
![]() |
Sniggevert wrote:thaX wrote:Here is a question. When the Wizard is 1st level, he has a bonded ring given to him. (or whatever item he chooses) Can he make that into a magical item down the road or does he have to buy a magical item and then bond it to himself?He can upgrade the initial item, when he has gained enough levels to enchant that type of item.Just asking, does this means that if I play a wizard with a ring as an arcane bond, I could upgrade say ring to a Ring of Freedom of Movement, for just the cost price of 20,000gp ?
Edit: Upgrade at Caster level 7th. Level at which a wizard would have access to Forge Ring and freedom of movement, Requirements for Ring of FoM.
Yes, your prestige however has to cover the full cost of the ring.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I Just want to confirm that I'll be doing this Right (Not Done it yet)
I will be buying a particular weapon from a Scenario Printed last year
in order to make him my Bonded Object Im looking at
200 x Wizard level (Which is 3)
+ 2315 (Mithril Longsword)
its the equivalent of a +2 Item and cannot be upgraded because its a Named Item so I shouldnt have to Worry about the Caster Level thing (Should I ?)
and do I need to have the Fame for the Total Cost since I already have access to the Origional Item

![]() |
I Just want to confirm that I'll be doing this Right (Not Done it yet)
I will be buying a particular weapon from a Scenario Printed last year
in order to make him my Bonded Object Im looking at
200 x Wizard level (Which is 3)
+ 2315 (Mithril Longsword)its the equivalent of a +2 Item and cannot be upgraded because its a Named Item so I shouldnt have to Worry about the Caster Level thing (Should I ?)
and do I need to have the Fame for the Total Cost since I already have access to the Origional Item
If you're looking to make a scenario item your bonded item, it would be for the total chronicle cost of the item plus the cost needed to switch arcane focus.
You can't buy a item available only by Chronicle by crafting it even via the arcane bond route. You'd have to buy it outright. You can spend prestige points to lower the price though.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Shamhat wrote:I Just want to confirm that I'll be doing this Right (Not Done it yet)
I will be buying a particular weapon from a Scenario Printed last year
in order to make him my Bonded Object Im looking at
200 x Wizard level (Which is 3)
+ 2315 (Mithril Longsword)its the equivalent of a +2 Item and cannot be upgraded because its a Named Item so I shouldnt have to Worry about the Caster Level thing (Should I ?)
and do I need to have the Fame for the Total Cost since I already have access to the Origional Item
If you're looking to make a scenario item your bonded item, it would be for the total chronicle cost of the item plus the cost needed to switch arcane focus.
You can't buy a item available only by Chronicle by crafting it even via the arcane bond route. You'd have to buy it outright. You can spend prestige points to lower the price though.
Right Im just attempting to be sure of the Cost and Im doing my best NOT to Spoiler here
Item Cost 7015
then
315 (or 2015) + 600 (Cost of masterwork Item + 600)
I would assume the Cost of the mitral needs to be added Since : Weapons or armors fashioned from mithral are always masterwork items as well the masterwork cost is included in the prices given for the Item
Caster level of the Item is 5th so that shouldn't be a problem either way since Im CL 5 myself
and it cant be upgraded anyways since its a named Item

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

So I'm debating on a ring vs a staff for my wizard heavy mystic theurge (using the looph..erm. clarification about spell like abilities) to go wizard 3/cleric 1/MT X
I could pick up a staff of healing but I'd have to be level 8 (w3 C1 MT 4) to cast remove disease.
A staff of stealth Linky to improved invis the party .. also at 8th level (so I'd probably need to wait for the fame to tick up a bit)

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

So I'm debating on a ring vs a staff for my wizard heavy mystic theurge (using the looph..erm. clarification about spell like abilities) to go wizard 3/cleric 1/MT X
I could pick up a staff of healing but I'd have to be level 8 (w3 C1 MT 4) to cast remove disease.
A staff of stealth Linky to improved invis the party .. also at 8th level (so I'd probably need to wait for the fame to tick up a bit)
Unfortunately, any "named magical" staff (not melee) requires a base caster level of 11.
@Shamhat...you just buy the chronicle item for its listed cost. You then pay the 200/wiz level for changing your bonded item.

![]() ![]() ![]() |

D'OH.
Any good rings or should i start looking into a lizard to throw at people for ranged healing...
Cool in what way?
Blink I think is awesome but your spell work 20% of the time.
Retribution i think is neat espcially if you have fire resist
Ring of return/Ring of Transposition are neat
Although the cool ones are more end of pfs career.

