Does Expanded Preparation Expand?


Rules Questions


36 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Answered in the errata. 1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The Expanded Preparation feat says the following: "You gain an extra spell slot of the highest level you can cast."

Does this remain true as you level up? Say I take this feat as a 6th-level arcanist and choose to gain an additional 3rd-level spell slot to prepare another spell. Once I obtain 8th-level and am able to cast 4th-level spells, does that "bonus slot" from the feat become a 4th-level slot? Had I chosen to get two 2nd-level spell slots instead, would they now be two 3rd-level spells slots at 8th-level?

Or is the slot locked in based on when I took the feat, and I need to resort to things like retraining the feat in order to change the selection?

Please FAQ if you're curious to know too.


When you level up and gain a new highest level slot then your next highest level slot is no longer your highest.

Grand Lodge

Or you could FAQ THIS one (or both).

Edit: And now that I read your whole post you didn't even pick out the most glaring issue with the text as I assumed you would have.

Grand Lodge

Ravingdork wrote:

The Expanded Preparation feat says the following: "You gain an extra spell slot of the highest level you can cast."

Does this remain true as you level up? Say I take this feat as a 6th-level arcanist and choose to gain an additional 3rd-level spell slot to prepare another spell. Once I obtain 8th-level and am able to cast 4th-level spells, does that "bonus slot" from the feat become a 4th-level slot? Had I chosen to get two 2nd-level spell slots instead, would they now be two 3rd-level spells slots at 8th-level?

Or is the slot locked in based on when I took the feat, and I need to resort to things like retraining the feat in order to change the selection?

Please FAQ if you're curious to know too.

Now that I'm not on my phone in bed in the middle of the night I can answer this more in depth. The way the feat is worded it's your first interpretation. The feat gives you "an extra spell slot of the highest level you can cast." It doesn't say anything about the spell slot being "stuck" when you select the feat. So for the rest of your career you will have "an extra spell slot of the highest level you can cast."

But if you read the post I linked above you'll see more glaring issues with the text of the feat than just the question you proposed.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yeah, the other thread linked above is more comprehensive, but I've found that when you ask multiple questions in one post, the devs are less likely to answer all of the questions therein (instead choosing not to respond at all, or only responding to one of the questions).

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.

There are two interpretations to this:

1) It gives you a slot when taken, and doesn't change ever.
2) It gives you a status that continually changes as you level.

None of the wording indicates which way, but considering if you choose interpretation 2 you open up a whole world of other feats. If I take a feat that says "Choose a weapon you have Weapon Focus with" and you only have one weapon now at 4th level, but you later have two. Can you automatically choose to "float/upgrade/alter/change" your choice simply because you have more options now?

Liberty's Edge

That is a good point. This may be a feat where you need to write it down as Expanded Preparation(4th) like the accepted format of Weapon Specialization(Dagger) for that feat.


James Risner wrote:

There are two interpretations to this:

1) It gives you a slot when taken, and doesn't change ever.
2) It gives you a status that continually changes as you level.

None of the wording indicates which way, but considering if you choose interpretation 2 you open up a whole world of other feats. If I take a feat that says "Choose a weapon you have Weapon Focus with" and you only have one weapon now at 4th level, but you later have two. Can you automatically choose to "float/upgrade/alter/change" your choice simply because you have more options now?

The difference being is that just because you have a new weapon focus doesn't mean that you have invalidated your first weapon focus.

However, the wording of the Expanded Arcana feat becomes directly invalidated: "You gain an extra spell slot of the highest level you can cast." is no longer true.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

_Ozy_ wrote:
"You gain an extra spell slot of the highest level you can cast." is no longer true.

Same is true for Expanded Arcana if you choose two spells instead of one. Do you also think it should float and keep changing every time you level?


James Risner wrote:


1) It gives you a slot when taken, and doesn't change ever.

I vote for this one.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

The implications on similar feats is one of the reasons I why I started this FAQ thread.


James Risner wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:
"You gain an extra spell slot of the highest level you can cast." is no longer true.

Same is true for Expanded Arcana if you choose two spells instead of one. Do you also think it should float and keep changing every time you level?

No, because spells are 'known things' that you obtain. Slots can get added and subtracted at will, based on changes in the primary casting stat for example.

Liberty's Edge

FAQed, but for me it is very simple: you make the choices associated with taking a feat when you take the feat. You don't change them without retaining.

claudekennilol question on the other thread is already answered in teh benefit section:

PRD wrote:

Expanded Preparation

You can prepare more spells than other arcanists can.

Prerequisite: Arcanist level 1st.

Benefit: You gain an extra spell slot of the highest level you can cast. This is in addition to the number of spell slots you can normally prepare from your spellbook. You can instead add two spell slots, but both of these spells must be at least 1 level lower than the highest-level spell you can cast as an arcanist. You must choose which benefit you gain when you take this feat.

