Archetype changes.


Rules Questions


I'm looking at the Sacred Huntsmaster Inquisitor. It gives an animal companion. Would someone using that archetype still be able to take the Chivalry Inquisition and gain a mount that's separate from the companion?


I can't see anything saying you can't take that Inquisition.

You wouldn't be able to use it as well as an unarchetyped Inquisitor since you trade out Judgement stuff, but it doesn't seem to violate any archetype rules as far as I can tell.

And yes as far as I know you can have more than one companion - the only exception I can think of is Eidolons, who won't share (and I could be misremembering that as well).


In the Druid animal companion rules it states that the druid’s class level stacks with level of any other class that are entitled to an animal companion. The Chivalry inquisition states that it is the same as the cavalier ability mount. The Cavaliers mount functions as a druids animal companion. Which brings us back to the druid’s rules. So all sources of the animal companion are the same which means they stack and are not separate. I believe there is a rule stating that an ability cannot be higher than your class level. Which would mean the animal companion is limited to your total level. So you don’t get double your level in animal companion abilities.

So no you would not get two animal companions, nor would you get a single companion with twice the normal power. You might be able to multiclass the inquisitor and continue to advance the mount even if the other class did not have an animal companion.


1 person marked this as a favorite.

There's an faq out there that says the druid levels only stack if the animal companion has identical restrictions.

Mount and Companion FAQ


There we go, I stand corrected


Excerpt from Druid animal companion “ If a character receives an animal companion from more than one source, her effective druid levels stack for the purposes of determining the statistics and abilities of the companion”. The usual interpretation of “source” is class levels that grant an animal companion. If this is the case then both the animal companion and the mount come from the same source and therefore do not stack and you get both at full level. If you interpret “more than one source” as meaning separate class features then the effective Druid level stacks(provided they can stack as allowed by the above FAQ). Effective Druid level can stack well past your character level though but your Companions HD cannot exceed the masters HD+1 as detailed in this post by one of the devs “ Related Point: Can I have an 18th-level animal companion at level 12?
A character’s effective druid level for determining the abilities of her animal companion (based on Table 3–8 on page 52 of the Pathfinder RPG Core Rulebook) cannot increase her animal companion’s Hit Dice above her actual character level + 1. An animal companion receives no additional abilities for its level unless it has the requisite number of Hit Dice; a character can increase her effective druid level further, though these effective levels do not grant any benefit until the character’s actual level increases. For example, a 12th-level aasimar oracle with the nature mystery and the bonded mount revelation could theoretically have an “18th-level” animal companion; however, her animal companion would only be “16th-level” for all abilities because the animal could not have more than 13 Hit Dice”.


Mysterious Stranger wrote:

In the Druid animal companion rules it states that the druid’s class level stacks with level of any other class that are entitled to an animal companion. The Chivalry inquisition states that it is the same as the cavalier ability mount. The Cavaliers mount functions as a druids animal companion. Which brings us back to the druid’s rules. So all sources of the animal companion are the same which means they stack and are not separate. I believe there is a rule stating that an ability cannot be higher than your class level. Which would mean the animal companion is limited to your total level. So you don’t get double your level in animal companion abilities.

So no you would not get two animal companions, nor would you get a single companion with twice the normal power. You might be able to multiclass the inquisitor and continue to advance the mount even if the other class did not have an animal companion.

You are completely wrong on multiple accounts here… you are trying too hard to use cyclical logic here, and it has caused you to come to an erroneous conclusion.

1) When it comes to Animal Companions and Mounts, the two features only stack it the selected animal is valid for both. If not, then the two features are treated as separate and do not stack class levels.

2) Having two sources of the animal companions class feature from one single class does not allow you to double your animal companions level. If you are level 10, you have animal companion of a 10th level druid, not 20th. Their exist only a few ways to have an animal companion using an effective Druid level greater than your total level, and those methods only increase it by 1 to a cap of EDL 21, which doesn’t really do anything.

3) The stacking EDL rules for Animal companions allows for a character to elect to gain a second animal companion instead of stacking levels any time they gain an animal companion class feature from a different source. Doing so prevents you from ever counting the levels from that source for your other companion, and vise-versa. The OPs scenario creates an explicit exception to this. One source gives the Hunter’s animal companion treating your Inquisitor level as Hunter levels for the animal companion, and the other source gives a Cavalier’s Mount counting your Inquisitor levels as Cavalier levels. This exception creates an effective Hunter level and effective Cavalier level, that are both separately converted into effective Druid levels.


Pathfinder Starfinder Society Subscriber

Wasn't the cap on effective druid level for animal companions a PFS-specific ruling? As I recall, some later errata greatly reduced the likelihood of such situations coming up, but this forum is showing some corner cases that slipped through the cracks.


One huge hole is the Animal Ally feat “ Prerequisites: Nature Soul, character level 4th, must not have an animal companion or mount that advances as an animal companion.

Benefit: You gain an animal companion as if you were a druid of your character level –3 from the following list: badger, bird, camel, cat (small), dire rat, dog, horse, pony, snake (viper), or wolf. If you later gain an animal companion through another source (such as the Animal domain, divine bond, hunter’s bond, mount, or nature bond class features), the effective druid level granted by this feat stacks with that granted by other sources.” If an Oracle with the Nature mystery takes this feat and then takes the Bonded Mount revelation at 18th level they would have an effective Druid level of 33 which is bonkers high. I think the PFS ruling should always be applied when EDL exceeds character level.


Trokarr wrote:
If an Oracle with the Nature mystery takes this feat and then takes the Bonded Mount revelation at 18th level they would have an effective Druid level of 33 which is bonkers high.

If an Oracle with the feat takes the Bonded Mount revelation, they now have a "mount that advances as an animal companion", and the Oracle no longer fulfills the prereqs, which shuts down the feat.


David knott 242 wrote:


Wasn't the cap on effective druid level for animal companions a PFS-specific ruling? As I recall, some later errata greatly reduced the likelihood of such situations coming up, but this forum is showing some corner cases that slipped through the cracks.

Yeah.

John Compton wrote:
This is a conscious modification to how the rules work for the few cases that would allow a character to have an animal companion with a higher effective level than she does—primarily related to oracles’ use of the aasimar and elf alternate favored class bonuses.

It's just a house rule of organized play. Meaning that the default behavior is for the sources to stack. Not saying your GM should necessarily always let them stack. Obviously broken rules shouldn't be used just because RAW.


Derklord this feat has been heatedly debated in other threads and I won’t start another one here but I will point out that the feat clearly states that it’s EDL stacks with other sources. This would be impossible if gaining an animal companion later invalidated the feat. It makes no sense and that’s all I will say on the topic.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Archetype changes. All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.