The Raven Black
|
This topic raised its ugly head again in a PFS special during a convention last week-end.
My PC was last in Initiative order.
I wanted to Delay into the next round to hit opponents with an AoE effect after the Fighter could step out of the area.
Another player reacted strongly that I could not Delay past the end of the 1st round (and thus that, because of being the slowest, I could not Delay at all) because then I was reaching the end of the round and Delaying beyond that was not allowed.
"If you Delay an entire round without returning to the initiative order, the actions from the Delayed turn are lost, your initiative doesn't change, and your next turn occurs at your original position in the initiative order."
I found that interpretation preposterous as I thought being the slowest to act should not mean you could not Delay. And I argued that an entire round was between my original initiative in round 1 and my original initiative in round 2 (how I used to see rounds in 3.x/PF1) and thus I could indeed Delay in the second round.
I now believe we were both wrong, because PF2 redefined what "an entire round" is:
"A round begins when the participant with the highest initiative roll result starts their turn, and it ends when the one with the lowest initiative ends their turn."
So, in my case, the RAW seems to be, if I do not return to the initiative order soon enough:
Round 1 starts.
Round 1, my turn = I Delay (and am removed from the initiative order).
Round 1 ends. I have not yet Delayed an entire round without returning to the initiative order.
Round 2 starts with the participant with the highest initiative roll result starting their turn.
Round 2 ends with the participant with the lowest initiative ending their turn.
Round 3 begins.
I have then Delayed an entire round without returning to the initiative order.
- My actions from the Delayed turn are lost
- My initiative doesn't change
- My next turn occurs at my original position in the initiative order. On round 3.
Thoughts ?
| Baarogue |
| 7 people marked this as a favorite. |
I used to believe as that player did, but have changed my stance because there is little support for that reading, it is needlessly punitive, and it is unintuitive. It comes from stretching the loss of the Delayed turn to infer more than the action's text says. It says, "If you Delay an entire round," not, "if you Delay until the end of the current round," after all. "An entire round" would end at the beginning of your next turn if it were a duration entry, but since the timing of your "next turn" is in limbo at the moment, they had to phrase it like this. I rule that "An entire round" ends when you come back around to your original initiative and still haven't acted, as you first believed. The Delay action then expires and you take your turn at that time
PF2e hasn't redefined what "an entire round" is. What you're quoting is the text of Play a Round, PC1 p.435. On PC1 p.11, "A round is a period of time during an encounter in which all participants get a chance to act. A round represents approximately 6 seconds in game time." So by my reckoning, "an entire round" after you Delay would be the period of time in which all (other) participants get a chance to act
According to a text search on AoN the phrase "an entire round" occurs only twice in the entirety of published PF2 material. Once in Delay, and again in the Tor Linnorm monster's ability in MC p.222, Pyroclastic Breath: "A creature that spends an entire round in the smoke with open eyes must succeed at a DC 44 Fortitude save or be blinded for 1 minute." How do you believe the people arguing against Delaying past the end of the round would rule on this ability if they were engulfed in this smoke after their turn, and then the round ended. Should they be blinded immediately because according to them "an entire round" has ended, or after they "get a chance to act" and it's come back around to the Linnorm's turn? This is written exactly the same way as Delay
And it's not like you get to take two turns in the next round, so you're not getting away with anything munchkinly, which is my last test. You get to re-enter initiative order and take your turn when you choose at the very costly price of your entire turn from the Delayed round and the inability to use reactions in the interim, and combat carries on with you in that order from then on
| katzazi |
I don't understand the reasoning of the idea that somebody with low initative couldn't delay, because they were so slow.
Yes, the character is slow to get into the action (by default, to realize that there is a fight). That's why they usually cannot do anything until their first turn.
But as soon, as it's their first turn, they have gained the "same speed" as everybody else. Es they can do up to 3 Actions every 6 seconds like everybody else and also can directly (even within their own turn) react.
Also being "slow" doesn't change initiative order, it changes how many actions one gets per round.
So if everybody else can wait until they act for a part of the 6 seconds of their choice, also the perseon who was lowest in initiative should be able to wait the same amount of time and act delayed.
