Monk of the Empty Hand Reach Weapons


Rules Questions

Grand Lodge

Can the Monk of the Empty Hand ever take advantage of the Reach property of a weapon, or use an improvised weapon, as if it had the Reach property?

Grand Lodge

Let try to explain better.

Note the Weapon and Armor proficiencies:

Monk of the Empty Hand wrote:

Weapon and Armor Proficiency

Monks of the empty hand are proficient with the shuriken only. A monk of the empty hand treats normal weapons as improvised weapons with the following equivalencies (substituting all of their statistics for the listed weapon): a light weapon functions as a light hammer, a one-handed weapon functions as a club, and a Two-handed weapon functions as a quarterstaff.

This replaces the normal monk weapon proficiencies.

So, if said Monk, used a Longspear, could the Reach property be utilized?

Would it just function as a two-handed double weapon, without reach(as a quarterstaff)?

Would said Monk, using an improvised weapon, that could conceivably be used as a reach weapon, like a 10ft pole, function as though they had reach?


Hah. I never actually noticed that. RAW, they can never, ever be proficient with a weapon, even if they multiclass. Wow. That was poorly written.

Grand Lodge

It is not about proficiency, for which I ask, but accessing weapon qualities.


He does not appear to be able to, sorry. Not sure why I left that out.

Unless you can convince your GM to allow improvised weapons to have weapon qualities, that is. I could see it for reach... sort of.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

It is not about proficiency, for which I ask, but accessing weapon qualities.

True, to the Monk of the Empty Hand they mean nothing. In fact, the shuriken proficiency is meaningless because as soon as they touch it, it turns into a light hammer. This means they can't treat them like ammo to draw them as they are hammers now. :P

As to the questions...

"So, if said Monk, used a Longspear, could the Reach property be utilized?": Not by default. A DM could add any special features they wish though. A coat rack would be better at tripping/disarming than a broom after all.

"Would it just function as a two-handed double weapon, without reach(as a quarterstaff)?": Again, not by default. Double weapon is a special feature and you only treat two handed weapons as staves for damage.

"Would said Monk, using an improvised weapon, that could conceivably be used as a reach weapon, like a 10ft pole, function as though they had reach?": Not by default, but nothing stops the DM from allowing the improvised weapon from having it.


I remember there being language in 3.0/5 that allowed for some improvised weapons to have sensible properties (disarm on a chair was specifically pointed out, as was reach on a ladder I believe). Oddly, I'm only now noticing that Empty Hand doesn't grant anything like free Catch Off-guard at 1st...

Scarab Sages

graystone wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:

It is not about proficiency, for which I ask, but accessing weapon qualities.

True, to the Monk of the Empty Hand they mean nothing. In fact, the shuriken proficiency is meaningless because as soon as they touch it, it turns into a light hammer. This means they can't treat them like ammo to draw them as they are hammers now. :P

Actually, that's not true. Monk of the Empty hand is proficient in shuriken only. Shuriken is the only exception to the improvised weapon rules Monks of the Empty hand use.


Imbicatus wrote:
graystone wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:

It is not about proficiency, for which I ask, but accessing weapon qualities.

True, to the Monk of the Empty Hand they mean nothing. In fact, the shuriken proficiency is meaningless because as soon as they touch it, it turns into a light hammer. This means they can't treat them like ammo to draw them as they are hammers now. :P

Actually, that's not true. Monk of the Empty hand is proficient in shuriken only. Shuriken is the only exception to the improvised weapon rules Monks of the Empty hand use.

Where does it say that a Shuriken isn't a normal weapon? " A monk of the empty hand treats normal weapons as improvised weapons" It gives no exception to shurikens. If I've missed something like a FAQ, please point it out. As printed, the proficiency is meaningless...

Scarab Sages

graystone wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:
graystone wrote:
blackbloodtroll wrote:

It is not about proficiency, for which I ask, but accessing weapon qualities.

