Two Sources of Oracle Curses


Rules Questions


Hello Rules!

If I were to take the Pact Wizard Archetype (Horror Heroes) for the Wizard (which grants an Oracle curse at 1/2 progression starting from 5th level) and a level of Oracle, what happens?

Do I get two Curses? Do they stack together? Are they separate? Can I take the same one twice?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

There is no rule to my knowledge.

I'd rule the same as sorcerer bloodlines, you must take the same curse. Then I'd stack it like monk levels stack: 1/2 at 5th plus levels in Oracle.


So if I had a Wizard 5 / Oracle 2:

Curse Level
Wizard = 2.5 (Half level)
Oracle = 2 (Full)
1/2 HD Other than Oracle = 2.5
For a total of 7 (at 7th level)

It would never actually exceed character level unless you use FCBs.

I know this is the rules forum so are there any other interpretations?


were are you getting the other 2.5 from cuz with wizard 5 and oracle 2 it would be 4 not 7


Oracle Curse (from Oracle) adds half non Oracle levels to determine your Curse progression.


alright but doesnt everything that is not a full number round down before being added to anything so it would be 2 from wizard 2 from oracle and 2 from the half other things not oracle for a total of 6?


James Risner wrote:

There is no rule to my knowledge.

I'd rule the same as sorcerer bloodlines, you must take the same curse. Then I'd stack it like monk levels stack: 1/2 at 5th plus levels in Oracle.

I don't know if that follows. You can have two bloodlines and you can have two curses so I don't know if you'd be forced into adding them together unless you wanted too.

What ruling are you talking about with sorcerer bloodlines? Maybe I've missed something as I've been away from the board for a while.

Silver Crusade

graystone wrote:
James Risner wrote:

There is no rule to my knowledge.

I'd rule the same as sorcerer bloodlines, you must take the same curse. Then I'd stack it like monk levels stack: 1/2 at 5th plus levels in Oracle.

I don't know if that follows. You can have two bloodlines and you can have two curses so I don't know if you'd be forced into adding them together unless you wanted too.

What ruling are you talking about with sorcerer bloodlines? Maybe I've missed something as I've been away from the board for a while.

Bloodrager has a specific call out that if you take levels of Sorcerer the Bloodlines have to match.

Bloodline wrote:
If the bloodrager takes levels in another class that grants a bloodline, the bloodlines must be the same type, even if that means that the bloodline of one of the classes must change. Subject to GM discretion, the bloodrager can change his former bloodline to make them conform.

Okay so it says levels instead of Sorcerer, so that means it would cover VMC too. The only thing that would be up in the air would be Eldritch Heritage.


Seems to me that if it's lacking any language indicating that they would stack, then they'd instead be tracked independently - more like various instances of channel energy.

Silver Crusade

Gulthor wrote:
Seems to me that if it's lacking any language indicating that they would stack, then they'd instead be tracked independently - more like various instances of channel energy.

Yep.


On the other hand, Sneak Attack from different classes stacks, I've personally always seen that as evidence that similar class features with a level-based progression should stack, even if there isn't specific language calling for it.

I believe there's a quote in monster advancement to the effect of "If the creature possesses class features (such as spellcasting or sneak attack) for the class that is being added, these abilities stack. This functions just like adding class levels to a character without racial Hit Dice."

Silver Crusade

Sneak Attack is shown as +xd6, rather than advancing xd6s, that's why it stacks but channel does not.


Hmm yes, the FAQ is probably the best lead here.

In my opinion, this paragraph also points to separate curses:

Quote:
If an oracle curse would add spells to the oracle’s list of spells known, the pact wizard instead add those spells to the wizard’s spell list as well as to his spellbook.

But actually, it doesn't matter that much. With separate curses you gain more benefits, but it takes a lot of levels to collect them and you are plagued with a second drawback early on. So I'd probably leave it to the player.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Hubaris wrote:
Oracle Curse (from Oracle) adds half non Oracle levels to determine your Curse progression.

Which is a rule you'd have to ignore if the other class has a "calculate oracle level this way" rule.


James Risner wrote:
Hubaris wrote:
Oracle Curse (from Oracle) adds half non Oracle levels to determine your Curse progression.

Which is a rule you'd have to ignore if the other class has a "calculate oracle level this way" rule.

I don't see why you would ignore it though. Its the Oracle adding the 0.5 per non Oracle level, not the Wizard. This seems to be opening up some worms that I didn't expect at first glance.

Either way I'm going to try to phrase this better in the off chance a Dev takes a look.


If a Character has two Oracle Curses from two different sources (such as combining the Pact Wizard Archetype for the Wizard and Oracle levels); how do the Curses interact with each other?

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

Hubaris wrote:
I don't see why you would ignore it though. Its the Oracle adding the 0.5 per non Oracle level, not the Wizard

If you don't ignore it, you have each of those levels counted twice for the same thing. You don't see that as a problem both in the RAW and RAI and balance and math? If I had someone suggest to count the level twice by counting the 0.5 per level rule also, I'd need to do a meticulous audit of their PC.


James Risner wrote:
Hubaris wrote:
I don't see why you would ignore it though. Its the Oracle adding the 0.5 per non Oracle level, not the Wizard

If you don't ignore it, you have each of those levels counted twice for the same thing. You don't see that as a problem both in the RAW and RAI and balance and math? If I had someone suggest to count the level twice by counting the 0.5 per level rule also, I'd need to do a meticulous audit of their PC.

Balance wise you end up with the exact same Oracle level as if you took straight Oracle. No more, no less. The only cost is the almighty Caster Level. *Cue sarcasm here*

The thing is, the Wizard levels are telling you that its not full progression (even though its a class feature built into the Archetype), and the Oracle level is something else entirely.

Though discussing balance here is probably just going to derail.

The Exchange Owner - D20 Hobbies

1 person marked this as a favorite.
Hubaris wrote:

Balance wise you end up with the exact same Oracle level as if you took straight Oracle.

Though discussing balance here is probably just going to derail.

Which is higher than the rules for the Wizard "Oracle" rules permitted with it's "ignore 5 levels" rules.

Yes, derail. But balance is irrelevant really, as counting a level you've already counted isn't something the rules are written to assume someone would do. Kinda like the rules didn't expect parts of the flanking rules to be independently interpreted by some to allow for ranking flanking. Basically, you must understand what the rules are saying to follow the RAW.

So if I had a Wizard 5 / Oracle 2:
Curse Level
Wizard = 2.5 (Half level)
Oracle = 2 (Full)
Oracle "1/2 other" = 0 since the Wizard Level count already.
For a total of 4 (at 7th level)

If you used Wizard 4 / Oracle 2:

Wizard = 0, Oracle = 2, Oracle "1/2 other" = 2 for a total of 4

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Two Sources of Oracle Curses All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions