Demoralize says: "Attempt an Intimidation check against that target's Will DC."
Counter Performance says "You or an ally within 60 feet rolls a saving throw against an auditory or visual effect".
Does the attempt against the target's DC count as a save?
I'm guessing not as it not causing the roll of a die, but the whole DC thing seems like just a mechanical alternative that wasn't intended to have game effect. So I thought I'd check. (Plus counter performance is so rarely useful, sorta sucks for it to not work).
One thing that has been bothering me, is that there is no real FAQ for the 2e rules. And there are certainly some places where it would be useful.
I'm proposing a crowd-sourced FAQ. I've only just started, but am hopeful others might be interested in contributing. I thought about doing it on a wiki (wikidot or something) but I think that creates a significant barrier for entry. My goal isn't to figure out what the answer *is* to each question. Instead what I'm trying to do is link to the relevant resources (rules, discussions, etc.) and identify consensus.
So I've created a Google document with an introduction and just one question asked and answered as an alpha version of such an FAQ. What I'm looking for from this group is:
If you'd like to edit, just reply to this thread with a Google email address you'd be using and mention one or two questions you'd be planning on adding to the FAQ.
I reserve the right to make final decisions but hope and expect I won't have to. If this really takes off I'll open a slack or something for discussion, otherwise I imagine this thread will be enough.
Here's what I think is true:
Whole thing seems weird, so I'm confirming I have the rules correct.
I'm planning on playing a Sprite bard for Strength of 1000s. I'm normally quite the min/maxer, but I've decided to go a different route and I'm a bit worried I've gone too far down that route. It's a big party (probably 6 players).
My concern is that I'm planning on having stats of 8, 14, 12, 16, 10, 18. It makes sense for the character (even a STR of 8 seems like a lot for a tiny character), but wow, does it make for a horrible AC. I'd rather not wear armor with that 8 STR (penalties to everything) so I'll probably have an AC of 15 at level 1. That seems really scary in 2e--feels like I'll get critted every round if anyone chooses to get to me. I'll be mounted on a familiar corgi, so in theory I could give up AC. Or I could even imagine working toward medium armor and just living with all the penalties (he calls himself a knight, so why not?)
I'm trying to find a character that can focus mostly on providing buffs to the party--ideally without too much in the way of spells. Basically a military leader. The Marshal archetype seems focused on this and seems decent at it. But what would go well with it as the actual class?
Been thinking bard could work. Swashbuckler might do it, but Paladin seems even better?
Basic idea: Fairly young and gifted low-ranking officer who retired after the war. Basically a good leader and okay military person. Would prefer little in the way of spells and probably lighter armor, but both are negotiable.
Likely using the additional archetype option.
I know we've got the errata. But I'm so used to 5e where the rules questions largely get answers from the involved staff. Here it feels like the rules questions have yet to really be addressed. No FAQ, not much of anything. Pathfinder 1e seems to have a bit more even.
Anyone know if this is likely to change?
If I understand correctly, focus spell feats seem to fall into two categories:
If I understand correctly, focus spell feats seem to fall into two categories:
So I've only looked closely at the Ranger because I'm going to be playing one, but I'm finding archetypes to be stronger than the Ranger class at a lot of what I'd call Ranger things. I find that frustrating.
It seems like poor design when an option available to everyone is better than the class abilities that do the same thing. Does the "only one archetype at a time" thing address this in some way?
I'm seeing the following at 9th level for rangers: "You’ve practiced your techniques to make them harder to resist. Your proficiency rank for your ranger class DC increases to expert." But I don't see anything about spell DCs or attack rolls going up. The become "trained in primal spell attacks and spell DCs" when they get their first spell. Does that never go up again?
I'm planning on playing a goblin archer for my first 2e game. I expect we'll do levels 1 to 10. I'm looking at magic items and starting to suspect being an archer is a bit of a trap.
1) It appears as if a Shuriken and a Long sword both cost 40 GP to make cold iron? And a single arrow costs 4GP?
2) Is it the case that all arrows are destroyed after or do they just become non-magical. I'm finding the errata hard to parse. I'm also struggling with what is destroying an adamantine arrow head (if in fact it is destroyed).
3) If you use a magic bow to fire a magic arrow, you generally get the effects of both.
4) You have very little motivation to get higher-grade materials for your magic arrows because you generally aren't putting property runes on ammunition (cost too much).