![]() ![]() |

You can't buy a item available only by Chronicle by crafting it even via the arcane bond route. You'd have to buy it outright. You can spend prestige points to lower the price though.
Wait, what?
You can use PP to discount purchases you make with gold? Where are the rules on this? I must read and use them immediately!!!

![]() ![]() ![]() |

LazarX wrote:You can spend prestige points to lower the price though.Wait, what?
You can use PP to discount purchases you make with gold? Where are the rules on this? I must read and use them immediately!!!
No such rules exist; I can only guess that LazarX has made the mistake of thinking that the ability to spend 2PP to acquire an item worth 750gp is actually the ability to spend 2PP in lieu of 750gp-worth of a more expensive item's price.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jason Hanlon wrote:No such rules exist; I can only guess that LazarX has made the mistake of thinking that the ability to spend 2PP to acquire an item worth 750gp is actually the ability to spend 2PP in lieu of 750gp-worth of a more expensive item's price.LazarX wrote:You can spend prestige points to lower the price though.Wait, what?
You can use PP to discount purchases you make with gold? Where are the rules on this? I must read and use them immediately!!!
There's also at least one item on a chronicle sheet that lets you spend money, PP, or a combination of both to purchase it.
But yeah, it's not a general rule.

![]() |

Hmmm.. half price cure light wounds wands or invidibility wands wouldn't be bad...
Or infernal healing, for those of us unable to use cure light wounds wands without use magic device.
Then again, if you are getting a wand for half price, maybe it would be better to get a higher level wand.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I've played alongside a guy with a bonded wand of haste. Unfortunately, it was in a caster-heavy party. :/
Hey, I've played along side Clark as well! Always good to have Haste for every battle. You can always haste the the ACs and/or summoned critters (or just save the charges). And sometimes Haste can be the only way you can get away!

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I've played alongside a guy with a bonded wand of haste. Unfortunately, it was in a caster-heavy party. :/
get out of my mind! :)
If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand.
So if I burn through the wand of haste, i get another one half price correct?

![]() |

Jiggy wrote:I've played alongside a guy with a bonded wand of haste. Unfortunately, it was in a caster-heavy party. :/get out of my mind! :)
If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand.
So if I burn through the wand of haste, i get another one half price correct?
Correct, If you choose to make another, and it would be much better for your bonded wand to be a wand that you would use all of the charges on.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Jiggy wrote:I've played alongside a guy with a bonded wand of haste. Unfortunately, it was in a caster-heavy party. :/get out of my mind! :)
If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand.
So if I burn through the wand of haste, i get another one half price correct?
Yup -- technically, you can start out with it a Wand of Mage Armor, burn through the charges, enchant it again at half off with Scorching Ray, and then again at half off with Haste.
So, the big advantage of wands is that they scale as you level. The downside with it being Haste is that the caster level will be only 5.
The Half-Elf Bonded Witch with a wand is pretty nice, too.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I think we need a proper summary of these rules; I'm completely confused by the rules and exceptions with the arcane bond after reading the FAQ and the comments in this thread.
It still sounds like different people are doing different things and somehow both are right or not getting noticed? I'm lost!

![]() |

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

I think we need a proper summary of these rules; I'm completely confused by the rules and exceptions with the arcane bond after reading the FAQ and the comments in this thread.
It still sounds like different people are doing different things and somehow both are right or not getting noticed? I'm lost!
Arcane bond allows the caster with it to enhance his bonded item as though he had the required feat, but meeting requirements for the feat, including level.
Craft Wondrous Item: (amulet) 3rd level
Craft Wand (wand): 5th level
Craft Ring (ring): 7th level
Craft Staff (staff): 11th level
Anything legally crafted as a bonded item is at the normal crafting price, half off the market price.
Caster must meet the minimum level to have taken the crafting feat required to craft the item.
Caster must have the Fame needed to have purchased the item at full price.
Crafting the item has a spellcraft check involved. As normal, the caster can Take 10 on the check.
The DC of the spellcraft check can be modified upward for missing requirements to create the item (besides the feat/level requirement).
A spellcaster can change his bonded item by spending an amount of money based on his level to bond with a different magic item.
For most bonded items, they are create and forget until upgrade time.
Bonded wands can be emptied of charges by use, at which point, instead of turning to dust like a standard wand, it reverts to being a mastwork wand (stick), which the bonded caster can enchant with the same or a different legal spell.
Because time between missions is indefinite in PFS, doing this boils down to a simple Spellcraft check, which might be just a Take 10 if the caster has a sufficiently high Spellcraft skill...

