
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Interesting. I'd still appreciate if anyone could link a quote to the core rulebook that specifies. I'm reading it atm and it isn't clear one way or the other.
You can trip someone who is standing up with an AoO. It just doesn't do anything because they're already prone. The trip AoO resolves before they stand up.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

There's one (or two, as the case may be) in here that have me scratching my head, since I can't actually recall where this/these rules are...
5. Move enhancement bonus does not stack with monk’s increase movement6. Move enhancement bonus does stack with Barbarian’s increased movement
I'm sure it's out there, but I'm just drawing a blank(s) at the moment?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

This is one that I see a lot, and, to be honest, I'm not 100% I'm right, but... At Will does not equal free action. So if you have Detect Evil At Will, you still must spend a standard to actually use the ability. You just aren't limited in how many times you can use it. Same goes for creatures that can use darkness at will or any other at will ability.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

There's one (or two, as the case may be) in here that have me scratching my head, since I can't actually recall where this/these rules are...
Dysfunction wrote:I'm sure it's out there, but I'm just drawing a blank(s) at the moment?
5. Move enhancement bonus does not stack with monk’s increase movement6. Move enhancement bonus does stack with Barbarian’s increased movement
Fast Movement (Ex): A barbarian's land speed is faster than the norm for her race by +10 feet. This benefit applies only when she is wearing no armor, light armor, or medium armor, and not carrying a heavy load. Apply this bonus before modifying the barbarian's speed because of any load carried or armor worn. This bonus stacks with any other bonuses to the barbarian's land speed.
Fast Movement (Ex): At 3rd level, a monk gains an enhancement bonus to his land speed, as shown on Table: Monk. A monk in armor or carrying a medium or heavy load loses this extra speed.
Most ways of speeding a character up are also enhancement bonuses, so won't stack with this.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Mike Bramnik wrote:There's one (or two, as the case may be) in here that have me scratching my head, since I can't actually recall where this/these rules are...
Dysfunction wrote:I'm sure it's out there, but I'm just drawing a blank(s) at the moment?
5. Move enhancement bonus does not stack with monk’s increase movement6. Move enhancement bonus does stack with Barbarian’s increased movement
Fast Movement (Ex): A barbarian's land speed is faster than the norm for her race by +10 feet. This benefit applies only when she is wearing no armor, light armor, or medium armor, and not carrying a heavy load. Apply this bonus before modifying the barbarian's speed because of any load carried or armor worn. This bonus stacks with any other bonuses to the barbarian's land speed.
Fast Movement (Ex): At 3rd level, a monk gains an enhancement bonus to his land speed, as shown on Table: Monk. A monk in armor or carrying a medium or heavy load loses this extra speed.
Most ways of speeding a character up are also enhancement bonuses, so won't stack with this.
Yea, I just plain missed the Monk one... but I guess I'm missing where "+10 feet" and "this bonus stacks" means that an enhancement bonus to movement doesn't stack with barbarian fast movement?

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Not really a misconception, but I still don't know if my witch can freely fly with the Fly HEX or has to do a standard action to use it then move.
Flight (Su): The witch grows lighter as she gains power, eventually gaining the ability to fly. At 1st level, the witch can use feather fall at will and gains a +4 racial bonus on Swim checks. At 3rd level, she can cast levitate once per day. At 5th level, she can fly, as per the spell, for a number of minutes per day equal to her level. These minutes do not need to be consecutive, but they must be spent in 1-minute increments. This hex only affects the witch.
Supernatural Abilities (Su): Using a supernatural ability is usually a standard action (unless defined otherwise by the ability's description). It's use cannot be disrupted, does not require concentration, and does not provoke attacks of opportunity.
There you go. Since flight is supernatural and doesn't say otherwise it's a standard action to activate.

