Is an undead wielder immune to intelligent item ego conflict?


Rules Questions


3 people marked this as FAQ candidate.

Undead are immune to mind-affectin effects. Is an ego conflict with an intelligent item a mind-affecting effect? Or can a intelligent item still control an undead wielder if he fails his will save?


Quote:
Immunity to all mind-affecting effects (charms, compulsions, morale effects, patterns, and phantasms).

I hate that it says "all." An undead isn't immune to a barrel of things, and saying "all" is just odd.

Quote:
When a personality conflict occurs, the possessor must make a Will saving throw (DC = item's Ego).

It's a will saving throw, not a mind-affecting effect.

Interesting!


I would say no, the Undead isn't immune. I believe that save is basically to see if the item will continue to obey the possesor or not. If the Undead fails then the item wont use its powers, and if it has some form of movement will probably try to leave the Undead's possession.


The item does not take over the person's mind. It just tries to control them by taking over their body, depending on the situation.


If the subject were one of the mindless undead, I would allow the intelligent magic item full control at all times. Of course, only an evil item would take that opportunity, but it could create an interesting story!


1 person marked this as a favorite.

The adventure Whispers of the Vampire's Blade (Eberron) specifically has a vampire being controlled by a magic sword. Which is badass.

The Exchange

I suppose it depends on whether an item is 'dominating' the wielder (mind-affecting) or using something like magic jar (which doesn't have the mind-affecting descriptor). Probably a matter for a GM's judgement.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder RPG / Rules Questions / Is an undead wielder immune to intelligent item ego conflict? All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.