| Buri |
| 3 people marked this as FAQ candidate. |
I was reading up on the pearl of power.
The question is about the bit about how the "just as if it had not been cast" part. I was talking to my GM and he said this doesn't let you exceed your spells per day limit. But, if it counts as if it had never been cast then how could it count?
I can see his argument as the scrolls of spell knowledge are an easy counterpart for the pearl for spontaneous casters but the "doesn't count" wording is bugging me.
I'll admit I'm fishing for some FAQ flags on this. Some clarification from the design team would be appreciated.
To me, the pearls exist to fill a hole for prepared casters: more castings per day as the pages fill a hole for spontaneous casters: limited spells. What do you think?
Elamdri
|
| 7 people marked this as a favorite. |
Yes, yes it does let you exceed your spells per day limit. Your GM is wrong. A pearl of power is almost effectively buying a new spell slot.
If I have Grease prepared, and I cast it, I can then use my pearl of power and get back that Grease spell and cast it again.
The only real limitation of a pearl of power is that you must have prepared the spell you are getting back.
I can't therefore prepare and cast Grease, and then use my pearl of power to get back lets say Color Spray, which I did not prepare.
kinevon
|
Would you all say the same about the Magus spell recall ability?
Off the top of my head, yes. The Magus is exchanging one or more points from his Arcane Pool for additional spell castings.
Also, while Magus wasn't listed in the PoP description, they would be able to benefit from one, as well. Which is good for the Kensai, since they give up Spell Recall.
| Joesi |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
WTF is a pearl of power supposed to do if not effectively increase your spells per day limit? (acknowledging of course the caveat that it must be for [a] spell[s] previously expended that day)
Did you ask your GM that? because I don't see any use for that item in a scenario where it doesn't do what it quite clearly says it does (re-prepare a spell as if it hadn't been cast).
Would you all say the same about the Magus spell recall ability? And, if you would please, hit the FAQ button. What if we're wrong?
Related to the question I just asked: How could we be wrong? What is the alternative? This is the only functionality possible based off the wording (at least that I can imagine)
| Buri |
WTF is a pearl of power supposed to do if not effectively increase your spells per day limit? (acknowledging of course the caveat that it must be for [a] spell[s] previously expended that day)
Did you ask your GM that? because I don't see any use for that item in a scenario where it doesn't do what it quite clearly says it does (re-prepare a spell as if it hadn't been cast).
My GM was saying the plus is you get to act like a spontaneous caster a little by not having to memorize a spell multiple times.
Well, considering Sean K Reynolds marked my 1st post as a favorite, I would take that as pretty good sign that we're not wrong, him being a developer n' all.
Haha, indeed. I didn't notice that.
| Catprog |
My GM was saying the plus is you get to act like a spontaneous caster a little by not having to memorize a spell multiple times.
Sounds like a confusion of terms. I think your gm is thinking spell slots and you are thinking spells per day.
| Joesi |
My GM was saying the plus is you get to act like a spontaneous caster a little by not having to memorize a spell multiple times.
Okay.
Wizards (and clerics and other classes) can already leave some of their spell slots open to memorize some other spells later. It just takes like 15 minutes to re-prepare all the spells (if they're less than half of the total spell slots I think, otherwise it's like 30 minutes or something).
So in essence, he's thinking that the 3 to 15 minutes (or for alchemist just 1 minute) it would take to memorize ONE spell is worth 81000 gold? Obviously that's absurd. It's particularly absurd for two reasons:
1. It's only once per day, instead of more or unlimited uses
2. I can't think of many scenarios where it would be used in combat, since people generally prepare all spells they'll use in combat (including multiple copies of that spell if they have short or instantaneous durations). The only scenario I could think of is a dispel magic of a long-lasting buff and they didn't have a backup one prepared.
If it was about memorization, there'd be no need to increase the cost of pearls based on level, and there'd be no need to have the description PoP currently has. The description would simply be: "once per day, you can prepare/memorize any spell instantly if you have an open spell slot". Such a description is completely different than what the PoP description is.
| see |
| 3 people marked this as a favorite. |
Yeah, pearls of power give you another casting, beyond your normal limit. They were doing that in the game for 25 years before spontaneous spellcasters were added to the rules.
(The Black Pearl and Gold Pearl were magic items in the 1975 D&D Supplement II: Blackmoor that allowed casters an additional casting depending on class; spontaneous casters didn't come along until D&D 3rd Edition in 2000.)
| Darkwolf117 |
With a pearl of power, are you supposed to be able to recast the spell immediately, or do you have to use a standard action to regain the spell, and another to cast the spell?
It's restored as if you hadn't cast it. In other words, you've memorized it again, and can cast it once more whenever you want, so yep, you've got to do the actual casting part again too, not just the recall.
| Troubleshooter |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
There's no need to flag this. Not only are the rules clear but I'm unaware of people having been confused by this before. The Pathfinder community is really large, and the (few) developers can hardly be expected to step in every time to tell GMs that their players are wrong, much less to tell players that their GMs are wrong. Although GMs should rule responsibly, they are the authority at a table. That authority doesn't mean that everything they say is temporary until the players can check with a higher power, and if the developers even started meddling with the power dynamics of gaming groups then the demands for their clarifications would explode.
As it so happens, your GM is running the magic item in a ... counter-intuitive manner. It sounds strange that the magic item returns your spell as if it hadn't been cast but still counts toward your spells per day because there is no such rule in the book.
See if he's open to a discussion. Point out that his magic item isn't actually comparable. If he's simply interpreting and not making a ruling, then the new facts might change his mind. But there are GMs who take specific issue with the ability of Pearls of Power to grant a wizard rather Sorceror-like advantages, and increasing their price or removing them from play isn't that uncommon.
| Chemlak |
Got to agree with the consensus (and Sean favouriting Elamdri's first post brought a smile to my face): to all intents and purposes you have not cast the spell.
If your GM continues to argue the toss, try this bit of logic on him. 5th level Wizard, 15 Intelligence, prepares Fireball as his only 3rd level spell, has a 3rd level Pearl of Power.
Wizard casts Fireball.
Wizard uses Pearl of Power.
Can he cast Fireball, now?
If the answer is "no", what advantage does the Pearl of Power grant him?
| Stome |
| 2 people marked this as a favorite. |
I am having a hard time believing anyone could read the item and come up with what he did.
Perhaps he is a "magic is to powerful as it is" kind of person. Which is something I can understand. Even so rather then trying to be sneaky and change how the item is meant to work he really should just be upfront about it and just ban it honestly.
| yeti1069 |
| 1 person marked this as a favorite. |
No, he said explicitly the item doesn't grant extra spells per day with the purpose of item being you could cast a spell again without needing to prepare it again but were still constrained to the same number of spells per day.
There may be some confusion in language here, so to clarify.
Let's say you have 4 spell slots/day and prepare Magic Missile, Charm Person, Enlarge Person, and Color Spray.
If you also get a Pearl of Power, you still only have 4 spell slots/day, with those spells slotted for the day.
After casting any of those spells, you may activate the Pearl of Power to recall the spell, allowing you to cast it one more time per day. Essentially, you have 4 spell slots/day of memorized spells, but 5/day of spells you can cast, where 1 of those is a repeat of one of the spells you've prepared for the day.
| Buri |
There may be some confusion in language here, so to clarify.
Let's say you have 4 spell slots/day and prepare Magic Missile, Charm Person, Enlarge Person, and Color Spray.
If you also get a Pearl of Power, you still only have 4 spell slots/day, with those spells slotted for the day.
After casting any of those spells, you may activate the Pearl of Power to recall the spell, allowing you to cast it one more time per day. Essentially, you have 4 spell slots/day of memorized spells, but 5/day of spells you can cast, where 1 of those is a repeat of one of the spells you've prepared for the day.
According to him you could not activate the pearl of power to cast another spell. However, according to him you could cast 3 of those and use the pearl to recast one you had cast previously but then you would also lose out on the 4th prepared spell.
| Buri |
There's no need to flag this. Not only are the rules clear but I'm unaware of people having been confused by this before. The Pathfinder community is really large, and the (few) developers can hardly be expected to step in every time to tell GMs that their players are wrong, much less to tell players that their GMs are wrong. Although GMs should rule responsibly, they are the authority at a table. That authority doesn't mean that everything they say is temporary until the players can check with a higher power, and if the developers even started meddling with the power dynamics of gaming groups then the demands for their clarifications would explode.
As it so happens, your GM is running the magic item in a ... counter-intuitive manner. It sounds strange that the magic item returns your spell as if it hadn't been cast but still counts toward your spells per day because there is no such rule in the book.
See if he's open to a discussion. Point out that his magic item isn't actually comparable. If he's simply interpreting and not making a ruling, then the new facts might change his mind. But there are GMs who take specific issue with the ability of Pearls of Power to grant a wizard rather Sorceror-like advantages, and increasing their price or removing them from play isn't that uncommon.
Any rules that he changes and let's us know in advance is never questioned. So, I don't need any schoolin' on the role of the player or GM. If I can't otherwise count on what's in the book and in my sheet then playing is simply a frustrating experience not worth having. If he were to say, "yeah, I'm changing how this works" that'd be fine to. But, to say this is how it's been all along is entirely different.
| yeti1069 |
yeti1069 wrote:According to him you could not activate the pearl of power to cast another spell. However, according to him you could cast 3 of those and use the pearl to recast one you had cast previously but then you would also lose out on the 4th prepared spell.There may be some confusion in language here, so to clarify.
Let's say you have 4 spell slots/day and prepare Magic Missile, Charm Person, Enlarge Person, and Color Spray.
If you also get a Pearl of Power, you still only have 4 spell slots/day, with those spells slotted for the day.
After casting any of those spells, you may activate the Pearl of Power to recall the spell, allowing you to cast it one more time per day. Essentially, you have 4 spell slots/day of memorized spells, but 5/day of spells you can cast, where 1 of those is a repeat of one of the spells you've prepared for the day.