![]() ![]() |

So Far:
1. Produce flame – is not a touch spell, its a range 0' spell
2. Reach weapons – cannot reach an opponent in a diagonal square 10’ away (as that square actually counts as 15’ away)
3. 5’ step when moving from that same diagnal square 10' away – provokes an AOO as the diagnal movement counts as moving 15’ to 5’
4. Mage armor, shield, or other protection spells that add armor or shield bonus – do not add to CMD
5. Move enhancement bonus does not stack with monk’s increase movement
6. Move enhancement bonus does stack with Barbarian’s increased movement
7. Anyone can disable a nonmagical traps if they are skilled in disable trap
8. Lunge Feat – additional reach only counts on your turn - doesnt threaten squares when its not your turn
9. Flat-footed/Dexless characters do not add Dex bonus to CMD
10. Reach weapons suffer soft cover penalties when attacking through people
11. Aid another only works if the aiding PC can meet the required DC the primary PC is performing
12. Aid another in combat only works for those that threaten the same opponent
13: Jump checks are really hard to meet for vertical distance (I do not care that your skill is 40+ you can't jump up 60'
14: You can tumble through difficult terrain, movement costs double to tumble, and double to move through the terrain. This is an exception to the general rule that two doublings are equivalent to a tripling.
15. PFS does not require a recently raised character to record a Negative Levels from death.
16. You can choose your favored class bonus every level (not just at 1st).
17. Eidolons disappear at negative con, not at 0 like normal summons.
18. Gunslingers are ridiculously complicated and should not be played.
19. Witch's Fly hex is a (SU), which requires a standard action to activate.
20. AOO happen prior to the action that trigger them. Preventing a ‘trip-lock’ situation where opponent is continuously tripped.
21. Spell-like abilities require a standard action to activate, at-will, only refers to how many times a day they can be used.
22. When not in danger or distracted, characters can take 10 on skill checks or ability checks, this does not require 10x the amount of time to use. It works as if the character rolled a natural 10.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

3. 5’ step – provokes an AOO when stepping in from a diagonal square 10’ to 5’ (counts as 15’ to 5’)
A 5-foot step never provokes an AoO (unless I've forgotten something).
Also, I think your comment is missing some text around reach weapons; moving in on the diagonal towards a medium foe without a reach weapon wouldn't provoke at all.
Finally, there's no such thing as a "diagonal square 10'" - diagonals are either 5 or 15 feet away.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Dysfunction, what do you mean by #16? Do you mean that characters gain their favored class bonus (hit point, skill rank, something else if the player has access to additional resources) every time they gain a new level in their favored class? (That's true.) Or that they can choose a new favored class ever level? (That's not true.)
Incidentally, #20 is true for Attacks of Opportunity, but not for readied actions. "I ready an action to trip that guy as soon as he stands up" is a legal readied action, and it can keep an opponent on the ground.
Paz, my understanding of the rules is the same as Dysfunction's. We might both be wrong, but if your character in A3 moves into into B2 in order to attack a character in C1 who is wielding a 10' reach weapon, your character will still provoke an attack of opportunity even though the only square he moved out of, A3, is outside the reach of the character in C1.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Dysfunction, what do you mean by #16? Do you mean that characters gain their favored class bonus (hit point, skill rank, something else if the player has access to additional resources) every time they gain a new level in their favored class? (That's true.) Or that they can choose a new favored class ever level? (That's not true.)
Incidentally, #20 is true for Attacks of Opportunity, but not for readied actions. "I ready an action to trip that guy as soon as he stands up" is a legal readied action, and it can keep an opponent on the ground.
Chris, readied actions that go after something always have had a problem. A Ready jumps in Init. order to be before the triggering action, so in effect you are saying "I ready an action to trip that guy (going before him) as soon as he stands up (going after him)". Huh? where in the Init. order do we place you after this round? Say the Stand Up Guy was going on Init 10. Are you Init -10 or +10 now? Ready normally puts you before him in the Inititive, but your action needs to have happened AFTER he went...
(It basicly means that you are have Ready'ed a Delay action...)