True, to the Monk of the Empty Hand they mean nothing. In fact, the shuriken proficiency is meaningless because as soon as they touch it, it turns into a light hammer. This means they can't treat them like ammo to draw them as they are hammers now. :P

Actually, that's not true. Monk of the Empty hand is proficient in shuriken only. Shuriken is the only exception to the improvised weapon rules Monks of the Empty hand use.
Where does it say that a Shuriken isn't a normal weapon? " A monk of the empty hand treats normal weapons as improvised weapons" It gives no exception to shurikens. If I've missed something like a FAQ, please point it out. As printed, the proficiency is meaningless...
Monk of the Empty Hand wrote:


Weapon and Armor Proficiency: Monks of the empty hand are proficient with the shuriken only. A monk of the empty hand treats normal weapons as improvised weapons with the following equivalencies (substituting all of their statistics for the listed weapon): a light weapon functions as a light hammer, a one-handed weapon functions as a club, and a two-handed weapon functions as a quarterstaff. This replaces the normal monk weapon proficiencies.

Monk of the Empty Hand only applies on light, one-handed, and two-handed weapons. A shuriken does not appear on any of those three weapon lists. Combined with being proficient in shurikens, this indicates they are used normally.

Scarab Sages Modules Overlord

RAW, shurikens aren't light weapons.


Quote:
Thrown Weapons: The same rules apply when you throw a weapon from each hand. Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapon when used in this manner, and treat a bolas, javelin, net, or sling as a one-handed weapon.

As written, shuriken turn into light hammers for monks of the empty hand. As intended, I think shuriken are supposed to function as shuriken, and all other weapons fall into the improvised categories.

Scarab Sages

Tarantula wrote:
Quote:
Thrown Weapons: The same rules apply when you throw a weapon from each hand. Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapon when used in this manner, and treat a bolas, javelin, net, or sling as a one-handed weapon.
As written, shuriken turn into light hammers for monks of the empty hand. As intended, I think shuriken are supposed to function as shuriken, and all other weapons fall into the improvised categories.

That only applies when you are using two-weapon fighting with them for the purposes of off-hand weapon penalties. That rules text does not mean that shuriken are light weapons.


Hmm, how would they treat ranged weapons like bows and crossbows if they obtained proficiency?


_Ozy_ wrote:
Hmm, how would they treat ranged weapons like bows and crossbows if they obtained proficiency?

"a two-handed weapon functions as a quarterstaff"

They would treat them as a quarterstaff.


Imbicatus wrote:
Tarantula wrote:
Quote:
Thrown Weapons: The same rules apply when you throw a weapon from each hand. Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapon when used in this manner, and treat a bolas, javelin, net, or sling as a one-handed weapon.
As written, shuriken turn into light hammers for monks of the empty hand. As intended, I think shuriken are supposed to function as shuriken, and all other weapons fall into the improvised categories.
That only applies when you are using two-weapon fighting with them for the purposes of off-hand weapon penalties. That rules text does not mean that shuriken are light weapons.

So if a MotEH tries to TWF throw shurikens suddenly they turn into light hammers?

Scarab Sages

Tarantula wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:
Tarantula wrote:
Quote:
Thrown Weapons: The same rules apply when you throw a weapon from each hand. Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapon when used in this manner, and treat a bolas, javelin, net, or sling as a one-handed weapon.
As written, shuriken turn into light hammers for monks of the empty hand. As intended, I think shuriken are supposed to function as shuriken, and all other weapons fall into the improvised categories.
That only applies when you are using two-weapon fighting with them for the purposes of off-hand weapon penalties. That rules text does not mean that shuriken are light weapons.
So if a MotEH tries to TWF throw shurikens suddenly they turn into light hammers?

No, they are only treating them as light for the purpose of TWF penalties. They are not light, and do not fall under the light hammer improvised weapon damage no matter what method they choose to use them in.


Rhorik Hogsvard wrote:
I remember there being language in 3.0/5 that allowed for some improvised weapons to have sensible properties (disarm on a chair was specifically pointed out, as was reach on a ladder I believe). Oddly, I'm only now noticing that Empty Hand doesn't grant anything like free Catch Off-guard at 1st...

When my pbp GM raised this issue and wanted my monk to take a -4 penalty for using improvised weapons, James Jacobs came to my rescue


Imbicatus wrote:
No, they are only treating them as light for the purpose of TWF penalties. They are not light, and do not fall under the light hammer improvised weapon damage no matter what method they choose to use them in.

