
Manzcar |

18 now but i knew I didn't jave time to put it up

![]() |

Look man, with a BAB of 0, my chances of "smacking the gobber" are slim to none. I think it's much more "feasible" if I bite the bullet, take AoO and try and get you up this round. I think this is more effective, despite risk (and I have high enough AC, to mitigate the risk in a way) :-)

GM Nightfeather |

To confirm what Travis said, no, there's no way for you to move to a position adjacent to him without risking an Attack of Opportunity from the goblin.
If you choose to move anyway, please go ahead and roll the goblin's attack and potential damage on yourself.
It attacks with a dogslicer (19-20 x2 crit potential) at +2. Damage is 1d4.

Manzcar |

Question if the goblin was throwing stuff did he have his weapon drawn yet. this is just my mind but they kept backing away to throw stuff so it seemed to me the were unarmed.

GM Nightfeather |

I almost wrote all that out but decided not to because my posts are already so complicated.
Anyway, the goblin took a five foot step, which, while it constitutes movement and precludes any other movement (as with the move action), is not a move action itself (along with delay, a five foot step is defined as "no action.")
It drew its blade as a move action, and now that I'm writing this, I realize that should have provoked from Rutilus.
Then, with its standard, it swung at Rutilus.
So Rutilus, you can take a free swipe at G2.

![]() |

Haha, Rutilus, you HAVE to smack the gobber! ;)
Please roll a 20? :D
Also: Where in the rules does it say that drawing a weapon provokes an opportunity? I have been playing like this in my own groups, but when someone asked me I could't, for the life of me, find the rule...

GM Nightfeather |

Gah! Take back! Take back!
I was making a faulty assumption.
For reasons that surpass my understanding, according to the tables at p. 183 of the Core Rulebook, sheathing a weapon does provoke an attack of opportunity but drawing one does not.
So no AoO for Rutilus, sorry about that.
I keep learning rules as we go along, sorry!

Manzcar |

I'm amazed.when people know as much as they do about the rules. I'm new to tabletop so I'm sure it will come with time.

![]() |

I keep learning rules as we go along, sorry!
That's okay, if you don't mind me "correcting" you :)
Three years of PF DMing add quite a bit of knowledge.. especially since I like (99% of) RAW.Weapon draw = fast, weapon sheath = slower?
I'm still wondering about some thing: you said he took a five-foot step (=move action), drew a weapon (move action without provoke), and he threw a splash weapon (=attack action)?

GM Nightfeather |

A five-foot step is not a move action. It's a "No Action" like delay. You can take a five-foot step in the same turn as "move actions" that don't consist of movement (directing an active spell, readying or dropping a shield, retrieving a stored item, or, in this case, drawing a weapon) so long as the descriptions of those actions don't expressly forbid it. At least that's the way I understand it.
What the goblin did was take a five-foot step, draw a weapon, and then make a melee attack with that weapon against Rutilus (which didn't hit) if I remember correctly.

Manzcar |

There once was a little ol’ cleric
who cared not for the retohric
for the sound of it was fruit Ilus
that was the way of Rutilus
So come back to us our good friend
And put this lil’ round to an end.
Not much of a writer but there is my try

![]() |

Our DM is on it. Another key thing to understand is five foot steps may be freely performed both before and AFTER a full or move and std combo that don't involve moving. Excellent tactics are to strike and use your step to allow another to move in and attack.
Another key point is five foot steps cannot be performed in difficult terrain. In my opinion this makes the travel domain very powerful as a clerical domain.

![]() |

I see.
Don't Elves have a thing that allows them to FFS into difficult terrain? Or was it rangers?
Or was it some kind of feat?
Either way, thanks for this. I must have looked at it like in 4th edition. Move action = move your speed, OR take FFS.

GM Nightfeather |

I don't know of any special movement rules for elves in Pathfinder, but there is a feat called Nimble Moves that allows you take a 5-foot step in difficult terrain (and has some other benefits).
As for pointing to the appropriate place to clarify all this, as is sometimes unfortunately the case with the Core Rulebook (I'm looking at you clear definition of ranged touch attack), there's not one single sentence to look at to understand that, though there is something close.
Look at the Move Actions section of Chapter Eight of the Core Rulebook starting at page 186. The first of the move actions listed is "Move" and the first paragraph reads:
"The simplest move action is moving your speed. If you take this kind of move action during your turn, you can’t also take a 5-foot step."
The key clause there is this kind of move action, see? If you take this kind you can't take also take a 5-foot step, which implies that if you take other kinds of move actions (draw or sheathe a weapon, retrieve an item, etc), then you can take a 5-foot step.