There is also the Swashbuckler feat "After you": "You allow your foes to make the first move in a show of incredible confidence. You don't roll initiative; instead you voluntarily go last. You gain panache. [...]" It implies that if you choose to wait, it's actually a daring thing to do. It would be weird if that swashbuckler wouldn't be able to delay even longer until others could even act twice and then decide to act within any given point during the second round.
| Tridus |
| 7 people marked this as a favorite. |
This reads like a classic case of someone trying to twist themselves into knots following a strict literal reading of something that isn't meant to be treated like a computer program.
"Delaying a round" means that you delay for an entire round's worth of actions, which would be when your turn comes around again. Why? Because the other interpretation doesn't make any sense and comes up with this silly idea that the person at the end of the order isn't allowed to delay at all.
Your interpretation is the only one that makes sense. Delay means you wait and don't act until you do. If you don't do that before your turn comes around again, you lost that previous turn since you just waited for the whole thing. The idea is to prevent someone from double-stacking by delaying so long that they wind up with two turns in a row.
That's it.
| SuperParkourio |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Yes, the character is slow to get into the action (by default, to realize that there is a fight). That's why they usually cannot do anything until their first turn.
Even this isn't a given in PF2e. The GM decides whether a creature can use a reaction before its first turn depending on the circumstances. Unfortunately, there is no guidance in GM Core about how to make this determination.
The new Guardian class refers to this rule but doesn't clear things up either.
You always gain a reaction whenever you roll initiative for combat, but you can use it only for reactions from guardian feats or class features. The GM might still rule that you can use other reactions before your first turn based on the situation, as normal.
| Claxon |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
The new Guardian class refers to this rule but doesn't clear things up either.
Ever Ready wrote:You always gain a reaction whenever you roll initiative for combat, but you can use it only for reactions from guardian feats or class features. The GM might still rule that you can use other reactions before your first turn based on the situation, as normal.
Personally I see things like this as more supporting the idea that you shouldn't be expecting to normally have your reaction before your first turn, else it minimizes the impact of this ability (which is already restricting what kind of reactions you can do) but it can obviously be interpreted in either way since it isn't explicit, just like the core GM section isn't.
| Finoan |
| 4 people marked this as a favorite. |
Pyroclastic Breath: "A creature that spends an entire round in the smoke with open eyes must succeed at a DC 44 Fortitude save or be blinded for 1 minute." How do you believe the people arguing against Delaying past the end of the round would rule on this ability if they were engulfed in this smoke after their turn, and then the round ended. Should they be blinded immediately because according to them "an entire round" has ended, or after they "get a chance to act" and it's come back around to the Linnorm's turn? This is written exactly the same way as Delay
Beautiful counterexample. That is certainly enough to convince me to invoke the Ambiguous Rules rule at the very least.
To be fair, I initially thought that the rule in Delay was meaning 'until the next time your original initiative count came up' rather than the somewhat arbitrary 'table round' that ends when the initiative count reaches zero. So I'm not really hard to convince in this case.
The new Guardian class refers to this rule but doesn't clear things up either.
It was not ambiguous to begin with and the Guardian class rule reinforces what is already perfectly clear.
"The GM determines" is valid RAW. That is not ambiguous.
Individuals may not like that answer because it means that they can't know what to expect before asking the GM and because the answer that they get changes on a case-by-case basis.
But that still doesn't make the RAW unclear or ambiguous.
| Tridus |
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
SuperParkourio wrote:Personally I see things like this as more supporting the idea that you shouldn't be expecting to normally have your reaction before your first turn, else it minimizes the impact of this ability (which is already restricting what kind of reactions you can do) but it can obviously be interpreted in either way since it isn't explicit, just like the core GM section isn't.The new Guardian class refers to this rule but doesn't clear things up either.
Ever Ready wrote:You always gain a reaction whenever you roll initiative for combat, but you can use it only for reactions from guardian feats or class features. The GM might still rule that you can use other reactions before your first turn based on the situation, as normal.
The Guardian ability is removing table variation. The Guardian has their reactions, full stop.
Since the GM gets to decide this normally there is a lot of table variation. The rules don't say "you should unless there's a reason" or "you shouldn't unless there's a reason", so there is no default being given.
That means at some tables it will matter a lot and at some other tables it won't matter very often, but the ability removes any ambiguity or variation for the Guardian player, which is nice since it means they can always do their thing. So this ability helps in both cases and thus itself doesn't act as supporting evidence either way, IMO.
| Finoan |
The Guardian ability is removing table variation. The Guardian has their reactions, full stop.
