Raise a Tome and The Whispering Reed


Advice


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

So... I'm playing through Abomination Vault and we recently picked up the Magical Artifact The Whispering Reed right here.

The important thing is the destruction part.

Spoilers for Abomination Vault:
Destruction Copies of The Whispering Reeds have no special protections and can be destroyed like any regular book, but doing so exposes the one who destroyed the book to the Empty Death.

Empty Death (curse, necromancy, occult) Saving Throw DC 27 Will; Effect If you activate The Whispering Reeds and are not a worshipper of Nhimbaloth, you become stupefied 2 for 24 hours as your thoughts fill with paranoia that something is watching you from the other side of death. If you die while affected by the Empty Death, you immediately become a chaotic evil ghost. Every 7 days that pass after you become a ghost, you must succeed at a DC 2 flat check— failure indicates that you are consumed by Nhimbaloth. A creature whose ghost is consumed in this way does not travel to the River of Souls and is utterly annihilated; this creature can only be restored to life via a 10th-level spell effect or ritual like wish.

It was just a really funny idea to me... but what if a Magus used the feat Raise a Tome-

You raise up the book you're holding and flip it open to defend yourself and expedite your studies. The book remains raised until the start of your next turn. While you have a book raised, you gain a +2 circumstance bonus to AC and a +1 circumstance bonus to Recall Knowledge to identify creatures using a skill related to the subject of the book (Arcana if you're using your spellbook). This bonus is in addition to any item bonus the book normally gives to the check.

If you have Shield Block, you can use the tome for that feat (Hardness 3, HP 12, BT 6) as though it were a shield. Whenever you use an ability that allows you to Raise a Shield, such as Emergency Targe, you can Raise a Tome instead, changing any requirements that normally require a shield to apply to your book.

As a shield and then have an enemy break the tome. It would curse them right?

Liberty's Edge

1 person marked this as a favorite.

lol no way, it would target the Magus 100%, they voluntarily placed it directly in harm's way in the same way as if they threw it into a volcano.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber

Hmm, I don't know about that, it's not a guarantee that I'm holding up the book to be destroyed. I'm using it to give me the AC bonus. I'm not holding any ill will to my book. I don't know the damage they roll before I say shield block. I try and protect my shields to repair them later.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Archane wrote:
It was just a really funny idea to me... but what if a Magus used the feat Raise a Tome ... As a shield and then have an enemy break the tome. It would curse them right?

It is an amusing idea. I don't think I would go for it as a general rule. Too much opportunity for abuse.

Same as shenanigans with Glyph of Warding. No, you can't strap a leather sack warded with Glyph of Warding onto your shield and force an enemy to take the results of the Glyph when you shield block with it.


Pathfinder Adventure Path, Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
breithauptclan wrote:
Archane wrote:
It was just a really funny idea to me... but what if a Magus used the feat Raise a Tome ... As a shield and then have an enemy break the tome. It would curse them right?

It is an amusing idea. I don't think I would go for it as a general rule. Too much opportunity for abuse.

Same as shenanigans with Glyph of Warding. No, you can't strap a leather sack warded with Glyph of Warding onto your shield and force an enemy to take the results of the Glyph when you shield block with it.

True, but this is tied to the book when it's destroyed. It's an artifact so not re-creatable. I was just thinking it was a fun way to destroy the evil artifact

Sovereign Court

Seems like a legit find to me. You're holding up the book, it's up to them to try to hit you and not the book.


4 people marked this as a favorite.
Ascalaphus wrote:
Seems like a legit find to me. You're holding up the book, it's up to them to try to hit you and not the book.

Doesn't that kind of get invalidated the moment you spend a reaction to put the book in front of the enemy's sword?

You say "it's up to them" but it's the player's choice and once it's made there's literally nothing the enemy can do to stop it.


7 people marked this as a favorite.

I say we split the difference. Everyone gets cursed.

The enemy for striking it, and the player for holding it up in the first place, the party for not calling the magus on their shenanigans and the GM for letting this happen in the first place. And possibly the GM's cat for planning this in the first place. You would have no proof that the cat was involved, but you also cannot be sure that they weren't.

Oprah Winfrey this situation, and it will likely never be a problem.


IMO

RAW: Yes you can. In practice there's nothing saying that the book will curse those who are just wielding it even if you are using it to block (kkkk). So in practice still the attacker that's destroyed the book.

RAI: A GM can easily understand that once is the Magus who is exposing the book to danger is him/her that will be responsible to the book destruction. Yet cursed things can easily be ominous, specially the evil ones, it's perfectly possible that curse only affects the attacker due simplicity or effect the magus due it's intentions or even affect both. Is up to GM to decide what will happen. This can easily turned into some unexpected fun/interesting effects at GM discretion.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
beowulf99 wrote:
And possibly the GM's cat for planning this in the first place. You would have no proof that the cat was involved, but you also cannot be sure that they weren't.

I would never...


1 person marked this as a favorite.

:looks questioningly at its familiar:


1 person marked this as a favorite.

... OK, fair.


2 people marked this as a favorite.

BTW, in case no one else has noticed - the chronomancy bug on these forums seems to have been fixed. Yay.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

I'd say that the magus is definitely affected by the curse every time after the first he uses the book to Raise a Tome. Because the book tries to curse everyone who reads it too much and Raise a Tome seems to mean reading the book at the same time.


I would allow it. Its a creative way to destroy an evil artifact and I would give you a hero point for thinking outside the box


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Always amusing when someone bumps a thread from so long ago that the forum software has forgotten that I have posted in it previously.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Advice / Raise a Tome and The Whispering Reed All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.