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

15. PFS does not require a recently raised character to record a Negative Levels from death.
It most assuredly does. Even if you have "taken care of" the death via raise dead and two restorations it must be recorded on your chronicle. If you don't pay for the restorations, you have two permanent negative levels.
As for the diagonal thing, I could have sworn SKR stated that you did get an AoO if someone moved in on the diagonal (not a 5' step) but my search-fu only turned up a post by Ross Byers.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

if your character in A3 moves into into B2 in order to attack a character in C1 who is wielding a 10' reach weapon, your character will still provoke an attack of opportunity
I agree with this statement, as long as the A3->B2 move is the last square of a move action (rather than a 5 foot step). But it's not the same as what Dysfunction's point #3 says.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
here's a corner case for the 5' diagonal step/move.
Joe starts to take a 5' step against Fred (who has a reach weapon). Fred uses his AOO to trip Joe - where does Joe fall? Joe falls down where Fred can hit him, at 10'. Wait, there is not 10' location...
.
If Fred is one of those Trip Monkey builds that gets AOOs whenever someone falls down or stands up... Joe has sidesteped the threatened areas.
(LOL! notice what I did?)

![]() |

here's a corner case for the 5' diagonal step/move.
Joe starts to take a 5' step against Fred (who has a reach weapon). Fred uses his AOO to trip Joe - where does Joe fall? Joe falls down where Fred can hit him, at 10'. Wait, there is not 10' location...
.
If Fred is one of those Trip Monkey builds that gets AOOs whenever someone falls down or stands up... Joe has sidesteped the threatened areas.(LOL! notice what I did?)
If Joe is taking a 5-foot-step, how is he provoking an AoO?
EDIT: ninja'd.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
that is what #3 above is saying.
"3. 5’ step when moving from that same diagnal square 10' away – provokes an AOO as the diagnal movement counts as moving 15’ to 5’"
and is part of the problem I am pointing out in my example:
that in taking that 5' step from 15' (where you can't be attacked) to 5' (where you can't be attacked) you must have moved through the 10' space (which doesn't exist on the map).

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
11 people marked this as a favorite. |

