Metamagic Feats and Wands


Rules Questions


So I'm playing a Sorcerer and I figured I would craft a few wands for support spells, and I was wondering if I could apply Metamagic to the spells going into the wand. My reading suggests yes, since applying Metamagic only increases the spell slot required to cast the spell, not the spell's level, but I wanted to get a group opinion on whether this is the case.


Yes, as long as it's of a level that would fit into a wand and you have the feat in question. It's just that you normally can't purchase them as standalone items.


Pathfinder Maps Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber

I believe the final level (spell level + metamagic increase) would have to be 4 or less. Otherwise you need to craft a staff.

Liberty's Edge

The spell count at its modified level for the wand cost and maximum spell level capability.


There is a FAQ out there that addresses this question somewhat.

"In general, use the (normal, lower) spell level or the (higher) spell slot level, whichever is more of a disadvantage for the caster. The advantages of the metamagic feat are spelled out in the Benefits section of the feat, and the increased spell slot level is a disadvantage."

So a metamagicked spell that uses an effective slot level of 5 or better -- for example, a widened glitterdust spell -- would not be able to be put into a wand.

However, a widened sleep spell takes a fourth level slot, so it would be legitimate, but very expensive.


1 person marked this as FAQ candidate.

Sorry to necro but I just hoped that someone could clarify the wording of Magic Item Creation for Metamagic Feats. The previous post sets the standard that a Metamagic-enhanced Spell would be treated as a Level equal to the Spell Slot necessary to cast it. That is fine, however, I am unsure that this is actually limiting :

Quote:
Using metamagic feats, a caster can place spells in items at a higher level than normal.

If you can place Spells in an item at a higher level than normal, is this referring to raising the expended Spell's Level above the norm, or allowing a Metamagic enhancement to raise the effective Spell Level above the item restriction? My question is which of these does it refer too?

i) A Spell enhanced by a Metamagic Feat would be treated as the higher level, (Spell Slot treated as Spell Level, most disadvantageous). This enhanced Spell could only be placed into the item if it still met the Spell Level restriction limit. In this reading 'higher level than normal' is just explaining that Metamagic Feats do increase the Spell Level for determining level restriction, base cost and creation time.

ii) A Spell enhanced by a Metamagic Feat is still treated as the most disadvantageous level, and as long as the *base* Spell Level is within the restricted level range, the Metamagic Feat can take the Spell Slot, (acting as Spell Level), above the 'normal' *item* level restriction. In this reading the Magic Item is capable of holding any Spell that as standard is within its level restriction, with Metamagic Feats purely as an enhancement that may take the de facto Spell Level above the restriction. Again, disadvantageous level would be used to determine base cost and creation time.

Is there a F.A.Q./errata, (or general rule), that clarifies whether the 'higher level than normal' refers to the normal Level that the Spell is cast at, or the normal level that can be placed in the item?

Kind regards,

Ben


Presumably this means that, using the heightened metamagic feat, you can put a normally 1st level spell into a wand as a 4th level spell (for example). This is probably the easiest way to get increased DCs out of offensive wand spells for most PCs. Not cheap, though.


I see no reason to believe that it would allow you to raise the effective spell level above the item restriction. However, there's no FAQ on this particular point.


Well, the FAQ you posted should cover it.

Quote:
In general, use the (normal, lower) spell level or the (higher) spell slot level, whichever is more of a disadvantage for the caster. The advantages of the metamagic feat are spelled out in the Benefits section of the feat, and the increased spell slot level is a disadvantage.


@_Ozy_ I was stating the case that the higher (disadvantageous) level was still not a limiter as the wording might be interpreted as a Metagmagic-enhanced may exceed the 'normal level' restriction.

Anyway, I have answered my own question during my continued search :

PRD wrote:
Magic Items and Metamagic Spells: With the right item creation feat, you can store a metamagic version of a spell in a scroll, potion, or wand. Level limits for potions and wands apply to the spell's higher spell level (after the application of the metamagic feat). A character doesn't need the metamagic feat to activate an item storing a metamagic version of a spell.

So no, my second posited position is not possible - Metamagic does not bypass item Spell Level restrictions.

Thanks to _Ozy_ and Orfamay. :)

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Metamagic Feats and Wands All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions