Swashbuckler Bleeding Finisher questions


Rules Discussion


Bleeding Finisher:
"Your blow inflicts profuse bleeding. Make a slashing or piercing Strike with a weapon or unarmed attack that allows you to add your precise strike damage. If you hit, the target also takes persistent bleed damage equal to your precise strike finisher damage."

Two questions:
1 - Am I correct in thinking that the persistent bleed damage is in addition to the precision damage from precise strike class feature? For example: [when weapon damage]+ 4d6 [precision damage from finisher]+ 4d6 [persistent bleed from feat]

2 - Is the persistent bleed damage doubled on a critical hit?

I'm sorry if this topic has been asked before, tried to search it in the forum, could not find it.

Thanks for your thoughts!


1 - Yes. "The target also takes persistent bleed damage equal to your precise strike finisher damage." Finishers don't mention that you add the precise strike damage to the base Strike by default, because it's covered by the base precise strike feature (and because, in theory, you can use finishers with attacks that don't qualify for precise strike, although bleeding finisher and confident finisher specify that you must).

2 - Yes. This is less obvious, but was clarified in the FAQs/errata relatively recently. Open the CRB errata (3rd printing) section and ctrl+f for "bleed."


egindar wrote:

1 - Yes. "The target also takes persistent bleed damage equal to your precise strike finisher damage." Finishers don't mention that you add the precise strike damage to the base Strike by default, because it's covered by the base precise strike feature (and because, in theory, you can use finishers with attacks that don't qualify for precise strike, although bleeding finisher and confident finisher specify that you must).

2 - Yes. This is less obvious, but was clarified in the FAQs/errata relatively recently. Open the CRB errata (3rd printing) section and ctrl+f for "bleed."

Thank for clarifying. It almost seems too good to be true, but then again my character is spending a lot of actions in order to gain panache where a different class (fighter/barbarian) could just stand and whack multiple times getting out consistent damage instead of incidental peaks.


Bleeding Finisher is amazing. I very much enjoyed using it on my Swashbuckler.

Swashbuckler doesn't have the raw power of Fighter or Barb unfortunately, but it makes up for it with style.


Level 8 is the turning point of swashbuckler when it becomes a much more potent striker because this feat exists. Dual finisher is also very good with thrown or reach weapons.


Dual Finisher doesn't work with thrown weapons.

Dual Finisher wrote:
Make two melee Strikes

Impaling Finisher at 4 is okay for them, but still requires you to be adjacent to one and as written I'm pretty sure still works with a normal, non-reach weapon.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Guntermench wrote:

Dual Finisher doesn't work with thrown weapons.

Dual Finisher wrote:
Make two melee Strikes
Impaling Finisher at 4 is okay for them, but still requires you to be adjacent to one and as written I'm pretty sure still works with a normal, non-reach weapon.

There's reason enough to argue that flying blade overrides that melee attack restriction.

Key sentence:
"This also allows you to make a thrown weapon ranged Strike for Confident Finisher and any other finisher that includes a Strike that can benefit from your precise strike."

Horizon Hunters

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Guntermench wrote:

Dual Finisher doesn't work with thrown weapons.

Dual Finisher wrote:
Make two melee Strikes
Impaling Finisher at 4 is okay for them, but still requires you to be adjacent to one and as written I'm pretty sure still works with a normal, non-reach weapon.

Most finishers say to make a melee strike. Even Impaling Finisher says to make a "bludgeoning or piercing melee Strike". I doubt Flying Blade was only meant to work on some finishers. Just let Swashbucklers be flashy, it's kinda their thing.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Swashbuckler Bleeding Finisher questions All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.