When can you cast Primal Scream? What does the duration of Primal Scream mean?


Rules Questions


https://www.aonprd.com/SpellDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Primal%20Screamhttps://ww w.aonprd.com/SpellDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Primal%20Scream

I think this is a pretty handy spell but I'm rather unsure about some parts of it. Firstly, this line at the end:

Primal Scream wrote:
You can cast this spell even when paralyzed or unable to speak because of an enchantment effect, but not in an area of silence , if you are unable to speak for reasons other than enchantments or paralysis (for example, if you are gagged), or if cast in an environment where speaking is not possible.

This seems straightforward in the paralyzed case (I get paralyzed, I can cast Primal Scream despite typically not being able to take any actions.) What I'm wondering about is the enchantments; does this line of text only apply to enchantments that specifically target your speech? Could you cast Primal Scream when you're under the effects of say, a charm or compulsion effect, even if you're not otherwise in control of your character?

The other question is about:

Primal Scream wrote:

Duration 1 round/level

You voice a mighty yell from the depths of your soul, invigorating yourself and dispelling enchantment and paralysis effects. This functions as break enchantment, except it only affects you and only frees you from enchantment and paralysis effects.
Break Enchantment wrote:
Duration instantaneous

The spell says it functions like Break Enchantment, which is instantaneous, but Primal Scream has a duration of round/level. Does this mean the effects it dispels are only dispelled for that long?


1. If the charm or compulsion effect rendered you unable to speak, then you could cast primal scream.

2. The heck. Seems like a typo.


"If the caster level check to break the hostile effect succeeds, you give voice to your scream and the spell takes effect normally; if not, this spell fails without further effect."

Other than casting ahead of time as a ward vs enchantment and paralysis? I can see no benefit to have rounds as if it fails there is no further effect.

But it could be run as a pre combat buff to fight off one such attempt in the near future, by the duration rules.

Sovereign Court

Cavall wrote:
"If the caster level check to break the hostile effect succeeds, you give voice to your scream and the spell takes effect normally; if not, this spell fails without further effect."

I read this as "you scream for the duration of the spell". Likely not intended but a funny visual.

Liberty's Edge

Pathfinder Companion Subscriber; Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber
BygoneFlygon wrote:

https://www.aonprd.com/SpellDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Primal%20Screamhttps://ww w.aonprd.com/SpellDisplay.aspx?ItemName=Primal%20Scream

I think this is a pretty handy spell but I'm rather unsure about some parts of it. Firstly, this line at the end:

Primal Scream wrote:
You can cast this spell even when paralyzed or unable to speak because of an enchantment effect, but not in an area of silence , if you are unable to speak for reasons other than enchantments or paralysis (for example, if you are gagged), or if cast in an environment where speaking is not possible.
This seems straightforward in the paralyzed case (I get paralyzed, I can cast Primal Scream despite typically not being able to take any actions.) What I'm wondering about is the enchantments; does this line of text only apply to enchantments that specifically target your speech? Could you cast Primal Scream when you're under the effects of say, a charm or compulsion effect, even if you're not otherwise in control of your character?

As I see it if the enchantment effect is to directly stop you from speaking it works if it makes you unable to take an action because you don't want (charm person) or because you are forced to take another action (dominate) it can't be cast.

I, at least, would have written it differently if the idea was to have a chance to free yourself from dominations and charms.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / When can you cast Primal Scream? What does the duration of Primal Scream mean? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.