
shroudb |
I don't think there's a RAW answer, but what stands to reason for me is that when you use a Grapple weapon, you basically substitute that for the hand requirement.
So I would personally rule that as long as you are using the weapon for grappling you cannot use it to also attack without breaking said grapple.

Qaianna |

I'm imagining that you're holding something at the end of a long pole. You can't really kick or stab at it, but it's not kicking or stabbing you. I'm comparing it to those weird animal control sticks.
I also haven't seen anything preventing the grappler from moving, so I think you could Grapple with the hook at reach, then later Step in, and headbutt your new friend. (And use an action to keep the hold, of course.)

HammerJack |
2 people marked this as a favorite. |

I'm imagining that you're holding something at the end of a long pole. You can't really kick or stab at it, but it's not kicking or stabbing you. I'm comparing it to those weird animal control sticks.
I also haven't seen anything preventing the grappler from moving, so I think you could Grapple with the hook at reach, then later Step in, and headbutt your new friend. (And use an action to keep the hold, of course.)
The Grapple action itself is the thing that prevents the grappler from moving. The success and critical success results are as follows:
Critical Success Your target is restrained until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.
Success Your target is grabbed until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.

Qaianna |

Qaianna wrote:I'm imagining that you're holding something at the end of a long pole. You can't really kick or stab at it, but it's not kicking or stabbing you. I'm comparing it to those weird animal control sticks.
I also haven't seen anything preventing the grappler from moving, so I think you could Grapple with the hook at reach, then later Step in, and headbutt your new friend. (And use an action to keep the hold, of course.)
The Grapple action itself is the thing that prevents the grappler from moving. The success and critical success results are as follows:
Critical Success Your target is restrained until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.
Success Your target is grabbed until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.
Argh, missed that. Hope you have someone nearby who can take advantage then. You're committed to ... well, standing there, I guess. Seems weird. Well, there's ... er ...
...
Suddenly Grapple with Reach doesn't seem as fun.

graystone |

HammerJack wrote:Qaianna wrote:I'm imagining that you're holding something at the end of a long pole. You can't really kick or stab at it, but it's not kicking or stabbing you. I'm comparing it to those weird animal control sticks.
I also haven't seen anything preventing the grappler from moving, so I think you could Grapple with the hook at reach, then later Step in, and headbutt your new friend. (And use an action to keep the hold, of course.)
The Grapple action itself is the thing that prevents the grappler from moving. The success and critical success results are as follows:
Critical Success Your target is restrained until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.
Success Your target is grabbed until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.Argh, missed that. Hope you have someone nearby who can take advantage then. You're committed to ... well, standing there, I guess. Seems weird. Well, there's ... er ...
...
Suddenly Grapple with Reach doesn't seem as fun.
Well you could use jellyfish stance: the unarmed attack is reach and not limb specific so you could kick the target of your grapple without moving.

shroudb |
HammerJack wrote:Qaianna wrote:I'm imagining that you're holding something at the end of a long pole. You can't really kick or stab at it, but it's not kicking or stabbing you. I'm comparing it to those weird animal control sticks.
I also haven't seen anything preventing the grappler from moving, so I think you could Grapple with the hook at reach, then later Step in, and headbutt your new friend. (And use an action to keep the hold, of course.)
The Grapple action itself is the thing that prevents the grappler from moving. The success and critical success results are as follows:
Critical Success Your target is restrained until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.
Success Your target is grabbed until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.Argh, missed that. Hope you have someone nearby who can take advantage then. You're committed to ... well, standing there, I guess. Seems weird. Well, there's ... er ...
...
Suddenly Grapple with Reach doesn't seem as fun.
Grapple with reach is amazing as a last action/crowd control.
It means that the enemy has to waste at least 2 actions, and suffer a -5 to his single remaining attack of the round.
It basically nullifies one enemy's turn.

