Paizo Top Nav Branding
  • Hello, Guest! |
  • Sign In |
  • My Account |
  • Shopping Cart |
  • Help/FAQ
About Paizo Messageboards News Paizo Blog Help/FAQ
Pathfinder Roleplaying Game
Pathfinder Society

Pathfinder Beginner Box

Pathfinder Adventure Card Game

Pathfinder Comics

Pathfinder Legends

PaizoCon 2014!

Archmage Path Powers Questions


Player Feedback

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber
Quote:
Deep Understanding: ... In addition, whenever you attempt to identify a magic item using detect magic or a similar effect, you can take 10 on the check to determine its properties.

When you are maintaining detect magic to study an item to identify its properties, this suggests that the concentration requirement normally precludes taking 10? Is this accurate and intentional? (Yep, this is a case of mythic affecting core rules by implication).

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber
Quote:

Familiar Mind (Su): As a standard action, you can see and hear through your familiar’s eyes and ears. While using this ability you can’t see or hear using your normal senses and you can’t move. You can also speak through your familiar, using your own voice to do so. Finally, you

can expend one use of mythic power to cast one arcane spell using your familiar as the spell’s caster. You must expend the spell as normal when using this ability. Aside from its origin, all other aspects of the spell are based upon the archmage.

This power has no described duration.

As an Su, it is already a standard action to activate it.

Does the projection work across planes?

Are there any repercussions if the familiar dies while your mind is projected into the familiar's?

It is unclear from the text but seems intended that senses granted by spells would also be turned off by projecting your senses to the familiar, i.e. the arcane eye spell. Would arcane sight work through the familiar's senses, as in the other remote-sensor spells like arcane eye?

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber
Quote:

Itemcraft (Ex): You are skilled at getting the most out of

magic items. You add 1/2 your archmage tier (minimum
1) to the caster level of potions, scrolls, staves, and wands
you use when determining the effects of the spells
created by them. When using a staff, wand, or other
charged item, you can expend one use of mythic power
in place of one charge.

Is this intended to allow a ring of ferocious action, chime of opening, and other very-low-charge-count items to be powered by mythic power? Does the item need to have at least one charge of its own to be activated in this fashion?


Deep understanding probably should have "regardless of circumstances" condition added.

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber
Drejk wrote:
Probably should have "regardless of circumstances" condition added.

For Deep Understanding, I suspect? Being able to study an item for 3 rounds in combat to take 10 on spellcraft doesn't strike me as a good deal...

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber
Quote:

True Archmage (Ex): At 10th tier, whenever you cast an arcane spell that targets one or more nonmythic creatures, those creatures must roll any saving throws associated with the spell twice and take the worse result.

In addition, you gain spell resistance equal to 15 + your highest arcane caster level, but only against arcane spells. Once per round when your spell resistance protects you from a spell cast by an enemy mythic creature, you regain one use of mythic power. You can’t gain more uses of
mythic power than your maximum.

The first part of this power overlaps significantly with Arcane Surge but removes the mythic power cost. If that's intentional, great, but it seems like there's different places to take this that'd be 'cooler'. It seems kind of limiting that there's only one capstone power, and it's mostly mythic power recharging.

Paizo Employee Lead Designer

3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. 2 people marked this as a favorite.
TetsujinOni wrote:
Quote:
Deep Understanding: ... In addition, whenever you attempt to identify a magic item using detect magic or a similar effect, you can take 10 on the check to determine its properties.

When you are maintaining detect magic to study an item to identify its properties, this suggests that the concentration requirement normally precludes taking 10? Is this accurate and intentional? (Yep, this is a case of mythic affecting core rules by implication).

This is intentional.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

Paizo Employee Lead Designer

TetsujinOni wrote:
Quote:

Familiar Mind (Su): As a standard action, you can see and hear through your familiar’s eyes and ears. While using this ability you can’t see or hear using your normal senses and you can’t move. You can also speak through your familiar, using your own voice to do so. Finally, you

can expend one use of mythic power to cast one arcane spell using your familiar as the spell’s caster. You must expend the spell as normal when using this ability. Aside from its origin, all other aspects of the spell are based upon the archmage.

This power has no described duration.

As an Su, it is already a standard action to activate it.

Does the projection work across planes?

Are there any repercussions if the familiar dies while your mind is projected into the familiar's?

It is unclear from the text but seems intended that senses granted by spells would also be turned off by projecting your senses to the familiar, i.e. the arcane eye spell. Would arcane sight work through the familiar's senses, as in the other remote-sensor spells like arcane eye?

We repeat the standard action bit for clarity. The duration is for as long as you maintain it. The projection currently works across planes. There are no repercussions if your familiar dies. As for other senses, yeah, you basically lose those when looking through your familiar.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing


TetsujinOni wrote:
Is this intended to allow a ring of ferocious action, chime of opening, and other very-low-charge-count items to be powered by mythic power?

A Ring of Wishes is probably the best example.


1 person marked this as a favorite.
Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Companion, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Huh. I did not know concentration duration spells would preclude taking 10. I was thinking that a spell all about IDing magic wouldn't really be distracting to IDing magic. Learn something every day.

edit: guess it is distracting since you're concentrating on one thing...Makes sense in a "I don't think it's spelled out anywhere but when you step back from the rules a bit, it's sort of common sense" way.

Paizo Employee Lead Designer

hogarth wrote:
TetsujinOni wrote:
Is this intended to allow a ring of ferocious action, chime of opening, and other very-low-charge-count items to be powered by mythic power?
A Ring of Wishes is probably the best example.

