Deeper Darkness in a Scroll Case = "Flashdark"?


Rules Questions


4 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.

Control the direction of Deeper Darkness:

1. Cast Deeper Darkness on a coin.
2. Put the coin in one end of a scroll case.
3. Point the unopened end of the scroll case to create a 60' cone of darkness.
4. Point the cone at enemies and away from allies to put them in darkness while keeping everybody else in the ambient light level (or vice versa as desired).

Is this valid in the rules? Does Darkness and Deeper darkness work that way or is it more like "fog" in that opening one end of the tube puts everything in darkness in a 60' radius?

Silver Crusade

Darkness wrote:

If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed.

Based on that, it should work.


I want one.

Silver Crusade

I should clarify, that only works for Darkness, Deeper Darkness doesn't have that little rider about coverings.


Val'bryn2 wrote:
I should clarify, that only works for Darkness, Deeper Darkness doesn't have that little rider about coverings.

But it says it works like the spell Darkness.

Silver Crusade

Fair enough.


It's like an everburning lantern, but with deeper darkness instead of daylight.

It's worth noting that as a player I often employ an ioun stone with a heightened (4th) continual flame spell on it.

This makes you safe from most casting of darkness spell, unless they specifically make a habit of casting heightened deeper darkness.


6 people marked this as a favorite.

If you really want to go for style, cast it on your glass eye then put on an eyepatch.


darth_borehd wrote:

Control the direction of Deeper Darkness:

1. Cast Deeper Darkness on a coin.
2. Put the coin in one end of a scroll case.
3. Point the unopened end of the scroll case to create a 60' cone of darkness.
4. Point the cone at enemies and away from allies to put them in darkness while keeping everybody else in the ambient light level (or vice versa as desired).

Is this valid in the rules? Does Darkness and Deeper darkness work that way or is it more like "fog" in that opening one end of the tube puts everything in darkness in a 60' radius?

Read the descriptions of Burst and Spread, then see if your spell is one of those.

Sovereign Court

@Mauve: that's not really helpful since it's neither.

Darkness works like, well, darkness and light. It's simplest to think of Darkness as radiating anti-light like some sort of weird black lightbulb that makes everything darker. Anything that would block a ray of light blocks a ray of anti-light.

Could also be done with a bullseye lantern, I'd think.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Menacing Shade of mauve wrote:


Read the descriptions of Burst and Spread, then see if your spell is one of those.

I did read those. I didn't find them illuminating.

The spell description does not actually say either way.

Yes, I meant the pun.


Ascalaphus wrote:

@Mauve: that's not really helpful since it's neither.

Darkness works like, well, darkness and light. It's simplest to think of Darkness as radiating anti-light like some sort of weird black lightbulb that makes everything darker. Anything that would block a ray of light blocks a ray of anti-light.

Could also be done with a bullseye lantern, I'd think.

If it does work that way, then objects and creatures will cast "anti-shadows" of light when the darkness reaches them. For example, some ogres standing in front of some orc archers would provide them light by blocking the darkness, thus allowing the archers to see. Another situation would be a person pointing a "flashdark" at a rogue's back while he is trying to pick the lock on a door. If it works like a real-world flashlight, the rogue could still be able to see because his back would stop the darkness reaching his eyes or the lock.

The other interpretation is that any portion of the "en-darkened" object that is uncovered triggers the effect everywhere in a 60' radius. In this way, the darkness turns around corners and surrounds objects and creatures. The ogres and orcs in the above example would both be in darkness. As would the rogue and the lock he is trying to pick. For support, the spell description says nothing about the area behind the person holding the object that darkness is cast upon as not being affected.

I can't decide which one is more correct, more desirable, or more confusing.

Sovereign Court

Well, it says that it "radiates" darkness, and normally rays travel in straight lines. So I don't think darkness radiates around corners.

Yeah, your anti-shadow idea is interesting. A way for a rogue to have light to do his lockpicking without broadcasting his presence to all and sundry.

Silver Crusade

Based on spell description, specifically the bit about putting a coin in a container, despite using the word "radiates", it actually functions more as a spread.


Val'bryn2 wrote:
Darkness wrote:

If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed.

Based on that, it should work.

I stridently disagree. Based on that, it explicitly would not work. The cover is removed so the spell's effect is no longer blocked. It's only blocked as long as it is completely inside or under a lightproof covering with the cover in place.

Shadow Lodge

MeanMutton wrote:
Val'bryn2 wrote:
Darkness wrote:

If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed.

Based on that, it should work.
I stridently disagree. Based on that, it explicitly would not work. The cover is removed so the spell's effect is no longer blocked. It's only blocked as long as it is completely inside or under a lightproof covering with the cover in place.

It's an awkward picture, but I'm inclined to think this is the spirit of that wording. It's either in the bag or out of the bag - half way doesn't count.


Avatar-1 wrote:
MeanMutton wrote:
Val'bryn2 wrote:
Darkness wrote:

If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed.

Based on that, it should work.
I stridently disagree. Based on that, it explicitly would not work. The cover is removed so the spell's effect is no longer blocked. It's only blocked as long as it is completely inside or under a lightproof covering with the cover in place.
It's an awkward picture, but I'm inclined to think this is the spirit of that wording. It's either in the bag or out of the bag - half way doesn't count.

Does it go through walls and doors? For example, would the effect continue down a hall and turn a corner, as well as continue through a locked door into the next room?


darth_borehd wrote:
Avatar-1 wrote:
MeanMutton wrote:
Val'bryn2 wrote:
Darkness wrote:

If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed.