I agree with you but couldn't find rules text to support it. I think I have now.

Quote:
Light, One-Handed, and Two-Handed Melee Weapons: This designation is a measure of how much effort it takes to wield a weapon in combat. It indicates whether a melee weapon, when wielded by a character of the weapon's size category, is considered a light weapon, a one-handed weapon, or a two-handed weapon.

Light, one handed and two handed are only classifications for melee weapons. Shuriken are not melee weapons, so they are not light, one handed or two handed.

For TWF they are treated as if they were a light weapon, but that does not make them a light weapon.


So what turns a bow into a quarterstaff.

Is it the first part where they treat normal weapons as improvised, so that

ranged weapon -> improvised two handed melee -> quarterstaff ?

Because otherwise a bow is a ranged weapon, not a two-handed melee weapon.


Those categories aren't limited to melee. Firearms are listed as one or two handed for example. A coat pistol does acts as a club.

As to "RAW, shurikens aren't light weapons." Flurry works as if you are using the Two-Weapon Fighting feat. That feat says to "Treat a dart or shuriken as a light weapon when used in this manner". SO when you flurry, you treat that as light (it doesn't say JUST for minuses). SO at best you still treat them as hammers in a flurry.

EDIT: Ah, I see. They can't flurry with shurikens, so you can't they can't be changed into improvised weapons by using it.


Hmm, you're right. They can use ranged weapons exactly as is, a ranged weapon. They would take the -4 non proficient penalty unless they gained proficiency, in which case they could use a ranged weapon as normal, because ranged weapons as you said are not light, one handed or two handed.

Grand Lodge

It would be weird that, even with proficiency, the Monk of the Empty Hand, could never fire a bow, or firearm.

How does this interact with the Equipment Tricks(Rope), that allow you to use a Rope as a Spiked Chain, or Whip?


Tarantula wrote:
Hmm, you're right. They can use ranged weapons exactly as is, a ranged weapon. They would take the -4 non proficient penalty unless they gained proficiency, in which case they could use a ranged weapon as normal, because ranged weapons as you said are not light, one handed or two handed.

Can they even gain proficiency? Or does the class feature:

Quote:
Monks of the empty hand are proficient with the shuriken only.

Mean that they can never become proficient with other weapons regardless of feats or multiclassing?


blackbloodtroll wrote:

It would be weird that, even with proficiency, the Monk of the Empty Hand, could never fire a bow, or firearm.

How does this interact with the Equipment Tricks(Rope), that allow you to use a Rope as a Spiked Chain, or Whip?

Well they could never fire a gun but they could throw a one handed one as a club...

Grand Lodge

Being completely incapable, even with say, a level in Gunslinger, makes no sense.

Scarab Sages

Let's assume that monk of the empty hand forever stops you from gaining proficiency in a weapon. So what happens when a Gunslinger multiclasses into Monk of the Empty Hand? Do they then become unable to use a firearm or any other weapon?


Imbicatus wrote:
Let's assume that monk of the empty hand forever stops you from gaining proficiency in a weapon.

It doesn't stop you from gaining proficiency in a weapon.

It just stops you from ever wielding a weapon as anything other than an improvised hammer, improvised club, improvised quarterstaff, or perhaps weapons that are only ranged weapons and improvised somethings instead of improvised hammers, clubs, or quarterstaffs.


Maybe this falls under the Hexcrafter rule of RAW. If RAW is too completely ridiculous, it's written wrong. ;)

Clearly a better sentence would have been:

A monk of the empty hand only gains proficiency with shurikens.


_Ozy_ wrote:

Maybe this falls under the Hexcrafter rule of RAW. If RAW is too completely ridiculous, it's written wrong. ;)

Clearly a better sentence would have been:

A monk of the empty hand only gains proficiency with shurikens.

That's my understanding of the proficiency bit. But it's quite explicit about the wielding of manufactured weapons as improvised weapons. It's not a good ruling, but it's definitely intentional.

Grand Lodge

Are all improvised weapons incapable of being used as if they had reach?

Take, for example, the 10ft pole, which is, longer than a Longspear, yet, can only be used against adjacent opponents.

That, seems odd.


