Questions about Haste and the Quick condition


Rules Discussion


So I have two questions

Q1 Does the game enforce the order you take your actions. ei do you have to take your 3 normal actions then the extra limited action, Or can you take the extra action at any point in your turn.

Q2 when it comes to haste it says you can only use the extra action for stride and strike actions but does it have to be the basic action or can it also be used as part of activities that include those actions like Power Attack or Sudden Charge

Though I am hoping to see official rules (I haven't been able to find any, Maybe one of the Devs will notice this and be nice enough to give their view on it.) but I would also love to just see peoples opinion on the matter.


Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

In the playtest, you could take the extra action granted by haste at any point during your turn. However it had to be one of the basic action listed and you couldn't combine it for an activity (multi-action). I haven't seen anything to confirm/deny that its changed from the playtest.


NielsenE wrote:
In the playtest, you could take the extra action granted by haste at any point during your turn.

Not that I don't belive you but just because I know at some point I'll be asked "Where does it say you can". Is that a listed rule somewhere or is it that fact that it never says you can't use it at any point on your turn that makes you believe you can.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game Superscriber; Pathfinder Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber
Lady Wrath wrote:
NielsenE wrote:
In the playtest, you could take the extra action granted by haste at any point during your turn.
Not that I don't belive you but just because I know at some point I'll be asked "Where does it say you can". Is that a listed rule somewhere or is it that fact that it never says you can't use it at any point on your turn that makes you believe you can.

The Quick condition starts as follows:

Quick Condition wrote:
You gain 1 additional action at the start of your turn each round.

As I read that, the "at the start of your turn each round" bit is telling you when you GAIN the action, it says nothing about when you can USE it.

That said, all this is Playtest rules, so who knows how it'll work in the final version of PF2.


5 people marked this as a favorite.
Paizo Superscriber; Pathfinder Companion, Pathfinder Accessories Subscriber; Starfinder Superscriber

Sure page 305 of the playtest rulebook states as part of your start of turn "regain your 3 actions and your reaction. ... some conditions (such as quick or slowed conditions) can change how many actions your regain"

In Step 2: Act:
"You can spend actions in any order ... "

So the extra action granted by quick is added to a pool of actions you have at that point, with limitations on what you can spend it on. But otherwise its use part of your pool with no limitation on ordering.


Thanks NielsenE I have no idea how I missed that. It's nice to have the exact page just in case it's questioned at the table.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder Second Edition / Rules Discussion / Questions about Haste and the Quick condition All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.