As much as this thread started with intentions of PFS I think its derailing into a rules lawyering. I'll try to bring it back a bit.
We actually maintain a list similar in the GA PFS forums. WITH SOURCES
1. You do not need trapfinding in Pathfinder to locate a trap. You only need it to disable a magical trap with disable device. Anyone can make a perception check to find a trap, even a magical one. Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Core Rulebook pg. 417
2. Bardic performance is a free action to maintain and does not inhibit any other actions the character may wish to perform while doing so. Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Core Rulebook pg. 35-38
3. The following spells have 1 round cast time (note, NOT full round action): Enlarge Person, Reduce Person, Sleep, Infernal Healing, Silence, Deep Slumber, Summon Monster, Dominate.
4. You cannot "partial charge" in Pathfinder. You can charge as a standard action ONLY if you are denied having a full round action for that turn, such as a surprise round or being staggered. Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Core Rulebook pg. 198
5. You can take 10 any time you are not in a time of distraction or stress (like combat) on any skill. You may also take 20 on a skill (taking 20 times as long) to take a check if there is no penalty for failure. Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Core Rulebook pg. 86
6. For ranged and reach attacks: To determine whether your target has cover from your ranged attack, choose a corner of your square. If any line from this corner to any corner of the target's square passes through a square or border that blocks line of effect or provides cover, or through a square occupied by a creature, the target has cover (+4 to AC).
Update: James Jacobs answered a question about having a reach attack and attacking around a corner when it's a large creature with reach (or an enlarged person for that matter) where they do not have cover when attacking around a cover in certain cases. Link.
Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Core Rulebook pg. 195-196
7. You cannot take ranks in the Fly skill without a natural means of flight or gliding. Creatures can also take ranks in Fly if they possess a reliable means of flying every day (either through a spell or other special ability).
Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Core Rulebook pg. 96 (very last paragraph)
8. You can take swift actions during a surprise round or while staggered. You can take it in the surprise round because you can take free actions in the surprise round, and you can take swift actions whenever you can take a free action.
Sources: (Staggered: d20pfsrd, Paizo PRD, Core Rulebook pg. 568) (Surprise Round: d20pfsrd, Paizo Prd, Core Rulebook pg. 178) (Swift Actions: d20pfsrd, Paizo PRD, Core Rulebook pg. 188)
9. Wands do not reduce the casting time of spells that have a casting time greater than a standard action. Wands DO increase the casting time of any spell less than a standard action (I.E. move action, swift action, immediate action, free action) to a standard action. This rule also applies to scrolls.
Sources: (Wands: d20pfsrd, Paizo PRD, Core Rulebook pg. 496) (Scrolls: d20pfsrd, Paizo PRD, Core Rulebook pg. 490 (second to last paragraph))
10. Sneak attack, criticals, and flanking.
You can't sneak attack, critical, or flank:
Creatures with Ooze Traits
Creatures with Elemental Subtype
Creatures with Swarm Subtype
Incorporeal creatures without a ghost touch weapon
Creatures with the Amorphous special quality
Special cases:
Aeon subtype makes the creature immune to critical hits only.
Protean subtype gives the creature a 50% chance to ignore sneak attack or critical hits.
Unless specifically called otherwise, all other creatures, such as Undead, Constructs, and Plants can be sneak attacked and affected by critical hits.
Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Bestiary pg. 306-313
11. When using Use Magic Device to activate something, you do not automatically fail on a natural 1 (just like any other skill). If you do fail the check and roll a natural 1, then YOU cannot activate the item using Use Magic Device for 24 hours.
Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Core Rulebook pg. 109
12. You can voluntary fail a saving throw, but only versus a spell.
Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Core Rulebook pg. 217
13. You can make sunder attacks as part of a full-round attack action.
Sources: Pathfinder Core RPG FAQ
14. If you are prone, you can 5 foot crawl as a move action (not full-round action). This provokes attacks of opportunity.
Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Core Rulebook pg. TBD
15. You cannot take 10 on spellcraft checks to identify magic items when using detect magic. Concentrating on a spell counts as strenuous activity.
Source: Link.
16. Spell trigger items, like wands, can be used by characters who have the spell in question on their spell list but cannot yet cast spells, for example rangers and paladins that are below level 4.
Sources: d20pfsrd. Paizo PRD. Core Rulebook pg. TBD

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
that is what #3 above is saying.
"3. 5’ step when moving from that same diagnal square 10' away – provokes an AOO as the diagnal movement counts as moving 15’ to 5’"and is part of the problem I am pointing out in my example:
that in taking that 5' step from 15' (where you can't be attacked) to 5' (where you can't be attacked) you must have moved through the 10' space (which doesn't exist on the map).
A 5' step doesn't provoke -- even on the diagonal.
SKR's ruling meant that a 10' reach weapon does not threaten on the diagonal because it cannot reach the 15' diagonal square and is too long to threaten the 5' diagonal. However, the one exception is that if a person provokes an attack of opportunity due to closing along the diagonal -- not a 5' step -- the person with the reach weapon still gets to take an attack of opportunity.
This is because, even though there is no square to represent the zone of control, the person with a reach weapon still threatens to 10' and closing the distance means passing within this threat range.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Hi All -
As I have been playing PFS, I have noticed issues that would crop up several times by random players at my table. So, I thought I would start a thread with the intent to bring to light common misconceptions that players may have unwittingly done.
Feel free to add any that you have encountered in your travels as well
The below cases are some of those witnessed examples:
1. Produce flame – is not a touch spell, its a range 0' spell
2. Reach weapons – cannot reach an opponent in a diagonal 10’ square (counts as 15’)
3. 5’ step – provokes an AOO when stepping in from a diagonal square 10’ to 5’ (counts as 15’ to 5’)
4. Mage armor, shield, or other protection spells that add armor or shield bonus – do not add to CMD
5. Move enhancement bonus does not stack with monk’s increase movement
6. Move enhancement bonus does stack with Barbarian’s increased movement
7. Anyone can disable a nonmagical traps if they are skilled in disable trap
8. Lunge Feat – additional reach only counts on your turn - doesnt threaten squares when its not your turn
9. Flat-footed/Dexless characters do not add Dex bonus to CMD
10. Reach weapons suffer soft cover penalties when attacking through people
11. Aid another only works if the aiding PC can meet the required DC the primary PC is performing
12. Aid another in combat only works for those that threaten the same opponent
This is a great topic. I’ve already learned something on the Aid Another thing.
One thing though, please remove the points from your list that are your opinion or interpretation of a rule that is not 100% clear or are flat out wrong.
And I know your intention is not to have a rules argument, but you can’t make a viable list with any credibility if it sparks rules discussion or if it has flat out incorrect things on it.
5’ step is a 5’ step. Unless something is hindering movement, a 5’ step never provokes an AoO regardless of whether it is a diagonal move or not.
The reach 10’ threatening the 2nd diagonal is not clearly defined. Some people interpret what SKR says the way you do, others do not. I interpret it that reach works on the diagonal the same as it works otherwise.
But otherwise, very nice job starting a thread and compiling a list of common errors.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