TwoWolves |

So, what about a Skirnir Magus? They get a shield as an arcane bond. I assume that they are limited to +1 until 5th level, and they must pay full price until then as well? What if they want to enchant it as a weapon also? Same deal, +1 (full price) until 5th level? And the total price for a +1 shield enhancement/+1 weapon enhancement bonus heavy mithril shield would be 4020gp, full price?
Seems like the half-price discount for arcane bonded objects is nearly worthless before 5th level for weapons, and really limited for this particular archetype since their shield and weapon are a single object for the purposes of Prestige purchase limits.

![]() |

Here's what I'm not seeing (forgive me if I should): What if I have an amulet that I upgrade into an amulet of natural armor +1 at the first opportunity (and would I have to know the barkskin spell to do that, which would nix that particular possibility for most Wizards?), but later I wish to turn it into an amulet of spell cunning? Since it can't be both, do I have to start over on a new amulet, or can I "resculpt the magic" in my amulet of natural armor +1 and turn it into an amulet of spell cunning for a net total of 4,000 more gold (having already put 1,000 gold into making it an amulet of natural armor +1)? Whether the answer to that is 'yes' or 'no,' could I upgrade an amulet of spell cunning into an amulet of spell mastery with the same comparative ease as upgrading a Headband of Vast Intelligence +2 into a Headband of Vast Intelligence +4?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

TwoWolves, I believe you are correct about the shield. To enchant it both as a weapon and a shield requires two separate enchantments, at the appropriate price for each based on whether the character is capable of doing the "crafting" himself or not.
Hiding, once an item is enchanted, barring the magic running out (as with a wand using up its charges), it can't be changed into something else unless there is an upgrade path. Those are specifically limited to numerical bonuses being increased. So the Amulet of natural armor +1 can be upgraded to +2, but not changed into spell cunning, and the spell cunning cannot be changed into spell mastery (despite the logical progression) because it is not a numerical bonus being upgraded.
As to whether you have to know the barkskin spell, the answer is no, but it does increase the DC by 5:
Note that all items have prerequisites in their descriptions. These prerequisites must be met for the item to be created. Most of the time, they take the form of spells that must be known by the item's creator (although access through another magic item or spellcaster is allowed). The DC to create a magic item increases by +5 for each prerequisite the caster does not meet. The only exception to this is the requisite item creation feat, which is mandatory. In addition, you cannot create potions, spell-trigger, or spell-completion magic items without meeting their spell prerequisites.

![]() |
Jason Hanlon wrote:No such rules exist; I can only guess that LazarX has made the mistake of thinking that the ability to spend 2PP to acquire an item worth 750gp is actually the ability to spend 2PP in lieu of 750gp-worth of a more expensive item's price.LazarX wrote:You can spend prestige points to lower the price though.Wait, what?
You can use PP to discount purchases you make with gold? Where are the rules on this? I must read and use them immediately!!!
I know it's a bit old but I finally found this text in the 5.0 guide. This is from table 5-4.
Once per session you can acquire any single item of this cost or less from your faction by spending the appropriate number of Prestige Points. Items purchased this way are worth 0 gp and can not be sold
From the table that's 1 Prestige point for an item up to 150 gold and 2 for a purchase of up to 750.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Jiggy wrote:Jason Hanlon wrote:No such rules exist; I can only guess that LazarX has made the mistake of thinking that the ability to spend 2PP to acquire an item worth 750gp is actually the ability to spend 2PP in lieu of 750gp-worth of a more expensive item's price.LazarX wrote:You can spend prestige points to lower the price though.Wait, what?
You can use PP to discount purchases you make with gold? Where are the rules on this? I must read and use them immediately!!!
I know it's a bit old but I finally found this text in the 5.0 guide. This is from table 5-4.
Once per session you can acquire any single item of this cost or less from your faction by spending the appropriate number of Prestige Points. Items purchased this way are worth 0 gp and can not be sold
From the table that's 1 Prestige point for an item up to 150 gold and 2 for a purchase of up to 750.
Right, you can spend 1 prestige for any one item whose value is 150gp or less, or 2 prestige for any one item whose value is 750gp or less.
You can not spend 2 prestige to lower the purchase price of an item that is originally greater than 750gp, and pay off the rest in gold.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

