Tripping


Rules Discussion


Is it possible to Trip a flying creature? In the Prone section it states "If you would be knocked prone while you’re Climbing or Flying, you fall". Does that also apply to being knocked prone via a Trip?


I say Yes, but the target then is not knocked prone ( not necessarily ).

Quote:

Arrest a Fall Reaction

Source Core Rulebook pg. 472
Trigger You fall.
Requirements You have a fly Speed.
You attempt an Acrobatics check to slow your fall. The DC is typically 15, but it might be higher due to air turbulence or other circumstances.

Success You fall gently, taking no damage from the fall.

They could use their reaction with a low DC ( not your trip dc, because you already got success based on trip DC ) to land safely.


Oh ok, so they will definitely Trip and fall to the ground if I'm successful, they can however use their reaction to help them avoid taking fall damage essentially


1 person marked this as a favorite.

Yep, it is a sequence.

A successful trip against a flying creature triggers the falling status instead.

The falling status, and having a flying speed, allows a character/enemy to use the "Arrest a Fall reaction".

Using the reaction and succeed allows the target to fall gently.

Falling gently allows you to take no damage.


Pathfinder Rulebook Subscriber

I tend to flavor tripping as clipping a creature in the wing. If it doesn't have wings, I might not allow it, but it is probably a less useful tactic anyway as it can just float off the ground.


Captain Morgan wrote:
I tend to flavor tripping as clipping a creature in the wing. If it doesn't have wings, I might not allow it, but it is probably a less useful tactic anyway as it can just float off the ground.

Would that floating off the ground trigger an AOO? Is that a move action?


Atalius wrote:
Captain Morgan wrote:
I tend to flavor tripping as clipping a creature in the wing. If it doesn't have wings, I might not allow it, but it is probably a less useful tactic anyway as it can just float off the ground.
Would that floating off the ground trigger an AOO? Is that a move action?

If I recall correctly only movements tied to an action trigger Attack of Opportunity. Since the "slow fall" from arrest a fall is involuntary, it would not trigger AoO, and Arrest a Fall itself is not a move or manipulate action, so also would not trigger AoO.


Interesting, but the enemy getting back up after falling would take an AOO no?

Sovereign Court

It would, but presumably if they make that check after falling they land on their feet, not prone.


HumbleGamer wrote:

Yep, it is a sequence.

A successful trip against a flying creature triggers the falling status instead.

The falling status, and having a flying speed, allows a character/enemy to use the "Arrest a Fall reaction".

Using the reaction and succeed allows the target to fall gently.

Falling gently allows you to take no damage.

Hmm so if he falls gently does that mean he still falls prone but gently (no loss of HP)?


As far as I know you only land prone from a fall if you take damage.

So catcall, featherfall, arrest a fall ect... would allow you to land on your feat so long as you dont take damage.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Tripping All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.