Ranger - Warden Spells for Ranger and Scroll


Pathfinder Second Edition General Discussion


Can a ranger with warded spell use scroll from "Primal spell list" ?

Warden Spells

Quote:


Your relationship with the world around you extends from the physical to the magical. Certain feats grant you warden spells, which are a type of focus spells. It costs 1 Focus Point (FP) to cast a focus spell. When you gain your first warden spell, you also gain a focus pool of 1 FP. You refill your focus pool during your daily preparations, and you regain 1 FP by spending 10 minutes using the Refocus activity to commune with nature.

Your warden spells are primal spells. When you first gain a warden spell, you become trained in primal spell attacks and spell DCs. Your spellcasting ability is Wisdom.

Casting a Spell from a Scroll

Quote:
To Cast a Spell from a scroll, the spell must appear on your spell list. Because you’re the one Casting the Spell, use your spell attack roll and spell DC. The spell also gains the appropriate trait for your tradition (arcane, divine, occult, or primal).

Yes? No? To much?


2 people marked this as a favorite.

No. A ranger has primal focus spells, but no primal spell list.


IIRC getting focus spells also doesn't grant you access to the Cast A Spell activity, which you need to use scrolls.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
Perpdepog wrote:
IIRC getting focus spells also doesn't grant you access to the Cast A Spell activity, which you need to use scrolls.

Not true.

Non-Spellcasters with Focus Spells
Source Core Rulebook pg. 302 2.0
If you get focus spells from a class or other source that doesn’t grant spellcasting ability (for example, if you’re a monk with the Ki Strike feat), the ability that gives you focus spells also provides your proficiency rank for spell attack rolls and spell DCs, as well as the magical tradition of your focus spells. You gain the ability to Cast a Spell and use any spellcasting actions necessary to cast your focus spells (see below). However, you don’t qualify for feats and other rules that require you to be a spellcaster.


2 people marked this as a favorite.
graystone wrote:
Perpdepog wrote:
IIRC getting focus spells also doesn't grant you access to the Cast A Spell activity, which you need to use scrolls.

Not true.

Non-Spellcasters with Focus Spells
Source Core Rulebook pg. 302 2.0
If you get focus spells from a class or other source that doesn’t grant spellcasting ability (for example, if you’re a monk with the Ki Strike feat), the ability that gives you focus spells also provides your proficiency rank for spell attack rolls and spell DCs, as well as the magical tradition of your focus spells. You gain the ability to Cast a Spell and use any spellcasting actions necessary to cast your focus spells (see below). However, you don’t qualify for feats and other rules that require you to be a spellcaster.

I'd say that using a scroll would fall under the "other rules that require you to be a spellcaster" clause.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / General Discussion / Ranger - Warden Spells for Ranger and Scroll All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.