I'm putting together a one-shot adventure where the players are pregen monsters without any equipment. The monsters are getting tweaked from their native stat blocks, but the biggest change is probably in their feats.
What feats would people recommend I trade out on the following monsters, and for what feats should I look at instead?
Elder Air Elemental
Blind-Fight, Cleave, Combat Reflexes, Dodge, Flyby Attack, Improved InitiativeB, Iron Will, Mobility, Power Attack, Weapon FinesseB
Adult Silver Dragon
I'm planning on putting this item on a boss NPC my players are likely to encounter sometime soon.. wanted to get ideas on its GP value.
"Soul of Draco"
This jeweled necklace is uncomfortably warm to the touch. When worn, it becomes intensely hot, dealing 1.ire damage per round to the wearer until removed.
Each time the wearer casts a spell with the fire descriptor, she is temporarily sheathed in flame. If she is hit with a melee attack while casting the spell, the attacker takes 1d6 fire damage and must succeed a Reflex save (DC same as the spell) or catch fire (1d4 damage each round until a successful Reflex save negates). For a number of rounds equal to the level of the spell, the wearer gains cold vulnerability and doubles any fire resistence. Melee attacks by the wearer during this period also deal fire damage and ignite the target as above.
After wearing the necklace for a week, the user gains the additional ability to summon a phantasm only he can see of a noble efreet. The summoned efreet is always the same creature and is familiar with the wearer's conduct while wearing the necklace. If the efreet approves, it will lend the wearer its considerable knowledge in the secrets of fire. i
We've gone over this several times before.
Magic vestment provides an enhancement bonus to armor. The armor then provides an armor bonus to the character's AC.
Mage armor also provides an armor bonus to the character's AC.
The armor bonus from clothes or armor enchanted with magic vestment will not stack with the armor bonus from mage armor.
What happens if I cast a deceptive silent image? Does it take two will saves to first believe the spell is real and then disbelieve it?
If I cast a deceptive stone shape, does it turn the stone translucent?
How about a deceptive creation spell -- is the created item (otherwise nonmagical) now translucent and hollow, and if so does it have a magical aura to it?
Does casting a deceptive charm spell on a creature mean that the creature's allies have to make a will save to believe the creature is charmed?
"At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select a bonus style feat without meeting its prerequisites. Alternatively, may select the Elemental Fist feat, but only if he meets its prerequisites."
"At 1st level, 2nd level, and every four levels thereafter, a master of many styles may select Elemental Fist as a bonus feat without meeting its prerequisites. Alternatively, he may select a style feat. He must possess the Elemental Fist feat if the style feat includes it as a prerequisite, but does not need to meet any other prerequisites of the style feat."
Personally, I read it the second way.
When you choose to delay, you "then act normally on whatever initiative count you decide to act." This means that when you do choose to take your action, it's still your surprise round action -- which means it's a single-attack action rather than a full-attack action.Not only that, but by delaying into the next round, "you do not get your regular action that round." So your initiative count will be higher but you don't get a full attack until round 2.
It's pretty clear that the purpose of the surprise round is to give a benefit to alert creatures and allow for ambushes outside of the initiative system.
It's also pretty clear that the initiative system is supposed to represent your primary method of gaining priority in combat, and that catching your opponent by surprise is only supposed to give you the advantage of a free standard action, no more.
There's not any straightforward way to "game" combat timing in order to get a full round of sneak attacks from stealth and surprise, and this is clearly intentional.
Some call me Tim wrote:
Essentially, when both are surprised they end up just standing there. So they guy who is light on his feet doesn't dodge out of the way. The clumsy oaf just stands there--he doesn't suddenly get clumsier and throw himself on the enemy's weapons.
This is it exactly. The guy who doesn't dodge at all (+0 to AC) has the same AC whether he knows about the threat or not because he responds the same way -- by just standing there.
The rules say:
Creatures encountering an illusion usually do not receive saving throws to recognize it as illusory until they study it carefully or interact with it in some fashion.
And the spell says:
A creature that interacts with the glamer gets a Will save to recognize it as an illusion.
There's some GM discretion involved, but they don't get a saving throw unless they "interact with the glamer" -- which in this case probably means touching a part of you that is disguised and should therefore feel different than it does.
Until then, it's a flat +10 to a disguise check.
Wave Strike wrote:
1. Yes, because you can draw a weapon as part of a charge (although it limits your charge distance).
2. Feinting itself only works with melee attacks. So although you technically could draw the dagger and feint as a swift action, throwing the dagger wouldn't benefit from your feint. (Although if you drew another weapon and made a melee attack on your second round, the feint would actually benefit that attack).
According to the 3.5 SRD, a long jump attains a quarter of its length in height. So a jump of 40 feet or longer (a jump check of +40 or more) would be 10 feet off the ground, which would be outside of the threat range for creatures Medium and smaller.
So, I would say yes -- in the right situation you can basically jump entirely over your foes, avoiding AoOs.
If you rolled a 2 or an 8, there isn't a target "in that direction." The cloaker isn't southwest or southeast of you; it's due south of you.
There are no targets in the direction of the 2 and 8 squares, so you hit nothing.
The answer to your question is no -- it works just the way you think it works.
The Rules wrote:
The only time the extra penalties apply (adding the ACP to your attack roll and ability checks) is when you are wearing armor for which you are not proficient. Obviously that's never true when you take a check penalty due to encumbrance; there's no armor for you to be proficient or not proficient with.
So there's no need to have armor proficiency unless you're actually wearing armor.