Lucerious |

To complicate it more, how about the combat grapnel? It has Finesse, Grapple, Tethered, Thrown 20’, Uncommon. In the description it says it can be used as a climbing tool and is attached to a rope 10’ long and can be swung as a weapon. So…it presumably has Reach without the tag and can be used to grapple at…10’?…By being thrown to 20’? Basic reasoning would say the Grapple feature would only work at up to 10’, but the weapon doesn’t have the Reach tag so that may also mean only at the standard 5’.
This weapon makes no sense to me! Argh!

graystone |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

To complicate it more, how about the combat grapnel? It has Finesse, Grapple, Tethered, Thrown 20’, Uncommon. In the description it says it can be used as a climbing tool and is attached to a rope 10’ long and can be swung as a weapon. So…it presumably has Reach without the tag and can be used to grapple at…10’?…By being thrown to 20’? Basic reasoning would say the Grapple feature would only work at up to 10’, but the weapon doesn’t have the Reach tag so that may also mean only at the standard 5’.
This weapon makes no sense to me! Argh!
You don't have reach so you can only grapple within our normal reach anything past that is ranged combat which is 20' increments but to use tethered you are limited to 10' meaning to throw 15'+ you have to let go of the rope. This, IMO, the 20' of rope are used to wrap around targets.
You can also look at the Aklys fr a weapon with an attached rope that uses it for Tethered and not reach. Tethered + rope is there to retrieve your weapon not to increase your reach.

HammerJack |

Qaianna wrote:Well you could use jellyfish stance: the unarmed attack is reach and not limb specific so you could kick the target of your grapple without moving.HammerJack wrote:Qaianna wrote:I'm imagining that you're holding something at the end of a long pole. You can't really kick or stab at it, but it's not kicking or stabbing you. I'm comparing it to those weird animal control sticks.
I also haven't seen anything preventing the grappler from moving, so I think you could Grapple with the hook at reach, then later Step in, and headbutt your new friend. (And use an action to keep the hold, of course.)
The Grapple action itself is the thing that prevents the grappler from moving. The success and critical success results are as follows:
Critical Success Your target is restrained until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.
Success Your target is grabbed until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.Argh, missed that. Hope you have someone nearby who can take advantage then. You're committed to ... well, standing there, I guess. Seems weird. Well, there's ... er ...
...
Suddenly Grapple with Reach doesn't seem as fun.
It would, of course, not prevent them from retaliating against you the way that holding them at the end of a stick might.

graystone |

graystone wrote:It would, of course, not prevent them from retaliating against you the way that holding them at the end of a stick might.Qaianna wrote:Well you could use jellyfish stance: the unarmed attack is reach and not limb specific so you could kick the target of your grapple without moving.HammerJack wrote:Qaianna wrote:I'm imagining that you're holding something at the end of a long pole. You can't really kick or stab at it, but it's not kicking or stabbing you. I'm comparing it to those weird animal control sticks.
I also haven't seen anything preventing the grappler from moving, so I think you could Grapple with the hook at reach, then later Step in, and headbutt your new friend. (And use an action to keep the hold, of course.)
The Grapple action itself is the thing that prevents the grappler from moving. The success and critical success results are as follows:
Critical Success Your target is restrained until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.
Success Your target is grabbed until the end of your next turn unless you move or your target Escapes.Argh, missed that. Hope you have someone nearby who can take advantage then. You're committed to ... well, standing there, I guess. Seems weird. Well, there's ... er ...
...
Suddenly Grapple with Reach doesn't seem as fun.
Why is that? Your jellyfish stance kick is reach as is your gill hook grapple. Unless they too have reach, I don't see how they are attacking back.

HammerJack |

The size and space rules dont support the idea of being out of someone's reach while holding onto them with your body any more than logic does.
From CRB page 474:
The Space entry lists how many feet on a side a creature’s space is, so a Large creature fills a 10-foot-by-10-foot space (4 squares on the grid). Sometimes part of a creature extends beyond its space, such as if a giant octopus is grabbing you with its tentacles. In that case, the GM will usually allow attacking the extended portion, even if you can’t reach the main creature. A Small or larger creature or object takes up at least 1 square on a grid, and creatures of these sizes can’t usually share spaces except in situations like a character riding a mount. Rules for moving through other creatures’ spaces appear below.
EDIT: More importantly, though, it's because I misread like a chump and thought you were saying jellyfish stance also has reach grapple. So unarmed reach grapple and unarmed reach strikes with other limbs. Holding them at reach with a boarding pike while kicking with reach is probably only subject to readied strikes, not retaliation on your turn.