LazarX wrote:Jiggy wrote:Jason Hanlon wrote:No such rules exist; I can only guess that LazarX has made the mistake of thinking that the ability to spend 2PP to acquire an item worth 750gp is actually the ability to spend 2PP in lieu of 750gp-worth of a more expensive item's price.LazarX wrote:You can spend prestige points to lower the price though.Wait, what?
You can use PP to discount purchases you make with gold? Where are the rules on this? I must read and use them immediately!!!
I know it's a bit old but I finally found this text in the 5.0 guide. This is from table 5-4.
Once per session you can acquire any single item of this cost or less from your faction by spending the appropriate number of Prestige Points. Items purchased this way are worth 0 gp and can not be sold
From the table that's 1 Prestige point for an item up to 150 gold and 2 for a purchase of up to 750.
Right, you can spend 1 prestige for any one item whose value is 150gp or less, or 2 prestige for any one item whose value is 750gp or less.
You can not spend 2 prestige to lower the purchase price of an item that is originally greater than 750gp, and pay off the rest in gold.
Actually, there is a way to break out the price on some items, so you can do this, but this is mainly for items that can be enhanced magically, like weapons or armor.
2 PP, as an example, could buy you either a masterwork darkwood composite longbow (Str +3) or a dragonhide breastplate. Either of those items can, later, be enhanced as a normal weapon or armor.
A couple of caveats on those, though:
1) Fame break points count the purchase price of the item as normal value, so it takes the same Fame as enhancing a regularly purchased version of the same item.
2) The base item cannot be sold off, as it has a resale value of 0 gp, as per the guide.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Sniggevert wrote:LazarX wrote:Jiggy wrote:Jason Hanlon wrote:No such rules exist; I can only guess that LazarX has made the mistake of thinking that the ability to spend 2PP to acquire an item worth 750gp is actually the ability to spend 2PP in lieu of 750gp-worth of a more expensive item's price.LazarX wrote:You can spend prestige points to lower the price though.Wait, what?
You can use PP to discount purchases you make with gold? Where are the rules on this? I must read and use them immediately!!!
I know it's a bit old but I finally found this text in the 5.0 guide. This is from table 5-4.
Once per session you can acquire any single item of this cost or less from your faction by spending the appropriate number of Prestige Points. Items purchased this way are worth 0 gp and can not be sold
From the table that's 1 Prestige point for an item up to 150 gold and 2 for a purchase of up to 750.
Right, you can spend 1 prestige for any one item whose value is 150gp or less, or 2 prestige for any one item whose value is 750gp or less.
You can not spend 2 prestige to lower the purchase price of an item that is originally greater than 750gp, and pay off the rest in gold.
Actually, there is a way to break out the price on some items, so you can do this, but this is mainly for items that can be enhanced magically, like weapons or armor.
2 PP, as an example, could buy you either a masterwork darkwood composite longbow (Str +3) or a dragonhide breastplate. Either of those items can, later, be enhanced as a normal weapon or armor.
A couple of caveats on those, though:
1) Fame break points count the purchase price of the item as normal value, so it takes the same Fame as enhancing a regularly purchased version of the same item.
2) The base item cannot be sold off, as it has a resale value of 0 gp, as per the guide.
That's not lowering the price on one item being purchased. That's purchasing one item (the bow or breastplate in your example) with prestige, and then in a second transaction adding magical enhancements to the items you purchased already.
If it actually lowered the purchase price, that bow would only cost you 1,970gp, rather than the 2,000 it costs to enhance it.

![]() |

Hiding, once an item is enchanted, barring the magic running out (as with a wand using up its charges), it can't be changed into something else unless there is an upgrade path. Those are specifically limited to numerical bonuses being increased. So the Amulet of natural armor +1 can be upgraded to +2, but not changed into spell cunning, and the spell cunning cannot be changed into spell mastery (despite the logical progression) because it is not a numerical bonus being upgraded.
Okay...so I'd have to replace a bonded amulet I did that to, so how about this: Having crafted this item that I now no longer want, can I sell it for half price - which would mean, exactly as much as I spent on it initially? That is to say, if I turned my initial bound amulet into an amulet of spell cunning, could I sell it for 5,000 gold, which I could them put toward making an amulet of spell mastery?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Sorry, but no, you cant sell it. For one thing it wouldnt work for anyone else.
The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.

![]() |

Consider the case of the mind sentinel medallion: It loses its magic if circumstance bends it to a certain last-ditch use. If I've made my Bound Amulet into this, then then it should once again become "a simple piece of silver jewelry," can it thereafter be freshly turned into a different magical amulet?
Also, could someone do me a favor and point me precisely to the salient rules regarding enchanting a Bound Item as would be done in Organized Play?

