| neverminding |
Lathiira wrote:Yes, like Lathiira said. they are on page 89 in the Bestiary 2. There is monster stats and playing Dhampirs as characters.
Bestiary 2 is the only place I know of; it's statblock is there.
Thanks! I haven't picked up Bestiary 2 yet and have only seen Dhampir's in miscellaneous articles on the interwebs.
Ordering it now!
| Jaçinto |
| 6 people marked this as FAQ candidate. Staff response: no reply required. |
Actually I need some info on Dhampirs. It says under negative energy affinity that they are affected by negative energy as if they were undead so I was wondering if desecrate works for dhampir. My DM says it does not because the turning effect does not affect the dhampir and if part of it does not work, then none of it works. I just want to know for sure.
| Melissa Litwin |
Actually I need some info on Dhampirs. It says under negative energy affinity that they are affected by negative energy as if they were undead so I was wondering if desecrate works for dhampir. My DM says it does not because the turning effect does not affect the dhampir and if part of it does not work, then none of it works. I just want to know for sure.
I disagree with your DM's decision. A spell doesn't have to have its full effects for someone to take partial effect. The spell does A) turn resistance and B) bonuses to d20 rolls, but B is not dependent on A to work.
I agree with you that because Desecrate is a negative energy spell, and dhampirs react to positive and negative energy as though they were undead, dhampirs get the bonuses associated with Desecrate. Conversely, in an area affected by Consecrate, a dhampir would take the penalties associated with the Consecrate.
| Jaçinto |
That is exactly what I was trying to tell him. he went on to say that desecrate does not have the negative energy descriptor in the spell in the top mechanics description so it does not count, but I pointed it out in the actual detailed description. He is not listening.
Edit: I just realized that Negative Energy is not an actual descriptor for ANY spell.
| leo1925 |
That is exactly what I was trying to tell him. he went on to say that desecrate does not have the negative energy descriptor in the spell in the top mechanics description so it does not count, but I pointed it out in the actual detailed description. He is not listening.
Edit: I just realized that Negative Energy is not an actual descriptor for ANY spell.
So according to your DM, do Dhampirs benefit from Consecrate?
| leo1925 |
All he is telling me is the only things that affects them like undead are inflict and cure spells.
So they are affected by Consecrate and Desecrate like any other race (humans, elves etc.).
So that means that since channel energy isn't a cure or inflict spell then they are affected like anyone else right?So that means that they are affected by lay on hands like anyone else right?
So, it seems really and completely wrong to me but i don't see that as making the race weaker, so it's no big deal.
Just don't play a Damphir with that DM and the whole thing is over.
Yeah no. Unless he sees something official like from the devs, he wont take it.
It's highly unlikely that they are going to answer something like that, and only because the answer to that is so plain simple and right in front of our eyes. So unless you are very lucky and one of them happens to see this thread and has nothing else to do and takes his time to post on this, you aren't going to get a dev answer on that.
Sorry.
Hama
|
| 1 person marked this as FAQ candidate. |
A stubborn one huh. I hate that type of people...completely sure they are right, even when they aren't.
Well, ask people to faq the question, and sooner or later a dev will appear to answer the question.
Here, i'll faq first, actualy, when i get to a computer with something better than windows 98...i can't use so many options here at work (don\t ask, we have older systems, one computer uses win 95 and another win 3.1)
jlighter
|
Negative Energy Affinity (Ex) The creature alive, but reacts to positive and negative energy as if it were undead— positive energy harms it, negative energy heals it. Format: negative energy affinity; Location: Defensive Abilities.
Strictly speaking, your DM may actually be right, Jaçinto. Above is the text definition of Negative Energy Affinity. I'd agree with your interpretation as well, the Dhampir is effectively an undead creature with respect to all positive and negative energy effects.
But, based on a narrow reading of the rule, it could be interpreted that the rule only applies to Harm/Heal effects such as those caused by Cure and Inflict series spells, Harm and Heal spells, and Channeled Energy. Lay On Hands doesn't call out an energy usage, so Lay On Hands should have normal effects.
Were I making a ruling, I'd rule in your favor, but only for spells that have equal and opposite numbers. Harm/Heal, Cure/Inflict, Consecrate/Desecrate, etc. BUT, things like Disrupt Undaed, Waves of Exhaustion, Enervation, etc., since they don't have opposite numbers, would not be voided.
For another viewpoint. I also recommend this for the FAQ section, and recommend that others do as well.
| DM Aron Marczylo |
Sannos wrote:Lathiira wrote:Yes, like Lathiira said. they are on page 89 in the Bestiary 2. There is monster stats and playing Dhampirs as characters.
Bestiary 2 is the only place I know of; it's statblock is there.
Thanks! I haven't picked up Bestiary 2 yet and have only seen Dhampir's in miscellaneous articles on the interwebs.
Ordering it now!
you can also get a look at the stats here
I agree that yes the cure light wounds will harm the dhampire so having one involved with positive energy is a bad idea.
Shar Tahl
|
I see it as only Cure/Harm and Channeling being the only negative energy effects that effect them different than a core race. Those are the only two effects that are called out specifically by what they do (reacts to positive and negative energy as if it were undead—positive energy harms it, negative energy heals it.
