A paladin and a barbarian walk into a bar....


Rules Questions


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

The barbarian gets into a fight with a corrupt barkeep who tries to overcharge the barbarian for his ale. The barbarian gets angry, activates rage, uses strength sure and knockback on the barkeep, and pushes him into the wall.

A waiter smashes the barbarian with a broom handle in retaliation, hurting the barbarian.

The barbarian holds his action until just before the paladin goes, ends his rage, and is fatigued.

The paladin helps his friend out. The paladin uses lay on hands to heal the bruise the barbarian took from the club. The paladin friend also wisely selected the mercy to remove the fatigued condition.

The fatigueless barbarian re-enters rage, and uses knockback and strength surge on the waitor.

....in essense, my question is, is this legal? Is it a loophole? Can a barbarian loaded up on 1/day rage powers turn his rage off as a free action just before a paladin (who selected the mercy to remove fatigue), uses lay on hands. Can the barbarian then use all his 1/rage powers again (at least until the paladin runs out of patience or lay on hands powers)?


It certainly seems legal. There is a general consensus that at 17th level, a Barbarian (at least by RAW) can end his rage and restart it each round, thus recharging the 1/rage powers. (At that level, he is no longer fatigued when the rage ends.)

The combination is an interesting use of teamwork. It is probably not overpowered: the Paladin is not doing much other than healing the Barbarian and will eventually run out of uses of Lay On Hands.

The Barbarian and Paladin could almost certainly do more damage if both attacked, rather than having the Paladin help the Barbarian to make better attacks.

Scarab Sages

yup, if the paladin feels like burning through his lay on hands uses.

The paladin would otherwise be able to do some channel positive energy with those lay on hand uses, so sacrificing both a use of lay on hands, and a standard action, the barbarian can get bonuses to one strength check, one combat maneuver, or to one combat maneuver defense.

Of course, this means that the paladin doesn't get to take *his* actions beyond buffing the barbarian. No spells, no healing others, and no smiting evil :*(

Edit: ninjaed by 20 seconds :p


udalrich wrote:
It certainly seems legal. There is a general consensus that at 17th level, a Barbarian (at least by RAW) can end his rage and restart it each round, thus recharging the 1/rage powers. (At that level, he is no longer fatigued when the rage ends.)

I gotta disagree with the "general consensus... thus recharging the 1/rage powers" part of that. I'm not saying a 17th level barb can't pull out some tricks, but that's rather too broad a statement IMHO.

Separately, in the example there is a very questionable selection of actions. You have a raging barbarian, on a single (delayed) round/turn/action, choosing to drop rage, and then raging again. I would disallow that right out. Either you are choosing to rage for the round, or you are not; you're spending the rage point, or you are not. You don't get to drop it *and* start it in the same round.

If the Barb does single round rages, with a round of fatigue between (removed by the Paladin's Mercy) - that works as written at least. Certainly DM discretion applies past that point.

Dark Archive

Majuba wrote:
udalrich wrote:
It certainly seems legal. There is a general consensus that at 17th level, a Barbarian (at least by RAW) can end his rage and restart it each round, thus recharging the 1/rage powers. (At that level, he is no longer fatigued when the rage ends.)

I gotta disagree with the "general consensus... thus recharging the 1/rage powers" part of that. I'm not saying a 17th level barb can't pull out some tricks, but that's rather too broad a statement IMHO.

Separately, in the example there is a very questionable selection of actions. You have a raging barbarian, on a single (delayed) round/turn/action, choosing to drop rage, and then raging again. I would disallow that right out. Either you are choosing to rage for the round, or you are not; you're spending the rage point, or you are not. You don't get to drop it *and* start it in the same round.

If the Barb does single round rages, with a round of fatigue between (removed by the Paladin's Mercy) - that works as written at least. Certainly DM discretion applies past that point.

Well it is a "free action" for a Barbarian to either drop or enter rage, and you can take more then one free action per turn (limited by the GM).

I can see what the OP said happening over 2 rounds:

Round 1
init 1) barbarian enters rage, fires off strength surge, and knockback against the bartender, then drops out of rage (and is fatigued) (this requires 2 free actions)
init 2) Waiter hit barbarian
init 3) Paladin does lay-on hands to the barbarian (removing fatigue)

Round 2
init 1) barbarian enters rage, fires off strength surge, and knockback against the waiter
init 2) ...

But there are much better things that these two could be doing for this combat.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Happler's got it.

I probably should have described the actions more clearly, instead of going for a story-like narrative.

I tried to invent a scenario where someone would actually want to do this (perhaps the barbarian doesn't want to actually cut the bartender in half with an ax, and the paladin wants to help out his friend but not act more directly in a bar brawl?).


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

Although by my logic then, a barbarian with tireless rage could start and stop his rage every single round, and thus functionally avoid the penalty to AC while everyone else attacks him.

Of course, the barbarian would also have to give up the hit points, the strength bonus (for the his own AoOs he may get, or for his own CMD), and the will save bonus...so it probably wouldn't happen too much.

But he could do it, if he really, really, really didn't want a -2 to AC.