that is what #3 above is saying.
"3. 5’ step when moving from that same diagnal square 10' away – provokes an AOO as the diagnal movement counts as moving 15’ to 5’"and is part of the problem I am pointing out in my example:
that in taking that 5' step from 15' (where you can't be attacked) to 5' (where you can't be attacked) you must have moved through the 10' space (which doesn't exist on the map).
I still don't see it. If you start your turn in the second diagonal square from something, and take a diagonal 5-foot steep toward, it is still a 5-foot steep and does not provoke. Moving in from a diagonal would provoke, but never a 5-foot step. 5-foot steps never provoke unless the opponent has a special ability that specifically states taking a 5 ft step provokes.
The rules for "Take 5-foot Step" clearly states it never provokes. This would apply if standing next to the reach creature and take a diagonal 5-foot step backwards.
Until you can show me a rule that specifically states a create with reach or reach weapon gets to take an AoO against others taking a 5-foot step I will continue to allow diagonal 5-foot step into an opponent.

![]() ![]() |

Seriously, this thread seems to be adding confusion, not clarifying it.
There are several wrong things in the "frequently misunderstood" list that are being kept, despite being shown to be wrong.
For example, 5 foot steps do NOT ever provoke. That is a rule. There is no 5 foot steps on a diagonal provoke rule. This comes from a misunderstanding of posts by SKR on reach talking about moving, not 5-foot steps. To put it another way, if a 5-foot step allows you to move 10 feet, then it's not a 5-foot step. This wrong interpretation also violates the first diagonal counts as 5-foot rule.
The aid another rule also appears to only be referring to trained only skills. At no point does it say that each person must be able to beat the DC themselves. In other words, the text says "the skill restricts" and this is being interpreted as "the task restricts." The skill and the task are not the same thing. This itself is a misunderstanding.

![]() |

I have come to the side of Trained skills only having an Aid Another restriction.
I see it as two parts:
1) You may Aid another on skill checks, but your ability to do so may be restricted on trained only skills or by the GM.
2) Within trained skills, only people who can beat the DC by themselves (i.e. The DC is equal to or less than 20 + the players modifier) can Aid.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