GM Nightfeather |

I don't see a FAQ on it, alas. Somebody asked about it on the boards this afternoon and, for what it's worth, the consensus of posters goes along with what Jory and I have said on it here.
---
Now, it's the weekend, so I'm inclined to be a little laid back about posting. But what do the rest of the players want? I was thinking of giving Rutilus 'til Monday morning but if the rest of you want to move ahead I can "move for him." Seems clear that his plan was to take the AoO risk and move to Travis and give him some healing.

![]() |

Rutilus, did you add those hit points to Travis on the spreadsheet/map? And can rebuke death take characters above 0 hit points? Or, in short, should Travis now be at 1 hit point?
Okay, I'll work up a goblin post, then it'll be the party's turn to post first come first serve again.
In short - No, No and Yes - Travis should now be on 1HP

Manzcar |

Sorry been using my phone this weekend.

Manzcar |

Was attacking with my morningstar that was hooked to my belt. So I was pulling it out as I moved to attack. But I was not sure I could attack but didn't know si.cr we had thr reflex save is a no action cinversatiion.

GM Nightfeather |

Right, a reflex save is a no action, but putting out flames is a full round action. The reflex save is what determines whether or not you were successful putting out flames. Gotta rule that Manzcar is in the same space he started in and no longer on fire and his attack didn't go off, sorry.
Travis, the rules state in the Charge section of Chapter Eight: "You can’t take a 5-foot step in the same round as a charge." So there's that.
Note also that a charge is not a standard action but a full-round action.

![]() |

True, but in my case, you can charge as a standard, if you have no full-round available, like me getting up or someone else drawing a weapon.
Edit:
Oops, I guess mine was wrong too?
If you are able to take only a standard action on your turn, you can still charge, but you are only allowed to move up to your speed (instead of up to double your speed) and you cannot draw a weapon unless you possess the Quick Draw feat. You can't use this option unless you are restricted to taking only a standard action on your turn.
>> Should I change my action then?

GM Nightfeather |

Bah, I'm not sure what to do here. It seems like the fair thing to do is to retcon your move since I retconned Manzcar's, but then Alys's move doesn't make sense since he would probably have attacked the goblin below instead of clambering up on the stairs and throwing the alchemist's fire.
I don't think the charge was legal, I'll say that much. Let me read back over the thread and look at the map again.
Any suggestions welcome!

Manzcar |

Well I am fine with just putting out the flames. The rules won't allow me to finish getting up and charging. So here is hoping we can get others up there to get him cause I am going to be busy being set on fire lol

GM Nightfeather |

And here's the lowdown on the stuff Manzcar found on the dead alchemist. Two each of the following.
Acid: You can throw a flask of acid as a splash weapon. Treat this attack as a ranged touch attack with a range increment of 10 feet. A direct hit deals 1d6 points of acid damage. Every creature within 5 feet of the point where the acid hits takes 1 point of acid damage from the splash.
Flash Powder: This coarse gray powder ignites and burns almost instantly if exposed to flame, significant friction, or even a simple force such as throwing it against a floor (a standard action). Creatures within the 10-foot-radius burst are blinded for 1 round (Fortitude DC 13 negates).
Sneezing Powder: This coarse yellowish-red powder is a splash weapon that causes uncontrollable sneezing for 1d4+1 rounds. Anyone standing in the square of impact must succeed on a DC 12 Fortitude save to resist the powder, while those in adjacent squares must make DC 8 Fortitude saves. Creatures affected by sneezing powder must make a DC 10 Fortitude save every round for the duration or be staggered until their next turn.
Smokestick: This alchemically treated wooden stick instantly creates thick, opaque smoke when burned. The smoke fills a 10-foot cube (treat the effect as a fog cloud spell, except that a moderate or stronger wind dissipates the smoke in 1 round). The stick is consumed after 1 round, and the smoke dissipates naturally after 1 minute.