That's not entirely accurate.
The Guardian ability only guarantees that they can use their Guardian abilities. It wouldn't guarantee them a reaction that they can use for Recognize Spell or Skeptic's Defense.
To use those reactions before their first turn, they are still in the area of needing the GM to allow everyone their reactions before their first turn.
So this ability helps in both cases and thus itself doesn't act as supporting evidence either way, IMO.
And again, it very much does support the idea that the RAW is that the GM decides if the characters have their reaction available on a case-by-case basis according to the circumstances of each battle.
The GM might still rule that you can use other reactions before your first turn based on the situation, as normal.
It explicitly says that the GM making that determination based on the situation is what is intended.
What it doesn't do is give any support one way or another to help the GM determine whether or not to allow reactions before a character's first turn in any given combat scenario.
| Tridus |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Tridus wrote:So this ability helps in both cases and thus itself doesn't act as supporting evidence either way, IMO.And again, it very much does support the idea that the RAW is that the GM decides if the characters have their reaction available on a case-by-case basis according to the circumstances of each battle.
I mean, that's literally the rule. What I was replying to is the idea that this ability is evidence that the default is "you don't have reactions until you act". It shouldn't be taken as evidence either way in terms of what an assumed default is.
There isn't one: the GM just gets to decide.
| SuperParkourio |
Typically, when a player-facing rule requires the GM to determine something, GM Core provides some guidance for how to make that determination. To not have any for a rule this important is a pretty big deal.
Should I allow monster who went last to Reactive Strike the fighter with reach and improved knockdown? Should I let the wizard who was Shoved off a cliff Grab an Edge or cast Feather Fall? In what situations? Whenever they aren't ambushed? Whenever they had foreknowledge of the encounter and when it would happen? How about the cleric's spells triggered by rolling initiative?
| NorrKnekten |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
The GM determines whether you can use reactions before your first turn begins, depending on the situation in which the encounter happens. Once your first turn begins, you gain your actions and reaction.
The default is pretty clearly written. You don't have reactions unless the GM says otherwise. Theres simply to many "what if"'s to cover cleanly.
The fun part is when you realize that you have reactions while in exploration mode, To suddenly not having a reaction after initiative is rolled. Because you absolutely can take reactions before initiative is rolled.
| shroudb |
The way I do it usually is that I give them their reactions when they are anticipating or are ready for the encounter, and do not give them when they are surpised, caught off guard, and the likes.
So, if as an example one is using the Defend exploration activity, I would almost always allow him to shield block, but if the party enters initiative because they failed to spot the monstous plant while they were exploring the forest, I won't give them their reactions.
| TheFinish |
This topic raised its ugly head again in a PFS special during a convention last week-end.
My PC was last in Initiative order.
I wanted to Delay into the next round to hit opponents with an AoE effect after the Fighter could step out of the area.
Another player reacted strongly that I could not Delay past the end of the 1st round (and thus that, because of being the slowest, I could not Delay at all) because then I was reaching the end of the round and Delaying beyond that was not allowed.
"If you Delay an entire round without returning to the initiative order, the actions from the Delayed turn are lost, your initiative doesn't change, and your next turn occurs at your original position in the initiative order."
I found that interpretation preposterous as I thought being the slowest to act should not mean you could not Delay. And I argued that an entire round was between my original initiative in round 1 and my original initiative in round 2 (how I used to see rounds in 3.x/PF1) and thus I could indeed Delay in the second round.
I now believe we were both wrong, because PF2 redefined what "an entire round" is:
"A round begins when the participant with the highest initiative roll result starts their turn, and it ends when the one with the lowest initiative ends their turn."
So, in my case, the RAW seems to be, if I do not return to the initiative order soon enough:
Round 1 starts.
Round 1, my turn = I Delay (and am removed from the initiative order).
Round 1 ends. I have not yet Delayed an entire round without returning to the initiative order.
Round 2 starts with the participant with the highest initiative roll result starting their turn.
Round 2 ends with the participant with the lowest initiative ending their turn.
Round 3 begins.
I have then Delayed an entire round without returning to the initiative order.
- My actions from the Delayed turn are lost
- My initiative doesn't change
- My next turn occurs at my original position in the initiative order. On round 3.
