Swashbuckler vs Sunder attempts - What happens?


Advanced Class Guide Playtest General Discussion


What happens when a opponent tries to sunder the Swahbuckler's weapon and the Swashbuckler wants to parry?

Liberty's Edge

Pretty much exactly what happens for any other attack roll made against the swashbuckler - the swash rolls the parry, if it exceeds the CMB check the attempt is deflected, if not then you compare it against the swash's CMD (allowing for the +4 bonus they probably have from swashbuckler finesse), and if it succeeds, then the weapon is sundered.

Why is this in question?


Pathfinder Adventure, Lost Omens, Rulebook, Starfinder Adventure Path, Starfinder Roleplaying Game Subscriber

because thematicly it makes less than zero sense to stop the ogre with a club from snaping your rapier by swatting the rapier with your club


Kekkres wrote:
because thematicly it makes less than zero sense to stop the ogre with a club from snaping your rapier by swatting the rapier with your club

The parry in this case represents the Swashbuckler picking up the Ogre's intent and having the blade "roll" with the impact, offering no resistance to the swing and thus being pushed instead of broken, or sliding the rapier into a position closer to where the ogre's hefting the club, so that leverage is reduced and the blow's damage is lessened.


I just brought this up because of all the rule lawyers you can come across.

Opportune Parry only comes into play against a melee attack made against the Swashbuckler.

The question is, would it work against a attack made against the Swashbucklers weapon?

I would allow it but I've seen some GM picky enough about the rules to not.


I don't think I would allow a swashbuckler to parry a disarm or sunder attempt. It seems to me that the ability to avoid the enemy hitting your weapon is a wholly different one from the ability to put your weapn between yourself and the enemy attack.

If we take the actual rules into account, my concept seems solified. CM cheks aren't attacks per se, although they don't target your weapon, even in the case of sunder and disarm they still target you.

Liberty's Edge

Arae Garven wrote:
If we take the actual rules into account, my concept seems solified. CM cheks aren't attacks per se, although they don't target your weapon, even in the case of sunder and disarm they still target you.
PRD, under Combat Maneuvers wrote:
When you attempt to perform a combat maneuver, make an attack roll and add your CMB in place of your normal attack bonus. Add any bonuses you currently have on attack rolls due to spells, feats, and other effects. These bonuses must be applicable to the weapon or attack used to perform the maneuver. The DC of this maneuver is your target's Combat Maneuver Defense. Combat maneuvers are attack rolls, so you must roll for concealment and take any other penalties that would normally apply to an attack roll.


I stand corrected. Thank you for clearing that up before I inflicted myself on my players.

Parry on :)

Community / Forums / Archive / Pathfinder / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Advanced Class Guide Playtest / General Discussion / Swashbuckler vs Sunder attempts - What happens? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.
Recent threads in General Discussion