What is the point of Nails?


Witch Playtest


Aside from scratching your hindside.

In all seriousness, though, the fourth level witch Feat reads:

"You can etch your claws with runes with the same cost and restrictions as etching runes onto handwraps of mighty blows; runes etched onto your claws apply to both hands but not to other unarmed attacks."

My question is, what is the point?

As far as I understood Handwraps of Mighty Blows, runes scratched into them affect any unarmed attack, including the Goblin Bite, Feral Claws, Lizard's Tail and any roundhouse kick a monk might do, so it would stand to reason they would also affect the witches claws.

I do get the flavor choice of etching runes on your Nails, but I have a hard time understanding Why it won't be allowed to transfer to a Dragon kick for a Witch/Monk multiclass?

... or maybe I misunderstood Handwraps in the first place, in which case I would love to be corrected.


You free up your gloves slot if you want to wear something else, but more importantly you can combine a Strike with a hex at melee range if for some reason you wanted to. Spellstrike of a sort.


Xenocrat wrote:
You free up your gloves slot if you want to wear something else, but more importantly you can combine a Strike with a hex at melee range if for some reason you wanted to. Spellstrike of a sort.

Maybe I haven't read up on it enough, but didn't they go away with the "slots" idead, meaning you could potentially wear a pair of gloves along with handwraps, as long as you invest both.

Apoarently I should get used to reading the entire Feat description before I post. I completely missed the spellstrike component


Tweezer wrote:
Xenocrat wrote:
You free up your gloves slot if you want to wear something else, but more importantly you can combine a Strike with a hex at melee range if for some reason you wanted to. Spellstrike of a sort.

Maybe I haven't read up on it enough, but didn't they go away with the "slots" idead, meaning you could potentially wear a pair of gloves along with handwraps, as long as you invest both.

Apoarently I should get used to reading the entire Feat description before I post. I completely missed the spellstrike component

yes and no.

you can wear multiple magical items, as long as there's "physical space" for them.

in order to show those "physical spaces" they specify in the usage if it's "worn" or "worn x". You can't repeat a "x".

So, while you can wear as many rings as you want (usage: worn), you can't wear 2 hats or 2 gloves.

Handwraps are "Usage: worn gloves", so you can't combine them, as an example, with healer's gloves, which are also "Usage: worn gloves".


A feat also doesn't cost you money and you are guaranteed to have access to the feat - depending on the campaign, you might never find handwraps in a dungeon or in a shop, or the nails can tide you over until you do (at which point you can switch to the handwraps and retrain out of the nails)


Tweezer wrote:
Xenocrat wrote:
You free up your gloves slot if you want to wear something else, but more importantly you can combine a Strike with a hex at melee range if for some reason you wanted to. Spellstrike of a sort.

Maybe I haven't read up on it enough, but didn't they go away with the "slots" idead, meaning you could potentially wear a pair of gloves along with handwraps, as long as you invest both.

Apoarently I should get used to reading the entire Feat description before I post. I completely missed the spellstrike component

The imperative rule is that common sense and logic should apply, so two gloves is entirely within reason if your GM thinks it's fine. Otherwise, I think wearing two pairs of gloves might fall under the category of restrictions.


Lightning Raven wrote:
Tweezer wrote:
Xenocrat wrote:
You free up your gloves slot if you want to wear something else, but more importantly you can combine a Strike with a hex at melee range if for some reason you wanted to. Spellstrike of a sort.

Maybe I haven't read up on it enough, but didn't they go away with the "slots" idead, meaning you could potentially wear a pair of gloves along with handwraps, as long as you invest both.

Apoarently I should get used to reading the entire Feat description before I post. I completely missed the spellstrike component

The imperative rule is that common sense and logic should apply, so two gloves is entirely within reason if your GM thinks it's fine. Otherwise, I think wearing two pairs of gloves might fall under the category of restrictions.

there is actually pretty clear rule text covering this. No need for GM arbitation. Each worn item clearly states if it's Usage: Worn (you can have as many as you want) or Usage: Worn X (you can only have 1 X)

Quote:

An item that needs to be worn to function lists “worn”

as its usage. This is followed by another word if the
character is limited to only one of that type of item. For
instance, a character can wear any number of rings, so the
entry for a ring would list only “worn.” However, if the
Usage entry were “worn cloak,” then a character couldn’t
wear another cloak on top of that one.


shroudb wrote:
Lightning Raven wrote:
Tweezer wrote:
Xenocrat wrote:
You free up your gloves slot if you want to wear something else, but more importantly you can combine a Strike with a hex at melee range if for some reason you wanted to. Spellstrike of a sort.

Maybe I haven't read up on it enough, but didn't they go away with the "slots" idead, meaning you could potentially wear a pair of gloves along with handwraps, as long as you invest both.

Apoarently I should get used to reading the entire Feat description before I post. I completely missed the spellstrike component

The imperative rule is that common sense and logic should apply, so two gloves is entirely within reason if your GM thinks it's fine. Otherwise, I think wearing two pairs of gloves might fall under the category of restrictions.

there is actually pretty clear rule text covering this. No need for GM arbitation. Each worn item clearly states if it's Usage: Worn (you can have as many as you want) or Usage: Worn X (you can only have 1 X)

Quote:

An item that needs to be worn to function lists “worn”

as its usage. This is followed by another word if the
character is limited to only one of that type of item. For
instance, a character can wear any number of rings, so the
entry for a ring would list only “worn.” However, if the
Usage entry were “worn cloak,” then a character couldn’t
wear another cloak on top of that one.

I was going off from one of Paizo's streams, but it's great to have it laid out clearly. Saves from a lot of unnecessary argument.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Advanced Player’s Guide Playtest / Witch Playtest / What is the point of Nails? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.