
Daniel Schwab |

I am a little confused by the text in this card and what makes it different from regular half-plate. The last bit of text says:
If you are proficient with Heavy Armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand.
What good is that supposed to be? Just recharging it instead of discarding it when you want other cards in your hand?

Firedale2002 |

I assumed that "recharge this armor when you reset your hand" would recharge a buried set of armor.
Thoughts?
You can only recharge a card from your hand unless an effect specifically says otherwise. Recharging, discarding, displaying, etc, all work that way; it must be in your hand to do so unless otherwise specifically stated.
The armors in question say you may recharge them when you reset your hand, so the recharged cards have to be in your hand to recharge, nowhere else.

![]() |

Firedale is correct. If it simply says "Recharge this armor when you reset your hand" then it must be in your hand. (Note: Displaying the armor will bring it back your hand after the encounter normally.)
There are cards that allow you to recharge a card from your discard pile but that is specifically spelled out. So like he said, if it doesn't say something else, then it means "from your hand".

![]() |

Vic posted that you can only recharge a card if you play it (i.e. discard it to activate its power).
So what does the text "If you are proficient with X armors, you may recharge this card when you reset your hand" do on these armors from the Fighter class deck when you reveal or bury them?
- Elven Breastplate: powers are reveal/banish/bury
- Hide Armor of Fire Resistance: powers are recharge/banish/bury
- Magic Full Plate: powers are recharge/banish/bury
- Lesser Bolstering Armor: powers are recharge/banish/bury
- Fortified Breastplate: powers are reveal/banish/bury

![]() |

It's not that you can only recharge when you play it. It's that the recharge text on the card, or character powers only trigger when you play the card. Other methods can still allow you to recharge without playing, or even discarding it. So, before discarding / drawing to your hand size, you can recharge the armor. It's handy if you have to discard a card to get down to size, but would rather just send an armor to the bottom of your deck.
That "if you are proficient" isn't about playing the cards. It's a method to trim / cycle your hand at the end of your turn.

Hawkmoon269 |

It applies when you are resetting your hand. You can only attempt the recharge check of a card if you play it. Vic was particularly talking about spells, and saying you can't attempt to recharge a spell if you didn't play the spell. The old recharge box was covered in the rules as applying only when you played the card. The new format of spells in Skull and Shackles explicitly say "After playing this card". But there are other ways to recharge cards. And those armors are one example.

Hawkmoon269 |

Yes. That particular power lets characters proficient with armor keep their hand from becoming full of armor. An non-proficient character would have to discard them when resetting their hand if they wanted to be able to draw more cards, but a proficient character can recharge them so they can draw other cards.
Notice that lots of the armors also let character proficient with that type of armor bury it instead of banish it. That is also a good benefit.

jones314 |

So the only thing it lets you do is put it on the bottom of your deck?
I can see situations where it could be useful, but in general it seems fairly worthless.
Recharging armor can actually be a big help to characters with armor proficiency to cycle their deck. And these characters might not have as many ways to cycle their decks as others.
For example Seelah is guaranteed to start with armor. If you get any kind of upgraded armor that lets you recharge armor before reset, you might want Seelah recharging her armor nearly every turn. She will probably get another armor soon and can get back to a Cure or a Blessing that she recharged earlier or maybe to a weapon that she needs.
Figuring out how to cycle your deck generally makes your character stronger.