Special: You can take this feat up to three times. Each time you do, you can choose either benefit.

claudekennilol postulate:

"Obviously the intent is to prepare more spells (as per the description), but as written the feat allows an arcanist to cast more spells (as per the actual Benefit of the feat).", but that is not true, the benefit part of the feat go on and specify that the those slots are " in addition to the number of spell slots you can normally prepare from your spellbook". An arcanist use his spell book prepare his know spell slots, not his casting spell slots.

Grand Lodge

Diego Rossi wrote:

FAQed, but for me it is very simple: you make the choices associated with taking a feat when you take the feat. You don't change them without retaining.

claudekennilol question on the other thread is already answered in teh benefit section:

PRD wrote:

Expanded Preparation

You can prepare more spells than other arcanists can.

Prerequisite: Arcanist level 1st.

Benefit: You gain an extra spell slot of the highest level you can cast. This is in addition to the number of spell slots you can normally prepare from your spellbook. You can instead add two spell slots, but both of these spells must be at least 1 level lower than the highest-level spell you can cast as an arcanist. You must choose which benefit you gain when you take this feat.

Special: You can take this feat up to three times. Each time you do, you can choose either benefit.

claudekennilol postulate:

"Obviously the intent is to prepare more spells (as per the description), but as written the feat allows an arcanist to cast more spells (as per the actual Benefit of the feat).", but that is not true, the benefit part of the feat go on and specify that the those slots are " in addition to the number of spell slots you can normally prepare from your spellbook". An arcanist use his spell book prepare his know spell slots, not his casting spell slots.

I know, it's obviously intended to prepare more spells. But a "spell slot" as defined by the arcanist class is one of its spontaneous slots--not one of the prepared slots.

Liberty's Edge

Please, cite this definition. I don't see it. I see it as a implied thing, but then the feat implies something different. Neither give a official definition. So we should use the context, and the context is clear.

Grand Lodge

Diego Rossi wrote:
Please, cite this definition. I don't see it. I see it as a implied thing, but then the feat implies something different. Neither give a official definition. So we should use the context, and the context is clear.

Just look up the arcanist and hit ctrl+f and type in 'spell slot' and you'll see.

PRD, Alchemist wrote:
Spells: An arcanist casts arcane spells drawn from the sorcerer/wizard spell list. An arcanist must prepare her spells ahead of time, but unlike a wizard, her spells are not expended when they're cast. Instead, she can cast any spell that she has prepared consuming a spell slot of the appropriate level, assuming she hasn't yet used up her spell slots per day for that level.

The thread I linked to my in my initial post has it all explained in depth.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yes, and you will debate it there if it please you, as it is somewhat off-topic here.

Liberty's Edge

And there is where you are wrong claudekennilol: It is not a definition. It is something implied, not something defined.
You can't say "this" implied thing is stronger that "that" implied thing.

It is the same reason that make Ravingdork question FAQ worthy. That a feat parameters are chosen when a feat is taken and nor reset is a implied thing, not spelled anywhere. With Rav question you don't have further informations in the feat that give an answer, with your we have further informations that give the answer.


Curious, when something says that you apply a stat modifier as a bonus to something, like Charisma to your saves with Divine Protection...

do you think it locks in the stat modifier when you take the feat, or does that 'upgrade' as your Charisma changes?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

_Ozy_ wrote:

Curious, when something says that you apply a stat modifier as a bonus to something, like Charisma to your saves with Divine Protection...

do you think it locks in the stat modifier when you take the feat, or does that 'upgrade' as your Charisma changes?

It floats, but you ask the wrong question.

You really mean to say "if a feat chooses between a stat modifier to add to something, does the change when my stats change? Can I pick Dex now that my Dex is higher than when I took the feat?"


James Risner wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:

Curious, when something says that you apply a stat modifier as a bonus to something, like Charisma to your saves with Divine Protection...

do you think it locks in the stat modifier when you take the feat, or does that 'upgrade' as your Charisma changes?

It floats, but you ask the wrong question.

You really mean to say "if a feat chooses between a stat modifier to add to something, does the change when my stats change? Can I pick Dex now that my Dex is higher than when I took the feat?"

What are you talking about? Does this particular feat say to apply the 'highest modifier' between two different stats?

My example was Divine Protection, what is yours?


I FAQ'd it.


*In the voice of Cruella De Vil*

Thank you, darling.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

_Ozy_ wrote:
My example was Divine Protection, what is yours?

Let me rephrase, your example doesn't add a value chosen when you take the feat but indirectly adds something. The feat in discussion here adds a value when chosen and there are no other examples of feats that allow you to flexibly change then when better options are available.

So I guess the best example would be Weapon Focus. If this feat allows you to make new choices then Weapon Focus would allow you to change your focus when you gain proficiency in new weapons.

Grand Lodge

James Risner wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:
My example was Divine Protection, what is yours?

Let me rephrase, your example doesn't add a value chosen when you take the feat but indirectly adds something. The feat in discussion here adds a value when chosen and there are no other examples of feats that allow you to flexibly change then when better options are available.

So I guess the best example would be Weapon Focus. If this feat allows you to make new choices then Weapon Focus would allow you to change your focus when you gain proficiency in new weapons.