Honestly, I think that this list of "misconceptions" should be discarded. Many of these rulings are incorrect by the PRD or Core Rulebook, and many forum posts are being heavily misinterpreted.
A 5-foot step NEVER provokes, even on the diagonal. From the PRD:
"You can move 5 feet in any round when you don't perform any other kind of movement. Taking this 5-foot step never provokes an attack of opportunity."
SKR is simply saying that MOVING from two diagonals away to one diagonal away as part of a longer total movement will provoke against a creature with reach.
Straight from the PRD again:
"A creature with greater than normal natural reach usually gets an attack of opportunity against you if you approach it, because you must enter and move within the range of its reach before you can attack it. This attack of opportunity is not provoked if you take a 5-foot step."
Also, I vehemently disagree that the removal of the "reach weapon clarification" about diagonals from the rules means that medium characters with reach do not threaten the second diagonal.
(Remember, this game is defined in feet; the grid is an abstraction to help us better visualize movement.)
The second diagonal square is defined as having its first corner start at 5 feet away and its second corner end at 15 feet away. Thus, a creature with a reach of 10 feet from every corner of its square (if one leaves the grid aside for a moment and measures, perhaps with string or a tape measure) would be able to target a large portion of this square.
Because a portion of this square is targetable, I would rule a creature in the square is targetable.
If reach into the second diagonal is not allowed, it is very easy to "get in under someone's guard" just by approaching from a slightly different angle, which does not make sense at all (as a creature with a pole arm and a creature with a longsword are suddenly made equal just because the world has been flipped 45 degrees).

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Nefreet wrote:Swarms are immune to sneak attack.no, they are not. click the link i supplied in my post going to the paizo srd on the swarm subtype. they are immune to flanking and critical hits, but not precision damage. you can sneak attack swarms.
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2ktke?Sneak-Attack-Info#4
Incorporeal creatures, swarms, elementals, and oozes are both immune to sneak attacks, but that's pretty much it. Corporeal undead, all constructs, and pretty much everything else can be sneak attacked (or by extension critically hit). And, ninjaed.
Two pertinent info there. SA and crits are both linked.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

And a developer backs it up. In Pathfinder, DESPITE the language that got removed (turns out that section wasn't Open Game Content so they couldn't keep it), creatures with reach DO threaten the second diagonal.
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2lost?Reach-at-diagonals#12

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

asthyril wrote:Nefreet wrote:Swarms are immune to sneak attack.no, they are not. click the link i supplied in my post going to the paizo srd on the swarm subtype. they are immune to flanking and critical hits, but not precision damage. you can sneak attack swarms.http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2ktke?Sneak-Attack-Info#4
James Jacobs wrote:Incorporeal creatures, swarms, elementals, and oozes are both immune to sneak attacks, but that's pretty much it. Corporeal undead, all constructs, and pretty much everything else can be sneak attacked (or by extension critically hit). And, ninjaed.
While the swarm type does not specifically call out immunity to precision damage, it does call out that a swarm has "no discernable anatomy." This would indicate to me that a rogue could not sneak attack it, as "the rogue must be able to see the target well enough to pick out a vital spot and must be able to reach such a spot."

![]() |

Using the same link you provided.
Almost EVERYTHING in Pathifnder can be sneak attacked. In fact, creatures that can't be sneak attacked are so rare now that they'll either mention the fact that they're immune as a special defense or it's part of their type.
Taking this into consideration, the Swarm subtype does NOT have the immune to precision damage that is found in elementals and incorporeals. Interestingly, neither does the Ooze type. According to the creature types in the PRD ONLY elementals and incorporeals are immune to sneak attack and proteans being immune 50% of the time.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Nefreet wrote:Swarms are immune to sneak attack.no, they are not. click the link i supplied in my post going to the paizo srd on the swarm subtype. they are immune to flanking and critical hits, but not precision damage. you can sneak attack swarms.
Considering that weapons can't typically damage swarms, how does being able to sneak attack them help?
Sure, you can roll another 4d6 of nothing.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

asthyril wrote:Nefreet wrote:Swarms are immune to sneak attack.no, they are not. click the link i supplied in my post going to the paizo srd on the swarm subtype. they are immune to flanking and critical hits, but not precision damage. you can sneak attack swarms.Considering that weapons can't typically damage swarms, how does being able to sneak attack them help?
Sure, you can roll another 4d6 of nothing.
EH, only swarms of size diminutive are immune to weapon damage. Anything bigger than that (Rats and such) still do take damage from weapons.