Imbicatus wrote:
Let's assume that monk of the empty hand forever stops you from gaining proficiency in a weapon. So what happens when a Gunslinger multiclasses into Monk of the Empty Hand? Do they then become unable to use a firearm or any other weapon?

Firearms are 'Ranged Weapons' the empty hand weapon swapping only effects 'Light', 'One Handed' and 'Two Handed' weapons. So it looks like the gunslinger of the empty hand is functional.


blackbloodtroll wrote:

Are all improvised weapons incapable of being used as if they had reach?

Take, for example, the 10ft pole, which is, longer than a Longspear, yet, can only be used against adjacent opponents.

That, seems odd.

Yes it is. It is also RAW, or rather it is RAW that no described inpro-weapons have reach. There is room for a GM to state the 10' pole grants reach but nothing says they have to or that they cannot.


Since just about anything can be an improvised weapon, you are forced to leave such things like reach, trip, disarm, and other weapon properties to the discretion of the GM.


Even weirder is picking up a really big ass tree, still can only whomp the guy infront of you.

RAW anyway. most people would give a gm a funny look if i couldn't use the long tree i just pulled out of the ground with me str as a baseball club XD

iwonder what happens if you pick up a shillelagh? it's magically enchanted but i guess you just don't get those benfits? (except for when someone breaks it i guess)

I hope pathfinder unleashed has some cool improvised rules. they are my favorite thing ever but hard to get working readily in games.

James Jacobs wrote:
LoreKeeper wrote:

Dear James Jacobs:

True or false? Monks of the empty hand take a -4 penalty to attacks when wielding improvised weapons.

The monk of the empty hand treats improvised weapons as if she were proficient in them, and can wield normal weapons as improvised weapons. This effectively has the same end effect as the Catch Off-Guard feat, but isn't a feat and thus doesn't use up a feat slot since it's a variant class ability. Thus, they do not take a nonproficient penalty when using improvised weapons. The text is not as clear as it could have been, I guess, but hopefully common sense can step in to bolster that if someone doesn't read this post?

(We COULD have simply said, "The monk of the empty hand gains "Catch Off-Guard" as a bonus feat, I guess, but that would have lost the flavor bit about how they often wield normal weapons as improvised weapons.)

Since he uses "can wield" does that mean the class was suppose to be able to use as a normal weapon and an improvised weapon (not at the same time, just when the ywant to use it one way or another they could)?

I kind of wish that had a line about using enchantment and properties somehow


Poor Wandering One wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:
Let's assume that monk of the empty hand forever stops you from gaining proficiency in a weapon. So what happens when a Gunslinger multiclasses into Monk of the Empty Hand? Do they then become unable to use a firearm or any other weapon?
Firearms are 'Ranged Weapons' the empty hand weapon swapping only effects 'Light', 'One Handed' and 'Two Handed' weapons. So it looks like the gunslinger of the empty hand is functional.

Wander over to the firearms section once. You'll see that ALL firearms are either one or two handed, triggering the empty hand weapon swapping. A gunslinger/Monk of the Empty Hand gets the awesome ability to throw pistols as clubs and the inability to ever fire them...


You are by strict raw correct Pathfinder establishes melee and ranged categories and the monk ignores them.

Booth the Ginfighter of the Empty Hand and the Magus of the empty hand are crippled combinations.

Pity the poor sword owned by a MotEH 1/Blackblade Magus 19. All that power, none of it accessible.


Is normal weapon ever defined. I could easily say magical weapons are not normal.


Isn't unarmed strike a light weapon. So this class wouldn't be proficient in that either.


Melkiador wrote:
Is normal weapon ever defined. I could easily say magical weapons are not normal.

In context, it would seem that 'normal' weapons are weapons that are not 'improvised weapons'.

Which would further indicate that 'improvised weapons' are indeed weapons, just not 'normal' weapons, which is relevant for another thread on the board.


graystone wrote:
Poor Wandering One wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:
Let's assume that monk of the empty hand forever stops you from gaining proficiency in a weapon. So what happens when a Gunslinger multiclasses into Monk of the Empty Hand? Do they then become unable to use a firearm or any other weapon?
Firearms are 'Ranged Weapons' the empty hand weapon swapping only effects 'Light', 'One Handed' and 'Two Handed' weapons. So it looks like the gunslinger of the empty hand is functional.
Wander over to the firearms section once. You'll see that ALL firearms are either one or two handed, triggering the empty hand weapon swapping. A gunslinger/Monk of the Empty Hand gets the awesome ability to throw pistols as clubs and the inability to ever fire them...