Then yeah, he's wrong.
| Kazaan |
Because they're "prepared casters", once a spell is prepared, it's ready to go. Spells per day for prepared casters isn't how many they can cast but how many they can prepare. Read the description of the item carefully: "...The spell is then prepared again, just as if it had not been cast..." Even if he's saying that you've already used a "cast per day" to cast it the first time, it's prepared "as if it had not been cast", thus "as if you hadn't used that spell per day". So he's wrong on all fronts.
| David knott 242 |
With a pearl of power, are you supposed to be able to recast the spell immediately, or do you have to use a standard action to regain the spell, and another to cast the spell?
I think the second one is correct. The default method for activating any magic item is the command word, which is a standard action.
LazarX
|
Buri wrote:Would you all say the same about the Magus spell recall ability?Off the top of my head, yes. The Magus is exchanging one or more points from his Arcane Pool for additional spell castings.
Also, while Magus wasn't listed in the PoP description, they would be able to benefit from one, as well. Which is good for the Kensai, since they give up Spell Recall.
The major difference here is that the standard Magus doesn't have to pull out a magic item to do the recall. Also the pearl can't replicate the real niceness that Improved Spell Recall is.
But then again by going Kensai, you've made the conscious decision to de-emphasize your magic, especially if you're layering Bladebound on top of it.
kinevon
|
kinevon wrote:Buri wrote:Would you all say the same about the Magus spell recall ability?Off the top of my head, yes. The Magus is exchanging one or more points from his Arcane Pool for additional spell castings.
Also, while Magus wasn't listed in the PoP description, they would be able to benefit from one, as well. Which is good for the Kensai, since they give up Spell Recall.
The major difference here is that the standard Magus doesn't have to pull out a magic item to do the recall. Also the pearl can't replicate the real niceness that Improved Spell Recall is.
But then again by going Kensai, you've made the conscious decision to de-emphasize your magic, especially if you're layering Bladebound on top of it.
True, there are trade-offs. But then, aren't there always trade-offs?
And, yes, my Magus is Kensai and Bladebound. He trades off having to buy PoPs against not having to buy his primary weapon and enhancements thereof.
James Risner
Owner - D20 Hobbies
|
Would you all say the same about the Magus spell recall ability? And, if you would please, hit the FAQ button. What if we're wrong?
This is the kind of thing that shouldn't be cluttering up the FAQ. The number of people who believe what your GM believes is so few that it doesn't effect the game in general. FAQ should be fore things that a lot of people disagree over the meaning.
You can't expect to get a FAQ response on this issue anytime soon, but if you went to JJ's Asking anything thread you should get a response that your GM should be happy to follow.
| blahpers |
Because they're "prepared casters", once a spell is prepared, it's ready to go. Spells per day for prepared casters isn't how many they can cast but how many they can prepare. Read the description of the item carefully: "...The spell is then prepared again, just as if it had not been cast..." Even if he's saying that you've already used a "cast per day" to cast it the first time, it's prepared "as if it had not been cast", thus "as if you hadn't used that spell per day". So he's wrong on all fronts.
Technically, the wizard class description specifies the limit as a limit on casting. That said, since after using the pearl you've essentially never cast the spell, the GM is in error here. Given how expensive the pearl is, I'm having trouble not questioning the GM's motives on this. A pearl is nice, but it's at best on par with other items that share its cost--which is as it should be. Nerfing the pearl in the way described would make them too expensive for anybody to use.
| Lifat |
Of course your GM is in the wrong about RAW and RAI on this item. But he is allowed to change the rules (as long as it is consistent) in a way that he is happy with. This GM however had better make sure that his players are generally happy with the changes or he will quickly run out of players to GM for.
I agree with Stome that he should have simply either increased cost of item and/or banned it completely if he was unhappy with the way it actually works.
Personally speaking I get why you'd increase cost on the item, especially for the low level spells of 1-3 because they are simply extremely good. Around spell-level 4+ they do become rather expensive to buy multiple copies of.
I do find it kind of weird that the Runestones of Power are twice as expensive as PoP. In a game where I allowed both types of items I think I'd make the two items match in price.
| Midnight_Angel |
I do find it kind of weird that the Runestones of Power are twice as expensive as PoP. In a game where I allowed both types of items I think I'd make the two items match in price.
The idea behind pricing the runestones higher is that it costs an action to recall a spent spell with a PoP, while the runestone is available from the get-go.
Personally, I don't think this advantage is worth doubling the price, either.
| Lifat |
Lifat wrote:I do find it kind of weird that the Runestones of Power are twice as expensive as PoP. In a game where I allowed both types of items I think I'd make the two items match in price.The idea behind pricing the runestones higher is that it costs an action to recall a spent spell with a PoP, while the runestone is available from the get-go.
Personally, I don't think this advantage is worth doubling the price, either.
Thank you for this most helpful response. At least now I have a reason for the price difference. I think I would make any spontaneous caster interested in the runestones tell me if he would want either of these options:
a) Item becomes 1.5 times as expensive as PoPb) Item is changed to cost a standard action to return a spell slot and thus reflect PoP completely and be price equivalent to PoP.