 8 guide it says:
"Within each tier, PCs or pregenerated characters should be used in the subtier in which they fall whenever possible, but they may be adjusted up or down, based on the average party level at the table, as outlined below."
It should say "pregens can only be used in subtier or must be used in subtier".
I'm just looking for some clarification.
Chris Lambertz wrote:
is there a better avenue (where?) to contact or post someone when there are technical issues?
Wei Ji the Learner wrote:
I’m not punishing anybody; a new scenario comes out every other month and can be played as standard or core. I did say that not everyone can GM, GMing would have to be their own choice.
And if the environment is not conducive enough they can start their own lodge to GM, there are so many choices and opportunities.
As a relatively new GM I don’t rerun many scenarios. I can see that in the future of rerunning games it could become taxing. But not in the sense of toxic but more of just wanting to build my own characters up even with just a small boon like the Pathfinder Tales chronicles. Or from earlier posts a special rerun chronicle sheet would be good. (And Drogon most nicely reposted #359)
I would say maybe every 20 reruns get a replay or a free large pizza would be nice.
As for players wanting reruns I have a GREAT path they can take, GMing. When they have a couple of 6th level characters its time for them to think about GMing. And every player that can (not everyone can do it) should GM 10% of the time, in my opinion.
I agree on the one year moratorium on new quests with pre-gens only. And after Gencon’s release of a new quest the old quest has an open door policy “can be played with player generated characters.”
I’ve seen too many people walk away because they want to play their own character.
I want more evergreens to send my level 1 characters through. There’s I don’t know 50 different classes and only 10 evergreens? Boring.
Every time we say no that’s another player we lose to D&D 5.0. I’m sick of the “no you can’t play” mentality.
Hey, let’s have some fun out there! Say Yes and have Fun.
For the starting/ending location, why not just write it down on your own like you would with purchases? I'm sure lots of folks already do so for the Grand Lodge faction journal cards.
I like your idea, the GM should hand out the Chronicle at the start of the adventure so we can write notes on it. The GM can fill in the GM stuff at the end.
Not sure where to post, I have 2 chronicle sheet requests. I’d like to see starting and ending city (location) on the chronicle sheet. I feel this would help me connect the dots as a player. As a GM when printing out chronicle sheets (also scenarios) I’d like to see less black borders as that uses a lot of ink. Thanks
N N 959 wrote:
You are right it does not become a +5 arrow; the bow bestows the power onto the arrow. What kind of arrow? A Bane Arrow. The bow bestows +5 onto the Bane Arrow.
It will always be a Bane Arrow not a +1/+3 arrow, a Bane arrow. +5 does not erase Bane. Bane is not a modifier, Bane is not an enchantment, Bane is a special ability.
So I think I got a handle on this Bane thing, when hell started this Blog because I didn’t understand how magic weapon and/or magic ammo shared the highest modifier.
The cheapest Bane arrow is +1, (+3 vs. specific creature type (Bane rule +2 better than the actual bonus)).
No matter what happens it’s still a bane arrow and gets +2 better than the actual bonus.
I need a clear distinction about magical ranged weapons and ammo. I’m using bow and arrows as an example.
If you have a masterwork bow with normal arrows the to hit modifier is +1 and the damage modifier is +0
Also if you have a normal bow with masterwork arrows the to hit modifier is +1 and the damage modifier is +0
And then if you have a masterwork bow with masterwork arrows the to hit modifier is +1 and the damage modifier is +0 because the bonuses do not stack.
If you have a +1 bow with normal arrows the to hit modifier is +1 and the damage modifier is also +1
Also if you have a normal bow with +1 arrows the to hit modifier is +1 and the damage modifier is also +1
And then if you have a +1 bow with +1 arrows the to hit modifier is +1 and the damage modifier is also +1 because the bonuses do not stack.
And finally if you have a +2 bow with +1 arrows the to hit modifier is +2 and the damage modifier is also +2 because the bonuses do not stack but you take the higher bonus
Let me know if this is right or wrong.