Thoughts ?
You are in the right in theory, but your example is wrong IMO.
Lets say it's 3 enemies, you, and your Buddy, and the initiative ends up like this:
Enemy A
Enemy B
You
Enemy C
Your Buddy
Round 1, Enemy A, and Enemy B take their turns. You choose to Delay on your turn.
Enemy C goes, and you don't re-enter initiative.
Your Buddy goes, and you do not re-enter initiative.
We now begin Round 2.
Enemy A goes, and you do not re-enter initiative.
Enemy B goes, and you do not re-enter initiative.
At this point, you have spent 1 whole round in Delay, so per the rules you now come back into initiative in your original position, having lost all your actions from Round 1.
Because you can only re-enter as a free action triggered by the end of another creature's turn, there is no difference in this example between coming in after Enemy B or just letting Delay run its course and being reinserted normally. It also means you can only ever "gain" initiative if there are 2 or more creatures before you. If you go second, there is no way to ever go first.*
*At least, I think. If, in our example, you re-enter initiative after Your Buddy, I'm not sure if rules-wise you now become the last guy to take your turn on Round 1, or the first guy to take your turn on Round 2. But on the other hand I'm not entirely sure if this changes anything with regards to effects, so it might just be a non-issue.
| Easl |
Round 1 ends. I have not yet Delayed an entire round without returning to the initiative order.
Round 2 starts with the participant with the highest initiative roll result starting their turn.
I would suggest/allow you to act after the first participant has gone in Round 2. That seems both the simplest reading of the RAW and the fairest RAI.
The rules say: You can return to the initiative order as a free action triggered by the end of any other creature's turn., and the first creature in initiative order finishing their Round 2 turn qualifies (IMO). Actually any creature in Rd 2 qualifies, but this lets you go as quickly as you can.
Larger picture, there are just some initiative results which are bad for the "martial strikes, then moves clear, then caster lays down the AoE" tactic.
The Raven Black
|
If it's 3:00:55 o'clock and you wait "an entire minute", is it 3:01:00 or 3:01:55?
That's the question.
Another way of phrasing it is that an entire round has passed when initiative has come round to you again.
I honestly believe this is the common mistake so many people, myself included, actually do.
Contrary to previous editions, a round is not a duration in PF2.
It is a period of time between 2 events : when the first in Initiative starts acting and when the last in Initiative ends acting.
Note how there is zero reference in the RAW to your original position in the initiative while you are still delaying.
That is because the period between your original position in the initiative in the round when you delayed and your original position in the following round does not actually define a round.
Saying it does is actually a houserule.
What defines a round is explicitly stated: from fastest's first action to slowest's last action.
Initiative does not "come round to you again" while you are still delaying.
| katzazi |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
It's about "a full round has passed". Even if the initiative doesn't come back to you, your decision to delay is still an event that can be tracked in relation to the initiative order / a round.
You decided and declared to delay between whoever was in initiative before you and the one who was in initiative after you. Even if that is in another round.
This is still an action, that can be tracked and it may in theory trigger other things. In theory there could be a free action or a reaction to.
Even if a round is not a specific amount of time, a full round has passed, if the one before you has acted again and the one after you hasn't acted yet. (Assuming, that their position in the initiative order were not changed.)
If this couldn't be tracked the last part of the Delay-Action wouldn't be possible at all: "If you Delay an entire round without returning to the initiative order, the actions from the Delayed turn are lost, your initiative doesn't change, and your next turn occurs at your original position in the initiative order."
To return to your "original position" this position must be able to be tracked within the round even if you are currently out of the initiative order.
So while initiative may not "come round to you again", it still "comes round to your original position in the initiative order". Where you reenter if you delayed until this point.
This point will be in the next round, regardless of who delyed "for one round". And as the check, if you did or didn't return to the initiative order before that point, it only makes sense that you should be able to enter the initiative after any other creatures turn between your Delay-Action and "your original position" when it comes up in the following round.
If this wouldn't be the case, then the formulation would be something like "until the end of the current round". (But then why would anybody who wasn't last, be able to enter at their original spot when they didn't act until the end of the current round and what happens to their reactions during the next round until their original position comes up?)
| Baarogue |
| 7 people marked this as a favorite. |
Ascalaphus wrote:If it's 3:00:55 o'clock and you wait "an entire minute", is it 3:01:00 or 3:01:55?