![]() ![]() |

rangerjeff wrote:one thing I saw going on for a while until I found out it doesn't work here on the boards is a trip build guy who was using the AoO when somebody stands up to trip them again
I wasn't aware that this was a problem. It specifically states that you can substitute a trip for a melee attack (as opposed to say a grapple which specifically requires a standard action) and an attack of opportunity is clearly that. Am I missing something? This appears to be pretty clearly RAW to me...
"An attack of opportunity is a single melee attack, and most characters can only make one per round. You don't have to make an attack of opportunity if you don't want to. You make your attack of opportunity at your normal attack bonus, even if you've already attacked in the round."
"You can attempt to trip your opponent in place of a melee attack."
These are both cut and pasted from d20pfsrd which I realize is not official, though I thought they were more or less pulled word for word from the crb.
When you attack someone by virtue of them having provoked an attack of opportunity though standing up from prone, your attack occurs before they complete the action. So they still count as prone when you attack, and you can't trip someone who is already prone.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
Splash Weapons don't get sneak attack ever.
Thanks Cheapy! (that was fast!)
and that reminds me.
(I beleave) Splash weapons can't be targeted at a square - only at a target (creature or object) or at a specific grid intersection. So when an Alchemist throws a bomb, he can't target an empty square, just an intersection.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Taking this into consideration, the Swarm subtype does NOT have the immune to precision damage that is found in elementals and incorporeals. Interestingly, neither does the Ooze type. According to the creature types in the PRD ONLY elementals and incorporeals are immune to sneak attack and proteans being immune 50% of the time.
Ooze type does have it. Remember there is the creature type, and then creature subtype and then there are XXX traits.
Not subject to critical hits or flanking. Does not take additional damage from precision-based attacks, such as sneak attack.

Grick |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

And a developer backs it up. In Pathfinder, DESPITE the language that got removed (turns out that section wasn't Open Game Content so they couldn't keep it), creatures with reach DO threaten the second diagonal.
http://paizo.com/threads/rzs2lost?Reach-at-diagonals#12
That's Ross Byers (Assistant Software Developer) posting in 2011.
Sean K Reynolds (Designer) posted in late 2012 about how he conferred with Jason Bulmahn (Lead Designer) about the ruling that, while you do not threaten the 2nd diagonal, you do threaten a 10-foot band across which a creature must pass in order to move up adjacent to you.
Thread summary:
SKR 2: The 10-foot-radius band.
SKR 4: Confirmation that this post "sounds right".

![]() |

Common misconceptions I've noticed at my tables include believing erroneously that HeroLab® is a legal source for character elements, believing that Diplomacy can be used in Combat (or rather, that one can make a Diplomacy check as a standard action, which maybe you can do once you've satisfied that "at least one minute of continuous interaction" requirement, but you know what I mean) and misunderstanding how the Acrobatics rules work when moving through threatened spaces or an enemy's square.

![]() ![]() ![]() |

james jacob is not a developer and often says his rulings are for his own home games, not official.
you cannot sneak attack elementals because it says so:
Elemental Subtype: An elemental is a being composed entirely from one of the four classical elements: air, earth, fire, or water. An elemental has the following features.
Immunity to bleed, paralysis, poison, sleep effects, and stunning.
Not subject to critical hits or flanking. Does not take additional damage from precision-based attacks, such as sneak attack.
note the bolded part in italics. that does not appear in swarm traits. it is just immune to flanking and critical hits.
Swarm Traits: A swarm has no clear front or back and no discernable anatomy, so it is not subject to critical hits or flanking. A swarm made up of Tiny creatures takes half damage from slashing and piercing weapons. A swarm composed of Fine or Diminutive creatures is immune to all weapon damage.
you cannot sneak attack elementals (or other types mentioned above), you CAN sneak attack swarms.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
1 person marked this as a favorite. |

…she can strike a vital spot for extra damage…. The rogue must be able to see the target well enough to pick out a vital spot and must be able to reach such a spot.
A swarm has no clear front or back and no discernable anatomy,…
Whether it says no or not, I think the above statements indicates it can’t be done. If the swarm has no discernable anatomy, then the rogue can’t pick out a vital spot.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