Their categories are 'one handed firearms' and 'two handed firearms'. These may be considered different categories than 'one handed' weapons and 'two handed' weapons specified as the following:

Quote:

Light, One-Handed, and Two-Handed Melee Weapons

This designation is a measure of how much effort it takes to wield a weapon in combat. It indicates whether a melee weapon, when wielded by a character of the weapon's size category, is considered a light weapon, a one-handed weapon, or a two-handed weapon.

Clearly 'this designation' does not apply to firearms, one- or two-handed. So then it just remains to be determined whether the empty handed monk is talking about the light, one-handed, and two-handed categories, or whether they are talking about any light, one-handed, or two-handed weapons in general.

The fact that they list 'light' along with one and two-handed indicates to me that they are talking about the melee weapon designation, and firearms wouldn't be covered.


_Ozy_ wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
Is normal weapon ever defined. I could easily say magical weapons are not normal.

In context, it would seem that 'normal' weapons are weapons that are not 'improvised weapons'.

Which would further indicate that 'improvised weapons' are indeed weapons, just not 'normal' weapons, which is relevant for another thread on the board.

Of course, you're drawing a ruling from a class that quite literally cannot make any use of any weapon that isn't a hammer, club, quarterstaff, and maybe unarmed strike. Maybe.

More specifically, drawing a ruling that was written by a guy that wrote a class that cannot make use of any weapon.


Bronnwynn wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
Is normal weapon ever defined. I could easily say magical weapons are not normal.

In context, it would seem that 'normal' weapons are weapons that are not 'improvised weapons'.

Which would further indicate that 'improvised weapons' are indeed weapons, just not 'normal' weapons, which is relevant for another thread on the board.

Of course, you're drawing a ruling from a class that quite literally cannot make any use of any weapon that isn't a hammer, club, quarterstaff, and maybe unarmed strike. Maybe.

More specifically, drawing a ruling that was written by a guy that wrote a class that cannot make use of any weapon.

I'm not 'drawing' anything, I'm suggesting a possible interpretation for the word 'normal'.

If you have an alternative explanation, feel free to present it.


_Ozy_ wrote:
Bronnwynn wrote:
_Ozy_ wrote:
Melkiador wrote:
Is normal weapon ever defined. I could easily say magical weapons are not normal.

In context, it would seem that 'normal' weapons are weapons that are not 'improvised weapons'.

Which would further indicate that 'improvised weapons' are indeed weapons, just not 'normal' weapons, which is relevant for another thread on the board.

Of course, you're drawing a ruling from a class that quite literally cannot make any use of any weapon that isn't a hammer, club, quarterstaff, and maybe unarmed strike. Maybe.

More specifically, drawing a ruling that was written by a guy that wrote a class that cannot make use of any weapon.

I'm not 'drawing' anything, I'm suggesting a possible interpretation for the word 'normal'.

If you have an alternative explanation, feel free to present it.

No, I agree with your interpretation of "normal" in the context. I just am leery of applying that interpretation elsewhere, as it's founded out of some very dubiously-thought-out RAW.


_Ozy_ wrote:
graystone wrote:
Poor Wandering One wrote:
Imbicatus wrote:
Let's assume that monk of the empty hand forever stops you from gaining proficiency in a weapon. So what happens when a Gunslinger multiclasses into Monk of the Empty Hand? Do they then become unable to use a firearm or any other weapon?
Firearms are 'Ranged Weapons' the empty hand weapon swapping only effects 'Light', 'One Handed' and 'Two Handed' weapons. So it looks like the gunslinger of the empty hand is functional.
Wander over to the firearms section once. You'll see that ALL firearms are either one or two handed, triggering the empty hand weapon swapping. A gunslinger/Monk of the Empty Hand gets the awesome ability to throw pistols as clubs and the inability to ever fire them...