That's the question.
Another way of phrasing it is that an entire round has passed when initiative has come round to you again.
I honestly believe this is the common mistake so many people, myself included, actually do.
Contrary to previous editions, a round is not a duration in PF2.
It is a period of time between 2 events : when the first in Initiative starts acting and when the last in Initiative ends acting.
Note how there is zero reference in the RAW to your original position in the initiative while you are still delaying.
That is because the period between your original position in the initiative in the round when you delayed and your original position in the following round does not actually define a round.
Saying it does is actually a houserule.
What defines a round is explicitly stated: from fastest's first action to slowest's last action.
Initiative does not "come round to you again" while you are still delaying.
You are incorrect
"Round" is defined on PC1 p.11 in the Key Terms. THIS is what is repeated in the glossary next to "round" because THIS is its definition
A round is a period of time during an encounter in which all participants get a chance to act. A round represents approximately 6 seconds in game time.
>a round is not a duration in PF2.
PF2: "A round is a period of time"A round absolutely IS a duration. What you are stuck on is on p.435, the Encounter Mode section, under the heading "Step 2: Play a Round" where it defines WHEN (not WHAT) a discrete (as in a numbered, first, second, etc.) round of combat begins and ends. This does not change the definition of "a round." A round remains defined as, "a period of time during an encounter in which all participants get a chance to act." If you act, and something that refers to "an entire round" is supposed to occur, that is "a period of time during an encounter in which all participants get a chance to act."
SO, when you Delay, "an entire round" is "a period of time during an encounter in which all participants get a chance to act." Once everyone else has acted, that's when "an entire round" has passed and Delay's expiration clause takes effect
| Easl |
Even if a round is not a specific amount of time, a full round has passed, if the one before you has acted again and the one after you hasn't acted yet. (Assuming, that their position in the initiative order were not changed.)
It's an entirely self-inflicted situation though. A delayer can literally ensure that a full round never passes during one of their delays. Let's imagine there is A, B, and C in initiative order, and you are C.
Round 1, C's turn: 'I delay.'Round 2, A has gone. C says "I re-enter the initiative order...now for my action, I delay."
Round 2, B has gone. C says "I re-enter the initiative order, and then act."
Neither the first delay nor the second delay was a 'delay for a full round.'
I am also not sure how this theorycrafting question bears on the OP's actual situation, because I can't think of any situation where you would need to delay for a full round in order to go immediately after a fighter moves out of an AoE.
1. If the fighter goes immediately before you (in the example, the fighter is B), then no delay is needed at all, just tactics. I.e. your fighter friend needs to take a move action as their third action to get out of the AoE. In this case, if they chose not to move in Round 1, then your best action is to do something other than the AoE in round 1, tell them to move next time, and fire the AoE in round 2.
2. If the fighter goes earlier (fighter is A) or later (fighter is "D"), then a full round delay is not needed to take your turn immediately after they go.
Super Zero
|
Ascalaphus wrote:If it's 3:00:55 o'clock and you wait "an entire minute", is it 3:01:00 or 3:01:55?
That's the question.
Another way of phrasing it is that an entire round has passed when initiative has come round to you again.
I honestly believe this is the common mistake so many people, myself included, actually do.
Contrary to previous editions, a round is not a duration in PF2.
It is a period of time between 2 events : when the first in Initiative starts acting and when the last in Initiative ends acting.
Note how there is zero reference in the RAW to your original position in the initiative while you are still delaying.
That is because the period between your original position in the initiative in the round when you delayed and your original position in the following round does not actually define a round.
Saying it does is actually a houserule.
What defines a round is explicitly stated: from fastest's first action to slowest's last action.
Initiative does not "come round to you again" while you are still delaying.
A round is absolutely a duration, and your definition doesn't work anyway since your next turn has also passed.
katzazi wrote:Even if a round is not a specific amount of time, a full round has passed, if the one before you has acted again and the one after you hasn't acted yet. (Assuming, that their position in the initiative order were not changed.)It's an entirely self-inflicted situation though. A delayer can literally ensure that a full round never passes during one of their delays. Let's imagine there is A, B, and C in initiative order, and you are C.
Round 1, C's turn: 'I delay.'
Round 2, A has gone. C says "I re-enter the initiative order...now for my action, I delay."