That doesn't apply to what he was saying.

He's saying since this gives you "an extra spell of your highest slot" why wouldn't that also change when you level up just like "apply your charisma saves" changes as your charisma increases.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Anyone else have anything to add?


It would be silly if it ditent go up since that would be like a retraining gold sink. And that is boring.


I think you only benefit from the spell once, but at the same time, I would prefer for it to give you an extra spell every time you level up. Otherwise it is not much better than a human choosing the trait to get an extra spell.


wraithstrike wrote:
I think you only benefit from the spell once, but at the same time, I would prefer for it to give you an extra spell every time you level up. Otherwise it is not much better than a human choosing the trait to get an extra spell.

that i would consider overpowered in the extreme. 3 feats spend on this would give a level 10, 15 more spells prepared pr Day or am i misundestanding your preferance?

I dont know the trait you mention, so there is that.


Cap. Darling wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
I think you only benefit from the spell once, but at the same time, I would prefer for it to give you an extra spell every time you level up. Otherwise it is not much better than a human choosing the trait to get an extra spell.

that i would consider overpowered in the extreme. 3 feats spend on this would give a level 10, 15 more spells prepared pr Day or am i misundestanding your preferance?

I dont know the trait you mention, so there is that.

I meant favor class point, not trait.

I was saying between the two choices I see given. If I was writing the spell I would do it differently altogether.


wraithstrike wrote:
Cap. Darling wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
I think you only benefit from the spell once, but at the same time, I would prefer for it to give you an extra spell every time you level up. Otherwise it is not much better than a human choosing the trait to get an extra spell.

that i would consider overpowered in the extreme. 3 feats spend on this would give a level 10, 15 more spells prepared pr Day or am i misundestanding your preferance?

I dont know the trait you mention, so there is that.

I meant favor class point, not trait.

I was saying between the two choices I see given. If I was writing the spell I would do it differently altogether.

favored class gives a extra Spell in the book. Not a extra Spell prepared.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Cap. Darling wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
Cap. Darling wrote:
wraithstrike wrote:
I think you only benefit from the spell once, but at the same time, I would prefer for it to give you an extra spell every time you level up. Otherwise it is not much better than a human choosing the trait to get an extra spell.

that i would consider overpowered in the extreme. 3 feats spend on this would give a level 10, 15 more spells prepared pr Day or am i misundestanding your preferance?

I dont know the trait you mention, so there is that.

I meant favor class point, not trait.

I was saying between the two choices I see given. If I was writing the spell I would do it differently altogether.

favored class gives a extra Spell in the book. Not a extra Spell prepared.

I misread the feat completely.

In that case here is how I think it works:

It scales with level, and you can prepare one extra spell of the highest level than you can currently cast, unless you choose the other option.

I don't think preparing extra spell per day, even the highest level spells is worth a feat if it does not scale.

Now I am thinking that I also misread expanded arcana as well.


James Risner wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:

Curious, when something says that you apply a stat modifier as a bonus to something, like Charisma to your saves with Divine Protection...

do you think it locks in the stat modifier when you take the feat, or does that 'upgrade' as your Charisma changes?

It floats, but you ask the wrong question.

You really mean to say "if a feat chooses between a stat modifier to add to something, does the change when my stats change? Can I pick Dex now that my Dex is higher than when I took the feat?"

No. More accurate would be "If a feat says you'll gain your highest stat modifier as a bonus on all knowledge checks, does the stat I gain as a bonus change if another stat eclipses the stat that was highest when I picked the feat?"

Grand Lodge

Ravingdork wrote:
Anyone else have anything to add?

Simmilar feats of this type have usually included text which indicates the extra slot migrates up as new spell levels open up. the extra 2nd level spell becomes a 3rd, or 4th, as your powers mature. You still have only ONE slot available.

I would invite someone with the appropriate Herolab material to test to see how Lone Wolf implemented the feat.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Yeah, I never meant to imply you got more than one slot at a time (or two at a time if you went with that option). Every time you gained the new higher slot(s), you would lose the old, lower-level slot(s).

Sovereign Court

1 person marked this as a favorite.
LazarX wrote:
I would invite someone with the appropriate Herolab material to test to see how Lone Wolf implemented the feat.

Herolab migrates the bonus slot (or 2 slots) up as you level. While that is also my interpretation, I will admit that just because Herolab does it that way isn't really a strong argument either way.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Talon Stormwarden wrote:
LazarX wrote:
I would invite someone with the appropriate Herolab material to test to see how Lone Wolf implemented the feat.
Herolab migrates the bonus slot (or 2 slots) up as you level. While that is also my interpretation, I will admit that just because Herolab does it that way isn't really a strong argument either way.

On other similar abilities (Elf Ancient Lorekeeper Oracle) Herolab provides a pulldown to choose the level you got when you add the ability.

I think Herolab is amazing close to how to interpret the rules as per Paizo standard, they shouldn't be used as an authoritative source. I've opened maybe a hundred tickets with them over the years over incorrect functioning rules.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Does Expanded Preparation Expand? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.