Wand Craft (above 4th level) Question


Rules Questions

Sovereign Court

Can I put a metamagic feat on a wand that would use a greater than 4th level slot, given that wands can only be created up to 4th level.

The crafter is a necromancer L10 with empower and maximize. He wants put this into the wand for a result of EMPOWERED LIGHTNING BOLT WAND (CL10).

THANKS - we are playing right now, any quick responses appreciated.

Thanks, Pax

Liberty's Edge

I don't recall seeing any published wand with a spell modified by a metamagic feat.
Staves can have spells modified by metamagic feats, not wands.

Liberty's Edge

Rules for the wands limit the maximum spell level to 4th so at most he could mix a low level spell and a metamagic feat for a equivalent level total of 4.

Remember that the caster need to memorize the spell to craft a wand, so the caster would need to memorize empowered lighting bolt (a 5th level spell) to craft the wand.
I doubt that the different traits of class abilities decreasing teh metamagic feat cost would apply to the wand.


You can craft wand with a spell modified by metamagic, but the sum must be 4 or less.

so an empowered lightning bolt is 3+2 = 5. It's not possible.
But a spell level 2 + empower is possible.

EDIT: i was ninja-ed ;-)

Diego Rossi "I doubt that the different traits of class abilities decreasing teh metamagic feat cost would apply to the wand."
+1


Level limits for potions and wands apply to the spell's higher spell level (after the application of the metamagic feat) so you cannot add a feat to a 4th level spell wand that would increase it by 1

that is from 3.5 rules, thats all i could find. but you can add metamagic feats to wands

pathfinder srd:

While item creation costs are handled in detail below, note that normally the two primary factors are the caster level of the creator and the level of the spell or spells put into the item. A creator can create an item at a lower caster level than her own, but never lower than the minimum level needed to cast the needed spell. Using metamagic feats, a caster can place spells in items at a higher level than normal.


asthyril wrote:

Level limits for potions and wands apply to the spell's higher spell level (after the application of the metamagic feat) so you cannot add a feat to a 4th level spell wand that would increase it by 1

that is from 3.5 rules, thats all i could find. but you can add metamagic feats to wands

pathfinder srd:

While item creation costs are handled in detail below, note that normally the two primary factors are the caster level of the creator and the level of the spell or spells put into the item. A creator can create an item at a lower caster level than her own, but never lower than the minimum level needed to cast the needed spell. Using metamagic feats, a caster can place spells in items at a higher level than normal.

You cannot place spell at a higher level than 4 in a wand, metamagic included in the level of the spell

Pathfinder PRD section Feats
"Magic Items and Metamagic Spells: With the right item creation feat, you can store a metamagic version of a spell in a scroll, potion, or wand. Level limits for potions and wands apply to the spell's higher spell level (after the application of the metamagic feat). A character doesn't need the metamagic feat to activate an item storing a metamagic version of a spell."


Defraeter wrote:
asthyril wrote:

Level limits for potions and wands apply to the spell's higher spell level (after the application of the metamagic feat) so you cannot add a feat to a 4th level spell wand that would increase it by 1

that is from 3.5 rules, thats all i could find. but you can add metamagic feats to wands

pathfinder srd:

While item creation costs are handled in detail below, note that normally the two primary factors are the caster level of the creator and the level of the spell or spells put into the item. A creator can create an item at a lower caster level than her own, but never lower than the minimum level needed to cast the needed spell. Using metamagic feats, a caster can place spells in items at a higher level than normal.

You cannot place spell at a higher level than 4 in a wand, metamagic included in the level of the spell

Pathfinder PRD section Feats
"Magic Items and Metamagic Spells: With the right item creation feat, you can store a metamagic version of a spell in a scroll, potion, or wand. Level limits for potions and wands apply to the spell's higher spell level (after the application of the metamagic feat). A character doesn't need the metamagic feat to activate an item storing a metamagic version of a spell."

ah i could not find the pathfinder version, but it's the same thing like i figured it would be


here the link
Feat Metamagic

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Wand Craft (above 4th level) Question All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.