With respect to sneak attacking swarms, I think a dash of common sense is in order here. A swarm represents a whole bunch of very small creatures. Stabbing one of them -- even stabbing one of them really precisely -- would at best kill one creature.
Add to that the "no discernible anatomy" text, and I think the intent of the rules is pretty clear.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Common misconceptions I've noticed at my tables include [...] misunderstanding how the Acrobatics rules work when moving through threatened spaces or an enemy's square.
That's because it's complicated :-)
The FAQ entry on Acrobatics (and the following entry) should clear up most of the misconceptions (you make a separate check against each opponent; the DC increases based on the total number of opponents avoided so far in the round, not on the number of opponents who simultaneously threaten a square, &c.)Interpreting the FAQ as strict RAW also means that if you fail the check to move through an opponent's square you lose the move action. Note it does not say you lose the remainder of the move action; if you have already moved some distance before taking the check you are, apparently, required to return to the square you started from. I've never seen anyone actually do it that way (for one thing, what are you supposed to do about any attacks of opportunity you might have drawn during that earlier part of your movement?), but that's what it says in the FAQ.

![]() ![]() |

BigNorseWolf wrote:Yea, I just plain missed the Monk one... but I guess I'm missing where "+10 feet" and "this bonus stacks" means that an enhancement bonus to movement doesn't stack with barbarian fast movement?Mike Bramnik wrote:There's one (or two, as the case may be) in here that have me scratching my head, since I can't actually recall where this/these rules are...
Dysfunction wrote:I'm sure it's out there, but I'm just drawing a blank(s) at the moment?
5. Move enhancement bonus does not stack with monk’s increase movement6. Move enhancement bonus does stack with Barbarian’s increased movement
Fast Movement (Ex): A barbarian's land speed is faster than the norm for her race by +10 feet. This benefit applies only when she is wearing no armor, light armor, or medium armor, and not carrying a heavy load. Apply this bonus before modifying the barbarian's speed because of any load carried or armor worn. This bonus stacks with any other bonuses to the barbarian's land speed.
Fast Movement (Ex): At 3rd level, a monk gains an enhancement bonus to his land speed, as shown on Table: Monk. A monk in armor or carrying a medium or heavy load loses this extra speed.
Most ways of speeding a character up are also enhancement bonuses, so won't stack with this.
The typical bonus to speed is "haste" which is an enhancement bonus. Since with very limited exception bonuses of the same type don't stack (you'd simply use the highest) enhancement bonuses to speed won't stack with the monks bonus because they are both enhancement bonuses. The Barbarian's speed bonus is untyped, so it stacks with other bonuses...and this fact is further reinforced by the specific statement saying it stacks with other bonuses.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |

Christopher Rowe wrote:Common misconceptions I've noticed at my tables include [...] misunderstanding how the Acrobatics rules work when moving through threatened spaces or an enemy's square.That's because it's complicated :-)
The FAQ entry on Acrobatics (and the following entry) should clear up most of the misconceptions (you make a separate check against each opponent; the DC increases based on the total number of opponents avoided so far in the round, not on the number of opponents who simultaneously threaten a square, &c.)Interpreting the FAQ as strict RAW also means that if you fail the check to move through an opponent's square you lose the move action. Note it does not say you lose the remainder of the move action; if you have already moved some distance before taking the check you are, apparently, required to return to the square you started from. I've never seen anyone actually do it that way (for one thing, what are you supposed to do about any attacks of opportunity you might have drawn during that earlier part of your movement?), but that's what it says in the FAQ.
I think the “return to the square you started from” refers to the square immediately before trying to go through an enemy’s square. Not the square that you started your entire move action from. As you note, that seems really weird and then requires a certain level of retconning, which I don’t think is in the spirit of the game.

![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() |
It is complicated rule.
I have a few characters that use acrobatics and I think every time I use it I had to explain how it works to the GM (Except when Mike GMd, but even then I had to explain it to another player).