Reaction to move during Flurry of Blows


Rules Discussion


I am running a game where an enemy has a reaction that allows them to step away from an opponent who strikes them in melee. A monk attacks with Flurry of Blows and hits with the first attack. Can they move away immediately, or do they need to wait for the Flurry to finish before taking the reaction?

This is a play by post and the player rolled a natural 20 on the second attack, so a lot riding on this answer.

Liberty's Edge

No, FoB attacks are for all intents and purposes treated as landing at the exact same time and you cannot react in the middle of the Activity.


What reaction is it?


Limitations on Triggers wrote:
If two triggers are similar, but not identical, the GM determines whether you can use one action in response to each or whether they’re effectively the same thing. Usually, this decision will be based on what’s happening in the narrative.

So, while the triggers are similar (strikes) and not identical (action versus activity), you ultimately have the final say in this, but the narrative does play a factor in your decision.

With the above in mind, I would rule no, you couldn't, since the activity hasn't finished, and you are Striking twice in the same amount of time as Striking once, and the ability's mechanics account for this. The reaction is written with the assumption of a Strike action, not a specialty Strike activity that includes multiple Strikes in its actions.

Now, if an ability did not possess mechanics that treat them as simultaneously, I could see the argument going the other way, such as with Impossible Flurry. But since the rules support the other claim, I would not be surprised if the player is upset you rule that he can take his reaction mid-activity.

Sczarni

This is probably similar:

In a game I played yesterday, a dragon used its two-action Draconic Frenzy to make three Strikes at the party Sorcerer.

When the first Strike hit, the Champion in the group used Liberating Step, allowing the Sorcerer to Step out of range from the remaining two Strikes.

Everyone thought that made sense. Did we do that wrong?


Nefreet wrote:

This is probably similar:

In a game I played yesterday, a dragon used its two-action Draconic Frenzy to make three Strikes at the party Sorcerer.

When the first Strike hit, the Champion in the group used Liberating Step, allowing the Sorcerer to Step out of range from the remaining two Strikes.

Everyone thought that made sense. Did we do that wrong?

I think not; sounds good. I disagree that it's a matter of timing, fitting multiple Strikes into a smaller time frame. I do think that when Strikes combine their damage for the purposes of Weakness/Resistances/adding precision damage/etc. that they're concurrent so there's no space between in which to React.


Tough one.

I think reactions are meant to kick in also during attack sequences, but I am no sure if they are meant to interrupt them.

Are there situations where enemies have lines saying "combine attacks" And similar?

Because 2e doesn't seem to rely on pvp stuff, and because so it won't matter whatever the outcome, because it's not going to happen in the first place.

As a final note, there's the "if" Part of the sentence which can be interpreted in different ways.

Sczarni

1 person marked this as a favorite.

This line from the general rules for Activities suggests that you can indeed interrupt them:

"If an activity gets interrupted or disrupted in an encounter (page 462), you lose all the actions you committed to it."


Nefreet wrote:

This line from the general rules for Activities suggests that you can indeed interrupt them:

"If an activity gets interrupted or disrupted in an encounter (page 462), you lose all the actions you committed to it."

That's pretty different though.

It's how AoO works with manipulate actions.

By stepping as part of a reaction you don't interrupt anything.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
cmlobue wrote:

I am running a game where an enemy has a reaction that allows them to step away from an opponent who strikes them in melee. A monk attacks with Flurry of Blows and hits with the first attack. Can they move away immediately, or do they need to wait for the Flurry to finish before taking the reaction?

This is a play by post and the player rolled a natural 20 on the second attack, so a lot riding on this answer.

It really depends on the trigger.

If the trigger is dealing damage, then both attacks have to be performed as the damage is done only after both have hit.
If the trigger is being hit, then yes, you move after the first hit and the monk is sad.

Flurry of Blows strikes are in succession, not simultaneous. That's why you apply MAP to the second one, because there's a second one.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

If AoO can be triggered by movement but interrupt the very same movement, I don't see why you couldn't move away between the blows in a flurry.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
Castilliano wrote:
I do think that when Strikes combine their damage for the purposes of Weakness/Resistances/adding precision damage/etc. that they're concurrent so there's no space between in which to React.

I think this is a pretty good line to draw.


I really think there should be a clear delimitation between RAW and houserules. There's nothing in the rules about simultaneous actions, it doesn't exist in the game.

