
Diamond B |
So this has come up a couple of times and now I'm calling on the forums for some insight. The description of Charge makes no mention of whether or not it the Charge action draws an Attack of Opportunity, however the "Actions in Combat" table indicates that a Charge does not draw an AoO. As moving (or in this case Charging) to a space adjacent to a creature with no reach never draws an AoO the issue never came up. However, what of reach? Reading the additional footnote on the table, I would assume that if a character's charge led him through a 15 foot threat radius, he would indeed draw an AoO, as he moved out of a threatened square to reach his target. My players disagree, claiming that the notation that Charge does not draw an AoO obviously trumps the other.
As a GM I'm inclined to drop a big rock from space on the rules lawyering punk's character and AoO to my hearts content, but thought I'd take the civil, advice laden route instead.
Thoughts? Advice? Insights?

Dilvish the Danged |

I'm looking at the PRD combat section. Note 1 under the actions table states that regardless of action type, moving out of a threatened square provokes an attack of opportunity.
I can't easily explain the entry on the action chart, except that I guess declaring that your character is going to charge as his action that round, does not provoke, but any actual movement involved in charging provokes as usual.
Hope that helps you.

concerro |

The act of charging does not normally provoke an AoO. But if you charge through an enemy's threatened square, that might.
This is correct. It is not the charge, but the act of moving through a threatened square. Charge has not special verbage listing it as an exception to the rule so he might want to start being more careful with his charges.

PathfinderEspañol |

My players disagree, claiming that the notation that Charge does not draw an AoO obviously trumps the other.
Your players should read the table then, as the table clearly states that it (Charge No AoO) only applies to the action itself but movement still provokes AoO. Ignoring arbitrary parts of the rules doesn't make sense to me.

![]() |

Apologies for the necromancy.
Just so I am fully understanding.
If I charge a creature with reach I provoke an AoO?
Yes.
A charge itself does not provoke on its own. The movement of the charge may. If your charge includes you leaving a square that is threatened, whether by the target of the charge or another enemy, it provokes an AoO.
If looking to avoid the AoO from an opponent with reach, Spring Attack and Ride-by Attack both prevent the AoO that is provoked by moving through that reach. Neither includes the benefit or penalty of the charge, of course.

![]() |

If they had said Charge provoked, it would mean that when Charging creatures WITHOUT Reach advantage, or where you successfully Tumble, that the final Charge ATTACK (part of the Action) provokes an AoO. The current RAW avoids that situation.
If you charge an enemy while mounted, with the ride-by attack feat, and the enemy you are charging has reach, would you still provoke? For some reason I was thinking rba only helps after you've attacked, but looking at the text of the feat, I'm not sure that's the case.

![]() |

If you charge an enemy while mounted, with the ride-by attack feat, and the enemy you are charging has reach, would you still provoke? For some reason I was thinking rba only helps after you've attacked, but looking at the text of the feat, I'm not sure that's the case.
RBA prevents the AoO due to movement, regardless of how many squares you exit that are threatened by the attacker or whether the threatened squares are exited before or after the attack. This also is covered in the 3.5 FAQ linked above for those who place value in that document.

![]() |

Would a successful AOO stop the charge or do you allow it to resolve after the AOO?
A target completes his interrupted action after an AoO if he is able. AoO against some kinds of action can stop them or require a check of some sort. These are called out for that action. Unless the AoO drops, trips, disarms, or otherwise prevents the charger from completing his action, the charge continues.

murno |
Different but related question
When a charging rider and mount are subject to an attack of opportunity can an opponent target both with separate attacks (assuming they have the expertise and dex for multiple attacks) or only the mount (which is moving)?
I do presume if the hit the mount they can cleave into the rider.

wraithstrike |

Different but related question
When a charging rider and mount are subject to an attack of opportunity can an opponent target both with separate attacks (assuming they have the expertise and dex for multiple attacks) or only the mount (which is moving)?I do presume if the hit the mount they can cleave into the rider.
Cleave takes a standard action, and it can not be used for an attack of opportunity unless you have some special feature to allow you to do so. However, I don't know of any.
As to the main question I think both are legal targets, however since any one act only allows for one AoO you should not get to attack both. That would allow you to get more than one AoO per provoking act, and they are both using the same charge/movement

Gwen Smith |

Different but related question
When a charging rider and mount are subject to an attack of opportunity can an opponent target both with separate attacks (assuming they have the expertise and dex for multiple attacks) or only the mount (which is moving)?
I think this FAQ implies that they would both provoke, because they are both charging in unison.

An Eldritch Dream Games |

Sappujappu |
The teamwork feat Intercept Charge technically also allows for AoOs on charging opponents as discussed here.