Round 2, B has gone. C says "I re-enter the initiative order, and then act."
That's... exactly the same. Worse if you have any ongoing effects going. There's no benefit over just delaying the round at all.
| SuperParkourio |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
I think the term "entire round" is meant to help clarify that it doesn't mean "until the start of your next turn. The whole purpose of Delay is to change when your next turn is, so it makes sense to deviate a bit from how durations are usually measured: by making a counter and decrementing at the start of each of the user's turns.
But I think there are other effects where the "entire round" understanding might be better than how they already work. For instance, Delay Consequence can be a lifesaver, or it can get you killed. It's a reaction that delays its triggers effects for 1 round, meaning until the start of your turn. There's also Cloak of Colors, which forces the attacker to save against blinded or stunned for 1 round, so attacking the target just before the caster's turn means nothing.
Super Zero
|
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
It absolutely means the start of your next turn. If you Delay an entire round, then it's just your next turn.
You generally don't want you do that, but here's what happens if you do.
And the round duration on cloak of colors is for the condition, not the spell. That's not created on the caster's turn, so it wouldn't tick down on their turn.
That can be an issue with reactions, though, sure. (...why can you Dismiss delay consequences?)
| Easl |
That's... exactly the same. Worse if you have any ongoing effects going. There's no benefit over just delaying the round at all.
I can't see any benefit in delaying until your next turn at all. In any game scenario I try to construct where you have a fighter friend in melee and you want to cast an AoE at the end of their turn, there is always a way to do that which doesn't involve delaying until your current initiative spot in the next round. The scenario I constructed above was really more about showing you can delay until your original initiative spot in the next round without technically doing a single delay for an entire round. Why would you ever want to do that? Nothing springs to mind.
| Baarogue |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
There is one interpretation of Delay and "an entire round" that could potentially reconcile the definition of a round on p.11 with the wording of Play a Round on p.435 AND the wording of Delay's turn-loss penalty with no conflicts. AND it would not prevent Delaying past the end of the initial round
Delay on round 1. If you don't re-enter initiative during round 1, round 1 ends (taking with it your turn on that round) and round 2 begins
If you remain Delayed during the entire round 2 from start to finish (which would satisfy both p.11's definition and p.435's wording) without returning to the initiative order, then "the actions from the Delayed turn are lost, your initiative doesn't change, and your next turn occurs at your original position in the initiative order." So you would lose not only your turn from round 1 upon ending that round, but also those from round 2, and you would be returned to your original position in the initiative order for round 3
I believe this to be a little clunky and super-unlikely to come up but it's a possible interpretation that might satisfy those who think like Raven and their friends. I am more likely to stick with the ruling I posted in my first reply
| TheFinish |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
Ascalaphus wrote:If it's 3:00:55 o'clock and you wait "an entire minute", is it 3:01:00 or 3:01:55?
That's the question.
Another way of phrasing it is that an entire round has passed when initiative has come round to you again.
I honestly believe this is the common mistake so many people, myself included, actually do.
Contrary to previous editions, a round is not a duration in PF2.
It is a period of time between 2 events : when the first in Initiative starts acting and when the last in Initiative ends acting.
Note how there is zero reference in the RAW to your original position in the initiative while you are still delaying.
That is because the period between your original position in the initiative in the round when you delayed and your original position in the following round does not actually define a round.
Saying it does is actually a houserule.
What defines a round is explicitly stated: from fastest's first action to slowest's last action.
Initiative does not "come round to you again" while you are still delaying.
But this doesn't really work? If we look at effects that have duration in rounds (of which there are a lot), they do not work with your definition of rounds.
If you have Enemy A, Enemy B, Bard, Enemy C, Fighter and the Bard casts Courageous Anthem on their turn, the spell won't end when the Fighter finishes their turn (which would be the End of Round 1), nor will it end when the Fighter finishes their 2nd turn (which would be the End of Round 2). Per the rules on durations, it will end at the beginning of the Bard's turn on Round 2.
This is expressly shown here and here. Delay has to use different wording because it is taking you out of the initiative order, but the intent is clear, when they mean "a full round" they mean "when your pre-delay initiative would come around again". Because that's how all round based tracking works in PF2e.