Also, I remind you of Hunted Shot description: "Make two Strikes against your prey with the required weapon. If both hit the same creature, combine their damage for the purpose of resistances and weaknesses."

So, if you manage to make 2 simultaneous attacks with a bow, I'm interested in seeing how you do it.

Per RAW, you can react between both attacks. No space between actions doesn't exist in the game, actions happen in a succession.

As a side note, if there is another enemy in melee range from the monk, the monk can make their second attack against this opponent. It may allow them to keep their critical hit.


Pathfinder Lost Omens, Rulebook Subscriber
SuperBidi wrote:

So, if you manage to make 2 simultaneous attacks with a bow, I'm interested in seeing how you do it.

Elementary!


3 people marked this as a favorite.
SuperBidi wrote:
I really think there should be a clear delimitation between RAW and houserules. There's nothing in the rules about simultaneous actions, it doesn't exist in the game.

Yes, it does.

You can use only one single action, activity, or free action that doesn’t have a trigger at a time. You must complete one before beginning another. For example, the Sudden Charge activity states you must Stride twice and then Strike, so you couldn’t use an Interact action to open a door in the middle of the movement, nor could you perform part of the move, make your attack, and then finish the move.

Free actions with triggers and reactions work differently. You can use these whenever the trigger occurs, even if the trigger occurs in the middle of another action.

You can't interrupt your own activity with a different action. But both you and your enemies can interrupt your activity with reactions, or free actions with triggers.


breithauptclan wrote:
SuperBidi wrote:
I really think there should be a clear delimitation between RAW and houserules. There's nothing in the rules about simultaneous actions, it doesn't exist in the game.

Yes, it does.

You can use only one single action, activity, or free action that doesn’t have a trigger at a time. You must complete one before beginning another. For example, the Sudden Charge activity states you must Stride twice and then Strike, so you couldn’t use an Interact action to open a door in the middle of the movement, nor could you perform part of the move, make your attack, and then finish the move.

Free actions with triggers and reactions work differently. You can use these whenever the trigger occurs, even if the trigger occurs in the middle of another action.

You can't interrupt your own activity with a different action. But both you and your enemies can interrupt your activity with reactions, or free actions with triggers.

The text you quote indicates that there aren't simultaneous actions. You are nitpicky!


I have to agree that it depends on the reaction. If the reaction triggers on damage, then you can't avoid the second FOB hit, since damage is rolled together, but for Draconic Frenzy you can move between attacks. If it triggers on a hit, then the reaction goes off after each attack roll, possibly moving you out of reach of the follow up attack.


Unfortunately, the monk is out of luck. The first Strike would trigger the reaction and the second could be redirected to another enemy in reach or else be wasted.


SuperBidi wrote:
The text you quote indicates that there aren't simultaneous actions. You are nitpicky!

I'm probably just misunderstanding what you are saying. I am indeed very literal.

That's why I like to role-play as an android.


Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game, Starfinder Society Subscriber
SuperBidi wrote:
breithauptclan wrote:
SuperBidi wrote:
I really think there should be a clear delimitation between RAW and houserules. There's nothing in the rules about simultaneous actions, it doesn't exist in the game.

Yes, it does.

You can use only one single action, activity, or free action that doesn’t have a trigger at a time. You must complete one before beginning another. For example, the Sudden Charge activity states you must Stride twice and then Strike, so you couldn’t use an Interact action to open a door in the middle of the movement, nor could you perform part of the move, make your attack, and then finish the move.

Free actions with triggers and reactions work differently. You can use these whenever the trigger occurs, even if the trigger occurs in the middle of another action.

You can't interrupt your own activity with a different action. But both you and your enemies can interrupt your activity with reactions, or free actions with triggers.
The text you quote indicates that there aren't simultaneous actions. You are nitpicky!

The bold section describes simultaneous actions.

By the rest of that quote the two Strikes in Flurry of Blows can't happen at the same time.

And if the reaction triggers on a Strike then there's nothing preventing them from using that reaction at the same time as the FoB's first Strike.


I believe the intent is that the enemy would be able to move away between strikes. Otherwise, the CRB wouldn't have to go out of it's way to tell you how Move actions that trigger Reactions works specifically, it would just be the standard resolution.

So when Simultaneous Actions says that, "Free actions with triggers and reactions work differently. You can use these whenever the trigger occurs, even if the trigger occurs in the middle of another action," it means exactly what it means. Trigger is satisfied, the triggering action was not a move action, the step happens immediately.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Reaction to move during Flurry of Blows All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.