Their categories are 'one handed firearms' and 'two handed firearms'. These may be considered different categories than 'one handed' weapons and 'two handed' weapons specified as the following:

Quote:

Light, One-Handed, and Two-Handed Melee Weapons

This designation is a measure of how much effort it takes to wield a weapon in combat. It indicates whether a melee weapon, when wielded by a character of the weapon's size category, is considered a light weapon, a one-handed weapon, or a two-handed weapon.

Clearly 'this designation' does not apply to firearms, one- or two-handed. So then it just remains to be determined whether the empty handed monk is talking about the light, one-handed, and two-handed categories, or whether they are talking about any light, one-handed, or two-handed weapons in general.

The fact that they list 'light' along with one and two-handed indicates to me that they are talking about the melee weapon designation, and firearms wouldn't be covered.

The fact is the feature lacks the melee or ranged categories. As such, it's not in the RAW. Note the reply from Owen K. C. Stephens. It was "RAW, shurikens aren't light weapons" NOT ranged weapons don't apply to the feature.

As to, 'one handed firearms' and 'two handed firearms' may be considered different categories than 'one handed' weapons and 'two handed' weapons: They may be INTENDED to be different but nothing indicates this. Really, it's a consequence of the loose language that permeates the rules set. If there isn't a note saying two identically named things are different, the default SHOULD be that they mean the same thing. 'One Handed' should mean the same thing no matter what you attach it to.

EDIT: Look at Savage Technologist's ability, Sword and Gun. You two weapon fight with a firearm and a melee weapon. How do you figure out the minuses used if you don't follow the 'melee' category for it? (ei, treating one handed the SAME)


graystone wrote:

The fact is the feature lacks the melee or ranged categories. As such, it's not in the RAW. Note the reply from Owen K. C. Stephens. It was "RAW, shurikens aren't light weapons" NOT ranged weapons don't apply to the feature.

As to, 'one handed firearms' and 'two handed firearms' may be considered different categories than 'one handed' weapons and 'two handed' weapons: They may be INTENDED to be different but nothing indicates this. Really, it's a consequence of the loose language that permeates the rules set. If there isn't a note saying two identically named things are different, the default SHOULD be that they mean the same thing. 'One Handed' should mean the same thing no matter what you attach it to.

EDIT: Look at Savage Technologist's ability, Sword and Gun. You two weapon fight with a firearm and a melee weapon. How do you figure out the minuses used if you don't follow the 'melee' category for it? (ei, treating one handed the SAME)

Yeah, I agree it's pretty murky, though I think the Sword and Gun description seems to classify them as separate categories:

Quote:
At 2nd level, when a raging savage technologist wields a one-handed firearm in one hand and a light or one-handed melee weapon in the other, she can make ranged attacks with the firearm without provoking attacks of opportunity. She also gains the benefits of the Two-Weapon Fighting feat, but only if all attacks are made with those weapons.

I'm not sure what you mean about the two weapon fighting category, all it does is apply penalties based on the off-hand, which is the light or one-handed melee weapon in sword and gun. Or, if you designate the gun as your off-hand, you don't get the reduction of penalties because it's not a light weapon. Why does it require a 'melee' category for the gun?


Poor Wandering One wrote:

You are by strict raw correct Pathfinder establishes melee and ranged categories and the monk ignores them.

Booth the Ginfighter of the Empty Hand and the Magus of the empty hand are crippled combinations.

Pity the poor sword owned by a MotEH 1/Blackblade Magus 19. All that power, none of it accessible.

I think I've found the perfect way to corrupt wishes players make to Glabrezu Demons.


Westphalian_Musketeer wrote:
Poor Wandering One wrote:

You are by strict raw correct Pathfinder establishes melee and ranged categories and the monk ignores them.

Booth the Ginfighter of the Empty Hand and the Magus of the empty hand are crippled combinations.

Pity the poor sword owned by a MotEH 1/Blackblade Magus 19. All that power, none of it accessible.

I think I've found the perfect way to corrupt wishes players make to Glabrezu Demons.

Level 1 BB Kensai Magus wishes for ultimate power.

"Okay. You gain 19 levels."

::Player's face lights up in shock and joy::

"One level in MOTEH, 18 in Magus. Have fun."

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / Monk of the Empty Hand Reach Weapons All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in Rules Questions