Super Zero
|
Super Zero wrote:That's... exactly the same. Worse if you have any ongoing effects going. There's no benefit over just delaying the round at all.I can't see any benefit in delaying until your next turn at all. In any game scenario I try to construct where you have a fighter friend in melee and you want to cast an AoE at the end of their turn, there is always a way to do that which doesn't involve delaying until your current initiative spot in the next round. The scenario I constructed above was really more about showing you can delay until your original initiative spot in the next round without technically doing a single delay for an entire round. Why would you ever want to do that? Nothing springs to mind.
Well no. That's why I said there wasn't. You're the one who suggested it as an exploit.
But that's... very specific. That's not the only situation where you'd Delay.It's something that might come up if you were Delaying because you were waiting for something that never happened, perhaps. You're trying to talk the enemies down, so you give them a chance to stop fighting by holding your turn until they attack. They never do. You Delay for a round, although at that point you probably move out of Initiative.
| SuperParkourio |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
It absolutely means the start of your next turn. If you Delay an entire round, then it's just your next turn.
You generally don't want you do that, but here's what happens if you do.
And the round duration on cloak of colors is for the condition, not the spell. That's not created on the caster's turn, so it wouldn't tick down on their turn.
That can be an issue with reactions, though, sure. (...why can you Dismiss delay consequences?)
Remember, once you Delay, you aren't actually in the initiative order at all. Delay doesn't force you to return at the start of your next turn, because for you to start your turn, you have to be in the initiative order.
And for Cloak of Colors, the duration rules don't actually care on what turn the effect was created, only who created the effect. This wording was likely on purpose to make things easier to track. But I would have preferred if the spell inflicted blinded or stunned "until the start of the attacker's next turn."
| Easl |
It's something that might come up if you were Delaying because you were waiting for something that never happened, perhaps. You're trying to talk the enemies down, so you give them a chance to stop fighting by holding your turn until they attack. They never do. You Delay for a round, although at that point you probably move out of Initiative.
I think we are in agreement. In encounter mode, you would just keep delaying while you talk. If they attack anyway, you stop delaying. If they talk back and nobody is doing combat encounter actions, the GM should likely take you out of encounter mode.
But I think we're now discussing weird situations that were not part of OP's concern. It sounds like a different player simply misinterpreted "If you Delay an entire round" to mean "until the end of the current round" instead of "until your initiative order comes up in the next round." And pretty much every reply since the OP has said yeah, the latter is the correct way to rule it.
| taks |
Not trying to throw fuel into the fire, but a lot of this confusion is cleared up (IMO) by readying an action. That way you don't have to sacrifice your current turn entirely, but you still get the effect you desire, which seems to be "after my fighter guy goes, I drop a fireball." Or whatever.
| Ravingdork |
I assume single action spells would be OK, and some hexes.
Yes.
I suspect "activities" was supposed to be a catchall term for things that took more than a single action early on in the game's design. However, in practice "action" and "activity" have been used interchangeably in several places throughout the rulebooks, regardless of number of actions required.
So I wouldn't place too much weight on differentiating the terms.
| Unicore |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
That's all well and good until you find yourself stuck with a GM that won't let you use Intercept Attack to cover a friend from an unseen distant sniper because he hasn't called for an Initiative roll yet.
Guardian reactions aren't guaranteed if you haven't yet rolled for Initiative.
In PF2, there are no surprise rounds, so if your GM is having someone make an attack roll without rolling initiative, they are already operating outside of the rules of the game. The sniper should be making a stealth based initiative check to see if they can get their shot off before anyone notices that something isn't right.
| Ravingdork |
The Contrarian wrote:In PF2, there are no surprise rounds, so if your GM is having someone make an attack roll without rolling initiative, they are already operating outside of the rules of the game. The sniper should be making a stealth based initiative check to see if they can get their shot off before anyone notices that something isn't right.That's all well and good until you find yourself stuck with a GM that won't let you use Intercept Attack to cover a friend from an unseen distant sniper because he hasn't called for an Initiative roll yet.
Guardian reactions aren't guaranteed if you haven't yet rolled for Initiative.
A lot of GMs don't seem to be aware of that, sadly. :(
| vegetalss4 |
Typically, when a player-facing rule requires the GM to determine something, GM Core provides some guidance for how to make that determination. To not have any for a rule this important is a pretty big deal.