) Desecrate does not heal or harm you, thus effects normally.
As always, you as the GM can alter this to your liking.
jlighter
|
I see it as only Cure/Harm and Channeling being the only negative energy effects that effect them different than a core race. Those are the only two effects that are called out specifically by what they do (reacts to positive and negative energy as if it were undead—positive energy harms it, negative energy heals it.
) Desecrate does not heal or harm you, thus effects normally.As always, you as the GM can alter this to your liking.
I might add to this the spells Harm and Heal. They have similar effects. Desecrate/Consecrate do not specifically heal or harm, they only provide minor bonuses/penalties. That's the mainstay of the argument against them functioning. Take another look at the quoted definition of Negative Energy Affinity.
| Jaçinto |
Universal Monster Rules wrote:Negative Energy Affinity (Ex) The creature alive, but reacts to positive and negative energy as if it were undead— positive energy harms it, negative energy heals it. Format: negative energy affinity; Location: Defensive Abilities.Strictly speaking, your DM may actually be right, Jaçinto. Above is the text definition of Negative Energy Affinity. I'd agree with your interpretation as well, the Dhampir is effectively an undead creature with respect to all positive and negative energy effects.
But, based on a narrow reading of the rule, it could be interpreted that the rule only applies to Harm/Heal effects such as those caused by Cure and Inflict series spells, Harm and Heal spells, and Channeled Energy. Lay On Hands doesn't call out an energy usage, so Lay On Hands should have normal effects.
Were I making a ruling, I'd rule in your favor, but only for spells that have equal and opposite numbers. Harm/Heal, Cure/Inflict, Consecrate/Desecrate, etc. BUT, things like Disrupt Undaed, Waves of Exhaustion, Enervation, etc., since they don't have opposite numbers, would not be voided.
For another viewpoint. I also recommend this for the FAQ section, and recommend that others do as well.
I think people are reading it too literally. That dash looks, to me, like a replacement for the words "for example." After all things changed since 3.5. Under undead traits, undead no longer just get bonuses from draining spells. They are just unaffected. I am talking about the specific negative energy and positive energy spells.
| Shadow_of_death |
I see it as only Cure/Harm and Channeling being the only negative energy effects that effect them different than a core race. Those are the only two effects that are called out specifically by what they do (reacts to positive and negative energy as if it were undead—positive energy harms it, negative energy heals it.
) Desecrate does not heal or harm you, thus effects normally.As always, you as the GM can alter this to your liking.
This message box doesn't have enough space to list every applicable spell/ability that is affected, what makes you think they would attempt that in the book?
| Heaven's Agent |
I think people are reading it too literally.
How else can we read the rules?
Anything can be interpreted any number of ways, and we have no idea what the designers intended by the text unless someone tells us directly. As such strict, literal meanings are the only thing we can truly clarify or discuss in a rules forum.
| voska66 |
I've never liked the idea that inflict wounds heals undead. I prefer the idea that cure X wounds cures and inflict inflicts reguardless of living or undead. I prefer to do it where you channel positive or negative energy into a cure or inflict spell. Hitting living creature with a negatively charged cure light wounds does nothing for example but it is positively charged it does.
The only reason I made this change is due to the Bard. Had a Dhamphir Bard and cause light wounds isn't on the Bard spell list. Kind of sucked for me and the DM didn't like it either but didn't want to add cause X wounds spells to the Bard list so ruled that you could negatively or positively charge a cure spell depending on what you wanted to heal and it can't cause harm. I liked how that worked so kept it my house rule.
| Jaçinto |
Was trying to say, after reading inflict light wounds, that the only reason it affects undead at all is because it is negative energy, as it says in the spell description. Negative energy affinity says the dhampir reacts to all negative energy the same way an undead would. Desecrate says negative energy. The ability description really does look like it is just giving an example so people understand it.
The black raven
|
Was trying to say, after reading inflict light wounds, that the only reason it affects undead at all is because it is negative energy, as it says in the spell description. Negative energy affinity says the dhampir reacts to all negative energy the same way an undead would. Desecrate says negative energy. The ability description really does look like it is just giving an example so people understand it.
Sorry, but I do not read it this way : "positive energy harms it, negative energy heals it". If the positive or negative energy's effect does not either heals or harms (which are clearly opposing one another), then it does nothing.
In other words, I see the above quote as a clarification and not as merely an example.
jlighter
|
Mark Jaçinto's original point as a prospective FAQ question. That will make it more likely that we get an official ruling faster.
In my games, I'd probably throw out a table rule that the negative/positive energy reversal for Dhampir would only apply to spells with equal/opposite numbers (Cure and Inflict, Harm and Heal, MAYBE Consecrate and Desecrate), but would not apply in cases without a specifically stated opposite number (Disrupt Undead could be said to heal a Dhampir, and it's an infinite use cantrip; not balanced at all). If I were going to be strict, it would only work for ones that had opposite numbers and HP effects, so Desecrate and Consecrate would behave as they would for any other character. I'd probably add the Inflict series to the Bard list for a Dhampir. I'm not entirely sure why it wasn't there in the first place.