Hmm... that is an issue.

Going to have to give that a bit of thought.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber
Jason Bulmahn wrote:
TetsujinOni wrote:
Quote:

Familiar Mind (Su): As a standard action, you can see and hear through your familiar’s eyes and ears. While using this ability you can’t see or hear using your normal senses and you can’t move. You can also speak through your familiar, using your own voice to do so. Finally, you

can expend one use of mythic power to cast one arcane spell using your familiar as the spell’s caster. You must expend the spell as normal when using this ability. Aside from its origin, all other aspects of the spell are based upon the archmage.

This power has no described duration.

As an Su, it is already a standard action to activate it.

Does the projection work across planes?

Are there any repercussions if the familiar dies while your mind is projected into the familiar's?

It is unclear from the text but seems intended that senses granted by spells would also be turned off by projecting your senses to the familiar, i.e. the arcane eye spell. Would arcane sight work through the familiar's senses, as in the other remote-sensor spells like arcane eye?

We repeat the standard action bit for clarity. The duration is for as long as you maintain it. The projection currently works across planes. There are no repercussions if your familiar dies. As for other senses, yeah, you basically lose those when looking through your familiar.

Jason Bulmahn
Lead Designer
Paizo Publishing

Is there a concentration requirement? Do you gain permanent detect magic from your familiar if they have it? Can a permanent detect magic take 10 on the check to identify items absent Deep Understanding?

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hmmm, I've just reread

Enduring Armor:
When preparing your spells you
may leave a single arcane spell slot unfilled in order to
grant yourself a lasting armor of force. This effect grants
you an armor bonus equal to 3 + 1/2 the level of the empty
spell slot (minimum 1). The armor persists as long as the
spell slot remains empty. This ability is an abjuration
effect with a level equal to the level of the spell slot. If it
is dispelled or otherwise ended, it can be resumed as a
standard action.

It's essentialy another way to get a mage armor, but the ability stipulates that only a spellcaster that prepares spells can benefit from it, which I find kind of sad. Was it the intention?

It's quite an interesting ability, but between Endless Power that lets you use Magic armor at will(at an higher level I know), Enduring Armor, isn't there a little repetition?

I'm afraid that Enduring armor misses a little something that can make it a little more at higher level. The new mythic version of Mage armor is so cool, that I'm afraid enduring armor might get overshadowed by it.

I know that the number of mythic point is limited, but to pay one point to get mythic mage armor (with a little help of our dear friend the rod of extends) sure seems like a better solution than taking Enduring Armor, even if I have to admit that Enduring armor is really great at low level.

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hmmm, another question just popped in mind...

Endless Power:
You gain the ability to cast spells
without expending your power. If you are capable of
casting arcane spells of 5th level or higher, whenever you
cast a 1st-level arcane spell it is either not expended (if you
prepare spells) or doesn’t use up a spell slot (if you casts
spells spontaneously). You must be at least 6th tier before
selecting this ability. You can select this ability more than
once. Each time you do, the level of arcane spells you can
cast without expending the spell or using up the spell slot
increases by one, to a maximum of 3rd level.

Right now, it seems like it would work with spells modified by metamagic, so if you took Endless Power 3 times, you could get Empowered Magic Missile at will?

Cheliax

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Maps, Modules Subscriber

so a Wizard 9 Tier 8 Archmage has infinite empowered magic missile.

Equivalent to 9th level spells? perhaps.

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Roleplaying Game Subscriber
TetsujinOni wrote:

so a Wizard 9 Tier 8 Archmage has infinite empowered magic missile.

Equivalent to 9th level spells? perhaps.

It could be infinite Maximized Magic missile or infinite intensified empowered shocking grasp for a magus too... But a Wizard lvl9 Tier 8 Archmage sounds wrong...

Taldor

Pathfinder Adventure Path, Campaign Setting, Roleplaying Game Subscriber

Hmmm... New question, In theory there is nothing preventing you from using abondant casting with a greater mythic version of a spell.
Would it be really all right?

Paizo / Messageboards / Paizo Publishing / Older Products / Playtests & Prerelease Discussions / Mythic Adventures Playtest / Player Feedback / Archmage Path Powers Questions All Messageboards
Recent threads in Player Feedback

©2002–2014 Paizo Inc.®. Need help? Email customer.service@paizo.com or call 425-250-0800 during our business hours: Monday–Friday, 10 AM–5 PM Pacific Time. View our privacy policy. Paizo Inc., Paizo, the Paizo golem logo, Pathfinder, the Pathfinder logo, Pathfinder Society, GameMastery, and Planet Stories are registered trademarks of Paizo Inc., and Pathfinder Roleplaying Game, Pathfinder Campaign Setting, Pathfinder Adventure Path, Pathfinder Adventure Card Game, Pathfinder Player Companion, Pathfinder Modules, Pathfinder Tales, Pathfinder Battles, Pathfinder Online, PaizoCon, RPG Superstar, The Golem's Got It, Titanic Games, the Titanic logo, and the Planet Stories planet logo are trademarks of Paizo Inc. Dungeons & Dragons, Dragon, Dungeon, and Polyhedron are registered trademarks of Wizards of the Coast, Inc., a subsidiary of Hasbro, Inc., and have been used by Paizo Inc. under license. Most product names are trademarks owned or used under license by the companies that publish those products; use of such names without mention of trademark status should not be construed as a challenge to such status.