![]() ![]() ![]() |

Also, could someone do me a favor and point me precisely to the salient rules regarding enchanting a Bound Item as would be done in Organized Play?
A wizard can add additional magic abilities to his bonded object as if he has the required item creation feats and if he meets the level prerequisites of the feat. For example, a wizard with a bonded dagger must be at least 5th level to add magic abilities to the dagger (see the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat in Feats). If the bonded object is a wand, it loses its wand abilities when its last charge is consumed, but it is not destroyed and it retains all of its bonded object properties and can be used to craft a new wand. The magic properties of a bonded object, including any magic abilities added to the object, only function for the wizard who owns it. If a bonded object's owner dies, or the item is replaced, the object reverts to being an ordinary masterwork item of the appropriate type.
Note: You do not have to have the feats, which are not legal for PFS play. You just have to meet the prerequisites as listed.
Wizard: Wizards receive Spell Focus at 1st level instead
of Scribe Scroll. Only items listed as Always Available
may be selected as the free bonded object granted to a
wizard at 1st level......Step 5: Feats
Characters select feats according to the guidelines in
the Core Rulebook. Certain Core Rulebook feats are not
available to Pathfinder Society characters. These include
Brew Potion, Craft Magic Arms and Armor, Craft Rod,
Craft Staff, Craft Wand, Craft Wondrous Item, Forge
Ring, Leadership, and Scribe Scroll.
Neither the craft feats nor the item creation section
of the magic items chapter in the Core Rulebook are legal
for play. Additionally, except for specific examples cited
in this guide or the Pathfinder Society FAQ, crafting of
mundane items is not allowed in Pathfinder Society.
Can an Arcane Bonded Item be upgraded?
A character with the arcane bond class feature may create a bond with any item he owns, either magical or mundane, as long as the item falls within the categories permitted by the arcane bond ability (the cost for bonding with a new item still applies). If a caster later wishes to upgrade an existing bonded item, he may do so for the cost (not price) of the final item as listed in the item's statblock.For items which can be enhanced incrementally (such as weapons or a ring of protection), the caster must meet all prerequisites for the item as outlined in the item crafting rules. For example, a nonmagical bonded dagger can be enchanted to a +1 dagger for 1,000 gp instead of the normal 2,000 gp, but the caster must be at least 5th level (a prerequisite for the Craft Magic Arms and Armor feat). To upgrade the item further to a +2 dagger, the caster must have a caster level of 6 or higher (three times the item's enhancement bonus).
A bonded item that is enhanced must still conform to all the campaign rules for access to and upgrading of magical items. The final and total price of the item (not the cost) is used on the Fame chart to determine whether a caster can apply such an enhancement to a bonded item.
The Fame chart is on p.25 of the PFSGtOP.
I think this is pretty complete, except for other classes besides wizard which have the arcane bond class feature. Hope this helps.

![]() ![]() ![]() |

The process? It is very much like purchasing a magic item, except for the enchanting roll. You must have the GM there, and then you calculate the DC for the enchantment, and make the roll. The time between scenarios is indeterminate, so you have time for an enchantment. Pay the cost (not the price) of the enchantment.

![]() |

The process? It is very much like purchasing a magic item, except for the enchanting roll. You must have the GM there, and then you calculate the DC for the enchantment, and make the roll. The time between scenarios is indeterminate, so you have time for an enchantment. Pay the cost (not the price) of the enchantment.
Right - where does it say how to calculate the DC?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
as this is the PFS FAQ on bonded items discussion thread
Objects that are the subject of an arcane bond must fall into one of the following categories: amulet, ring, staff, wand, or weapon.
so I don't think a "medallion" qualifies as an amulet. If they had said "neck slot" I'd be right there with you but with an Aegis of Recovery.
Amulets did get a bump with talismans in Occult Adventures (thankfully it says "These amulets" in the description). Using the Occ Adv description to qualify all talismans might be a bit trickier and YMMV.
in a quick run down of scalable "amulet"s that would be upgradeable;
Amulet of Bullet Protection {divine favor} 1500(+1), 6000(+2)...
Amulet of Natural Armor {barkskin} 2000(+1), 8000(+2)...
Amulet of Mighty Fists {grt magic fang} 4000(+1), 16000(+2)...
that's it...
Switching out your bonded item in PFS will prove costly. $200*Wiz level PLUS the loss of the original (if bought at half) and the usual cost of the new one. As talked about earlier in this thread you could bond to a normal magic item which would retain it's worth on un-bonding but the tax to switch is still going to be $200*Wiz level.
Since numerical benefits only qualify as "upgradeable" having a Wand of Magic Missiles 1@1 as your bonded object (bought at half price) and taking it to 1@5(CL) means you would lose the value of any charges left in the 1@1 wand and pay for 50 new charges at half price. So use it or lose it seems to be literal here...