Should I allow monster who went last to Reactive Strike the fighter with reach and improved knockdown? Should I let the wizard who was Shoved off a cliff Grab an Edge or cast Feather Fall? In what situations? Whenever they aren't ambushed? Whenever they had foreknowledge of the encounter and when it would happen? How about the cleric's spells triggered by rolling initiative?
Personally as a GM I'd treat different reactions differently.
The Giant with Reactive Strike probably wouldn't get to do it (they might if say they were fighting in some sort of Arena or Duel with initative being rolled when the Announcer shouted to begin).That makes sense to me as something where not reacting fast enough makes sense.
But someone shoved off a cliff would get to Grab an Edge or cast feather fall, falling isn't actually instant after all, it'd probably be a whole second, perhaps even two where they don't react. (but they might not if they where really surprised or if the fall is short enough).
| Claxon |
Unicore wrote:A lot of GMs don't seem to be aware of that, sadly. :(The Contrarian wrote:In PF2, there are no surprise rounds, so if your GM is having someone make an attack roll without rolling initiative, they are already operating outside of the rules of the game. The sniper should be making a stealth based initiative check to see if they can get their shot off before anyone notices that something isn't right.That's all well and good until you find yourself stuck with a GM that won't let you use Intercept Attack to cover a friend from an unseen distant sniper because he hasn't called for an Initiative roll yet.
Guardian reactions aren't guaranteed if you haven't yet rolled for Initiative.
Some (myself included) simply don't like that change.
And I still contend that a guardian, unaware of the threat (because they didn't beat the perception) shouldn't be able to react to the sniper's shot.
It does make an certain amount of sense that an enemy the guardian isn't aware can make an attack that can't be intercepted.
| Tridus |
Some (myself included) simply don't like that change.
Agreed. It just feels awkward in play so we handle it in a way that works for us.
And I still contend that a guardian, unaware of the threat (because they didn't beat the perception) shouldn't be able to react to the sniper's shot.
RAW the only way they can't is if they can't act (aka: stunned/unconscious), or an attack is coming before initiative is rolled, which as was mentioned is already a house rule situation. I'd still let them do it though, because the intent of the rules (and the RAW) is that Guardians are extraordinarily good defenders and are always ready to respond to an attack.
Not letting them do that is a nerf to something that is part of the class theme, so I wouldn't do it even with my house ruling how stealth attacks work. I just say "if the Guardian is awake and can act, they're always able to use Guardian reactions, full stop." That's consistent with the intent of the class when applied to my house rule.
| Claxon |
Claxon wrote:Some (myself included) simply don't like that change.Agreed. It just feels awkward in play so we handle it in a way that works for us.
Quote:And I still contend that a guardian, unaware of the threat (because they didn't beat the perception) shouldn't be able to react to the sniper's shot.RAW the only way they can't is if they can't act (aka: stunned/unconscious), or an attack is coming before initiative is rolled, which as was mentioned is already a house rule situation. I'd still let them do it though, because the intent of the rules (and the RAW) is that Guardians are extraordinarily good defenders and are always ready to respond to an attack.
Not letting them do that is a nerf to something that is part of the class theme, so I wouldn't do it even with my house ruling how stealth attacks work. I just say "if the Guardian is awake and can act, they're always able to use Guardian reactions, full stop." That's consistent with the intent of the class when applied to my house rule.
I agree that your interpretation is valid, and that what I'm saying falls into house rule territory, but I still personally think it makes sense. While I agree guardians should be exceptional defenders, I do think there needs to be some occasions in which they can still be surprised and unable to defend.
And to say more generally, I generally wouldn't let players use reactions in response to things they're not aware of. In many cases it doesn't matter, but this is one where it does. Explicitly speaking, the guardian doesn't require awareness of an attack to intercept it.
And to be clear, I'm not saying the guardian can't use their guardian reactions at all. If there is a sniper that the guardian spots, they can absolutely use their reaction. What I'm saying is, if the sniper shoots and that's what initiates combat, and the guardian had no awareness of the sniper until the shot, the way I'm going to run things is not to allow the guardian to intercept that shot.
| Claxon |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
Yeah, for sure. It definitely makes sense. Just different takes on the way to house rule this area, not a criticism of your version. :)
Yeah, simply slightly different "visions" for what the game should look like. And as long as players are on board, a little variation like this should be encouraged (IMO).