Dust Raven wrote:
Something just occurred to me. Can I use arcane mark to effectively gain an additional melee attack each round for free? Well, not for free really, more like in exchange for provoking an AoO or making a concentration check... but that still sound pretty free to me.
The dozen or so existing threads addressing this exact question seem to have the general consensus of "yes you can."
Search "arcane mark spellstrike" for previous discussion of this issue.
Mage Evolving wrote:
And in Pathfinder, that would be a houserule.
The Pathfinder rules make the game easier by no longer having you actually recalculate your stats and modifiers based on ability damage. Instead, you record the damage separately and apply a set penalty. It makes it a lot easier.
The DC's are equivalent to the spells you'd be casting at that level. Actually, you gain the effect of each level of polymorph spell one level earlier than you actually gain spells of that level. A level 12 caster with DCs appropriate to a level 7 spell is good.
I'm not 100% sure. The assumption I'm making is that since druid spellcasting is wisdom-based, the spells emulated by the Wild Shape ability are also wisdom-based. This is likely what is intended, but I can't affirmatively prove it based on the rules as written.
The polymorph subschool description says this (always go read this first when you have a question related to polymorph):
The DC for any of these abilities equals your DC for the polymorph spell used to change you into that form.
The Wild Shape description says what spell it "functions like," and the level of that spell will give you the DC.4th level: DC 13 + Wisdom mod
6th level: DC 14 + Wisdom mod
8th level: DC 15 + Wisdom mod
10th level: DC 16 + Wisdom mod (for elemental or plant; still 15 + mod if animal)
12th level: DC 17 + Wisdom mod (for elemental or plant; still 15 + mod if animal)
I hope that's pretty clear.
Mr. Damage wrote:
Would a +4 Enhancement Bonus from Bull Strength Stack with a +2 Inherent Bonus to Strength since they are both increasing Strength, then? Or no?
Yes. A +2 enhancement bonus to Strength stacks with a +2 inherent bonus to strength.
Now, on to this situation.
Magic Vestment doesn't grant a bonus to AC.
I want to say this again, to make sure you caught it.
Magic Vestment doesn't grant a bonus to AC.
And one more time, because this is the key element in this whole discussion.
Magic Vestment doesn't grant a bonus to AC.
Is that clear enough?
Your armor grants an armor bonus to AC.
Magic Vestment provides an enhancement bonus to your armor.
Thus, when you use Magic Vestment on your armor, it grants a higher armor bonus than it did before, just as the enhancement bonus on magic armor does.
At no point does Magic Vestment directly affect your AC. What Magic Vestment (or a permanent +1 enchantment on armor) does is grant a bonus to your armor. So in the end, your AC increases because your armor bonus increases.
You can escape being grappled by making a combat maneuver check against the spell's DC. This would essentially mean that the spell's DC is the same as a CMD score rather than a CMB score. Since the DC already includes a "10+" term, adding another 10+ term is probably overkill.
So I would suggest that the DC of the concentration check should be equal to the DC of the web spell plus the level of the spell you're trying to cast.
I still disagree with the interpretation being used for Disguise Self.
The language of the spell is clearly in reference to your current appearance -- up to a foot taller or shorter, fat or thin or in between. So clearly a Kitsune in the form of an eighteen inch long fox could not use Disguise Self to look like a six-foot orc or even a three-foot gnome.
Instead, a creature whose current appearance is of a tiny animal should be able to alter their appearance to any other tiny animal, regardless of their "real" size and type.
That's from the Disguise Self spell, not the polymorph rules.
But again, reading the Disguise Self spell as a whole, I stand by my ruling that the Diguise Self spell alters your appearance, not what you actually are.
So if you are polymorphed and therefore appear as an animal, Disguise Self can make you look like a different animal of similar size.
Animal Growth wouldn't work regardless, since:
Polymorph Subschool wrote:
You can only be affected by one polymorph spell at a time. If a new polymorph spell is cast on you (or you activate a polymorph effect, such as wild shape), you can decide whether or not to allow it to affect you, taking the place of the old spell. In addition, other spells that change your size have no effect on you while you are under the effects of a polymorph spell.
Kimahri was a character in Final Fantasy X with the ability to copy abilities from enemies. You could also essentially send him down any other character's path to learn their abilities. So he's essentially an emulative character.
My recommendation would be either Chamelion or Spellthief from 3.5. If you want to stick with PF, the only class I can think of with the right flavor is the sandman bard's abilities.
One less ambiguous way to amend the wyroot description would be as follows:
sawtooth sabres need EWP,so you still need to spend a feat. if you need a feat to twf with the two sawtooth sabres why not a feat to twf with any two one-handed weapons?
You could easily say the same about many of the exotic weapons. Why bother with a bastard sword; why not just spend a feat to let you wield two-handed weapons in one hand without penalty?
The rules are specifically built to prohibit this because it's in the category of maneuvers that are too good to truck out without action cost. You can not quicken Enlarge Person because the base spell has a one round casting time. So actually it can't be done either way. Similarly you can't quicken any of the Summon Monster/Nature spells for that reason.
Actually, the FAQ has clarified that spells with a one-round casting time are elligible to be quickened.
I guess my question is, why doesn't a rod of lesser metamagic (quicken) do the job she's looking for?
Answer to problem: "Attack" is an abstraction that doesn't equal "swing." Two punches and a kick may be equal to a single "unarmed strike" just as two sweeps and a thrust may be equal to a single "sword attack." So the ability (or lack thereof) to get multiple unarmed strikes as part of low-BAB TWF does not necessarily mean that the person's actual punches are particularly "slow."