5) With a returning rune you could throw the same weapon a lot of times in a round (3 at least, more if you have some way to attack twice with one action or something).
Say you wanted to retrain a feat and you now meet the requirements but didn't when you took it. So a level 1 feat (say) that required you be trained in some skill, but you weren't trained until level 3. Or if you take Adopted Ancestry at level 3, can you retrain your level 1 ancestry feat for that race?
If you were playing a ranger, would you take the ranger companion or the cavalier one? I'm playing a goblin archer who would like to use their companion for a mount at least some of the time and expect to be indoors (abomination vaults).
And I think the birds can wear barding, it just slows them down. Seems a bit weird, but there you are.
A ranger's base companion has a power (can use the hunter's edge, precision in this case) that the cavalier's lacks. There are feats that can advance them at levels 6, 10, and 16.
A cavalier's base companion has a power that other companions not until the first advancement. They advance at levels 4, 8, and 14 (exactly the same advancements).
So depending on what you want to do the ranger's and cavalier's have pros and cons until level 4.
This would be fine, but a ranger can easily be a cavalier. The cavalier one costs a 2nd level feat instead of a 1st level one, but the 2nd level feats largely suck my character ranger, so probably interchangeable.
Thoughts? Is it reasonable to retrain all the time to make this work "optimally" at given level?
I really don't like that a "living, advancing" character can be worse than one you'd just write up on the fly for a game. I have similar issues with feats that just give you more options for feats later--you're losing something for now to get something for later. That's not a horrible thing in life, but it's really annoying to me at least...
New to the game...
flanking rules wrote:
As far as I can tell:
*Even if your hands are full (say with a bow) you can still make an unarmed attack.
As such, can't archers generally flank just fine?
Mind Probe has the following School: "School divination [mind-affecting]"
So "all mind-affecting effects" would seem to rule out Mind Probe working on an intelligent undead. But I can't tell if the list in parenthesis is meant as a complete list, or some examples, or something else.
So does Mind Probe work on a vampire?
Damaging Objects wrote:
Do objects take full, half, or no damage from the "divine power" part of the attack?
Once per day as an immediate action, the wearer of warding armor can activate it to end all active challenge, judgment, and smite abilities affecting her.
Smite and challenge only affect one person, judgement affects ""enemies". Does that utterly end the existing judgement on every person or just the wearer of the armor?
Say you are playing a high-level character that isn't a fighter or otherwise have access to weapon training (the fighter class feature). What is the fastest one could gain access to the ability? Mostly thinking about Gloves of Dueling.
I asked about Planar Aegis here, but I'm now looking for a more generic answer. What is the default if a spell doesn't have a "spell resistance" line?
In the case of Planar Aegis, it's a personal spell, so it kind of makes sense, but the spell ends up impacting enemies, so...
I'm trying to understand how a Cloak of the Mantra Ray works.
1. Does the wearer still have use of his arms? It says "The wearer can release his arms from the cloak without sacrificing underwater movement if so desired." It also says that the wearer "...appears nearly identical to a manta ray (as the beast shape II spell, except that it allows only manta ray form)." Can he swing a sword or is he beast shaped into a manta ray? With beast shape the answer would be no, but the "appears nearly identical" and the ability to release arms would seem really strong evidence that arms can be used to make weapon attacks.
2. If the answer to 1 is "yes", what happens with the sting? I'd think it would count as a secondary attack, but the "using his highest melee attack bonus" makes me feel that perhaps it doesn't count as a secondary attack.
3. The wearer also gets low-light vision, yes?
4. Anyone know why you get a +3 natural armor bonus? The beast shaping into a medium creature should give a +2. Seems weird. Is this a holdover from 3.5?
If you don't have a swim speed and you aren't on the ground, you make a swim check to see how well you can fight. https://www.d20pfsrd.com/gamemastering/environment/wilderness/terrain/aquat ic-terrain/
Does that swim check for the table entry "Successful Swim check" require a move action?
The "action" part of swim is a lot less clear than fly. http://legacy.aonprd.com/coreRulebook/skills/swim.html
"Action: A successful Swim check allows you to swim a quarter of your speed as a move action or half your speed as a full-round action."
Extra points social skill bonuses, full BAB and 2 or more good saves.
From Battle Herald: " bard and battle herald levels stack to determine the bonuses provided by inspire courage."
The bard and battle herald get improved inspire courage at really different rates.
The bard is at +1 at 1st level, +2 at 5th level, +3 at 11th level and +4 at 17th level.
The battle herald is +1 at 1st level, +2 at 4th, +3 at 7th and +4 at 10th.
What is the inspire courage bonus for a level 5 bard/ level 1 cavalier/ level 2 battle herald?
Consider a Cavalier 5/Battle Herald 5 that is a Variant Multi-Classed (VMC) bard.
What is that character's effective level for inspire courage? RAW, I'd say it's 11 (VMC bard is 10-4 or level 6, Battle Herald is 5, so 11). But that seems a lot for a 10th level character. By level 13 it would be 18.
I just can't figure out what was intended with double counting levels like this.
I'd love something like investigator, but I don't think there is an archetype that gets heavy armor.
I know swift spells don't. I assume, by the same rule, immediate spells don't.
But what about swift and immediate spell-like abilities?
"A spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't count against your normal limit of one spell per round. However, you may cast such a spell only once per round. Casting a spell with a casting time of 1 swift action doesn't provoke attacks of opportunity."
Spell-like abilities are here: https://roll20.net/compendium/pathfinder/Monster%20Rules:Spell-Like%20Abili ties#content
I'm aware of being able to do variant multiclassing to ranger or cavalier (order of the green). I'd like the power much earlier than those would allow. It would be sweet if it scaled, but I don't need it to.
I'm trying to figure out exactly how long a celestial creature's "smite evil" lasts and who it affects.
"The creature may smite evil 1/day as a swift action (it adds its Cha bonus to attack rolls, and a damage bonus equal to its HD against evil foes; smite persists until the target is dead or the celestial creature rests)."
If the celestial creature smites (evil) creature "A", does the bonuses from the smite apply to other evil creatures until A dies? Or does it only affect creature A? The wordy is wacky, in that there is no clear "target" for smite evil until we discuss persisting. I'm assuming you have to declare "I activate smite vs. creature A". But even range isn't obvious.
The best I can conclude is that you *only* are meant to get that damage against that one creature, and only if they are evil. Is that right? Just wierd that they couldn't (and haven't yet) gotten the wording clear on this.
The key questions are:
My sense is that as a meta-magic feat, everything is as if cast by the master *other* than attack rolls, just like any other meta-magic feat. But I'd like to see what others think.
On a related note, any idea why the "list" formatting option doesn't really work?
Is there any spell or fairly cheap item (few 1000) that would help a whole party moving on a road or underground for long distances?
This spell seems pretty horrid as a combat healing spell. It can be used by any living creature (including the bad guys unless they are undead) and requires a standard action. Not a horrible spell outside of combat, but not much better than mass cure light wounds (which is a reasonable combat healing spell). It is pretty nice with respect to undead, but I'm not even certain it does anything if you cast it on top of a vampire (they need to move into it). The no save/no spell resistance makes it okay if you can get them into the space somehow.
Basically it just seems fairly useless. I'm going to get stuck with it (healing witch patron) and hoping that someone has an idea how to use it.
My confusion with the spell is that there is an initial save and then one on each round.
If the initial save succeeds, does the spell just end or does the spell jump? If the initial save fails, I believe it can take no action on its next turn, and then rolls a save for the turn after that.
But if it jumps, it seems like the creature would be making a save to be able to act on the current turn.
That reading seems unlikely, but I can't figure anything else out. Help?
Also, does the spell end if the current target dies?
Are there any other ways of speeding up treat deadly wounds? Some magic item? Some way to use Int toward the domain power? Anything?
* Does the DC of the Nosoi's abilities go up as the master's levels go up? The line "Hit Dice: For the purpose of effects related to number of Hit Dice, use the master’s character level or the familiar’s normal HD total, whichever is higher." Is the answer different for spells (which aren't based on hit dice I think) and Haunting Melody (which appears to be).
As I read it, the weapon just gets your BAB and it's magical bonus--no strength, no feats. So at 5th level a fighter with a +1 dancing longsword would have a +6 attack and would do d8+1 damage. You have to send an action to get it started.
By level 11 we are talking about +12/+6/+1 which, against an AC of 24 (typical for a CR 11 creature) you are going to be doing around 3 points of damage a round. That seems a lot worse than having a +5 sword.