Based on that, it should work.
I stridently disagree. Based on that, it explicitly would not work. The cover is removed so the spell's effect is no longer blocked. It's only blocked as long as it is completely inside or under a lightproof covering with the cover in place.
It's an awkward picture, but I'm inclined to think this is the spirit of that wording. It's either in the bag or out of the bag - half way doesn't count.
Does it go through walls and doors? For example, would the effect continue down a hall and turn a corner, as well as continue through a locked door into the next room?

Walls and doors are pretty clearly sold barriers that would block line of effect based on the Line of Effect rules.


Why does Darkness work differently than Light?


_Ozy_ wrote:
Why does Darkness work differently than Light?

Well, to be fair, they are a little bit different, given that "radiating darkness" isn't actually a thing whereas "radiating light" is. Also, the darkness produced by Darkness is "thick darkness" because it even blocks light coming through the affected area from the other side. Normally, for instance, if I'm standing under a streetlight next to a pitch-dark alleyway, I could see someone standing under a streetlight at the other end of the alley despite the intervening darkness. But if the darkness were from a Darkness spell, I wouldn't be able to see past it. So ambient light wouldn't be able to reach that inverse shadow to illuminate what's inside of it, hence, the effect is spoiled.

Additionally, the hard thresholds of light states in Pathfinder are an abstraction of the smooth gradient they would actually be. Light doesn't just drop off abruptly after a certain distance. So, even if you create "inverse shadows" by "blocking" the path of a darkness spell, there may technically be light, but not enough to make a technical difference within the abstraction of the Pathfinder system. For instance, people cast shadows, but you can't say that you hide in the dim light created by your own shadow (unless you have some special ability that says you can). Abilities like HIPS even explicitly call this out. Furthermore, you also have to account for the equivalent of an umbra and penumbra of the inverted shadow. You have a full shadow (the umbra) and a partial shadow (the penumbra) and, unless the "source of darkness" is put right behind your back to maximize the "inverted umbra", the penumbra where everything is dimmed down is going to be significant; and, by extrapolating the rules at hand, it would probably be equivalent to a "light -1 level" which would probably be darkness anyway if you're relying on artificial light.

Now, if we really wanted to show how light worked in the game, there would be better light rules involving direct and indirect lighting, how light travels around corners, and the like. But, the sad truth is that the Pathfinder system just isn't robust enough to tackle those kinds of issues.


Kazaan wrote:
Now, if we really wanted to show how light worked in the game, there would be better light rules involving direct and indirect lighting, how light travels around corners, and the like. But, the sad truth is that the Pathfinder system just isn't robust enough to tackle those kinds of issues.

I'm going to be real honest here and say I DO NOT want my game to have robust lighting rules. Shark week! The light and dark rules are a fricken labyrinth of interaction headaches the way it fricken is already. You want to make those rules more complex?! I mean, on the one hand I get it. If they were more complex then they'd be more realistic, and, possibly, easier to adjudicate because of that realism, but it's hard to bring realism to a magical world where there is such a thing as darkness that blocks your line of sight to the other side.


Sorry, I should have been more specific. Obviously, since 'radiating darkness' isn't a real life thing, we can't use real life to model what should happen.

My question was rather, based on the spell descriptions of darkness and light, why should their effects be treated differently in game?


darth_borehd wrote:
I did read those. I didn't find them illuminating.

HA!

I see what you did there...


Without a clear consensus or an official ruling on this issue. it looks like another gray area for a GM.


Kotello wrote:
Without a clear consensus or an official ruling on this issue. it looks like another gray area for a GM.

What's unclear?

Darkness wrote:
If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed.

It's simple - either it's "inside or under a lightproof covering" or it isn't. I love the idea of the "flashdark" but the rules don't allow it.


So, if I understand this correctly, magic darkness is like a gas, which rapidly disappears. The target of the spell generates enough for its radius to stay visible, but if you put it in a sealed box, it disappears. If you then poke a hole in the box, it fills the radius again. Is this a fair analogy to explain RAW?


Not quite as good, but there is

Quote:
Darklight Lantern This lantern does not burn oil, but instead burns shadowcloy. When shadowcloy is used as its fuel, this lantern creates a strange, hazy darkness that decreases the light level for 30 feet around it by one step. Unlike when shadowcloy is thrown at a single target, this haze does not decrease natural darkness to supernatural darkness. One flask of shadowcloy fuels a darklight lantern for 1 minute. Source PRG:ARG

Sovereign Court

MeanMutton wrote:
Kotello wrote:
Without a clear consensus or an official ruling on this issue. it looks like another gray area for a GM.

What's unclear?

Darkness wrote:
If darkness is cast on a small object that is then placed inside or under a lightproof covering, the spell's effect is blocked until the covering is removed.
It's simple - either it's "inside or under a lightproof covering" or it isn't. I love the idea of the "flashdark" but the rules don't allow it.

If you put it under a completely lightproof covering, it's blocked completely. But if you took a covering that was only partial, it should be blocked only partially. As the spell states, the (inner) object radiates darkness. The line you quoted describes what happens if you block the rays.

A bullseye lantern provides normal light in a 60-foot cone and increases the light level by one step in the area beyond that, out to a 120-foot cone (darkness becomes dim light and dim light becomes normal light). A bullseye lantern does not increase the light level in normal light or bright light. A lantern burns for 6 hours on 1 pint of oil. You can carry a lantern in one hand.

A bullseye lantern is a lantern that's mostly covered, except for a small slit from which you project a cone of light. picture

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Deeper Darkness in a Scroll Case = "Flashdark"? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.