Dark Archive

drsparnum wrote:

Although by my logic then, a barbarian with tireless rage could start and stop his rage every single round, and thus functionally avoid the penalty to AC while everyone else attacks him.

Of course, the barbarian would also have to give up the hit points, the strength bonus (for the his own AoOs he may get, or for his own CMD), and the will save bonus...so it probably wouldn't happen too much.

But he could do it, if he really, really, really didn't want a -2 to AC.

Yep, and in any situation where he would really, really not want the -2 to AC, he probably would really want the extra STR, CON, Hitpoints, and will save more then the AC. (At least I can not think of any situation where the AC would be more important).


If the paladin wants to give up his standard action every turn so the barbarian can make better use of his rage powers I would certainly allow it. Heck its guaranteed less distructive to my poor monster's health then the paladin also, you know, attacking them. Instead of the barbarian spending resources and taking a penalty, the paladin is spending his resources. Seens very reasonable to me.


Pathfinder Battles Case Subscriber

I'm pretty sure I could think of a scenario Happler...

He's aganst an invisible (can't get an AoO) gelatinous cube (not worried about fancy combat maneuvers), with almost full hitpoints remaining (doesn't need rage hps to live), with only a few rage rounds/day left (going to lose rage hp soon anyway), and he's sure that his enemies won't use magic (no need for the will save).

And in general, to everyone saying this is a legal but foolish tactic: Yes, it's not worth the paladin doing this every round. It is worth a paladin doing it sometimes for a barbarian with a lot of 1/rage powers currently depleted. It is worth it even more often for a paladin who serves as a barbarian's cohort. It is worth it if the party really, really, really needs the barbarian to use a 1/rage power. It's also obviously worth it for a paladin who would have used LoH on the barbarian anyway.

Dark Archive

drsparnum wrote:

I'm pretty sure I could think of a scenario Happler...

He's aganst an invisible (can't get an AoO) gelatinous cube (not worried about fancy combat maneuvers), with almost full hitpoints remaining (doesn't need rage hps to live), with only a few rage rounds/day left (going to lose rage hp soon anyway), and he's sure that his enemies won't use magic (no need for the will save).

I would still rather have the Paladin help beat the cube down than LoHing the Barb. And if it is a cohort, then the cube is no longer a threat to the, at least, level 7 barbarian. And at level 17 you will no longer need the Paladin for this either. You might be better off with a cleric cohort.

I would still rather have the +str (damage and breaking out of the engulf) +con (hitpoints and fort save for the paralysis) then the AC.


I would say that because of the strict code of conduct that comes with being a paladin he/she would have to stop the barbarian from attacking anyone in a bar and try to resolve the issue.


You can take free actions on your turn. Not on the Paladin's turn.

The Paladin has to ready for when the Barbarian drops rage to do his LoH.

Another way, w/o a Paladin, is to get something to make the Barbarian immune to the effects of fatigue.

/cevah


The idea was that the barbarian drops rage as a readied action with the condition "the paladin lays hands on me". You can ready a free action.


You can ready a free action but it still costs you a standard to ready, right?


Yup.


I SUMMON THEE FROM THE DEPTHS!

The paladin is using magic to refresh the barbarian. Let him use his powers again. As to the tactic being good or not, players are free to make dumb choices.


Totally legit. Really, I wouldnt penalize some teamwork like this, specially when this is definitely not optimal. If the paladin attacked, they would be doing way more damage (although this is probably against his code).


Absolutely nothing wrong with what you're proposing.

More importantly though, what's corrupt about a barkeep charging whatever he wants for his ale? Nobody is exactly forcing the Barbarian to buy it...


Yeah, rules wise there is nothing wrong with the described situation. However, why the barbarian flew into a fit of rage and attacked the barkeep over high priced ale and why the paladin didn't try to convince his friend to stop and then heal the barkeep and pay for any damages and "trouble" is what bothers me.


blahpers wrote:
The idea was that the barbarian drops rage as a readied action with the condition "the paladin lays hands on me". You can ready a free action.

By readying the free action, he looses the attack that round. Thus he is not rage cycling every round.

If the Paladin does the ready, then the Barbarian can do this every round.

/cevah


No argument here as to which is more effective. The original proposal seems tactically foolish to me, but maybe there's a reason.


As Cevah said, if the Paladin readies an action to use Lay on Hands then this could go on for a little while until LoH is all used up and a BBEG suddenly walks into the bar, grinning with the knowledge that his corrupt bartender and violent waiter have robbed the PCs of valuable resources before the upcoming fight.

A human Barbarian with the Heart of the Fields trait can ignore fatigue once per day, which could be a more practical way to fit a once per rage power into an encounter twice.

Dark Archive

IF you want a barbarian immune to fatigue in a home game, do what I've been doing since 3.x, make it a Warforged. There is even a pathfinder conversion available for it HERE.

Community / Forums / Pathfinder / Pathfinder First Edition / Rules Questions / A paladin and a barbarian walk into a bar.... All Messageboards

Want to post a reply? Sign in.